The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

EXODUS

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby EXODUS » March 23rd, 2013, 8:51 pm

not landline to landline ehhh Vrampz. d lawd knows what goin orn... feel it hav jumbie in meh fone oui.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 23rd, 2013, 8:57 pm

pete wrote:To secure my phone I keep it in my pocket and try not to take it out around sketchy people.

dem ting is secrets of the trade boi.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 23rd, 2013, 9:00 pm

Rooki3 wrote:like it or not iphone is d highest end up mobile phone it has, build quality is superior

how does the koolaid taste? lol iphone is sheeit boy. if i show u what my android can do ur iphone will look like a child watching daddy work.

iphone made its money on marketting. flooding the market with ads backed by the largest corporations. doesnt necessarily mean it is all its chalked up to be. before android came iphone cudve boasted about stability and virus free.. which is not entirely true at all. but now android with a linux kernel..u cant top that for stability and resilience. sorry.. i not paying 10k for a phone and then im not allowed to use it in every way i imagine and dream to.

iphone in my book.. right now.. is nothing more than a metoo

and really the proof is in the pudding.. nuff ppl at my office have iphone and when they see me whip out my droid they does be like 'wah kinna fone is daaa? how much for it?' lol

check out the droid 4 hoss. came out a year ago and will still wet an iphone 5
Last edited by rocknrolla on March 23rd, 2013, 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nemisis » March 23rd, 2013, 9:09 pm

^^^ s3 meetoo, s2 meetoo..... What's the point ya trying to make?

Postby Trini Hookah » March 23rd, 2013, 9:14 pm

Any phone on the market nowadays can be called as much of a "me too" as a BLU mobile, so that point is moot.

I honestly might get an iPhone 5 this year just to see what the hype's all about, would be my first iOS experience since iPod Touch. Would try to keep an open mind going into it.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 23rd, 2013, 9:18 pm

This not the reason I calling it a me too. Is Cuz everyone has one and all u cud do with it is play game and answer calls. Android is waaay above that status with the ability to function as a full desktop PC or at the very least a laptop. I can't even get into its other capabilities because it is classified.. Top Secret. Lol

Postby nemisis » March 23rd, 2013, 9:20 pm

turbotusty wrote:This not the reason I calling it a me too. Is Cuz everyone has one and all u cud do with it is play game and answer calls. Android is waaay above that status with the ability to function as a full desktop PC or at the very least a laptop. I can't even get into its other capabilities because it is classified.. Top Secret. Lol

doesn't change the fact most people only use it to play games and get calls. This my os better than your os is petty at best...but carry on.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » March 23rd, 2013, 9:22 pm

waz d difference between a "full desktop pc" and a laptop?

dude should quit while he behind yes...

Postby Rooki3 » March 23rd, 2013, 9:33 pm

turbotusty wrote:
Rooki3 wrote:like it or not iphone is d highest end up mobile phone it has, build quality is superior

how does the koolaid taste? lol iphone is sheeit boy. if i show u what my android can do ur iphone will look like a child watching daddy work.

iphone made its money on marketting. flooding the market with ads backed by the largest corporations. doesnt necessarily mean it is all its chalked up to be. before android came iphone cudve boasted about stability and virus free.. which is not entirely true at all. but now android with a linux kernel..u cant top that for stability and resilience. sorry.. i not paying 10k for a phone and then im not allowed to use it in every way i imagine and dream to.

and really the proof is in the pudding.. nuff ppl at my office have iphone and when they see me whip out my droid they does be like 'wah kinna fone is daaa? how much for it?' lol

bruh i doh even own an iphone, nvr did, but i'm open minded enough to admit its the highest when u tlkin abt highend mobile phones

Postby M_2NR » March 23rd, 2013, 9:41 pm

Wow at the direction this thread going... :rofl: carry on.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » March 23rd, 2013, 10:34 pm

wayssss never intended to point the thread in this direction with my iphone post, i apologize.

those who saying that iphone is high end please post that on the following forum:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=256

now back to the android topic

Postby M_2NR » March 23rd, 2013, 10:45 pm

They have a separate forum for it... See the announcement.

Until everyone learns to stop being childish and appreciate that each platform has its own following... Pros and cons... There will always be the silly banter.

And don't even try to say I call anyone childish. I neither quoted nor replied to anyone specifically :) it's just a general observation across all of the threads, groups and communities.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 23rd, 2013, 11:14 pm

Swisha wrote:waz d difference between a "full desktop pc" and a laptop?

ASUS took a step in the right direction and i cud unnastand dis but stil :?: :?: :?: wrt the PC and Laptop thingy that guy bantering bout

Postby Trini Hookah » March 23rd, 2013, 11:43 pm

There was also the atrix + lapdock

Postby Rooki3 » March 23rd, 2013, 11:52 pm

ahmmm stev u mentioned face recognition, u hv that? what device?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 24th, 2013, 1:57 am

Rooki3 wrote:
turbotusty wrote:

iphone made its money on marketting. flooding the market with ads backed by the largest corporations. doesnt necessarily mean it is all its chalked up to be. before android came iphone cudve boasted about stability and virus free.. which is not entirely true at all. but now android with a linux kernel..u cant top that for stability aI nd resilience. sorry.. i not paying 10k for a phone and then im not allowed to use it in every way i imagine and dream to.

bruh i doh even own an iphone, nvr did, but i'm open minded enough to admit its the highest when u tlkin abt highend mobile phones

All you're saying is "the iPhone high end". Why? Cuz of it's popularity and cost factor it makes it better?

Stev covered that with manufacturing costs of the SIV which has EIGHT cores, TWO gb of RAM and a 4.9" 1080p display and STILL retails less than the iPhone.

I'm not saying the iPhone doesn't run well on (it's lower end) hardware, it's VERY smooth (probably because it doesn't do that much to begin with) but the fact is.. You're getting less and paying for more.

Popularity has nothing to do with what's better or not. It's marketing. People would watch an 5 series vs a Camry and automatically the 5 series is better. Because, it's BMW. When in fact the Camry is so much smoother and trouble free vs the BMW.

Honestly, the iPhone 5 is a very good phone and I personally won't mind owning one until the SIV is released and the price cools down, or maybe the HTC One. BUT it's not the "highest end" phone.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 24th, 2013, 3:54 am

Trini Hookah wrote:There was also the atrix + lapdock

My droid 4 also has a lap dock option which I'll be getting soon.. muhahaha

Rooki3 wrote:ahmmm stev u mentioned face recognition, u hv that? what device?

I have this but never tried it out. Figured thered be too many disadvantages compared to a regular pin based security. Like low light etc plus pin based entry is faster and works better for remote tracking.

Hahaha I now seein what rooki3 write. Its the highest? But is it the highest high or the highest afoo*cough*landhismoney*cough* price? Lmao

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 24th, 2013, 4:36 am

EXODUS wrote:
Swisha wrote:waz d difference between a "full desktop pc" and a laptop?

ASUS took a step in the right direction and i cud unnastand dis but stil :?: :?: :?: wrt the PC and Laptop thingy that guy bantering bout

Attach HDMI out to a monitor from the phone. Connect a Bluetooth mouse and keyboard.. small ting once u have Bluetooth 4.0 of course for multiple devices. Run all basic PC applications edit documents etc and its like a desktop in our pocket. Games have impressive graphics comparable IMO to other high end portable gaming units. To me that is a 'Personal Computer'. And the lap dock provides the same on our lap. The only difference is everything will run reliably more solid than windows.

Within a year or 2 apple products will get left out for android. Mark my words. They need a new innovative pioneer to stir them up again and that ain't happening. Besides.. the game is up everyone is realising its all marketing hype when u compare the specs of the devices to others.

But its android stability that rocking apple really. Ppl never had a real viable competitor for that slot. Well Id say that competitor is android and Ubuntu I think will be coming up too to beat apple. Then there is a new os being developed call Miui that seems geared at power for mobile gaming I was checking out earlier this week. Doesn't interest me that much but from the videos I have to give jack his jacket it looked impressive.

Postby honda hoe » March 24th, 2013, 7:16 am

Wrt face recognition

Its more of a flams gimmick than any real kind of security

It doesn't work at all in low lighting conditions... And if it doesn't work u then have to enter ur back up pin or pattern recognition to access ur phone

Sometimes even in good lighting depending on the angle ur face is at it still may not recognize u.. For better all around recognition its even given as a tip on the software itself that u take several pics of ur face at slightly different angles

Archlord

Postby Archlord » March 24th, 2013, 7:58 am

I used face unlock until my younger brother unlocked my phone. Forget that shiz now

haterforever

Postby haterforever » March 24th, 2013, 11:00 am

A Visual history of Android (very detailed):

http://www.theverge.com/2011/12/7/25857 ... id-history

Postby maj. tom » March 24th, 2013, 11:05 am

Facelock unlocked with a photograph of your face.
It's a gimmick. True security on those terms would be retina or fingerprint scan.

Until that comes out, use a pin or pattern lock. At least your data will be safe if you lose your phone.
Surprisingly, the majority of the public with an expensive phone or device do not use any sort of security at all to protect their data.

Postby stev » March 24th, 2013, 11:31 am

yeh that face recognition thing needs some work.

@ Maj. Tom, the Atrix has a real fingerprint scanner on the back...never saw it in action though...gonna check youtube. lol

Postby ismithx » March 24th, 2013, 11:33 am

haterforever wrote:A Visual history of Android (very detailed):

good stuff... imma waste some of my time

Postby stev » March 24th, 2013, 11:34 am

there are many apps to secure any android phone by speech or face recognition.

my device is the first motorola droid. :lol:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 24th, 2013, 1:37 pm

haterforever wrote:A Visual history of Android (very detailed):

That was a great potty break read. Jellybean really is an improvement over ICS. In all the right places. Really like how the status bar now displays subcategories with like a few of our missed emails under each account heading. Nice orderly breakdown.

Have a feeling key lime pie might be a total rework again like ICS was to gingerbread.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 24th, 2013, 1:40 pm

stev wrote:yeh that face recognition thing needs some work.

@ Maj. Tom, the Atrix has a real fingerprint scanner on the back...never saw it in action though...gonna check youtube. lol

U sure about that? Thought it was a thumb scroll for blind navigating.

Wow just checked it out. Don't know how I missed that. Maybe Cuz I overlooked most Fones without a hardware keyboard. But I think a finger scanner should just probably come with all the new devices yes. It just makes sense.

Postby stev » March 24th, 2013, 1:45 pm

turbotusty wrote:
stev wrote:yeh that face recognition thing needs some work.

U sure about that? Thought it was a thumb scroll for blind navigating.

Wow just checked it out. Don't know how I missed that. Maybe Cuz I overlooked most Fones without a hardware keyboard. But I think a finger scanner should just probably come with all the new devices yes. It just makes sense.

Postby nervewrecker » March 24th, 2013, 1:46 pm

stev wrote:

The battery life anything like that on the older moto's? Batt life was a major fail on them but the phones were nice.

Postby stev » March 24th, 2013, 1:54 pm

stev wrote:

The battery life anything like that on the older moto's? Batt life was a major fail on them but the phones were nice.

the battery life was 'ok' when i first bought the phone (running android 2.1 then 2.2). used to fool around all day on the phone and never really had to charge it often (once every day and a half).

now the phone is about 4 years old and running 2.3....battery moves from 100% to 60% if i play angry birds for 5 mins. :lol:

if i dont use the phone all day...it wud move from 100% in the morning to 80% in the night.