The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

rocknrolla

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby rocknrolla » March 24th, 2013, 2:07 pm

regarding battery life, when buying a fone check out the battery capacity. mine is 1800mah and lasts me the entire day from a full charge in the morning. but i also got a 5000mah portable charge that fits in my pocket for heavy days where my charge might run out and i dont have time to leave my fone charging on a wall socket.

Postby nervewrecker » March 24th, 2013, 2:11 pm

Yea man, I know about that but still find most of the razr and V series moto's sucked on batt life. Great phones eh but just the batt life sucks a bit.
Ended up going back Nokia and now Samsung. The batt life not bad at all on the Samsung, I charge it twice a week if so much.

Havent checked out a moto awhile now, I just thought i'd ask if they fixed that issue. Phones bigger and batt's bigger so I assume the life increased.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 24th, 2013, 2:22 pm

yeah they did. all androids previous to the droid4 and photon4g were considered experimental, with the d4 being called the first real delivery to their objectives.

battery life issues will be a thing of the past very soon tho with the new battery cells being developed. in maybe a year or 2 we should start seeing phones that run for a week or more with heavy usage without needing charge. plus the new energy efficient flexible amoled screens from samsung will use considerably less battery than lcd/led screens.

Postby nervewrecker » March 24th, 2013, 2:30 pm

I wonder what next year andriod devices might look like? :D

They have come a long way.

key lime pie anyone? :lol:

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 24th, 2013, 3:45 pm

my guess. is 16mp camera, 4.0+ screen sizes and quadcore+ becoming standard. cant even begin to speculate on much else except the coming tegra 4+ graphics. interested to see the new features of key lime pie, but i doubt they could wow me much more. id expect at least a few good additions to improve stuff here and there. hope they dont totally screw up the progression they have going tho like microsoft has been known to do 'windows me uggh'. backward compatibility is always an important thing to me. some of my apps now dont run on jb.. kinda sucks but updates should be on the way soon to those apps. so its just a waiting game now.

either way.. android wins.. iphone users can take a seat:cool:

Postby stev » March 24th, 2013, 4:48 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Yea man, I know about that but still find most of the razr and V series moto's sucked on batt life. Great phones eh but just the batt life sucks a bit.
Ended up going back Nokia and now Samsung. The batt life not bad at all on the Samsung, I charge it twice a week if so much.

Havent checked out a moto awhile now, I just thought i'd ask if they fixed that issue. Phones bigger and batt's bigger so I assume the life increased.

indeed....i owned a razr and it was not a smartphone but i had to charge dat sheit everyday...

the best battery life on phones i ever got (not smartphones) was from Nokia, samsung and erricson (not walkman)

Postby M_2NR » March 24th, 2013, 6:14 pm

Good Battery life is a relative term though eh. I remember a time I told my uncle I had good battery life on my Nokia and he was like how his phone getting terrible battery life. He then explained how his phone lasted almost 4 days (me2). :rofl:
I've never had a GSM phone that lasted more than 2 days though. Charging every night was always a thing. How about Ulyuh?

Postby Rooki3 » March 24th, 2013, 6:36 pm

aye one allyuh come play me in ruzzle nah, i bored, i shitty too

Postby Rooki3 » March 24th, 2013, 6:37 pm

btw yh ah 1100 cudda go whole week without charging

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 24th, 2013, 6:43 pm

s3 dus haffi charge every other day...

Postby nervewrecker » March 24th, 2013, 6:44 pm

I'm pretty light on usage.

My nokia 5800 used to charge like once a week or close to six days

My galaxy y maybe the equiv of that

Samsung mew II $100.00 flip phone, once a week.

Batt life decreases with usage though.

Data running 24-o on the galaxy y is like 3 days.

Moto V3-x and rokr had to charge like every 2 days and same usage as the others.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 24th, 2013, 7:21 pm

yeah well more features use more battery. i usually have my bluetooth on all day as i primarily use bluetooth for calls and about 4hrs of music but if i turn on gps and data well that would probably last me half to 3/4 of a day before it needs a charge. looking forward to a future with 10000mah batteries in phones as stock. its really not that far off. then we'll have metoo level battery life once more.

theyll have to make charging faster as well as it takes about 2 hrs to charge my droid from near empty. imagine waiting about 8 for a 10000mah to fully charge if u let it run down.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » March 24th, 2013, 7:26 pm

M_2NR wrote:Good Battery life is a relative term though eh. I remember a time I told my uncle I had good battery life on my Nokia and he was like how his phone getting terrible battery life. He then explained how his phone lasted almost 4 days (me2). :rofl:
I've never had a GSM phone that lasted more than 2 days though. Charging every night was always a thing. How about Ulyuh?

Everyday. Every single day without fail. My nexus is about two days. The iPad 2 is about every 5-7 days with very regular use, i assume it's due to the mediocre screen and processor it lasts that long, cuz it's REALLY impressive on battery.

Postby nervewrecker » March 24th, 2013, 7:28 pm

Waze and gps apps practically let you see the batt meter drop right in front your eyes lolz.

My n95 used to charge once a week, my play book and galaxy tab both once a week depending on usage too. Could use 70 percent batt a day depending on usage.

I myself looking forward to bigger and better Batts in more efficient and lower energy consuming units.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 24th, 2013, 7:30 pm

regular usage is not an issue. but heavy usage is different. turn on bluetooth, data and gps all day while making voice calls and watching videos to see what ur real usage is. power users can wear out a battery pretty fast.. but gps i think is the real killer. data soft compared. but the 2 put together is an abominable force on battery. plus the ipad is larger so can house a larger battery with ease.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 24th, 2013, 11:27 pm

Remind me to give you that back nuh, it made a week and some days without charging. At one point I thought I lost the charger after nuh seeing it so long :lol:

casper

Postby casper » March 25th, 2013, 8:01 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:

Remind me to give you that back nuh, it made a week and some days without charging. At one point I thought I lost the charger after nuh seeing it so long :lol:

Postby 16 cycles » March 25th, 2013, 9:22 am

inSSIDer - nice app to check your wifi network...

Infamous

Postby Infamous » March 25th, 2013, 10:47 am

Steve 'Cyanogen' Kondik leaves Samsung

CM​ founder 'decided to do something new,' offers thoughts on Galaxy S4

In a Google+ post this morning, CyanogenMod founder Steve Kondik offered some of his thoughts on Samsung's new Galaxy S4, before revealing that he's recently left the software engineering job he took at the company just over 18 months ago. In a further G+ comment, Kondik said his exit wasn't "because of anything in particular," adding "Samsung was great. Just decided to do something new."

On the S4 itself, he had praise for the new phone's hardware, saying " the device actually feels quite a bit more solid than the S3" and claiming "specwise, this device blows the competition out of the water." But on the software side, Kondik was critical of Samsung's latest TouchWiz UI. While "more consistent" than earlier iterations, he says, the new TouchWiz's fully tabbed UI "feels like it has been sent a few years back in time to the Froyo days."

The CM founder also had mixed opinions on some of the S4's new features. He praised the touchless "hover" preview capabilities and multi-window support, but said that the eye-tracking "smart scroll" feature "mostly serves to anger me into disabling it." In summary, Kondik called the Galaxy S4 a "solid device" and a "clear choice" for those upgrading from a Galaxy S2. S3 owners, he said, should feel "right at home."

There weren't any real clues as to where Steve Kondik might end up next, but we're sure we're not alone in hoping there's more Android in his future. Best of luck to Steve in his future endeavors!

You can read Steve Kondik's post in full over at the source link.

http://www.androidcentral.com/steve-cyanogen-kondik-leaves-samsung

Postby gastly369 » March 25th, 2013, 2:18 pm

lg 4x hd yay or nay :?:
getting it for $2400 new

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » March 25th, 2013, 2:47 pm

gastly369 wrote:lg 4x hd yay or nay :?:
getting it for $2400 new

I have it. It's pretty good. Battery life isn't very good however IMO. Lg also sticking to update it. I'm still on ics. Updates should roll out by month end though. I really hope it improves battery life.
Last edited by metalgear2095 on March 25th, 2013, 3:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 25th, 2013, 3:03 pm

do u have a smartactions app? if so set it to low battery saver. if not then try reworking ur apps to rely primarily on push notifications, remove uneccessary apps u have no use for, and make sure u dont have any services running that u dont need when ur not using them like gps etc.
also major overlooked is the fact that it takes more battery to display colours and white.. so make ur theme and apps function in a dark theme as much as possible. use dark/black wallpaper and no live wallpapers. those things drain both battery and lcd life.

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 25th, 2013, 9:39 pm

^ Believe those dark colours only increase battery life with phones using OLED screens.

Postby De Dragon » March 26th, 2013, 12:39 am

Postby maj. tom » March 26th, 2013, 9:56 am

Google - Youtube problems.

Anyone else having problems loading HD streams from Youtube on mobile Android even though your connection is fast and low ping? This also has been happening to Youtube on Windows, where the video will load on the seek bar ahead of the marker, but it's still pausing to "buffer(?)"

Another bug with Youtube for a while now seems to be that the video will reload when seeking a time that has already played and loaded. It will just start loading from that point again even though you just wanted to replay a couple seconds ago. I thought this was Firefox's caching, but it's happening in Chrome too. Kind of sucks when you have waited a while to load something on 720p just to start over.

I've never been able to get a smooth 1080p stream from Youtube without buffering every half minute. Even when I've left it to load a couple minutes. Dunno if bug, but the Youtube player now only continues to load the video only if you are watching it, and it will not buffer more than a 30 seconds if you pause it and wait.

Postby pete » March 26th, 2013, 10:22 am

Maybe it's to save on their bandwidth. If you pause the video and then realise you don't want to watch the entire thing, you would have received much more data than if it just stops with 30 seconds buffered.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 26th, 2013, 10:57 am

Whenever I switch from YouTube to another app, whatever I load does have to reload. Fml

anyone want my tablet to buy? i wanna pull down a s3
Last edited by Ted_v2 on March 26th, 2013, 12:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 26th, 2013, 12:43 pm

maj. tom wrote:Google - Youtube problems.

Anyone else having problems loading HD streams from Youtube on mobile Android even though your connection is fast and low ping? This also has been happening to Youtube on Windows, where the video will load on the seek bar ahead of the marker, but it's still pausing to "buffer(?)"

Another bug with Youtube for a while now seems to be that the video will reload when seeking a time that has already played and loaded. It will just start loading from that point again even though you just wanted to replay a couple seconds ago. I thought this was Firefox's caching, but it's happening in Chrome too. Kind of sucks when you have waited a while to load something on 720p just to start over.

I've never been able to get a smooth 1080p stream from Youtube without buffering every half minute. Even when I've left it to load a couple minutes. Dunno if bug, but the Youtube player now only continues to load the video only if you are watching it, and it will not buffer more than a 30 seconds if you pause it and wait.

internet problems.. either isp maintenance work causing issues, or ur network in a mess with traffic. i get no buffering issues besides the initial wait to load on utube. but it works like sheit sometimes at the office where i know the network in a mess. home i have no issues.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » March 26th, 2013, 12:46 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Whenever I switch from YouTube to another app, whatever I load does have to reload. Fml

u on ics or jellybean? gingerbread has minor multitasking issues like that but would have to have had the app in the background for a while before having to reload.

if ics/jb check ur settings to see if u set an app limit or set to destroy apps in background.

Postby Ted_v2 » March 26th, 2013, 12:52 pm

ics

lemme check the youtube settings. i heard theres a jelly bean update for my galaxy tab but i not to skilled to figure it out