Advice for new car, Jetta, New Mazda 3, Cerato or Elantra?

Re: Advice for new car, Jetta, New Mazda 3, Cerato or Elantr

Postby j.o.e » April 26th, 2014, 4:48 pm

The whole concept of better mileage is arguable. Some ppl dotish and don't like to hear the big $ figure at the pump even tho it may take them further.
Plus how much better mileage u get will all depend on driving styles ...Jetta men like to boost
Last edited by j.o.e on April 26th, 2014, 4:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » April 26th, 2014, 4:49 pm

I drove most but i prefer:
A. JETTA
B. KIA rio sedan(love the two tone interior)

Special consideration to the Elantra though,
the Base model Elantra has allota features for the money.

Postby MG Man » April 26th, 2014, 5:54 pm

cinco wrote:Of course i know im in the minority wrt average car buyers

daz wai I wuv yewwww

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 26th, 2014, 6:15 pm

I don't do enough daily driving for gas consumption to truly be an issue...but I dunno..I don't mind spending extra at the pump for a better experience behind the wheel.

dutch2004

Postby dutch2004 » April 26th, 2014, 7:02 pm

Visited kia, mazda and vw today. Due to test drive the cerato soon and the vw. I must say as a sceptic on korean cars..cerato is really a nice car for the money. The trunk room was impressive and they really threw in all kit and kabodle on features. The mazda showroom didnt have the hatch on diaplay, buf I confirmed pricing is 210 flat on both body styles. In person the mazda 3 didnr blow me away and the fact that they are giving u the skyactive body but the old school engine is downrighr ridiculous and the touch screen deck looks slapped on as an after thought. The vw dealership clarified that the trendline jetta wont be landed until august and pricinf is about 210. I really do love looke of car but I must say the lower speced jetta looks incomplete somewhat...the midspec and up resembles the passat of old. Really nice car and I think theyll storm market at that price point. The jetta tank takes 240 to fell premium I was told. Still undecided but im taking the advice to go see and test befoee spendinv 200 definitly....amazed that the discussion keeps going on but keep opinions coming....next car to go see is the ford focus...

Postby Team Loco » April 26th, 2014, 7:14 pm

Bottom line though. Anyone ever drive that jetta? Holy crap that 1.4 is a beast. Sport mode is double beast devil mode!

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2014, 7:41 pm

Team Loco wrote:Bottom line though. Anyone ever drive that jetta? Holy crap that 1.4 is a beast. Sport mode is double beast devil mode!

Inb4 bunnyrears

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 26th, 2014, 8:09 pm

cinco wrote:
Team Loco wrote:Bottom line though. Anyone ever drive that jetta? Holy crap that 1.4 is a beast. Sport mode is double beast devil mode!

Inb4 bunnyrears

Too late!

Jetta tank takes $300 to fill from empty and not $240. 52 litres from empty.

Also the debate of super vs premium. Yes you can get more mileage out of the jetta but the price of super is so much cheaper that the excess mileage you can get out of the jetta doesn't make up for things.

Postby S_2NR » April 26th, 2014, 8:26 pm

Yea boy. That car does pull!

Postby cinco » April 26th, 2014, 9:23 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
cinco wrote:

Inb4 bunnyrears

Too late!

Jetta tank takes $300 to fill from empty and not $240. 52 litres from empty.

Also the debate of super vs premium. Yes you can get more mileage out of the jetta but the price of super is so much cheaper that the excess mileage you can get out of the jetta doesn't make up for things.

On cue

purple_heart77

Postby purple_heart77 » April 26th, 2014, 9:39 pm

VAG all the way.
Ah gorne thief that, #Devil mode, very ACCURATE!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 27th, 2014, 12:34 pm

With some light bolt ons and a remap the Jetta becomes a 7 second car.....on a roll pull say from 40kmph a $400k Toyota ft-86 will turn its driver into a chess burn Kant vs that jet ta

Postby pete » April 27th, 2014, 12:42 pm

7 second what? 0-60?

Postby j.o.e » April 27th, 2014, 12:44 pm

So long as the Jetta tranny wukkin.....*troll face*

Postby Team Loco » April 27th, 2014, 3:31 pm

purple_heart77 wrote:

VAG all the way.
Ah gorne thief that, #Devil mode, very ACCURATE!

Many thanks to u sir!

Postby bushwakka » April 27th, 2014, 8:38 pm

acesinghit wrote:With some light bolt ons and a remap the Jetta becomes a 7 second car.....on a roll pull say from 40kmph a $400k Toyota ft-86 will turn its driver into a chess burn Kant vs that jet ta

don't matter...a brz or ft-86 is sex on wheels...jetta still have looks to be desired

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 27th, 2014, 8:42 pm

^^thus says the man who drives a navara? Wheel and come again..

Postby S_2NR » April 27th, 2014, 8:52 pm

acesinghit wrote:With some light bolt ons and a remap the Jetta becomes a 7 second car.....on a roll pull say from 40kmph a $400k Toyota ft-86 will turn its driver into a chess burn Kant vs that jet ta

yes we know the jetta is a supercar. can we stop hearing about it already

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 27th, 2014, 8:55 pm

NO. The grand Jetta thread is yet to come and guess what? You will post in it.

Postby pioneer » April 28th, 2014, 9:45 pm

:wink: :wink: :wink:

Postby Country_Bookie » August 13th, 2015, 9:42 am

Bumping this to find out what dutch end up buying and how it working out thus far. For those also thinking about getting a new car.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » August 13th, 2015, 11:04 am

Op yuh get thru with yuh ride ?

Postby RBphoto » August 13th, 2015, 11:50 am

dutch2004 wrote:Trini Hookah...a rather buy a B11 sunny than drive a tiida bro

I rather drive a peugeot 307 than a tiida.. and I do :|. Was looking at Suzuki. The SX4 is really nice, and I have driven many SUV's for work and the GV handles the best on the road, which made me look into Suzuki. I hate N&M so Hyundai is out and SS is balls with service, but KIA is actually a great car now. I would buy it used given the chance. The mazda 3 is a joy to drive, but too small for me. The SX4 feels roomier and is a smaller car.

Postby RBphoto » August 13th, 2015, 12:06 pm

Saw this pop up in the classifieds.. don't know about if that is a good price, but looks like a nice vehicle viewtopic.php?f=55&t=628592

Advent

Postby Advent » August 14th, 2015, 2:28 pm

RBphoto wrote:Saw this pop up in the classifieds.. don't know about if that is a good price, but looks like a nice vehicle viewtopic.php?f=55&t=628592

185 kinda high , no?

Postby RBphoto » August 15th, 2015, 3:52 am

Considering the showroom price and the low mileage, if I had the money I would negotiate something with the man. I also love the vehicle so there is that.

Advent

Postby Advent » August 15th, 2015, 8:26 am

RBphoto wrote:Considering the showroom price and the low mileage, if I had the money I would negotiate something with the man. I also love the vehicle so there is that.

I actually like the Vitara as well, but if I had that money it would be towards a mortgage yes haha

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk

Postby RBphoto » August 15th, 2015, 10:09 am

Advent wrote:
RBphoto wrote:Considering the showroom price and the low mileage, if I had the money I would negotiate something with the man. I also love the vehicle so there is that.

I actually like the Vitara as well, but if I had that money it would be towards a mortgage yes haha

Sent from my XT1058 using Tapatalk

Compared to a $160,000.00 tiida?.. I will take a second hand low mileage GV TYVM.

Postby tr1ad » August 15th, 2015, 10:10 am

That's a good price on a sgv....I'm more partial to the Jetta as an everyday car

Postby cinco » August 15th, 2015, 10:30 am

tr1ad wrote:That's a good price on a sgv....I'm more partial to the Jetta as an everyday car

After seeing that Jetta thread I would run far