Re: Budget 2016/2017

Postby rollingstock » September 30th, 2016, 3:48 pm

PTSC, PTSC PTSC PTSC......

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:52 pm

Daran wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Imbert said he restarting 900 Acres of coconut planting and something about helping small businesses in coconut production this will be people like me I am playing 160 coconut trees right now, this is good news.

Coconut is something we should push hard because its healthy and grows very easily with no effort.

Two huge coconut plantations are owned by two PNM financers, well one is a financier and the other is Faris family. Looks like they trying to get labour for their land.

I am hoping that this move will force the government to get stricter with LY disease, it has land next to my land and the owner is too arrogant I already told him when the tree starts to get yellow you have to cut it down immediately and BURN IT!! to stop that disease from spreading via the insect, but he don't give a sheit.

Hopefully this will be the start of government getting serious with quarantine of infected coconut estates.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 3:55 pm

Ly disease is what

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 3:56 pm

cherrypopper wrote:Ly disease is what

It is extremely deadly and infected trees must be burned immediately, the land must be quarantined, but that does not happen in Trinidad because there is no law or any interest in doing so.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lethal_yellowing

Postby j.o.e » September 30th, 2016, 3:58 pm

Is what ED have .... always lying

cherrypopper

Re: RE: Re: Budget 2016/2017

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 4:00 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

It is extremely deadly and infected trees must be burned immediately, the land must be quarantined, but that does not happen in Trinidad because there is no law or any interest in doing so.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lethal_yellowing

Hmmm thanks for the info

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 4:01 pm

Ok so no devaluing of the TT dollar? how long are they able to keep up the $6.8 currency exchange?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 30th, 2016, 4:01 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Is what ED have .... always lying

Lol...

Postby gastly369 » September 30th, 2016, 4:08 pm

XD

Postby Slartibartfast » September 30th, 2016, 4:09 pm

cherrypopper wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Is it possible we may end up abolishing free health care soon? sounds like we might be going down this road.

This good or bad?

Good. .. implement an insurance system like the States otherwise a bill.

However the service must match the fee.
I thought people from the US hated their healthcare system. Insurance caused an artificial inflation of a lot of medications to ridiculous levels so a lot of medicines and medical care are out of reach of people without insurance. Also they have the case where emergency medical care is given by a hospital or doctor not covered by their insurance and they are then stuck with a bill they can't pay. Also, what about those older folks that retired and living off of their little pension and whatever small garden and yard fowl they have in the back. After working their entire life they still going to have to make fixed insurance payments every month/year even if they don't use it? I don't see the sense. Maybe someone can enlighten me.

I don't see how abolishing free health care can be better than trying to improve the service and keeping it free for citizens only. The should make immigrants and expats pay for the healthcare though.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » September 30th, 2016, 4:15 pm

Lix finish pass yet or it still sharing?

Will read the budget later. Full meh tank to the stop cork this morning lol. I would think that removing the subsidy means just that. We paying international prices now.

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 30th, 2016, 4:15 pm

Fuuuuuuuuuuuuu

Postby Morpheus » September 30th, 2016, 4:16 pm

rollingstock wrote:PTSC, PTSC PTSC PTSC......

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 30th, 2016, 4:17 pm

Diesel now $2.30/l
super and premium remain unchanged

jm3

Postby jm3 » September 30th, 2016, 4:18 pm

Wow the high income tax

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 30th, 2016, 4:20 pm

jm3 wrote:Wow the high income tax

only if you make over $1m/year and companies that make over $1m in profits..

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 30th, 2016, 4:21 pm

sea freight FTW

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 30th, 2016, 4:21 pm

Yeah everyone will switch to sea freight

then next yeah budget tax for sea freight

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 30th, 2016, 4:21 pm

7% courier/import tax.. seems fair(ish) and should encourage ppl to purchase some things locally.

low-profile

Postby low-profile » September 30th, 2016, 4:23 pm

^^^ should encourage some even higher price gouging

Postby Slartibartfast » September 30th, 2016, 4:27 pm

Bezman wrote:7% courier/import tax.. seems fair(ish) and should encourage ppl to purchase some things locally.
Yeah so we can support our local manufacturers of the things that we spend most money on importing. Like cell phones, electronics, clothes... does this include the import of cars because I think our local car manufacturing sector could use the boost from local support as well.

I wonder what all those companies that import these things but don't produce them locally are going to do? Does the import tax apply to everyone across the board? Or just online purchases of items that local companies tack on 200% to?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 4:28 pm

Bezman wrote:7% courier/import tax.. seems fair(ish) and should encourage ppl to purchase some things locally.

Purchase Latin American 3rd world trash that failed to enter the US? nah. I still don't understand the point of this you are already paying 6% Tax to Florida now and 38% Tax to clear something like say a cellphone when it enters this country.

People who shop online are already paying more than locally, people shop online to avoid 3rd world Latin American garbage this was a deliberate move to help the PNM financiers who own the local stores and nothing more. Even worse they added VAT to computers last year, just WOW
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 30th, 2016, 4:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » September 30th, 2016, 4:29 pm

Purchase what exactly?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 30th, 2016, 4:31 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:

Purchase what exactly?

He means to purchase the TV from courts instead of Amazon thereby helping local businesses.

Postby desifemlove » September 30th, 2016, 4:33 pm

privatisation....NG. FCB...about time.

e-teck.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 30th, 2016, 4:34 pm

unfortunately, some of you really can't understand the point of all of this and are still trying to cheat the system and think you are entitled to all these luxury items you import instead of buying locally and supporting local businesses and employment..

this all just flies over your heads..

and of course some business will raise prices as a knee jerk reaction, but smart business will cease the opportunity to under price competition and sell volume instead of aggressive markup

but this too will prob fly over your heads ...
Last edited by Bezman on September 30th, 2016, 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2016, 4:35 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Purchase Latin American 3rd world trash that failed to enter the US? nah. I still don't understand the point of this you are already paying 6% Tax to Florida now and 38% Tax to clear something like say a cellphone when it enters this country.

People who shop online are already paying more than locally, people shop online to avoid 3rd world Latin American garbage this was a deliberate move to help the PNM financiers who own the local stores and nothing more. Even worse they added VAT to computers last year, just WOW

What does a tax you pay to the Americans have to do with Trinidad?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » September 30th, 2016, 4:36 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

this is absolute rubbish, ed you still talking lots of crap

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » September 30th, 2016, 4:36 pm

watched about 25 mins before I realized I was looking at highlights from the 2016 Paralympic Games :(
will monitor this thread for updates from now on.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » September 30th, 2016, 4:37 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:

Purchase what exactly?

He means to purchase the TV from courts instead of Amazon thereby helping local businesses.

Courts isn't a local business. They ship most of their foreign exchange out of the T&T.