Take the signs- check your own home.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 7th, 2017, 7:58 am

In light of the current Hurricanes and what we have been watching, this should serve to all of us here in Trinidad that we need to check our own homes and our infrastructures.
We have just witnessed what it did higher up in the Caribbean and what sustained winds can do, it would be a good idea to start ensuring that your Roof EAVE is secure, that all windows and doors can be boarded up easily, make sure you have extra water, food stuff, candles, Batteries, flashlights, Portable battery FM radios in advance, Put all your Important documents into Doubled ziplock bags or any other place that's secure and dry
Don't wait until its last minute........ it's Early September, we still have the rest of Sept, Oct and November.

Re: Take the signs- check your own home.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 7th, 2017, 8:03 am

can you stop talking so much sense^...it's Trini people bro...we does do them thing a few hours before

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » September 7th, 2017, 8:04 am

Why worry Imbert is here to help.

Postby MaxPower » September 7th, 2017, 8:44 am

Who is responsible for poor infrastructures?

Why are under qualified "contractors" allowed to build houses?

If anyone is "checking" your houses, please ask to see their qualifications. Say no to these quack builders out there.

Postby RedVEVO » September 7th, 2017, 8:50 am

Ben_spanna wrote:In light of the current Hurricanes and what we have been watching, this should serve to all of us here in Trinidad that we need to check our own homes and our infrastructures.
We have just witnesses what it did higher up in the Caribbean and what sustained winds can do, it would be a good idea to start ensuring that your Roof EVE is secure, that all windows and doors can be boarded up easily, make sure you have extra water, food stuff, candles, Batteries, flashlights, Portable battery FM radios in advance, Put all your Important documents into Doubled ziplock bags or any other place that's secure and dry
Don't wait until its last minute........ its Early September, we still have the rest of Sept, Oct and November.

Good advice Tuner :D

It is good to have an emergency plan for your Family .

Anybody who depending on Gov't helping in an emergency should know it does not exist .

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 7th, 2017, 9:07 am

There's been good info posted in the first post of the Tropical Weather thread here since 2008

viewtopic.php?t=202192#p2777613

Postby Dizzy28 » September 7th, 2017, 9:08 am

MaxPower wrote:Who is responsible for poor infrastructures?

Why are under qualified "contractors" allowed to build houses?

If anyone is "checking" your houses, please ask to see their qualifications. Say no to these quack builders out there.

We the people are responsible for poor infrastructure. When met with the cost to build to code most people will turn their faces up. T+C and regional corp planning permissions?? what are those?

Postby Ben_spanna » September 7th, 2017, 9:49 am

Did you all listen to the reports on Puerto Rico?, they said in many cases Power will not be restored to parts until 6 months due to their infrastructure.
Is Trinidad electricity Infrastructure any better- I'm just asking, because living without any power or ROOF for a few months is a terrible thought to attempt.
Regardless of who built what or which contractor built it, they wont help you and neither will complaining at this point, YOu need to take the initiative and secure your own premises as best you can.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 7th, 2017, 10:23 am

Ben_spanna wrote:In light of the current Hurricanes and what we have been watching, this should serve to all of us here in Trinidad that we need to check our own homes and our infrastructures.
We have just witnessed what it did higher up in the Caribbean and what sustained winds can do, it would be a good idea to start ensuring that your Roof EAVE is secure, that all windows and doors can be boarded up easily, make sure you have extra water, food stuff, candles, Batteries, flashlights, Portable battery FM radios in advance, Put all your Important documents into Doubled ziplock bags or any other place that's secure and dry
Don't wait until its last minute........ it's Early September, we still have the rest of Sept, Oct and November.

Good advice but dont ignore egress: in case u need to leave yuh house...have a way out...

Postby tr1ad » September 7th, 2017, 10:25 am

gord izza treeknee

Postby RedVEVO » September 7th, 2017, 10:41 am

Trinidad Gov't have no traffic plan - no flood plan - no plan of a plan

So you really think Gov't have an emergency plan per a Hurricane ?

People should starts thinking "private emergency plan" :D :D

Including a fly out plan - Friday Rowley fly out :D

Drea

Postby Drea » September 7th, 2017, 10:57 am

Good advice.
And I agree we are not ready, last time we were on storm watch I wonder how safe some of our designated shelters actually are. Most of them are schools but I am so pessimistic to believe those may not even be the safest option. :|

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » September 7th, 2017, 12:15 pm

"Good advice but dont ignore egress: in case u need to leave yuh house...have a way out.."

Most important, experienced that first hand in Houston.

And then you buy up stuff to satisfy your emergency needs, and then have to move, all of your stuff have to left behind....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 7th, 2017, 2:12 pm

Look at our response for Bret...gauge from that and think what would happen during and after a major hurricane...look at Florida...they started preparing days ago...we will be updated from the odpm a few hours before it hits...you have colm imbert trying to help others but can't even assist his own...and the list of not being prepared goes on and on

Postby shogun » September 8th, 2017, 12:07 am

Wurd...

Postby nervewrecker » September 8th, 2017, 7:41 am

My neighbor houses have concrete brick holding down galvanise.
Girl only putting down chiren one after the next so they can get hdc house. Eh even have money for food but have money to spree
Saw an ex gf have that too. That's one reason how she became my ex.

sekhar_777

Postby sekhar_777 » September 8th, 2017, 7:53 am

My neighbor has an decking with a set of loose wood planks that was used for construction, some of them have long nails in them still. So imagine them flying in the air. I live in a apartment block and bedroom window is only 40 feet away. Before Brett struck, my landlord talked to them but they never took him on, they are the ignorant type. What other recourse do I have?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 8th, 2017, 8:02 am

them ting cant do trinis natten

Postby j.o.e » September 8th, 2017, 8:27 am

Wham to allyuh ? Allyuh forget gawd is a trini ?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 8th, 2017, 8:35 am

God issa Trini and Mother nature use to sell benny ball in Tobago

Postby mero » September 8th, 2017, 12:28 pm

nervewrecker wrote:My neighbor houses have concrete brick holding down galvanise.
Girl only putting down chiren one after the next so they can get hdc house. Eh even have money for food but have money to spree
Saw an ex gf have that too. That's one reason how she became my ex.
Lol waz d relevance of this post though? All this to say you had a gyal?

Postby Chimera » September 8th, 2017, 12:44 pm

Monkey Man wrote:God issa Trini and Mother nature use to sell benny ball in Tobago

wha bout mother cornhusk