San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Re: San Fernando to Point Fortin Highway

Postby Redman » September 17th, 2014, 7:38 am

brams112 wrote:
Redman wrote:What is frustrating to me...is that the GORTT is yet to confront WK s assertions head on...each side refuting the other in carefully managed press conferences and therefore clouding the issues....

The GORTT should set a PUBLIC forum,and bring both sides to present their side....and arbitrate the matter once and for all and in full view of the public.

Im all for the highway, but I also believe that it should not be done in an hamfisted manner-where a little more effort might make a big difference to the ecologically sensitive areas..

Its a RE ROUTE movement-not a anti highway movement.

Both sides seem to have an agenda.

Pal people getting paid to prevent,to make sure the highway goes where certain people bought lands just to make a killing and so on,the amount of times it was realigned most folks don't know.Where do you live and commute?because at any given time there could be gridlocked traffic going point from all roads,don't even mention when the gulf starts to get on bad,so you got to listen to who living in the area,have titles to their land and those who experience the traffic.Yesterday I was going towards the creek,when I reached paria suites there was a pile up,ended up passing through woodland,because I did not want to be caught in salt water spray.Plus most of the protesters are squatters eh.

See this is the problem....BOTH sides have a PR machine...even though the issues are black and white.

One side says XYZ, the other ABC. Only one could be right.

why not call out WK and show him up to be the fake you claim he is???

If the govt came out and seriously is able to address WKs concerns-whether dismissing them through fact based research or accommodating them, we would not be having the issue now.

If as you say its a money based protest -then WKs concerns on the environment should be easily debunked through dissemination of factual info....

When last did we have a govt thats slow to show that they right????

The highway is a great idea-a great $7B idea.

As a people we should be sure that its executed PROPERLY.

Improper execution will mitigate the benefits of this project and we will be stuck with it ....

The rush to provide a solution without exercising due care and attention-and profligate spending on poorly executed projects leave us with Toruba,Petrotrin HQ,1.6B Airports,EWMSC,NAPA,SAPA.

EVERY GOVERNMENT has been guilty of this..

So again build the highway-but build it RIGHT.
SO come out and refute the claims being made by the HRM.

Postby UML » September 17th, 2014, 9:44 am

UML wrote:Anyone know which part of Mon Desir the red/white boy that protesting from? :lol: :lol:

Ah setta damn ppl who doh even pass the lighthouse. Steups.

Wah part of Mon Desir is Peter Minshall and Dr. Hodge from again? Dr. Hodge like she want to become a politician :|

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 17th, 2014, 9:46 am

I hope he getting good money yes, cause nobody taking he on this time

Postby UML » September 17th, 2014, 10:21 am

Redman wrote:What is frustrating to me...is that the GORTT is yet to confront WK s assertions head on...each side refuting the other in carefully managed press conferences and therefore clouding the issues....

The GORTT should set a PUBLIC forum,and bring both sides to present their side....and arbitrate the matter once and for all and in full view of the public.

Im all for the highway, but I also believe that it should not be done in an hamfisted manner-where a little more effort might make a big difference to the ecologically sensitive areas..

Its a RE ROUTE movement-not a anti highway movement.

Bth sdes seem to ave an agenda.

Kubs want money, he said that the highway movement is up for discussion like how the govt settle the soca warriors issue

Postby Redman » September 17th, 2014, 2:59 pm

if it was easy for this government to prove him wrong they would have.

BOTH sides have an agenda-that has nothing to do with the truth

Postby brams112 » September 17th, 2014, 6:32 pm

Redman wrote:if it was easy for this government to prove him wrong they would have.

You still did not answer my question,but quoted me,do you live or travel to go to point at any time?
Kublalsingh is a fool and my money comment is true eh.

Postby rspann » September 17th, 2014, 6:42 pm

Brams 112 ,you are wrong! Kublalsingh is not a fool!

He is ah krunt.

Postby Redman » September 17th, 2014, 6:47 pm

brams112 wrote:
Redman wrote:if it was easy for this government to prove him wrong they would have.

You still did not answer my question,but quoted me,do you live or travel to go to point at any time?

Since you insist.

I Lived in Point Fortin for 25 years...went to school in Sando while living in Point,SPENT 5 years Sando POS commute
Live in Palmiste work in Sando, with runs to Chag and POS...

If you can find anything wrong with what I posted I'm interested to hear.

I don't see what relevance where I live has...that is the type of insular myopic attitude that empowers the sycophant.
Last edited by Redman on September 17th, 2014, 7:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 16 cycles » September 17th, 2014, 7:07 pm

Cant encourage ppl converging around offices of strategic importance to country.

Hunger strike at home.

link

Postby link » September 17th, 2014, 8:11 pm

16 cycles wrote:Cant encourage ppl converging around offices of strategic importance to country.

Hunger strike at home.

don't worry...a few tropical waves will ensure that... :idea:

Postby brams112 » September 17th, 2014, 8:21 pm

Redman wrote:
brams112 wrote:

Since you insist.

I Lived in Point Fortin for 25 years...went to school in Sando while living in Point,SPENT 5 years Sando POS commute
Live in Palmiste work in Sando, with runs to Chag and POS...

If you can find anything wrong with what I posted I'm interested to hear.

I don't see what relevance where I live has...that is the type of insular myopic attitude that empowers the sycophant.

Well good to know,seem you may not know or can't remember the commute,anyways the highway is being built to ease the strain on everybody,plus plenty roads will be less congested as a plus,I view you as a someone who maybe against the project,are you?because your views sure seems so.
Anyway why did you move?

Postby Redman » September 17th, 2014, 9:24 pm

You really have nothing to say except to bad talk Kublalsingh.

You understand the word re route?

It's not a don't build the highway movement It's a re route movement.

Which implies that the GORTT may not be executing a great idea properly.
Which may cost all of us in the future.

If the government were able to refute his claims....they would have...and it would have made it into the papers.

They have not....so regardless where I live,whether Kublalsingh is making money or not the GORTT has a responsibility to address all our concerns ...which they have not full filled.

If he is such a krunt. Why can't the GORTT deal with him properly??

Prove him wrong THEN, Build the hway

What are your views on the Armstrong report?
The recommendations were mainly based on the fact that the GORTT did not follow best practices.
Yet the GORTT ignored the reccs even though the GORTT established the committee and it's terms of reference.

Your views are entirely wrong...you musbe from POS :?

Just point out where I have stated implicitly or explicitly that I'm against the hway.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » September 17th, 2014, 10:00 pm

In anything, minority loses - Kuby take heed...
What does the population who this h/way would benefit want - Progress in all ways...
Any Gov't go cut-up money - Daiz expected...
Is human nature to welcome attention, no matter what in some instances - Kuby take heed...

Ah could go on & on yess...to summarize - Kuby hull yuh cyant...!!!

9YDMS

Postby 9YDMS » September 17th, 2014, 10:01 pm

abbow wrote:i live 4 houses away from where the Grant trace intersection will be built...

can you post some pics of work being done/updates ?

Postby nervewrecker » September 17th, 2014, 10:26 pm

abbow wrote:while i am for the highway....the question really remains.....how much is it goin to help the traffic situation? i drive from south to st clair 5 days a week...and doing that for the last 12 years...

i leave home at 4 am...get to work around 5 am to avoid all the traffic and the crap driving that we get sometimes on a morning..if i were to leave home 5 am....different story...

bamboo lights, gulf lights and macko traffic is to blame for the traffic heading into Sando after 6 am...

most of the traffic i encounter is on the hw from gasparillo onwards....so does this mean that we gonna get out of south faster and meet the same traffic on the hw that we do now? really, it doesnt mean because we have the hw in south now..that the amount of commuters heading into pos will be less....it means they can leave home a little late and with everyone doing the same...same traffic to POS

i live 4 houses away from where the Grant trace intersection will be built, so i await to see the difference it really makes for me having to go st clair every day...

Who you man?

I took some pics of where it passing in dehli road. Will try and post them up soon

Postby wagonrunner » September 17th, 2014, 11:56 pm

abbow wrote:i leave home at 4 am...get to work around 5 am to avoid all the traffic and the crap driving that we get sometimes on a morning..if i were to leave home 5 am....different story...

bamboo lights, gulf lights and macko traffic is to blame for the traffic heading into Sando after 6 am...

most of the traffic i encounter is on the hw from gasparillo onwards....so does this mean that we gonna get out of south faster and meet the same traffic on the hw that we do now? really, it doesnt mean because we have the hw in south now..that the amount of commuters heading into pos will be less....it means they can leave home a little late and with everyone doing the same...same traffic to POS
SENSE. One result is going to be the backup on the northbound moving south.
I was a north south commuter prior and during the SOE. I had to be at golconda for 5a or else i'd be late into POS. At the end of the 5a curfew i'd now be leaving home. getting to golconda "in traffic" at 5:30, and then joining the slow line to POS.

The other thing is why build along an existing route condemning it?
Won't it make sense to expand road infrastructure into other areas, allowing existing roads for local traffic?

Postby Ted_v2 » September 18th, 2014, 1:16 am

That's what they suspose to do but kpb

grad

Postby grad » September 18th, 2014, 8:07 am

Traffic Yesterday Evening exiting the new highway at debe:

20140917_171456.jpg

Traffic this morning coming from woodland (not even over the hill) you can see traffic backed up into ghandi village as well. Last week when i passed through ghandi traffic was backed up all the way to ghandi's statue.

20140918_070409.jpg

Postby UML » September 18th, 2014, 8:25 am

Redman wrote:You really have nothing to say except to bad talk Kublalsingh.

If the government were able to refute his claims....they would have...and it would have made it into the papers.

They have not....so regardless where I live,whether Kublalsingh is making money or not the GORTT has a responsibility to address all our concerns ...which they have not full filled.

The recommendations were mainly based on the fact that the GORTT did not follow best practices.
Yet the GORTT ignored the reccs even though the GORTT established the committee and it's terms of reference.

Just point out where I have stated implicitly or explicitly that I'm against the hway.

The re routed path crosses and destroys more mangrove and directs highway traffic to an already congested and flooded Mosquito Creek!

Yuh ever see a highway with a 90 degree bend? Yuh want we road fatality figures to be even higher?

Contracts already signed penalties being applied for breach and deadlines not being met additional cost in delays etc

Yuh so accustomed to cost overruns under the pnm yuh feel yuh missing something :roll:

Postby Redman » September 18th, 2014, 8:46 am

UML wrote:

The re routed path crosses and destroys more mangrove and directs highway traffic to an already congested and flooded Mosquito Creek!

Yuh ever see a highway with a 90 degree bend? Yuh want we road fatality figures to be even higher?

Contracts already signed penalties being applied for breach and deadlines not being met additional cost in delays etc

Yuh so accustomed to cost overruns under the pnm yuh feel yuh missing something :roll:

Can you validate your claim??

The Grand Bazaar turn is what?
Sando tech is what degree turn?
The Golconda turn to Sando is what?
Every off ramp and on ramp on the UBH highway is 90 degrees.

Again-and to be clear -the GORTT should be able to PROVE to us the decisions are based on solid data and correct protocols....
The GORTT should have come out and clearly demonstrated that WK s claims are wrong...

Having done that they could have been way ahead of where we are now-with 100% support from the population.

Why havent they-the AG throws press conferences at the drop of a dime...when he has an iota of evidence that he right...

They haven-which means they cant...

What if the man is right and there IS a better way to do this???

Postby wagonrunner » September 18th, 2014, 12:50 pm

Redman wrote:
UML wrote:The re routed path crosses and destroys more mangrove and directs highway traffic to an already congested and flooded Mosquito Creek!

:rofl: i feel you'll still have to draw a diagram and possibly do a PBS special on angles for him too.

Postby The_Honourable » September 18th, 2014, 5:58 pm

This preliminary report was created in June 2012 and was published in the Express November 28th 2012. Click below:

Preliminary Report on the Debe to Mon Desir Segment

Just stating the conclusion from the report:

Conclusion

It is the opinion of the analyst that the alternative proposal under consideration is far from optimal, as it superficially addresses the issue of severe traffic congestion in Debe/Penal/Siparia region. The preliminary traffic analysis suggests that without the new highway, the average travel time between Debe and Penal will increase from 30 minutes to 45 minutes, and the average travel time between Penal and Siparia will increase from 35 minutes to 50 minutes.

Social impacts of an alternative approach include disruption to the communities as a result of the rerouting of traffic into residential areas. Security and safety issues will be increased with increased traffic through the communities.

Given that the additional capacity provided by these alternative routes is minimal at best, then all stakeholders must carefully consider the net impact of this approach, over the construction of the highway as currently envisaged.

Yet the HRM doesn't understand this :|

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2014, 8:02 pm

T&T Highway Project Plan by OAS - just a reminder

Postby UML » September 18th, 2014, 8:04 pm

Redman wrote:
UML wrote:

Again-and to be clear -the GORTT should be able to PROVE to us the decisions are based on solid data and correct protocols....
The GORTT should have come out and clearly demonstrated that WK s claims are wrong...

Having done that they could have been way ahead of where we are now-with 100% support from the population.

Why havent they-the AG throws press conferences at the drop of a dime...en he has an iota of edence that he right...

They haven-which means they cant...

What if the man is right and there IS a better way to do this???

K ah wrong bout dat. My bad. But what about destroying more mangroves and adding traffic to congested and flooded Mosquito Creek? Ent he worried about the mangrove and lagoon and environment? How come he talking bout ppl house and moving now?
Last edited by UML on September 18th, 2014, 8:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby UML » September 18th, 2014, 8:12 pm

abbow wrote:while i am for the highway....the question really remains.....how much is it goin to help the traffic situation? i drive from south to st clair 5 days a week...and doing that for the last 12 years...

i leave home at 4 am...get to work around 5 am to avoid all the traffic and the crap driving that we get sometimes on a morning..if i were to leave home 5 am....different story...

i live 4 houses away from where the Grant trace intersection will be built, so i await to see the difference it really makes for me having to go st clair every day...

The reason for the highway is to develop the rural areas and to make access to the developed from the rural areas easier.

How d ass cud u expect a highway in south make traffic in pos better?

U really hadda be from the country!

But doh worry the highway go fix dat...it go make yuh bright! :wink:

Postby wagonrunner » September 18th, 2014, 9:10 pm

UML wrote:
abbow wrote:most of the traffic i encounter is on the hw from gasparillo onwards....so does this mean that we gonna get out of south faster and meet the same traffic on the hw that we do now? really, it doesnt mean because we have the hw in south now..that the amount of commuters heading into pos will be less....it means they can leave home a little late and with everyone doing the same...same traffic to POS

The reason for the highway is to develop the rural areas and to make access to the developed from the rural areas easier.

How d ass cud u expect a highway in south make traffic in pos better?

U really hadda be from the country!

But doh worry the highway go fix dat...it go make yuh bright! :wink:
he spoke of the commute on the highway, you know the access to the developed area from the rural area.

Typical demonstration of who really is in need of brightening.

Postby Redman » September 18th, 2014, 10:50 pm

UML and brams ...allyuh answering any question?
Or allyuh just pelting crap?

abbow

Postby abbow » September 19th, 2014, 6:36 am

calor:

look at the OAS video, at 2.12 in the video...all those houses on the left are my relatives....to the top left corner of the screen at 2:13 is where the flyover/interchange will be. exactly how it is there in the vid is how it is now....they continued work further onwards to pt fortin.

actually this weekend 3 of my relatives homes are scheduled to be demolished......

again...alot of people for the hw, including myself....but when people have prior knowledge of where the hw will pass in the debe to mon desir section, runs off and purchase land and property there....so when hw pass through, they get the opportunity to rape the treasury......fcukery.

We all work hard and pay our taxes...not for any government to give away to friends and family...

Postby UML » September 19th, 2014, 6:44 am

abbow wrote:calor:

look at the OAS video, at 2.12 in the video...all those houses on the left are my relatives....to the top left corner of the screen at 2:13 is where the flyover/interchange will be. exactly how it is there in the vid is how it is now....they continued work further onwards to pt fortin.

actually this weekend 3 of my relatives homes are scheduled to be demolished......

again...alot of people for the hw, including myself....but when people have prior knowledge of where the hw will pass in the debe to mon desir section, runs off and purchase land and property there....so when hw pass through, they get the opportunity to rape the treasury......fcukery.

We all work hard and pay our taxes...not for any government to give away to friends and family...

so is about who getting money and not the environment as being used?!! So is not the environment and not the problem of moving people unjustly...but who buy land and getting money for it...typical injun crab in barrel syndrome!! :roll:

but the same is being said about the re routed suggestion. Kubs and the supporters have land there to cash eeeen 8-)

Postby Redman » September 19th, 2014, 7:37 am

So the PM

-Says wait on the court.....despite injecting herself and our tax money on the Soca warriors
-Sets up a COE on corruption in the PNM HDC (after 4 years of silence) while ignoring 4 years of the same accusations made on Moonilal and the HDC, and countless other instances of bobol

-Sets up a COE and will act on its instructions while ignoring the recommendations of the Armstrong committee,and ignoring the requests to continue dialogue.

nothing like consistency to show people you know your chit