How much do You trust your BANK?

Postby Ben_spanna » December 3rd, 2018, 7:35 am

With the resurgence of Kidnappings and the targeted robberies how many of you think that one of the main contributing factors to this is Bank employees and their inability to keep their bigmouth shut?

Long ago all employees of the banks had to swear to keep all information private, nowadays with this new breed of youths- im sure many of you have overheard conversations where Bank employees are discussing how much money MrX and Mrs. Y have.

Do you trust the current bank employees with your confidential information?

Re: How much do YOu trust your BANK?

Postby hydroep » December 3rd, 2018, 7:54 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Do you trust the current bank employees with your confidential information?

No.

I "heard" about a situation where a bank employee tracked down a member of Presentation College's Prestige fete organizing committee to hit him up for tickets.

Said member never had dealings with this employee and was understandably concerned about the situation.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 3rd, 2018, 8:11 am

Just like when people go to the bank to make a large withdrawal, and as soon as ya reach in de carpark you get robbed.
One has to wonder how criminals even know what you going in the bank to do?

Postby j.o.e » December 3rd, 2018, 8:44 am

As much as bank employees may be involved at times. Trinis love to humble brag ....... “yeaboidanbai d man pay meh cash money for the car/land” ...... “if I get a lil 2.5 million I go leggo dat house”

I suspect more times than not people buss their own files by the rumshop.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 3rd, 2018, 9:05 am

j.o.e wrote:As much as bank employees may be involved at times. Trinis love to humble brag ....... “yeaboidanbai d man pay meh cash money for the car/land” ...... “if I get a lil 2.5 million I go leggo dat house”

Or their own family release their files.

Postby j.o.e » December 3rd, 2018, 9:06 am

True

kstt

Postby kstt » December 3rd, 2018, 9:13 am

vaiostation wrote:Just like when people go to the bank to make a large withdrawal, and as soon as ya reach in de carpark you get robbed.
One has to wonder how criminals even know what you going in the bank to do?

They stand in line watch who taking out big sums of money then wait outside. Simple!

Crime flourish here because trinis are not observant of their surroundings.

I know of a case where a couple was on the verge of a divorce and one party withdrew money from a separate account and by the time they reach home the other partner was questioning where the money went. Someone was checking the account and made a call.

Postby The_Honourable » December 3rd, 2018, 11:55 am

j.o.e wrote:As much as bank employees may be involved at times. Trinis love to humble brag ....... “yeaboidanbai d man pay meh cash money for the car/land” ...... “if I get a lil 2.5 million I go leggo dat house”

Well said. A lot of trinis talk too much about their business especially if they trying to impress "friends" and "family".

When you move in silence, you would be very surprised who for you, who against, and who don't care. Your circle will be very small and life is much easier when it comes to money.

Re: How much do You trust your BANK?

Postby Redman » December 3rd, 2018, 1:43 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:With the resurgence of Kidnappings and the targeted robberies how many of you think that one of the main contributing factors to this is Bank employees and their inability to keep their bigmouth shut?

Long ago all employees of the banks had to swear to keep all information private, nowadays with this new breed of youths- im sure many of you have overheard conversations where Bank employees are discussing how much money MrX and Mrs. Y have.

Do you trust the current bank employees with your confidential information?

20 years ago this was happening- it isnt remotely new.

All you need is the right employee.
in the early 2000s they were hiring temps to stuff envelops with statements from their HNW money management group.... So statements with your investment details,name and address pass through the hands of a person from a temp agency.
When I queried this stupidity-a blank look was the response.

Today is more secure-with automation/e services and access to accounts easily traceable with in the organisations.

Postby tr1ad » December 3rd, 2018, 1:54 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

Well said. A lot of trinis talk too much about their business especially if they trying to impress "friends" and "family".

When you move in silence, you would be very surprised who for you, who against, and who don't care. Your circle will be very small and life is much easier when it comes to money.

I endorse this

Postby De Dragon » December 3rd, 2018, 4:04 pm

That's why I poor.................

Postby Ted_v2 » December 3rd, 2018, 4:59 pm

My jacket pocket never lie yet

Postby Slartibartfast » December 3rd, 2018, 5:07 pm

De Dragon wrote:That's why I poor.................

They say "mo' money mo' problems". I guess that means that right now I am living my best life.

Also no.... I don't trust my bank. All they are interested in is my money but I'm all I'm interested in my money to. That right there is what we call a conflict of interest (which is coincidently the only real interest that I get from my bank)

Postby hydroep » December 3rd, 2018, 5:11 pm

Do like the old people and keep yuh money below yuh matress...:|

Postby bluefete » December 3rd, 2018, 5:57 pm

And do not tell anyone.

Advantages - No monthly charges; 0% interest (just like the bank); no worries about inflation rate because the bank does not worry about you worrying about it either.

Disadvantages: As you get older, you forget that the money is under the mattress.

hydroep wrote:Do like the old people and keep yuh money below yuh matress...:|

Postby hydroep » December 4th, 2018, 7:33 am

^Also rats and other vermin could eat it.

philliprock

Postby philliprock » June 9th, 2019, 9:48 pm

I don't trust anyone...

I usually keep my financial part to me and maybe my parents that's it...

Mr honerable is 100% right

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 10th, 2019, 8:52 am

I trust them with all my tens of dollars. That's more than I trust other people.

Postby zoom rader » June 10th, 2019, 8:58 am

Keeps main cash abroad as I cannot trust the non 99% and PNM upcoming devaluation

Postby aaron17 » June 10th, 2019, 11:57 am

How much u trust urself?

Postby Ben_spanna » June 10th, 2019, 11:57 am

One bank encouraging you to NOT come into the bank , so their customer relations suck, other bank only giving you preference to foreign exchange if you have a hairy back and marrying yuh first cousin, so firetruck dem both!

Postby zoom rader » June 11th, 2019, 9:25 am

Ben_spanna wrote:One bank encouraging you to NOT come into the bank , so their customer relations suck, other bank only giving you preference to foreign exchange if you have a hairy back and marrying yuh first cousin, so firetruck dem both!

You have to understand the Banks are owned by the same hairy back men marrying their first cousins

Part reason why they all look deformed

innocent criminal

Postby innocent criminal » June 11th, 2019, 11:23 am

Break up accounts between financial institutions

1. Main chequing - deposit paychecks etc
2. Savings - look for one with better rates on savings account, can tie this one to investment accounts
3. JIC account. (just in case!)

I doh want some backwards teller with access to my financials being able to pass word to bandits about who real have money and who one linx purchase away from overdrawing an account

Postby Ben_spanna » June 11th, 2019, 12:42 pm

innocent criminal wrote:Break up accounts between financial institutions

1. Main chequing - deposit paychecks etc
2. Savings - look for one with better rates on savings account, can tie this one to investment accounts
3. JIC account. (just in case!)

I doh want some backwards teller with access to my financials being able to pass word to bandits about who real have money and who one linx purchase away from overdrawing an account

This being done alredy... plenty of these young tellers figure they working there and they powerful, they forget that they are there to SERVE us... they not doing us a favor and when we want something done they are supposed to do it WITHOUT attitude.

airuma

Postby airuma » June 11th, 2019, 1:34 pm

What's the max payout if the financial institution crashes? $160,000.00?

Postby zoom rader » June 11th, 2019, 1:50 pm

airuma wrote:What's the max payout if the financial institution crashes? $160,000.00?
I think it's 50k

Postby De Dragon » June 11th, 2019, 8:15 pm

airuma wrote:What's the max payout if the financial institution crashes? $160,000.00?
I think it's 50k

Think it was increased a couple years ago to 75K

not_a_monkey

Postby not_a_monkey » June 11th, 2019, 8:41 pm

You mean like what happened to HCU?