is only nexen tyres trinidad have oh what? thanks guys.

Postby MG Man » July 8th, 2009, 10:07 pm

MISHI wrote:nexens have high threadwear... so it bad in wet or in extreme driving conditions...

Benefit is tyre life is a little better...

Got them on the Lancer and evo and honestly it's fine for driving around town, but doesn't like to be pushed to limits...

(crowd goes in silence... mumbling why i do such a stupid thing)

Well... be honest Bago dex was 1 day away and daz the time i realise a couple of the goodyears I got with the evo were almost to canvas.... and only ONE shop sells 235-45-17 and only in... NEXEN.

Maybe when i get some money I'll organize some better rubber.

I know the feeling when u NEED tyres and all the shop has is crap
I have 4 nexens on my pickup cuz when I bought it, I decided to go to the corner tyreshop and inspect the tyres....one tyre had SIX patches, some overlapping!!!!!!!!!!! another had 4 patches
I decided to replace them immediately....all the dude had were Nexens..........and yes they crappy, especially in the wet :? Keeping in mind this is a TAZ B1600, and I drive it very slowly.........

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 8th, 2009, 10:20 pm

had a b1600 and bad tyres they can get tail happy in wet... I could relate

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 9th, 2009, 6:00 am

nexens have high threadwear

WTF is THREADWEAR.

Yuh mean TREADwear (ppl when they "trying" to sound proper again).

Got them on the Lancer and evo and honestly it's fine for driving around town, but doesn't like to be pushed to limits...

(crowd goes in silence... mumbling why i do such a stupid thing)

As I posted in another thread, had the unfortunate luck to have to run these twice........first on my "first" car (if you can call it that....N2000), and then on an Almera, N3000.

The 2000's wore unevenly, and one showed signs of wall warping...and could never balance properly half way into the tread life.

The 3000's.....well lets just say those were noisy and leave it at that.

So, in short, I'd rather run FU used tyres....or at least DZ101's, than run Nexens on ANY car....EVER again.

And those who "use" nexens and claim that they're good for daily driving either (not directed at MISHI only):

1) Like to buy good cars and then skimp on mods and parts / bawl price high afterwards (Nexen users tend to be avid proponents of brands like Ractive and Arospeed for example).
OR

2) Just don't know better (and haven't read this or other threads about them).

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 9th, 2009, 7:49 am

Saw a Benz recently on Foose rims (first time i saw those down here...sue me) with Triangle tires...had the same thoughts as above ^^

Sometimes people dont know anything bout cars and trust that a "reputable" tyre shop will install the good stuff OR they get a good soundin price on a rims and tyres combo and jump at the chance.

I know of several tyre shops in Central that install Nexen and Triangle by default. They carry the good stuff but automatically assume a central coooolie like mihself cant afford it. :?

Postby MG Man » July 9th, 2009, 8:00 am

you would be surprised how many ppl can afford / buy the best car and then screw up their faces at the prices for good tyres :?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 9th, 2009, 9:01 am

Knight1 wrote:
nexens have high threadwear

WTF is THREADWEAR.

Yuh mean TREADwear (ppl when they "trying" to sound proper again).

Forgive me.. been a long day at the hospital and stuff.. gong and re-edit that. :lol:

And those who "use" nexens and claim that they're good for daily driving either (not directed at MISHI only):

But I'll tell you what... when you have no choice in the matter and you really need to get tyres, you do what you must. Personally I'm no money factory and I can't afford to just buy an extra set of tyres on a whim. So these will have to do for a bit at least until better can be done...

And as for the FU issue, I don't have much faith in using them at all... especially on an AWD where you may not get the same tyre for all 4 corners and the tReadwear :lol: is different... not to mention there's no surity as to the durability of the sidewall or even the rubber itself...

Problem with many is that new tyres give them the excuse to drive in a spirited fashion cause they believe they'll hold... and we all know what happens...

tyres don't make you a safer driver... YOU make you a safer driver.
Last edited by MISHI on July 9th, 2009, 9:11 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby equipped2ripp » July 9th, 2009, 9:11 am

driving with Nexen is like bulling without rubbers :|

Postby honda hoe » July 9th, 2009, 9:13 am

equipped2ripp wrote:driving with Nexen is like bulling without rubbers :|

wha wrong wit dat? :?

Postby honda hoe » July 9th, 2009, 9:17 am

Soundwave wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

wha wrong wit dat? :?

cooties...

nexens give you cooties? :shock:

Postby crazybalhead » July 9th, 2009, 9:20 am

Yuh trying to dissuade people with this line of reasoning???

Postby SR » July 9th, 2009, 9:20 am

ran nexen's on 3 different vehicles incluidng on one at dex
15" and 17" tyres

held up well for dry traction and comfort
wet traction works ok but doesnt make sense pushing it

as far as road noise they tend to be nosiy when halfway worn

overal the tyre is not bad for the price range

will still buy a new nexen tyre over a foreign used tyre

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » July 9th, 2009, 12:01 pm

In buying tyres there are 3 factors to consider namely; Treadwear, Traction and Temperature.
Treadwear- gives an indication of the rate at which the tyre will wear down, it is assigned a numerical value.
Traction- gives an indication as to how the tyre will perform under wet road conditions. Ratings go from AA, A, B, C with AA being the highest and C the lowest.
Temperature- gives an indication as to the rate of rise in the tyre as a result of use. Ratings go from A, B, C with A being the highest and C the lowest.

A tyre cannot be all things at once. The examples i will use are Nexen and Federal.

Nexen N5000- Treadwear-420, Traction-A, Temperature A.
Federal Super Steel 595 - Treadwear-280, Traction-AA, Temperature-A.

In this example the Nexen will last 1.5 times longer than the federals (once subjected to the same conditions) but the federals will generally outperform the nexens under wet conditions. I do know this having owned both brands. Generally with a AA Traction rated tyre there is a low treadwear. Low treadwear= change tyres more often.
Just my $2e-2

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 9th, 2009, 8:26 pm

And as for the FU issue, I don't have much faith in using them at all... especially on an AWD where you may not get the same tyre for all 4 corners and the tReadwear is different

You forgot I also drive an AWD turbo car. :lol:

And yes....I DO keep a set of spare tyres...just in case something goes awry with one or two of my current ones.

But all that aside......I mean....there ARE other tyres out tehre in popular 16/17/18 sizes ...ASIDE from nexen. Popular selections exist from Sumitomo, Dunlop etc etc. What about the now "all popular" Direzza DZ101? Was within 40 dollars per tyre more than the nexens of similar 17" size last I checked.

So what excuse should someone have for running Nexens other than ignorance? Or because they like them........and I can count on one hand the number of "repeat" Nexen users I've heard of.......

Again....not directed at you of course.....not sure what Tobago tyre shops stock. Their selection must really suck. :?

Problem with many is that new tyres give them the excuse to drive in a spirited fashion cause they believe they'll hold... and we all know what happens...

tyres don't make you a safer driver... YOU make you a safer driver.

True.

As for the new tyres....folks forget that even new tyres have a break-in/scrub in period as well :shock: :lol:
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on July 9th, 2009, 8:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 9th, 2009, 8:36 pm

So what excuse should someone have for running Nexens other than ignorance?

Er... I was in Tobago and had no other choice? :lol:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 9th, 2009, 8:37 pm

Er... I was in Tobago and had no other choice?

^^Perhaps you missed this part:

Again....not directed at you of course.....not sure what Tobago tyre shops stock. Their selection must really suck.

;)

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 9th, 2009, 9:03 pm

I know i jus playing the arse... :lol:

those tyre suzes are a bit odd over here... we have to come over to trini to get any instance of a good brand tyre

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » July 9th, 2009, 9:08 pm

^^ :lol: :lol: scene.

killercow

Re: is only nexen tyres trinidad have oh what? thanks guys.

Postby killercow » January 27th, 2015, 9:58 pm

Hey tuners, just want a lil advice. I goin an buy 4 new tyres tomorrow (205/40/17).

Want to know what yall think I should get.

These are some of the offers I have currently (price per tyre):

1. Roadstone - $425 (Chippy's Chaguanas)
2. GoodYear - $400 (Some place on the main road heading into Longdenville)
3. Vtec - $550
Headway - $575
Autoguard - $675
(All from Mag Wheels Centre Chaguanas)
4. Dunlop - $600
Sumitomo - $665
(Tyre Clinic Couva)
5. Michelin - $2,500 (Quick Service POS)

Any other suggestions / recommendations will be helpful (I called most of the places recommended
in this thread already but some of them either don't have the size or the price is too ridiculous).

Postby nervewrecker » January 28th, 2015, 7:59 am

Dunlop price drop?

That size tyre seems hard to find in a decent brand. Every raj running 17" rims and dont have $$$ for rubber so all shops stock nexen, hifly, triangle and the likes.

Good rubber for my truck seems scarce too (at least in passenger series). I got the last set by Mileage Mack.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 28th, 2015, 8:45 am

I running some Kumho tyres atm and much quieter than the Dunlops were.

Postby gastly369 » January 28th, 2015, 9:10 am

maxxis 215/45r17 $650

elvins debe

getting a set next week hope it better than the dz101s(pos)

eel7

Postby eel7 » January 28th, 2015, 9:16 am

Bookmarking...

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 28th, 2015, 9:21 am

killercow wrote:Hey tuners, just want a lil advice. I goin an buy 4 new tyres tomorrow (205/40/17).

Want to know what yall think I should get.

These are some of the offers I have currently (price per tyre):

1. Roadstone - $425 (Chippy's Chaguanas)
2. GoodYear - $400 (Some place on the main road heading into Longdenville)
3. Vtec - $550
Headway - $575
Autoguard - $675
(All from Mag Wheels Centre Chaguanas)
4. Dunlop - $600
Sumitomo - $665
(Tyre Clinic Couva)
5. Michelin - $2,500 (Quick Service POS)

Any other suggestions / recommendations will be helpful (I called most of the places recommended
in this thread already but some of them either don't have the size or the price is too ridiculous).

which sumitomo is that?

Postby supercharged turbo » January 28th, 2015, 9:48 am

$2500 for Michelin??? :shock:

Postby RBphoto » January 28th, 2015, 11:55 am

I find nexen is giving me good service and grip. No complaints. I drive really slow though.

Postby Chimera » January 28th, 2015, 12:05 pm

i find my foreign used tyres last much longer than my brand new tyres

Shane18

Postby Shane18 » January 28th, 2015, 12:58 pm

Got a set of Nittos, 265/45/18 I think, at Race Wheels (Andy's) the other day, grip is amazing in wet and dry conditions. They had other sizes too iirc. The only other option was a Chinese brand I didn't know so preferred to spend a little more on a better option in my opinion.

killercow

Postby killercow » January 28th, 2015, 8:48 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:$2500 for Michelin??? :shock:

Yea boss. That was my exact reaction. I thought he was quoting 4 tyres lol.

Anyhow..

UPDATE: Purchased 4 DZ102 by Tyre Clinic today. Paid $2,400 for it. When I went
the Dunlop and Sumitomo was the same price ($600 per tyre). The thread pattern
on the Sumitomo was very unusual though (forgot the model the guy mentioned).
And as mentioned before, very decent warranty!

killercow

Postby killercow » January 30th, 2015, 12:58 pm

Anyone ever saw this / done it?