rfari wrote:
RASC wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:
RASC wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:
RASC wrote:Hadda be a PNM donor.
UNC donor kidneys, liver, heart would be all gone from excessive drinking, lanate and smoking as is the norm with that sect.

PNM ppl don't donate anything... they only take/ steal/ rob/ borrow without permission.

So how the person live?
Cause last time I checked UNC demographics suffer the highest cases of alcohol poisoning in the land.

That's life bro... but i'm sure those UNC persons bought the alcohol, smokes and lanate with their hard owned money.
Totally opposite to the other side who either hustle, steal or leech off others for the same.
Anyways i'm not affected cuz i'm neither UNC nor PNM.

You're saying I hustle, steal and leech?

u asking answers? is all part of the caste system. dey believe it so its true

the only caste system in trini is the PP and then the untouchables aka PNM low life's

once u believe it and it floats ur boat bro. wha i could tell u?

it funny how the untouchables come here and calling themselves maharaj and others untouchables.

Re: *** The OFFICIAL Good News/ National Pride Thread***

Postby rfari » February 14th, 2014, 8:37 am

^^ false papers eh start yesterday unno

Postby zoom rader » February 14th, 2014, 8:56 am

eyeballz wrote:
rfari wrote:
RASC wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:
RASC wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:[quote="RASC"]Hadda be a PNM donor.
UNC donor kidneys, liver, heart would be all gone from excessive drinking, lanate and smoking as is the norm with that sect.

PNM ppl don't donate anything... they only take/ steal/ rob/ borrow without permission.

So how the person live?
Cause last time I checked UNC demographics suffer the highest cases of alcohol poisoning in the land.

That's life bro... but i'm sure those UNC persons bought the alcohol, smokes and lanate with their hard owned money.
Totally opposite to the other side who either hustle, steal or leech off others for the same.
Anyways i'm not affected cuz i'm neither UNC nor PNM.

You're saying I hustle, steal and leech?

u asking answers? is all part of the caste system. dey believe it so its true

the only caste system in trini is the PP and then the untouchables aka PNM low life's

once u believe it and it floats ur boat bro. wha i could tell u?

it funny how the untouchables come here and calling themselves maharaj and others untouchables.[/quote]
Very few untouchables came here, most were farmers, trades men, warrior caste.
All these facts are listed in the national archives register of each immigrant.
Untouchables were not listed as a caste on the schedule list.

Postby UML » February 14th, 2014, 9:08 am

How could a happy Good News National Pride thread turn to a political bashing hating angry thread?

:?

Postby rfari » February 14th, 2014, 9:13 am

sorry there uml. lemme find something to contribute

Postby RASC » February 14th, 2014, 9:27 am

rfari wrote:^^ false papers eh start yesterday unno

Below the belt bro.

R O F L

Postby RASC » February 14th, 2014, 9:28 am

R O F L

/UpperMiddlesClass

Postby UML » May 14th, 2014, 5:28 am

UP TO SILVER
Story Updated: May 4,2014

Keston Bledman, Marc Burns, Emmanuel Callender and Richard “Torpedo” Thompson are set to become the 2012 Olympic Games men’s 4x100 metres silver medallists.

The T&T quartet will earn promotion, from bronze to silver, following the sanction imposed on Tyson Gay.

The American sprint star was banned for one year by the United States Anti Doping Agency (USADA) after testing positive for an anabolic steroid last year, and all his results, starting from July 15, 2012—the date on which he first used a product that contained a banned substance—have been annulled. Among the voided results is the Olympic sprint relay silver earned by Justin Gatlin, Trell Kimmons, Gay and Ryan Bailey at the London Games on August 11, 2012.

With the Americans disqualified, T&T move from bronze to silver, and France, from fourth to bronze.

Rule 41 of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) Competition Rules states: “Where the Athlete who has committed an anti-doping rule violation competed as a member of a relay team, the relay team shall be automatically disqualified from the Event in question, with all resulting consequences for the relay team, including the forfeiture of all titles, awards, medals, points and prize money.”

The Americans’ loss is T&T’s gain.

The promotion is the second for the T&T quartet. Anchorman Thompson had crossed the line fourth in the Olympic final, but his team moved into a podium position after third-placed Canada were disqualified for a lane violation.

Following his impressive victory in the International Twilight Games men’s 100m dash, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain on Friday night, Thompson told the Sunday Express he was pleased to become a triple Olympic silver medallist.

“Someone told me, when I came in the stands after I ran, that we were promoted to the silver medal. It’s unfortunate for the US team. However, as Trinidadians we are all happy to be elevated a spot up. To be a triple Olympic silver medallist is definitely a blessing, and we pray that we continue to see more medals in the future.

“This is great news for myself, the entire 4x1 team, and great news for Trinidad and Tobago.”
The T&T haul at the London Olympics will improve to one gold, one silver and two bronze medals.

National Association of Athletics Administrations (NAAA) president, Ephraim Serrette said the belated silver is much-welcomed.

“It puts us in good standing with respect to what was already our best-ever Olympics. The upgrade to silver makes it even better. We now have to up the gold medals in 2016.
T&T’s Kelly-Ann Baptiste is part of the same Florida training camp as Gay, and also tested positive last year. Like Gay, Baptiste cooperated with a USADA investigation. A date for her hearing before the NAAA disciplinary panel is expected to nnounced soon.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sports/U ... &smobile=y

U-15 skipper slams quadruple century

By Roger Seepersad

His coach called it “remarkable” as Kirstan Kallicharan made 404 not out, all yesterday.

Kallicharan, Trinidad and Tobago Under-15 skipper, continued his prolific run of form this season with that quadruple century for his school Vishnu Boys Hindu College in a PowerGen Secondary Schools Cricket League Under-14 playoff quarter-final against Valencia High School at Esmeralda Recreation Ground in Cunupia, yesterday.

Kallicharan, batting at number three, hit 44 fours and 31 sixes—a total of 362 runs in boundaries--bringing up his century off just 35 balls before going on to score a quadruple hundred as he led Vishnu to a massive 548 for one off 35 overs. Valencia were dismissed for 89, Vishnu going on to win by 459 runs.

It is not the first time the T&T youth player has gotten big scores this season. In the BG T&T Under-15 two-day competition, the right-hander scored back to back centuries for East Zone against North East at Honeymoon Park in El Dorado.

According to Vishnu Boys coach Tarandath Sammy, the 14-year-old also scored a double hundred earlier this season, hitting 215 in an Under-16 game for his school.

His appetite for big runs was evident last year when he slammed 194 in the Under-14 competition.

And no matter how astonishing the innings may seem, it was just another day on the field for Kallicharan who said he never had 400 on his mind.

“At the beginning I was just batting normal, just aiming to make a hundred but when I got to my century I realised I could score more and more and I just continued to bat,” he told the Express yesterday.

“I am not over-reacting about it. I am just felling happy I reached there. I am staying focused,” Kallicharan added.

Meanwhile his coach Sammy was not surprised by Kallicharan’s prolific scores.

Sammy who is also Kallicharan’s coach in the East Zone Under-15 squad said, “he had dominated the Under-13 level and the Under-15 level last year. It is remarkable but we are not reading too much into it.”

“Before the game, we were discussing the batting order and I asked him if he wanted to open the batting, but he said he wanted to give the other boys a chance,” Sammy added.

The Vishnu coach said the teenager played shots all around the ground — the home ground of Esmeralda Sports who also play in the country’s top club cricket competition, the Shanghai Construction Group (SCG) Premier Division.

Kallicharan also played a part with the ball in yesterday’s game, snatching two wickets for zero runs in one over while Rickash Boodram also grabbed two for zero off 0.3 overs.

Postby UML » June 11th, 2014, 9:52 am

really liked this quote so i added it here.

Postby UML » June 12th, 2014, 6:44 pm

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » June 13th, 2014, 12:27 am

true... August 31, 1962,

Postby UML » June 21st, 2014, 8:48 pm

US names Trini among trafficking-in-persons heroes
Story Created: Jun 21, 2014 at 12:06 AM ECT
Story Updated: Jun 21, 2014 at 12:06 AM ECT
Director of the Trinidad and Tobago Counter-Trafficking Unit, Charmaine Gandhi-Andrews, has been named one of the 2014 Trafficking in Persons (TIP) Report Heroes by the United States Department of State.
US Secretary of State John Kerry made the announcement yesterday as he released the 2014 TIP Report.
Gandhi-Andrews, who is in Washington to receive the award, said: “Our work has only just begun, but we are committed to the fight against human trafficking and will continue to work with the tenacity with which we started to end human trafficking in Trinidad and Tobago.”
Each year, the Department of State honours individuals around the world who have devoted their lives to the fight against human trafficking. These individuals are non-government organisation (NGO) workers, lawmakers, police officers, and concerned citizens who are committed to ending modern slavery.
They are recognised for their tireless efforts–despite resistance, opposition, and threats to their lives–to protect victims, punish offenders, and raise awareness of ongoing criminal practices in their countries and abroad.
A statement issued by the US Embassy in Port of Spain said as the first-ever director of Trinidad and Tobago’s Counter-Trafficking Unit at the Ministry of National Security, Gandhi-Andrews fundamentally changed the way the Government responds to the problem of human trafficking.
“Ms Gandhi-Andrews was for several years a leading and outspoken advocate for human trafficking legislation, which the Government ultimately implemented in January 2013. Largely due to her tireless efforts, Trinidad and Tobago now has an infrastructure in place to recognise, identify, and support victims.”
The statement said in the first year she led more than 20 investigations into suspected trafficking cases, resulting in charges filed against 12 alleged traffickers–including government officials–and uncovered a dangerous network of criminal gangs facilitating human trafficking in the Caribbean region.
In 2013, the Counter-Trafficking Unit hosted more than 20 presentations and workshops, designed to educate law enforcement, non-governmental organisations, the legal community, and students about human trafficking.
The US Embassy statement said Gandhi-Andrews, now the Deputy Chief Immigration Officer, in a short few years, has become the public face of anti-trafficking efforts in T&T, shifting the national dialogue so that it now embraces proactive efforts to combat trafficking in persons.
“As a result of these efforts, Trinidad and Tobago was upgraded from the Watch List of the report to a Tier 2 ranking. The report points out that ‘the Government of Trinidad and Tobago does not fully comply with the minimum standards for the elimination of trafficking, however, it is making significant efforts to do so’.”
The report lists a number of recommendations, including the need for the authorities in Trinidad and Tobago to “prosecute cases investigated under the 2011 Trafficking in Persons Act and convict and sentence trafficking offenders, including Government officials complicit in human trafficking”.
It also wants the authorities to “devote adequate resources to the anti-trafficking unit to carry out its mandate in the investigation of trafficking crimes and the identification and protection of victims; develop a national action plan to address law enforcement efforts, victim care, and interagency co-ordination related to human trafficking crimes”. —CMC
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/US- ... 73591.html

Postby UML » July 1st, 2014, 11:19 am

ras_elmo wrote:They got it already.
https://www.facebook.com/Angosturaaroma ... eam_ref=10

Postby UML » July 10th, 2014, 7:48 am

T&T child escorts France at World Cup
Published:
Tuesday, July 8, 2014

Eight-year-old Aaron Kunjan became the first child from T&T to escort a player at the World Cup, during the quarterfinal clash between Germany and France on Friday.

Eight-year-old Aaron Kunjan became the first T&T national to escort a player at the Fifa World Cup, when the Penal Government Primary student walked out onto the field at the Maracana Stadium in Brazil, on Friday.

Kunjan, who got the rare opportunity after winning the grand prize of the McDonald’s Player Escort programme, earlier this year, walked onto the pitch before the World Cup quarterfinal fixture between France and Germany holding hands with French winger Antoine Griezmann.

Kunjan and all other escorts special uniforms and the iconic Ronald McDonald stocking to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the Ronald McDonald House Charities.

The charity provides invaluable support through family-centred programmes that serve more than seven million children and families annually around the world.

Kunjan, as expected was elated for the experience. “I was so happy to represent my country during the quarterfinal game. It was a very proud and life-changing moment for me,” he said following the match which Germany won 1-0.

“I was really glad to walk onto the field with other escorts and players from France. It was an amazing experience.” Kunjan added.

He walked onto the pitch of the Maracana Stadium, one of the most iconic football arenas in the world, together with children from several countries including Romania, Austria, Morocco, Canada, Curacao and Brazil.

As part of the programme in Brazil, Kunjan visited cultural attractions in Rio de Janeiro and also played his own friendly match at the Rio Flamengo training field along with other children from visiting countries.

This year, McDonald’s has provided more than 1,408 children (ages six to ten) from 69 countries, which marks the largest number of countries participating in the programme since the brand began sponsoring it in 2002. Five children from the Caribbean were selected to represent their countries including Puerto Rico, Curacao, Martinique, Guadeloupe and T&T.

Kunjan and his father, Ronald Kunjan, who spent four days and three nights in Brazil were scheduled to return home yesterday.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2014-07 ... -world-cup

abbow wrote:We make news again....positively atleast

http://edition.cnn.com/2014/07/09/trave ... ?hpt=hp_c6

Postby UML » July 11th, 2014, 5:33 am

PATTERSON TO FLY THE RED.WHITE AND BLACK AT SUNDAY'S FINAL
FRIDAY, 11 JULY 2014 01:18

He’s going to be at the famous Maracana Stadium on Sunday with his daughter and it’s going to be a memory of a lifetime for John Patterson, author of the FIFA award winning article on local club Crown Trace FC.

Patterson’s piece on the small club from Enterprise, Chaguanas was voted the top story of the FIFA “Power of Football” contest which not only afforded Patterson an all expenses paid trip to Sunday’s World Cup final for two, but also saw FIFA and Kia present Crown Trace with two locker rooms and several kit and equipment items.

Kia also produced a video highlighting the club and it’s every day operations which included T&T footballers Kenwyne Jones, Carlos Edwards and Stern John. The video shows different aspects of life and football in T&T and has so far attracted over two million views on the official Kia Youtube channel since being launched last month. Kia sent a production team from Seoul and was assisted by the TTFA during its one-week filming of the video which is also being shown at several KIA showrooms around the world and was also been aired in Brazil during the ongoing World Cup. (Photo shows John Patterson (left) with Crown Trace FC coach Nicholas Griffith)

Patterson and his 24-year-old daughter Jhaline Williams are on a 5-day stay in Rio de Janeiro

“It’s a great feeling to go to Brazil for a final in the Maracana. You can’t get better than that,” Patterson said. “I know we’re going to enjoy this experience to the fullest.”

Commenting on the Crown Trace success and the attention the club has attracted, he said: “This is fantastic considering where we came from in Chaguanas and to see a small club like Crown Trace having a development program that has been rewarded. We hope that our relationships with other stakeholders can get better and we will not have to be struggling and begging for support for our players and for good facilities. We want to promote and be part of what the TTFA is trying to do for football and hopefully this will turn into a beneficial relationship for both parties.”

Patterson is a welding teacher at Chaguanas North Secondary of which Crown Trace coach Nicholas Griffith is also in charge of for the secondary schools football league campaign.
http://ttffonline.com/home/component/co ... final.html

Postby UML » July 22nd, 2014, 8:24 pm

Polish gold for Walcott, Borel takes another third
Published:
Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Keshorn Walcott left Poland for Glasgow, Scotland, yesterday, with a gold medal under his belt after he threw 82.90 metres to win the men’s javelin event at the 17th Janusz Sidlo Memorial, in Sopot.

Walcott dominated the field, with the next best challenger, Lukasz Grzeszczuk, managing only 76.46m. In third was another Pole, Pawel Rozinski, who threw 76.46m.

Walcott is scheduled to meet only a handful of those against whom he competed at the London Olympics in 2012, at this year’s Commonwealth Games. The Games open tomorrow, but Walcott will be in action from August 1, when the men’s javelin preliminaries will be held.

The classification round will take place the following day, just before the competition ends.

His season best stands at 83.94m, which he recorded in Beijing, China, back in May.

Meanwhile Cleopatra Borel, who threw 18.96m to place fourth at the Diamond League meet in Monaco, last Friday, returned to the field a day later at the Sainsbury’s Anniversary Games, in London, where she took third. She produced a 18.99m effort, behind winner Christina Schwanitz of Germany, who threw 19.92m. USA’s Michelle Carter placed second in 19.80m.

Borel will also represent T&T at the Commonwealth Games.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/sport/2014-07 ... ther-third

Postby UML » July 23rd, 2014, 1:54 pm

Trini is new head of Howard University

Published:
Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Trinidadian Wayne Frederick was voted the 17th president of Howard University, in Washington, DC, United States, on Monday by the university’s board of trustees after being unanimously recommended by the Presidential Search Committee (PSC). A graduate of St Mary’s College, Wayne Frederick, MD, MBA, FACS, originally from Opal Gardens, Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, and grandson of late attorney Charles Tyson, has served as the university’s interim president since last October.

He enrolled at Howard as a 16-year-old and earned a dual BSc/MD degree programme at 22, then went on to a surgical residency at Howard University Hospital. He completed a post-doctoral research fellowship and a surgical oncology fellowship at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Centre, then earned an MBA degree from Howard’s School of Business.

Now a respected scholar, surgeon, researcher and administrator, Frederick previously served as Howard’s Provost and chief academic officer, charged with oversight of Howard's 13 schools and colleges, as well as its health sciences enterprise.

Frederick’s mother Frances Tyson-Frederick, primary care manager of the North West Regional Health Authority, St George West, said yesterday: “I feel humbled by my son’s achievement and I thank God for this blessing. He deserves it because he has been a good child. I trust in God and raised him to trust in God.

“He is a very good surgeon and very good administrator. When I was there for his graduation I kept saying to myself, when he stood at the rostrum to deliver the speech as interim president, I kept saying to myself, ‘Is that my son?’ as the tears welled up in my eyes. “Wayne is going to be a good president. He is also a good husband and father. I always communicate with my boys and communication between parent and child is critical.

“We still have a lot of hope in Trinidad with young people like Wayne who are contributing and willing to give back to this nation. I have three sons and never had any kind of difficulty in bringing them up. I know there is hope for young people in this wonderful nation.” Frederick is quoted as saying in a release from the university: “I am deeply honoured to be selected by the board of trustees to lead this great university.

“Howard University has been an unparalleled catalyst since its founding, opening doors and expanding opportunities for untold individuals while driving research, innovation, service, and excellence. “On the cusp of our 150th anniversary, I could not be more humbled to accept the mantle of leadership and embrace the sacred trust of our motto, Truth and Service.”

According to the university release, the PSC, chaired by Vernon E Jordan, Jr, comprised all the university’s stakeholder groups and included Atlanta mayor Kasim Reed and California Attorney General Kamala D Harris. After conducting an exhaustive national search, we identified a finalist pool, comprised of both internal and external candidates. From this stellar group, Dr Frederick stood out as supremely qualified, remarkably motivated and uniquely suited to lead Howard University.”

Also quoted in the release, board chairman Stacey J Mobley said that Frederick “brings insight, energy and the requisite vision to advance the Capstone through collaboration and engagement.”
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-07- ... university

Postby UML » August 1st, 2014, 7:08 am

Fisherman jailed for police bribe

By Nikita Braxton-Benjamin

Story Created: Jul 24, 2014 at 9:12 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jul 25, 2014 at 11:06 AM ECT

FISHERMAN Rennie Jagbandhansingh was yesterday sentenced to a prison term for bribing a police officer.

Jagbandhansingh, 29, of Rousillac, will spent three months in jail after he pleaded guilty to offering a bribe to Constable Donald Snaggs to forego a marijuana charge against him (Jagbandhansingh).

Magistrate Lisa Ramsumair-Hinds commended the officer, saying that it showed that the country could have trust and confidence in police officers.

On Tuesday, Jagbandhansingh appeared before Ramsumair-Hinds and the court heard that around 4.50 p.m. the previous day, police searched the car in which he and another man were seated. Marijuana amounting to 6.2 grammes was found on the floor of the car.

While being arrested, Jagbandhansingh told Snaggs: “Boss, give me a chance nah. Look, take this envelope. It has $10,000 in it.”

Snaggs, who is attached to the Southern Division Task Force, saw $100 bills in the envelope.

When Jagbandhansingh was told of the offence of bribing the officer, he again asked to be freed and told the officer there was $20,000 in the envelope and he could take it all.

“I won’t say anything,” he told the policeman.

Yesterday, Ramsumair-Hinds noted that Jagbandhansingh had immediately placed “quite an attractive sum of money” in the officer’s hand.

The magistrate said that she viewed being caught “begging for a chance” as being different to attempting to bribe a police officer.

She commended Snaggs for having the fortitude to resist temptation and said that he was an example for citizens.

Ramsumair-Hinds said that in passing sentence she had to deter Jagbandhansingh and others from such an act of bribing a police officer.

He was sent to jail for three months.

Ramsumair-Hinds said that while Jagbandhansingh had made a foolish decision, there were consequences.

“It is a hard lesson to learn but I had to do it,” she said.

Jagbandhansingh, who was represented by attorney Jason Jackson, was fined $1,000 for possession of the marijuana.

The bribe money is to be returned to Jagbandhansingh.

He was jointly charged with possession of the marijuana with Robert Bridgemohan, 42, of South Oropouche.

Bridgemohan has been placed on $10,000 bail and will reappear in court on August 19.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Fis ... 42112.html

Postby K74T » August 1st, 2014, 7:11 am

Anil Roberts resigns, great news!

Postby rfari » August 3rd, 2014, 9:32 am

Select a section   

View Full SiteSite Search

[http://j]

[http://j]Previous ArticleNext Article

More Caroni land for SIS

Story Updated: Aug 2, 2014

licks: Farmer and jab jab masman Ronald Alfred demonstrates the use of the whip outside his home at Perseverance Village two weeks ago. —Photos: Ishmael Salandy

A move by Couva-based Super Industrial Services (SIS) to fence some 35 acres of land in Perseverance Village has made some farmers, who are squatting on the lands once owned by Caroni, quit their crops for cash.

SIS, founded by Krishna Lalla in 1979, already has a warehouse operation on Farm Road adjacent to the land that the company has fenced.

The Sunday Express understands the 30-acre parcel of land in which SIS’s warehouse is located was leased to it by Caroni.

In the past two months SIS vehicles, workers and tractors have been on the adjacent 35-acre piece of land, clearing and fencing it. 

For the past 15 years, the land was used by farmers.

When the Sunday Express visited the site, most farmers had already moved out. 

Some claimed to have been paid $2,000 in cash for their crops to vacate the land. Others claimed to have received up to $5,000 in cash to leave their crops behind.

Only two farmers have stubbornly remained and one of them has left his animals—cows and pigs—on the land. 

Officials at Caroni (1975) Ltd say they are unaware of any approval given to the company to expand its operations on the land. 

The lands, which once belonged to Caroni, were once vested to Estate Management and Business Development Company Ltd (EMBD) but are now vested with the Commissioner of State Lands, Ian Fletcher. 

That unit falls under the Ministry of Land and Marine Resources which is headed by Jairam Seemungal.

Farmer’s Plight

Ronald Alfred has spent six years trying to acquire a 1.75-acre piece of Caroni land at Perseverance Village, Couva.

He’s been squatting there for the past 15 years.

Alfred, a third-generation Carnival player, is also the head of the Original Jab Jab.

In the land, he plants herbs, which he uses for the spiritual preparation for mas and the lash plant, which is used to make the whips.

In addition, the land is also the space where he and his members practise before Carnival.

The whipmaking is an artform which was taught to him by his father and he’s territorial about that knowledge.

Alfred, who goes to different schools to educate pupils on Jab Jab mas on behalf of the National Carnival Commission (NCC), was honoured to have the road which leads to his home named Whipmaster Avenue.

The demands of being a band leader for a dying artform of mas, means he supplements his income with farming on 1.75-acre piece of land opposite his home.

One month ago, Alfred says a worker from SIS approached him to vacate the land.

“I was told that ‘(Krishna) Lalla get the land’ and they would compensate me for my crops,” said Alfred.

SIS, founded by Lalla, is a business conglomerate that has been the recipient of million-dollar contracts by the People’s Partnership Government. 

SIS’s main office is at Rivulet Road, Couva, but there is another office at Farm Road, Perseverance.

In the past few weeks, a further 40 acres has started being blocked.

Alfred said the worker who said he was from SIS informed him that Lalla had received a lease for the 40 acres of land being blocked.

“When I asked him how Lalla got the land, they wouldn’t say,” he said.

The land had housed squatters and farmers like him for the past 15 years.

“People were given $2,000 in cash to move out. Some were given $5,000. That was lost in a weekend,” said Alfred.

Squatter Tenancy

Alfred’s 1.75 acre piece of land, fenced around after he was visited by former Caroni officials, stands alone in a flat, brown terrain.

Alfred explained that he went to Caroni’s offices which are still operational at Brechin Castle to find out about the land he uses.

He showed the Sunday Express a document from Caroni which he had acquired in 2009 which stated: “This serves as an acknowledgement that the undersigned has/have participated in the regularisation exercise being conducted by Caroni (1975) Ltd on behalf of the State.”

He was given a squatter tenancy number of 286.

“When they pulled up my file on their system, my name was the only name listed for that plot of land,” he told the Sunday Express in an interview at his home two Thursdays ago.

Alfred’s wife, Shalima Buckradee, said an offer was made to them by SIS for $50,000 to vacate their land.

Alfred said when he refused, another worker from SIS came with a Sponsorship Agreement for the Original Jab Jab.

The agreement is for a sponsorship of $15,000 for one year starting on January 1, 2015 to December 2015.

For $15,000, Alfred would have had to have SIS logos sewn into his costumes and perform at 12 SIS events for the year.

Alfred, who also fixes cars to help supplement his family income, explained that $15,000 does not cover the costs of costumes for the 58 members of the band.

Shalima, who sews all the costumes, explained that the costumes are given free to all those who play in their band because that was what they had learnt from her father-in-law before he died.

Claiming Land

Most of the land being fenced around has already been cleared. All that’s visible are mounds of debris from clearing the land and a few trees.

When the Sunday Express visited the area, a van from SIS was parked and several workers were under a tent around midday.

Questioned as to the company’s purpose of the land, they just said they were just told to have it fenced around and said the person in charge would visit later in the evening.

A tour of the land acquired showed that one farmer, like Alfred, refused to move his animals form the land. There were cows and pigs in his acre.

The animals, which were ring-fenced by their owner, were further ring-fenced after the land was blocked around the animals.

Several portable toilets were on the land bearing the company’s name JaniKing. A company search of JaniKing showed that it was a janitorial services company registered by Lalla in 1994.

Alfred said he has approached his MP, Ramona Ramdial, for assistance in getting a lease for the land but she said she would pass on the information to the Jairam Seemungal, the Minister of Land and Marine Affairs.

He explained that, schools and international students come to interview him to learn more about jab jab. He said he’s been given the assurance by the Ministry of Arts that should he acquire the land, they would help in erecting a small museum-type facility.

“This is about the mas and wanting to keep the tradition alive,” he said.

Ramdial confirmed she had met with the family and said she would try and arrange a meeting with Minister Seemungal.

Seemungal was out of the country when the Sunday Express tried to contact him and this newspaper has been unable to contact him via cellphone or text messages.

When the Sunday Express contacted SIS, chief executive David Lumsden was always unavailable. The Sunday Express tried several times over the course of three weeks but was told he was always out of the office when the Sunday Express identified itself.

Contacted two weeks ago, Fletcher explained that he was new to the office and did not have the information on the acquisition of the land.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Mor ... lmob=y&c=n

Postby rfari » August 7th, 2014, 9:22 pm

...PNM reveals its 10 Constitution amendments

Story Updated: Aug 7, 2014

The People’s National Movement (PNM) has a list of ten amendments to the Constitution of Trinidad and Tobago.

This was disclosed yesterday by Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley at a news conference at Balisier House, Port of Spain, to discuss the outcome of the party’s Special General Council meeting on Wednesday.

Among the amendments are the establishment of the post of a Deputy Prime Minister; a standard Cabinet size, including the number of senators who can be appointed as ministers; an amendment to how the President is elected; and internal self-government for Tobago. 

Rowley said the party’s Constitution committee, which has been working for the past year, listed the ten sections of the Constitution of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago which need to be exa­mined.

The committee is chaired by Opposition Senator Camille Robinson-Regis and includes three former attorneys general—John Jeremie, Glenda Morean-Phillip and Bridgid Annisette-George.

Rowley said the amendments would have “the effect of strengthening and making the Parliament effective, reducing prime ministerial power and reducing Cabinet dictatorship”.

“If those changes are made, we believe that significant improvements will come with respect to the governance of the people of Trinidad and Tobago, and these changes are based not by any desire to win an election that is imminent but treating with the experiences that we have had,” he said.

“So any amendment to the Constitution is driven by an experience which tells us that what we have is not satis­factory or is not working or requires expansion in some way, and we are addressing that.

“That is how the PNM has approached the question of reform of the Constitution, and now that the Government is going to the Parliament to do this, we draw to the attention of the population that the Government’s behaviour in 2014 during this vacation period is no way addressing the problems as faced by the country. It is seeking to address a problem as faced by the party, as faced by the Cabinet, as faced by the incumbent, and that problem they are facing is imminent defeat at the polls,” Rowley said.

Rowley said several of the Opposition members of Parliament were on vacation and had to be recalled to attend Monday’s sitting of the Lower House.

n The PNM’s proposed 10 amendments

1. Full-time parliamenta­rians—Section 39, which establishes the Parliament; however it does not indicate whether parliamentarians are

full-time or part-time.

2. Campaign finance reform—amendments must be made to the

Representation of the People Act-OAS Model.

3. Parliamentary

committees—main objective to increase powers, Section 66 A.

4. Size of the Cabinet—Section 75; Section 76 (3).

5. Powers of the

President—include mechanism for

election, Chapter 3.

6. Caribbean Court of Justice—Section 109 entrenched (3/4 House

of Representatives,

2/3 Senate)

7. Self-government for Tobago—Chapter 11A. However, the THA Act will also have to receive as the Constitution just establishes the Assembly powers, etc, are in the act.

8. Prime Minister

(acting appointments)—Section 78 (1).

9. Municipal

corporations—This

has to be dealt with through the Municipal

Corporations Act.

10. Limits on the

number of senators appointed as ministers—Section 75 (2); Section 76 (3); Section 79 (1).

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/PNM ... lmob=y&c=n

Postby UML » August 15th, 2014, 10:47 am

Blind student excels at CSEC
Published:
Thursday, August 14, 2014
Reshma Ragoonath

Tweet

Text Size:
Visually-impaired Shamika Henry, third from left, celebrates her achievement in the CSEC examination with her mother, Allyson Rebeiro, second from right, and siblings at their home in San Fernando yesterday. PHOTO: RISHI RAGOONATH

The best birthday gift ever, said Holy Faith Convent, Couva, student Shamika Henry yesterday, describing how it felt to get a full certificate in her Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) exams, despite being blind. On Tuesday, Henry, of San Fernando Street, San Fernando, turned 18 and she said she prayed hard for good grades. With her mother Allyson Rebeiro at her side the teenager went online on Tuesday evening to check her CSEC results. She prayed silently as she waited for her results to appear.

When her mother read the results to her, the ecstatic teenager said: “I wanted to fall down when I heard I got a one in mathematics and two distinctions.” Henry, speaking to the T&T Guardian at her home yesterday, said she had expected to do well but was surprised to have excelled at maths because it was a significant challenge for her in school. “I was praying hard and working hard towards it,” she said, smiling. Rebeiro said her daughter was an inspiration to all and she was proud of her resolve.

“This is to encourage others. To anyone facing any challenge, whether it is physical or not, this should encourage you. Do not be discouraged. You can accomplish anything. For you anything is possible,” Rebeiro said. Henry, an aspiring singer and poet, and her mother said they were grateful to software development company RSC International, based in Penal, for re-designing its maths software program to help Henry improve her maths.

She said they worked closely with her in the months leading to the CSEC examinations and she wanted to do well to express her gratitude. “When they created Maths Solutions for me it made me feel it was worth it to know that people were trying to make things easier for me. (I thought) why not put in all the effort to do well? When I heard the results I said it was the best birthday gift ever.”

She got distinctions in English Language and English Literature, a one in mathematics and twos in Spanish, principles of business, music and theatre arts. She was unable to complete her biology exam because she was hospitalised but her mother said she would resit the exam in January. Rebeiro, a Spanish teacher at St Benedict’s College, La Romaine, said she was grateful for the software because Henry had been getting low grades in maths because most of the questions involved diagrams.

But she said she had faith in God her daughter would excel. She added: “God always placed one of his people there to help us along this five-year journey. When I saw the results I was overjoyed, ecstatic. I went down on my knees and gave praise to Jesus. “I promised her a shopping spree and she will get it. I was expecting her to do well. I was never doubtful.” Her husband, Joel, has been a big influence on Henry and has supported her every step of the way, she said.

She said yesterday Henry was selected for a special space camp in Alabama, United States, and would leave next month. Henry said she wanted to do a degree in languages and literature and would be doing business management, Spanish and literature for Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examinations (CAPE). Henry, the sixth of seven siblings, began losing her vision shortly after passing for Holy Faith Convent five years ago.

She went to Boston for surgery to repair a detached retina and glaucoma but it was unsuccessful and she lost the sight in both eyes. Rebeiro said in 2012, when they returned to Trinidad, Henry enrolled in the School for the Blind and completed the two-year course in five months.

She was allowed to return to Holy Faith and move up to Form Three together with the girls she started Form One with, even though she missed Second Form and did not complete First Form. She said the school community was good to her daughter and nurtured her.

MORE INFO
Maths software a big help

Yesterday software designer Raj Ramdass, who was instrumental in reworking the program for Henry, said he was thrilled when he heard about her CSEC results. “I prayed and thanked the Lord for her results. When I met her she won my heart and she touched me. I do not have a daughter and I felt as if she was my daughter and when I heard, I was so happy and proud of her,” he said.

Ramdass said he, together with Dr Fayad Ali and Shereen Khan, embarked on a pilot project to develop maths software locally and improve maths results. In 2012 they did a pilot project with Union Claxton Bay Secondary using the software and the school attained a 300 per cent improvement in maths. He said the Ministry of Education partnered with the company to distribute the software to schools and do workshops with teachers. They worked with 95 schools.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-08- ... xcels-csec

Postby UML » August 20th, 2014, 9:26 am

Naps boy with 16 ones: I want to be a doctor

Sharlene Rampersad
Published:
Wednesday, August 20, 2014

His dream of becoming a doctor was all the motivation Rajeev Ram, 17, needed when he registered to take 16 subjects in the May/June Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) exams in January. But the Naparima College student said he never expected 16 grade ones, saying the results left him feeling overwhelmed and shocked.

Ram, who visited the South Guardian office on Monday with his parents and twin sisters, recalled the reaction of teachers and classmates when they found out his decision to sit 16 subjects at once, a year ago. He did 11 subjects at the college and five subjects privately. “Some people said I was trying to show off, some said the workload would be way too much for me to handle,” he said. “But I made the decision because although I want to be a doctor, I have an interest in business as well.”

He explained his passion for medicine, saying he got his inspiration from observing the harsh conditions at public hospitals from a young age. “I used to accompany my grandparents to the hospital when they were alive, and the conditions I saw citizens enduring were heartbreaking,” he said. “I want to be able to help people and stop at least some of this suffering.” His proud parents, Rajendra, a school principal, and Sadie, a public servant, describe him as self-motivated and disciplined.

“He rarely came to us for assistance with his work, but the family has supported him fully,” said Rajendra. “Despite his workload, he still did all his chores at home and found time to worship and thank God along the way.” When asked how they planned to celebrate their son’s accomplishments, the Princes Town parents said they might just stay home and watch a movie together. “We are a simple family,” explained Rajendra with a smile.

“We don’t go out much, we might make dinner and watch a movie at home.” Rajendra was especially proud as he too once had aspirations to become a doctor. “Children now are very fortunate. I wanted to study medicine as well, but it was just too expensive,” he said. “Although we let him choose for himself what he wants to become, he is living my dream.”

Asked what advice he would give to other students, the eloquent teen said: “Nothing is impossible, once you make up your mind, work hard and have faith in God, you can achieve anything.”

Ranjeev’s subjects

Ad maths, biology, chemistry, English A, English B, mathematics, physics, principles of accounts, Spanish, human and social biology, office administration, principles of business, social studies, geography, technical drawing and integrated science.
http://m.guardian.co.tt/2014-08-20/naps ... -be-doctor

Postby RASC » August 20th, 2014, 11:38 am

16 1's and he say he wanna be a doctor.
That man really wanna waste away he life. He only book smart.

Should a say PP financier!

Postby UML » August 27th, 2014, 7:23 am

Not a fan of Bunji....but he still making us proud!!!

Differentology

Bunji Garlin
RCA/VP

Bunji Garlan
BY Julianne Escobedo Shepherd | August 21, 2014

For the first time in ages, Trinidadian soca – a percussive, often high-speed, calypso-influenced Caribbean music – has a new global star in the making. Bunji Garlin, a stylish tenor with a mean hook game, scored a kinetic smash with 2012's "Differentology," which stayed in rotation for a full year, placing him as the clear successor to soca's previous crossover king, Machel Montano. Garlin's debut exemplifies what it means to be a differentologist: The singer blends dancehall, EDM and even trap ("Truck on D Road," with A$AP Ferg) into his sound, without ever seeming like he's trying too hard. It's soca for the Spotify generation.
http://www.rollingstone.com/music/album ... y-20140821
From The Archives Issue 1217: September 11, 2014

Raise your glasses and tip your hats to the Trinidad and Tobago Senior Women's team on their triumph over Jamaica in the Caribbean Cup Final tonight.

An 8th minute goal by Mariah Shade did the job for T&T. Shade was also name the tournament's Most Valuable Player, Tasha St Louis won the top goalscorer award and Kimika Forbes was adjudged the tournament's best goalkeeper.

Next up, T&T will focus on the CONCACAF Final Qualifying Round in the United States from October 15th-26th. The tournament features eight countries divided into two groups of four with the top two finishers in each group after round-robin play moving on to the semifinals. The two finalists and the winner of the third-place match will qualify directly for the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Canada. The fourth-place team will enter a playoff with a South American country for a final berth.

Postby UML » August 29th, 2014, 11:36 am

Two local students earn NASA internships

August 28 2014

Two young men from Chaguanas and Santa Cruz have been chosen for a once in a lifetime internship with the US Space Agency, NASA.

21 year old Stefan Hosein and 19 year old Jason Renwick were selected from a pool of more than 20 students.

The internship is the first of its kind between NASA and T&T, and will see the young men travel to Mountain View, California for a six week programme beginning September 2nd.

They will participate in intense study programmes in their fields of specialization: Mr Renwick’s is electronic prognostics, while Mr Hosein’s is biologically inspired machine intelligence.

As they do so, they will be mentored by senior NASA scientists.

Both young men are ecstatic to be granted the opportunity, which they believe will help them break new ground in their areas of study.
http://www.103fm.net/two-local-students ... ternships/

Yeo

Postby Yeo » August 29th, 2014, 12:31 pm

Congrats to them both!

(Hope they get through with a US Visa.....)

Postby eliteauto » September 2nd, 2014, 9:51 am

Matelot mom attends same school with her children

From dropout to schoolteacher

Michelle Charles was a promising young student at Toco Composite School whose academic achievements regularly made her family proud, until, at age 15, she got pregnant. Just weeks before writing her O-Level examinations, she dropped out of school and married her boyfriend, Perfield Meltz.

In the years that followed, Charles and her husband had five children—Nigel, Chantell, Kristelle, Ruel and Kasel—and her chances of completing her education and achieving her dream of becoming a teacher looked dim as she became weighed down with her responsibilities as wife and mother.

But 11 years after dropping out of school, Charles did the unthinkable and at age 26 she enrolled in the Matelot Community College, put back on a school uniform and began attending classes full-time at the same school where her first son had been placed after sitting the Common Entrance exam.

“One morning, I went to the Matelot Community College where my eldest son Nigel was attending, having passed his Common Entrance examination for that school and told the principal Sister Rosario Hackshaw that I was interested in taking evening classes and wanted to sign up,” she said. Hackshaw told her the school did not have evening classes and instead offered her a place as a full-time student.

She recalled, “At first I had reservations. I wasn’t keen on the idea of going back to a school which had over 100 adolescents. I asked myself how would I work with them as a mother and wife.”

However, after discussing it with her family, Charles decided to take on the challenge. She signed up and was placed in a Form Four class where she began preparing for the CXC exams in seven subjects—Maths, Literature, Social Studies, Human and Social Biology, Principles of Business, Agricultural Science and Spanish. Charles joined a class of 25 students several years her junior.

“Going back to school was tough. Matelot is a small village and people said things which were hurtful and mean when I started. Even my classmates provoked me by throwing words—not in my face, but within earshot to see how I would react. I had become a target in the community I had grew to love. “Honestly, this was the last thing I was expecting. But it was natural human behaviour.”

At first, Charles was bothered by all the taunts. Her son Nigel, who was in Form One, was also being teased. “The female students started to tease Nigel about me. They used to ask him why I not home seeing about his young brothers and sisters which got him upset. Many days I had to talk to Nigel to control his anger because he could not cope. The taunting was pushing him to the edge.” Eventually she managed to pull herself together and focused on her schoolwork.

“I told myself I came here for a purpose and nothing was going to get in my way.” When Charles began placing first in most of her exams, her classmates began to compete with her. “Almost every student would try to beat my score. It created a keen rivalry because nobody wanted to get lower than my grade.” She soon earned the respect and admiration of her classmates and they began to look up to her as a mother figure and role model.

At the end of two years, Charles got six CXC passes. She was valedictorian at the school’s graduation and copped the top two awards for most outstanding and most consistent student. Charles’ success at O-Levels gave her the motivation to press on further with her studies. Encouraged by that success, she said, “I decided to try my hands at A-Levels, which was an even bigger task.”

Thrown in the deep end
Once again, this time in a class with six students, Charles took the lead academically. However, there were challenges on the home front. “I remember coming home one evening tired and Kasel, who was just three years old, asking me for tea. I promised to make the tea but dozed off on the couch. “When I awoke, I saw Kasel on a biscuit tin near the kitchen counter struggling to make the tea. While I felt proud that he was able to help himself, I felt as if I had failed as a mother and started to cry.”

Charles also had to pay special attention to her elder daughter, Chantell, who was dyslexic. “The children made it easy for me because they all helped with the household chores and looked out for one another. It was not easy. There were pressures all around.” At the end of that two-year programme, Charles was once again chosen as valedictorian and named most outstanding and consistent student in the class.

After graduation, Hackshaw offered her a temporary teaching job at the school. “I was given a post-primary class of nine boys to teach. Actually, nobody wanted to teach those boys because they were rebellious and difficult to manage. “Many of the boys lacked self-esteem because they came from troubled, single-parent homes. I was thrown in the deep end.” In a matter of weeks, Charles got the boys to settle down and focus.

“I realised that this was my strong point in teaching—reaching out, listening and being there for the students.” As a means of giving back to her community, Charles began giving evening classes to women who had never been able to attend school. Around that time, she also gave birth to her sixth child, Jeuelle, who is now 15.

Charles applied for a teaching position at the Ministry of Education and was posted at the Grand Riviere Anglican School in 1998. From there, she was transferred to Cumana AC School, then finally settled at St Mary’s Anglican School in Tacarigua. When school re-opens on Tuesday, she will be in charge of a Standard One class.

Touching lives
Last month, Charles returned to Matelot to visit for the first time in many years. “Two female villagers who I had not seen in ages told me that I gave them the inspiration to go back to school after dropping out. For me, this was the best news ever. I realised that going back to school was not in vain and that I had touched at least two lives in my pursuit to better my life and that of my children.”

In 2010, Charles obtained a bachelor’s degree in public-sector management at the University of the West Indies (UWI), St Augustine. The following year, her husband died. Now a grandmother of one, she plans to pursue her master’s in sociology at UWI. “To me the sky is the limit. You can never stop learning.” Four of Charles’ six children are currently attending Costaatt.

“As a mother and teacher, I could not be prouder and happier of my success and how my life has turned out. Had it not been for my family and Sr Hackshaw, who I think was my guiding angel, I don’t know where I would have been today. “Who would have thought that after five pregnancies and dropping out of school I would have gone back to study? If I could do it, anyone can.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-08- ... r-children

Postby UML » September 2nd, 2014, 9:56 am

^^^just posted this and realized we posted at the same time.

Postby UML » September 22nd, 2014, 11:31 am

Meghan Trainor says her #1 Billboard hit is soca
By Gary Trust

Story Created: Sep 18, 2014 at 8:21 PM ECT

Story Updated: Sep 18, 2014 at 8:21 PM ECT

Interestingly the songs at number one and three on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles Chart this week are both about the posterior and, more importantly, both connected to Trinidad and Tobago. Trini-born Nikki Minaj is at number three with her cheeky single “Anaconda” as she continues to fly the red, white and black globally in her unique zany way.
The song standing at the top of the chart is “All About That Bass” by Meghan Trainor, who is from Nantucket, Massachusetts, and defined as an artiste who does pop, blue-eyed-soul and doo wop. Don’t tell Trainor that to her face, though, as she insists that her music is influenced by the music of Trinidad and Tonbago and her number one charting hit is soca.
Trainor says she was inspired and encouraged by her uncle, Tobago-born soca artiste Burton Toney, who is married to Trainor’s aunt. Toney, who lives in the United States, performed with the band known as Jackie Johnson’s Excel and later on Atlantik before he migrated. His own talent and passion for soca music served as inspiration for Trainor, who experimented with blending pop and other styles with soca to come up with this hybrid.
The recipe is clearly working: “All About That Bass” debuted at #84 and quickly rose to the top. The 20-year-old Trainor chatted with Billboard Magazine by phone from Los Angeles. Now based in Nashville she beamed about how thankful she is that “Bass”, co-written with and produced by Kevin Kadish, is not only quickly scaling multiple charts, but also making those entranced by it feel even better about themselves.
Here is the Q&A:

Billboard: In a rarity among musical artistes, you’re from Nantucket. You must have fond memories of growing up in such a picturesque place.
Trainor: I love it. I was born and raised there. I went to school there up until high school, when we moved to the Cape [Cod], although we kept our house [on Nantucket], so we would go back and forth.
Radio was my life growing up. Then, I started in our family band with my uncle, my father, my aunt and my little brother. We would go to The Chicken Box and all the bars and play. Those are the main places there for music.
My uncle is from Trinidad, so, ever since I was 7, I grew up listening to soca, the genre that’s from there. It’s my favourite sound. So, we put a band together and we would play soca … and then I would go up and play my little pop songs (laughs). It was fun!

What got you to Nashville, especially at a fairly young age?

My parents would take me to songwriting conventions all over, [to] Colorado and Los Angeles ... In Colorado – it was random – a country music publisher was there and she heard me. She decided to sign me right out of high school.
I was living with my parents until I was 19 and then I said, “Guys, it’s too hard to travel to LA from this island. It’s an all-day process and I’m getting tired!” So, I said, “Let’s move closer.” They liked Nashville, and my publisher was in Nashville, so I already had a base there. I love Nashville.

How has it been going from tranquil Nantucket to bustling Nashville? The opportunities to co-write must be amazing.

I’ve written two songs for Rascal Flatts’ Rewind album with Jesse Fraser and Shay Mooney [of Dan + Shay], “DJ Tonight” and “I Like the Sound of That”. It was our biggest dream come true.

Is it a stretch for you, as largely a pop artist, to write for a country act?

Since my father is a musician, as well, he taught me growing up that if you can play jazz, you can learn all instruments and write on them. He wanted me to be a songwriter that can do anything in any genre. I’m all about doing every genre.
So, at one point he said, “Girl, give me some country cuts!” I said, “All right, Dad, I’ll get you those country cuts, not a problem!” When I found out that Rascal Flatts was going to record those two songs, I called him up and said, “Dad, I got those country cuts you wanted. I did it!” (laughs) He was like, “Yes!”

So that helps explain how “All About That Bass” is a bit hard to categorise, sonically. Please give us the origins of the song, especially the chorus, which has a bit of a ‘50s/’60s doo-wop feel and really doesn’t sound like anything else that’s on pop radio right now.

That’s the best part. I remember when we pitched it as songwriters, everyone was like, “The chorus isn’t a big chorus.” You know how every pop song has that huge chorus? We were like, “No, that’s the catchiest part of the song! That’s our chorus and we don’t want to change it.”
So we kept it, and that’s everyone’s favourite part.

The title, and its imagery, is pretty fun, too. How did you come up with it?

You know how the bass guitar in a song is like its “thickness”, the “bottom”? I kind of related a body to that. My producer [Kadish] had the title and said that none of his prior co-writers could figure out what to relate that to. So, I said, “What about a booty? Let’s talk about that!” (laughs)
From there, it turned into, let’s do a song about loving your body … and your booty.

You’ve caused a bit of stir with one of the song’s lyrics: “I’m bringing booty back. Go ahead and tell them skinny b----es!”

Even with some of the “hate” comments I’ve seen, they’ve gotten a conversation going. But, I’m not bashing skinny girls. Some girls have commented, “I’m a size zero, so you must hate me.” But that’s not it at all!
There have been battles on my YouTube page, like, “You don’t know what she’s talking about. She’s actually saying, ‘I know even you skinny girls struggle’.” And that’s exactly how I feel.

Overall, the song’s message seems to be resonating so positively. Colbie Caillat has even Tweeted how much she likes it.

I cried when she Tweeted that, because I’m the biggest Colbie Caillat fan evah!
I wrote it for me, as well, because I’ve struggled with [body image] since I was very young. And, my best friend is a beautiful goddess, but she’ll pick on herself in the mirror. “My forehead’s too big,” or, “My shoulders go out too far ...”
So, if other girls can relate to the song, it makes me feel even better. It’s unreal that I’m kind of helping people.

Promoting positive body image in songs is a bit of a trend now, with your song, Caillat’s new single “Try” and John Legend’s new “You & I (Nobody in the World)” all having videos praising natural beauty.

I saw a feature on The Ellen DeGeneres Show about that model who was Photoshopped to have extra-long arms. I was like, this is getting out of control. Someone needs to say something!
So, when I got my record deal, and with this song, I was like, perfect, I have the opportunity to say something to the world. I’ll take it. This is the best message I could say.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/featured ... 81291.html