Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby Monk BANzai » March 15th, 2019, 3:37 pm

better late than never... for those runs to the snackette to get suckabag and Saltprune.

doh arsk bout specs...i hadda look for training wheels for this 27incher...i gutted tho..no handle bar tassles. Where has society gone?

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 15th, 2019, 9:14 pm

Welcome to the club rasta!
Ride little or ride long, just frigging RIDE!
:)

Postby Monk BANzai » March 15th, 2019, 11:15 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Welcome to the club rasta!
Ride little or ride long, just frigging RIDE!
:)

bhai I take a small tush.... im soooo unfit oui.....small bites yes...small bites...

Rockram

Postby Rockram » March 16th, 2019, 9:49 am

Screenshot_20190316-094621_Samsung Health.jpg
Had a nice morning run

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 16th, 2019, 12:31 pm

Nice ride. Piparo is a decent climb, and that road from whiteland to Gran couva is a good pump

Rockram

Postby Rockram » March 16th, 2019, 3:03 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Nice ride. Piparo is a decent climb, and that road from whiteland to Gran couva is a good pump

You know the terrain well! :D Gran couva to guaracara was decent too

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 24th, 2019, 5:45 pm

Sunday morning shenanigans.
Deviated a bit and went up San Rafael. Woulda hit Arena Dam but next time I'll plan my route differently.

Side note: Anybody falling in the Central Spokes Icacos ride? It's road/gravel/mtb friendly
strava1531512017858309184.jpeg

Postby Monk BANzai » March 24th, 2019, 9:49 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Sunday morning shenanigans.
Deviated a bit and went up San Rafael. Woulda hit Arena Dam but next time I'll plan my route differently.

Side note: Anybody falling in the Central Spokes Icacos ride? It's road/gravel/mtb friendlystrava1531512017858309184.jpeg

showoff... Did my initial Chag run today...started off on the Haro (seeing its a bike i boguht from some one) and ended it on the Felt. left the bike with my guy to tune sort out some frond end stuff....and change the tyres as we discussed. The Felt is chalk and cheese to the Haro tho... i want one!

Screen Shot 2019-03-24 at 9.41.48 PM.png

reached the spring.jpg

FeltyFeltFelt.jpg

off for upgrades.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 24th, 2019, 9:59 pm

Ras yuh settle in good dey.
First or second ride and taking that kinda trail?
well done

Postby pugboy » March 24th, 2019, 10:23 pm

The way a bike "feels" can be a number of factors
-Geometry
-tires
-wheels
-general suspension setup and fit

Rockram

Postby Rockram » March 25th, 2019, 12:07 am

[quote="VexXx Dogg"]Sunday morning shenanigans.

Side note: Anybody falling in the Central Spokes Icacos ride? It's road/gravel/mtb friendlystrava1531512017858309184.jpeg[/quote

I'm registered and looking forward... Hope they start on time tho because the sun can really sap the energy out of you... I often ride from gulf view to cedros so it's familiar terrain.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 25th, 2019, 10:28 pm

Just created a trinituner club on strava.
A tuner support/encouragement/friendly competition club.

https://www.strava.com/clubs/513745

JOIN and smash some PRs!

TRD12

Postby TRD12 » March 25th, 2019, 10:30 pm

MG Man wrote:^^^ hence I rather take the bike to the bush and ride on a trail
But then you risk being left behind/for dead by "friends"

Postby MG Man » March 26th, 2019, 7:56 am

TRD12 wrote:
MG Man wrote:^^^ hence I rather take the bike to the bush and ride on a trail
But then you risk being left behind/for dead by "friends"

yeah I learned from that
I ride alone so when I dead, no 'friend' left me behind

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 31st, 2019, 3:15 pm

My Sunday morning.
IMG_20190331_140201_041.jpeg

Rockram

Postby Rockram » March 31st, 2019, 9:28 pm

^^^as above
Screenshot_20190331-180512_Samsung Health.jpg

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 2nd, 2019, 11:32 am

Yo guys. Looking to get in on the action a little bit. Used to ride when I was young alottt and always wanted to start back but just take it up a notch. I go up chag, do the lil tracking station run plus other hikes but like Ras up there, I want to go into some of the bike trails.

The Felt bike he mentioned, is that something I could look into getting? Right now, I think my budget for this lies around 2-3k. Would have been a bit more but I still wanna pick up a few other things for these nice outdoor exercise journeys.

Any advice will be appreciated, thanks.

Postby MG Man » April 2nd, 2019, 11:50 am

the reputable bike shops like Geronimos sell decent used / recon bikes at decent prices. Always a good idea to visit and see what the various shops have, and get a feel for prices

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 2nd, 2019, 11:59 am

MG Man wrote:the reputable bike shops like Geronimos sell decent used / recon bikes at decent prices. Always a good idea to visit and see what the various shops have, and get a feel for prices

Thank you kind sir! I will make a rounds and see if they're any good deals around.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 2nd, 2019, 12:45 pm

There's a sports group on FB with some decent gear
https://www.facebook.com/groups/720423158076194/

What's your height? You should take that into consideration when looking at frame sizes to shop for

Postby De Dragon » April 2nd, 2019, 4:26 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:There's a sports group on FB with some decent gear

What's your height? You should take that into consideration when looking at frame sizes to shop for

Best advice here, nothing will make you fling way a bike quicker than discomfort riding it.

Postby Monk BANzai » April 3rd, 2019, 12:15 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:There's a sports group on FB with some decent gear

watching some prices there and like wow......got my bike tuned on the weekend...guy from Town...start to rattle out specs of what i have and i just stannup dey shrugging....like i get some high end after market parts...

Where locally sells good riding gear at decent prices? (dont want to import but may be forced to)..

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 3rd, 2019, 12:21 am

Any decent bikeshop should sell gear.
Motorcycle Etc
Xterra
Geronimo's
Mike's
Bike Inn

Expensive locally tho. Might get more value for $ if you sale shop online

Sent from my SM-G610M using TriniTuner mobile app

Rockram

Postby Rockram » April 3rd, 2019, 8:43 am

Take it from me buy the best bike you can afford... Like others have said b4, bike fit is everything so although you might find a good deal on a particular bike, it may not be right for you.

Rockram

Postby Rockram » April 3rd, 2019, 8:51 am

At your current price range... Check out bike inn, Fuji brand offers a fair price to value.

Postby MG Man » April 3rd, 2019, 10:23 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Any decent bikeshop should sell gear.
Motorcycle Etc
Xterra
Geronimo's
Mike's
Bike Inn

Expensive locally tho. Might get more value for $ if you sale shop online

Sent from my SM-G610M using TriniTuner mobile app

THIS
I was real eager when I bought my bike, so I bought shorts, pump and other stuff in the shop by Ellerslie...end up spending about $800
Amazon is def cheaper
I bought knee pads etc in Walmart for like US$14

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » April 3rd, 2019, 10:46 am

Rockram wrote:Take it from me buy the best bike you can afford... Like others have said b4, bike fit is everything so although you might find a good deal on a particular bike, it may not be right for you.

Thanks very much for the advice! I'd ideally want to make sure it's comfortable before a purchase even if it's some high end bike I may get on a deal.

I want something that will last a while till I can afford something high end but don't want to cheap out at the same time. I'll still need to pick up a bike rack and some riding gear as well. I will take the time to drive around and check those stores mentioned above but if anyone here comes across anything suitable for me, give me a shout please.

As for height I'm 5'11 and well, I look like a matchstick if weight matters :|

Postby MG Man » April 3rd, 2019, 11:24 am

I'm 5/9
My bike is a Schwinn that I bought in price smart about three years ago, logic being if I didn't stick with it, it wasn't a big spend
In hindsight I should have put another 1k and bought a good recon from one of the good shops
3.5k should buy you something that will last and will allow you to keep pace on the trails. My bike isn't really a full trail so it's a struggle to keep up with the guys I've ridden with, so I'll have to upgrade at some point
Long and short, buy the best bike you can afford

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 3rd, 2019, 11:41 am

MG Man wrote:I'm 5/9
My bike is a Schwinn that I bought in price smart about three years ago, logic being if I didn't stick with it, it wasn't a big spend
In hindsight I should have put another 1k and bought a good recon from one of the good shops
3.5k should buy you something that will last and will allow you to keep pace on the trails. My bike isn't really a full trail so it's a struggle to keep up with the guys I've ridden with, so I'll have to upgrade at some point
Long and short, buy the best bike you can afford

Yup. The best you can afford.

overly cheap components break easily and can make you double spend.
On the flipside, if you don't think you'll push it hard enough to break - then go for it.
Don't make sense having a 40k carbon bike with full suspension that only riding blocks around your neighborhood. Also doesn't make sense to buy a new cheap chinese bike that you planning to ravage some rough trails because if the bike breaks when you're blazing downhill at 40km/h, you'll break something too.

I wasted some money buying a new mountain bike, then decided that I like road cycling more. Wrong tool for the job, really.
Ended up selling the MTB, and getting used gravel bike off ebay, which IMHO is the perhaps most versatile type of bike you can get. Can handle light trail, quick on the road, good for extended saddle time on a mix of conditions.

So many factors to consider.
Think 3-5 years. What kind of riding you like, where you plan on riding most of the time. Then choose. Research brands/models/parts availability/upgradability.

Postby 16 cycles » April 3rd, 2019, 12:00 pm

advice i got was to buy the best frame you can....components through preventative maintenance can / may be replaced / upgraded...