What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

INHUMAN

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby INHUMAN » January 27th, 2019, 3:32 am

Any brand is best once you service and maintain it just like your vehicle.

Postby nervewrecker » January 27th, 2019, 8:25 am

INHUMAN wrote:Any brand is best once you service and maintain it just like your vehicle.

Nope, you get what you pay for. Some are smaller than others so their ability to absorb and dissipate heat is less than a bigger one. Also, smaller the condenser less heat dissipation so more work on the compressor to force the refrigerant molecules together in an attempt to convert it to liquid. Smaller units usually have a larger current draw.
Seen some 12000btu with a current draw of approx 6A while others have that of 4.5A.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 27th, 2019, 10:36 am

INHUMAN wrote:Any brand is best once you service and maintain it just like your vehicle.

Nope, you get what you pay for. Some are smaller than others so their ability to absorb and dissipate heat is less than a bigger one. Also, smaller the condenser less heat dissipation so more work on the compressor to force the refrigerant molecules together in an attempt to convert it to liquid. Smaller units usually have a larger current draw.
Seen some 12000btu with a current draw of approx 6A while others have that of 4.5A.

True, plus cheaper units will have inferior components like inferior compressor or fan motors etc or run start capacitors. Then expensive units like Samsung, LG and Panasonic operate much quieter and have just superior quality parts.

Postby nervewrecker » February 14th, 2019, 8:49 pm

Postby nervewrecker » February 25th, 2019, 8:02 pm

One is an 18000btu and one is a 24000btu.
Guess which is which.
Hint, one is an inverter type..Image

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 18th, 2019, 9:29 pm

Anyone have experience with Trane units??? Been seeing a couple about on trucks

Postby nervewrecker » March 18th, 2019, 10:04 pm

nick639v2 wrote:Anyone have experience with Trane units??? Been seeing a couple about on trucks

good stuffz

I think the guard booth for republic bank near south park has one. Quiet as hell. I had to watch the lines for condensation to see if it working.

saw a heap of mitsubishi in sando. Not sure about the install, very iffy about it.

Bosse

Postby Bosse » April 17th, 2019, 3:18 pm

Hey fellas! Any body know where I can get this evaporator motor?

IMG_4743.JPG

I already checked Peakes, Maraj, Clemens etc.

It came out from a 24000 btu GE unit

Fireflyrain7

Postby Fireflyrain7 » April 17th, 2019, 8:47 pm

Coleman and continental ac in couva might have it they deal with ge. But we stopped recommending ge to customers the ge blower speeds way lower than other brands like delta and lennox for the same fans speeds. Have to noticed the same ?

Postby nervewrecker » April 18th, 2019, 8:29 pm

Try wilog, servair, continental or supacool. What unit it for?
Wrt GE, you get what you pay for.
Some opt for cheap to save a hundred or two, so they cant complain.

Mind if I show what a proper install looks like btw? All inverters

Bosse

Postby Bosse » April 19th, 2019, 11:00 am

Thanks fellas! Will give those companies a call and see.

Firefly I did not notice the low speed issue you mentioned.

Nerve wrecker it’s for a 24000 btu GE unit. It was purchased from Courts in 2010.

It worked pretty good til now

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 19th, 2019, 1:10 pm

That install looks so cool how neat it is done so classy.

Postby nervewrecker » April 22nd, 2019, 9:32 pm

Have to sleeve the cables coming from the isolators. But thats the idea behind how it supposed to look.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 25th, 2019, 11:09 am

Nerve those controllers u selling, are for freezer applications as well ent?? U have the sensors to go with them? Evap coil etc

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 25th, 2019, 11:22 am

Looking for a 12000 or 18000 BTU portable unit. Preferably 110v. Any suggestions and where to buy?

wingnut

Postby wingnut » April 25th, 2019, 1:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Looking for a 12000 or 18000 BTU portable unit. Preferably 110v. Any suggestions and where to buy?
Saw this add.. Cud check dem out
Screenshot_20190425-131435__01.jpeg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 25th, 2019, 5:09 pm

^ thanks! - it's for an attic so might probably only get used like a couple hours once a week.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 25th, 2019, 6:27 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Looking for a 12000 or 18000 BTU portable unit. Preferably 110v. Any suggestions and where to buy?

Just today I got an email from PriceSmart with this unit.
https://catalog.pricesmart.com/productos/pi443571/

Postby rspann » April 25th, 2019, 6:39 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ thanks! - it's for an attic so might probably only get used like a couple hours once a week.

My wife could ever make me sleep in any attic?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 26th, 2019, 11:11 am

rspann wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ thanks! - it's for an attic so might probably only get used like a couple hours once a week.

Wheyyyyyyyy

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 26th, 2019, 12:05 pm

rspann wrote:

LOL

Postby Rovin » April 26th, 2019, 12:13 pm

nerve rel wukkin hard these days :)

jes now he go be driving up ina bimmer to fix a\c ...... :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » April 26th, 2019, 8:33 pm

Half of the work not documented.

Level workments this weekend.

Toyo1777

Postby Toyo1777 » April 28th, 2019, 11:06 pm

Are inverters really woth the extra money.

Postby nervewrecker » April 29th, 2019, 11:51 pm

Toyo1777 wrote:Are inverters really woth the extra money.

Hi, I forgot to comment.

Depends on what you using them for. People like me who rarely home and use AC for a few hours, no (but then I dont pay to install or service mines :lol: ). Plus I set my temps high so my compressor dont run at full load.

If its a place that needs precision cooling and will be running for long periods, then yes. I have a pic of a 24000btu at about 6A current draw (compressor not at full tilt, already slowing down. Normal 24000 btu units pull approx 10A (the ones I sell at least), others are more, I saw an 18000 btu of another brand pulling 11A.

But as to the extra cost, you get what you pay for.

Not much of these systems come with any form of protection anymore besides thermal on the compressor and by that time oil and compressor motor coil insulation already started breaking down.
Inverter type will shut down if it has a refrigerant leak and protects the system. Will throw an error code as well. That's just one form of protection the others dont have.
The drive circuit on the motor is completely isolated from the mains so in case of power surges a comp wont fry. They very flexible WRT current fluctuations and the compressors coil insulation can handle way more heat (iirc, beyond 100 degrees centigrade).

And yes, there are technicians that can troubleshoot them (besides myself).

You can contact me for any further info on them. Id be happy to answer your questions and address your concerns.

Postby nervewrecker » April 29th, 2019, 11:53 pm

As you is de boss, you can check servair in marabella or wilog in preysal. Gimme a shout if you going, I can see if I link my price for it.

eitech

Postby eitech » April 29th, 2019, 11:57 pm

Any ideas how to deter birds from building nest around ac?

Postby nervewrecker » April 30th, 2019, 1:25 pm

Cats lol

Postby gastly369 » April 30th, 2019, 1:33 pm

Remove ac use lasko
eitech wrote:Any ideas how to deter birds from building nest around ac?

Postby nervewrecker » May 1st, 2019, 8:17 am

gastly369 wrote:Remove ac use lasko
eitech wrote:Any ideas how to deter birds from building nest around ac?

want me sell you two lasko for the shop? :lol: :lol: