Price of a coconut $11?

carholics

Price of a coconut $11?

Postby carholics » March 19th, 2016, 3:53 pm

Went palmiste to buy and the guy said $10 for a small one.
$11 for a big one.
Why coconut prices increased though?
:???:

Coconut shortage orh.? lolol

Re: Price of a coconut $11?

Postby wagonrunner » March 19th, 2016, 3:59 pm

because ppl pay it.
if you and others tell him is alright and move along, the prices will drop.

Postby tr1ad » March 19th, 2016, 4:00 pm

Had two this morning right there $6.00 each

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 19th, 2016, 4:00 pm

wagonrunner wrote:because ppl pay it.

Pretty much.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 19th, 2016, 4:01 pm

tr1ad wrote:Had two this morning right there $6.00 each

Guyanese discount oar???

pinks

Postby pinks » March 19th, 2016, 4:37 pm

And dem men does wah pay u small money for your nuts when dey come by u..dais why i doh sell mine anymore..better it fcuking dry up on the tree yes

Postby De Dragon » March 19th, 2016, 4:43 pm

VAT?.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 19th, 2016, 4:59 pm

They pay $2 for a nut and retail it for $11 to $14. People sell it for that price because Trinis are dotish and buy it.

Besides that nothing tastes as natural and nice as coconut water you can taste the difference in something natural vs those artificial sheit or even pack orange juice loaded with sugar and sheit. So no matter the price people buy it.

Last week I sold a guy a tree of coconut for 50 cents a nut. Because the tree is too tall and nobody wants to climb it and pick. The guy paid 50 cents and sold it back for $13 in POS. Just watch that markup.

daron

Postby daron » March 19th, 2016, 5:13 pm

Them fellas make the best tax free $$ along with the double man .
They pay no taxes
And have workers
If you ask them anything about taxes they more than lightly say they hustling for a honest dollar .
And society is ok with this .
E.g.. I went to buy a aloo pie in the market told the girl I want some channa she said it's $1 more for a freaking spoon of channa
So that was the last sale they would get from me .

Postby K74T » March 19th, 2016, 5:23 pm

Still paying $6 by Marabella and Cocoyea roundabouts.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » March 19th, 2016, 5:29 pm

daron wrote:Them fellas make the best tax free $$ along with the double man .
They pay no taxes
And have workers
If you ask them anything about taxes they more than lightly say they hustling for a honest dollar .
And society is ok with this .
E.g.. I went to buy a aloo pie in the market told the girl I want some channa she said it's $1 more for a freaking spoon of channa
So that was the last sale they would get from me .

All over is $1 more for Channa filled in any type of pies

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 19th, 2016, 5:34 pm

Sooo op buy the coconut or not?

Postby 1UZFE » March 19th, 2016, 6:20 pm

wagonrunner wrote:because ppl pay it.

How would people do dat. Hav to keep up d image $11 is small money.

Postby Gladiator » March 19th, 2016, 6:21 pm

Coconut man hadda buy grocery too... when he go to buy food and the price raise, the cost have to be passed on to the consumer.

When food, taxi, gas, mortgage etc go up ALL goods and services will go up. People have to live.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 19th, 2016, 6:25 pm

Is unaffected. Stopped buying at $8. Prefer wait for coconut tree to grow from seed.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » March 20th, 2016, 1:00 am

i have about 50 + trees in meh land anybody willing to pay $5 a nut .. could come tru must b willing to buy all

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2016, 5:22 am

dont like price dont buy
they not holding cutlash to head to force anybody to buy

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 20th, 2016, 6:43 am

pinks wrote:And dem men does wah pay u small money for your nuts when dey come by u..dais why i doh sell mine anymore..better it fcuking dry up on the tree yes

yup same thing here...when they came to ask and want to pay small money they were told to 'leave it up dey let it dry'....

Postby meccalli » March 20th, 2016, 7:41 am

Some needs to look into distributing dwarf trees, saw them at uwi's innovation park.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » March 20th, 2016, 7:44 am

Never knew the markup was so high for coconuts!! Better I go by Effectic and buy wholesale!!

Postby Trini Hookah » March 20th, 2016, 9:21 am

10-01 wrote:i have about 50 + trees in meh land anybody willing to pay $5 a nut .. could come tru must b willing to buy all

Not even $4.99 self bai

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 20th, 2016, 9:23 am

$11? Them fellas nuts.....lol...

10-01

Postby 10-01 » March 20th, 2016, 10:23 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:They pay $2 for a nut and retail it for $11 to $14. People sell it for that price because Trinis are dotish and buy it.

Besides that nothing tastes as natural and nice as coconut water you can taste the difference in something natural vs those artificial sheit or even pack orange juice loaded with sugar and sheit. So no matter the price people buy it.

Last week I sold a guy a tree of coconut for 50 cents a nut. Because the tree is too tall and nobody wants to climb it and pick. The guy paid 50 cents and sold it back for $13 in POS. Just watch that markup.

hence d reason i say $5 .... or jus leave it ther when family comes for a lime they have to pick and enjoy the good old life , now ah days yutes doh even know how to climb a tree muc less to cut a nut .... :oops:

last guy came and cut nuts took about 30 branches to make brooms free , saw him selling the brooms for $20 each

Trini Hookah wrote:
10-01 wrote:i have about 50 + trees in meh land anybody willing to pay $5 a nut .. could come tru must b willing to buy all

Not even $4.99 self bai

come tru na ... lol

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » March 20th, 2016, 10:58 am

simply don't buy, coconut vendors have bills to pay too

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 20th, 2016, 11:00 am

Gladiator wrote:Coconut man hadda buy grocery too... when he go to buy food and the price raise, the cost have to be passed on to the consumer.

When food, taxi, gas, mortgage etc go up ALL goods and services will go up. People have to live.

So what about the wholesale coconut man like me who planting and maintaining the trees? grocery and sheit went up so why can't I get a higher price?

You realize wholesale prices of coconuts has remained untouched for the last 10 years and more right?

But anyways I go fix that soon, have about 200 small trees coming up thats gonna be reachable with a ladder for the next 20 years. Gonna bottle and sell that not giving these crooks a giant nut for $2 and have them make $20 off it. Once the tree get too tall I cutting down and replanting and I encourage everyone else to do the same.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » March 20th, 2016, 11:08 am

Making $10 around the QPS sound like a bargain , feel like is only a matter of time before they raise too. Does always hit the spot after a run tho.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 20th, 2016, 11:17 am

kM_89 wrote:Making $10 around the QPS sound like a bargain , feel like is only a matter of time before they raise too. Does always hit the spot after a run tho.

Local wholesale buyer told me they going to raise the price of coconuts to $17 by the end of this year and they will be paying wholesalers $4 for a nut. So we getting a double increase in price.

The cacahole telling me how he can't thank me enough for planting them 200 bolee and chiney nut trees he actually think I going to sell he from them new trees where I could reach arms length to pick and bottle and sell. But I let him keep dreaming.

Postby nervewrecker » March 20th, 2016, 11:19 am

Nick and Ed, how much allyuh selling the nuts for? I feel is best I come pick yes

carholics

Postby carholics » March 20th, 2016, 11:29 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Sooo op buy the coconut or not?

Well after i took the 2, ready to pay now, the man hit meh the prices :sad:

carholics

Postby carholics » March 20th, 2016, 11:31 am

These men making an engineer's salary in no time...
If they atleast sell 100 per day

Qualifications : chop nuts & climb trees