Cambridge Analytica funded the "Do So" campaign to get UNC elected?

Postby Slartibartfast » July 30th, 2019, 11:34 am

Re: Cambridge Analytica funded the "Do So" campaign to get UNC elected?

Postby Gladiator » July 30th, 2019, 11:38 am

Political propaganda in its finest form... total BS information, perfect for the PNM sycophants to gobble up.

Postby Rovin » July 30th, 2019, 11:51 am

rubbish ole talk , at d time ppl were fed up of d BS & wastage manning was doing ....

Postby The_Honourable » July 30th, 2019, 11:53 am

A foreigner say it and people running away with it. "Cambridge Analytica" will be repeated by the PNM to the point that grassroots who probably can't spell the words would believe and regurgitate it.

Nobody cares about the "do-so" campaign back in 2010. It will be heavily used as a distraction from the main issues.
Last edited by The_Honourable on July 30th, 2019, 11:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2019, 11:55 am

Agreed
Manning arrogance got the better of himself and he padna calder

Rovin wrote:rubbish ole talk , at d time ppl were fed up of d BS & wastage manning was doing ....

Postby maj. tom » July 30th, 2019, 11:58 am

If it were the other way around, would you have said the same thing?
I don't think so. And the statements made in that clip are accurate and are pretty much how the outside wider world view third world politics.

This is pretty much how the last US election went down as well. They hire companies to illegally mine personal data and then spread a message mostly through social media platforms to influence voters. He mentioned several other countries where they used the data to influence voting, including the Brexit mess! Be sure that the 2015 election was won by the PNM the same way, influencing and convincing voters of how bad Kamla was from the false emailgate to the endless hysteria of how the treasury empty through corruption. By September 2015 everyone was so convinced of how evil the UNC was for the country. And the next election will be the same thing. This is how the world works now. There are no laws against this sort of thing yet.

The Cambridge Analytica scandal should push all countries of the world to protect their citizens data, and by extension privacy and rights further to adapt to the future world of the internet. And apply a UN resolution regarding global rules on how data is accessed. You have to understand that the internet is a very new technology and the first time in history that humanity is accessing information on this level and speed. Our generation is now starting to open up the can of worms on the ways it will be abused. Just like how in the 1950s that generation faced a new world of nuclear testing and a secure energy future dream that had to be checked by a UN resolution when they realized how it was really damaging the planet.

Postby mero » July 30th, 2019, 12:09 pm

PNM funding Netflix and CA now?

Rowley even more evil than I thought

Postby Ben_spanna » July 30th, 2019, 12:27 pm

if this smoke screen deters you from the reality of whats going on right here in your own Trinidad then youre too fvking stupid to even think or contribute to our society.

Postby 16 cycles » July 30th, 2019, 12:42 pm

can they be hired to help lower the crime rate or to help us be more considerate towards each other?

Re: Cambridge Analytica funded the

Postby Slartibartfast » July 30th, 2019, 1:07 pm

mero wrote:PNM funding Netflix and CA now?

Rowley even more evil than I thought

It's a clip from the netflix documentary "The Great Hack" about how Cambridge Analytica uses citizen data to influence politics all over the world. Our country just made a small feature in it. It really wasn't even about us.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 30th, 2019, 1:40 pm

Well no.
UNC supposedly paid for a service.
CA was supposedly analyzing the fb/cso dataset and making recommendations/strategy decisions to woo electorate to the party.

CA didn't fund the campaign.

zorced

Postby zorced » July 30th, 2019, 1:59 pm

So it had not much to do with Vision 2020 starting to look coki eye?

Postby SMc » July 30th, 2019, 2:18 pm

there is always something going on in T&T where companies from other countries use the population here to test/evaluate/prove/disprove many theories or potential situations- Duane posted an article (years ago maybe this but now cleaned up viewtopic.php?f=4&t=702923?)around Facebook using T&T's population as a testbed for evaluating the efficacy of a new platform to disseminate information (or something very similar to that) and how quickly and accurately it may spread.

The reason T&T's population is/was used is because of willing people are to believe rubbish information and then convince their friends/families/associates etc to agree- this is why we are such a 'sensationalist' population.

Anyway cant disagree with why its done here- I mean the Guppy experiments took place here and that helped us understand how evolutionary change takes place in a very short period of time (though that initial river is now gone due to quarrying) - why not employ the same tactics to the population.

I feeling like a guppy now

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 30th, 2019, 2:53 pm

I cah remember the Do So Movement was all that? I remember UNC people only calling my phone a few times doh and was insulted...

Postby Slartibartfast » July 30th, 2019, 3:17 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Well no.
UNC supposedly paid for a service.
CA was supposedly analyzing the fb/cso dataset and making recommendations/strategy decisions to woo electorate to the party.

CA didn't fund the campaign.

I apologise for any misinterpretation. It appears that UNC contracted CA for its services. The issue is that
1. CA gathered individual citizen data without their consent
2. UNC used the citizen data from CA to swing the election in their favour (not by getting more votes by promising better performance but by a targeted campaign aimed at reduced voter turnout for the opposing party).
3. The "Do So" campaign I guess would have been paid for by UNC but it would have been planned and carried out under the instruction of CA based on their expertise. UNC paid for results, CA came up with the Do So campaign to achieve those results (to my understanding)

What is upsetting is that
1. We should have some say over our own personal information
2. Trinis need to be more analytical to prevent ourselves from being so easily controlled (utopian dream, I know)
3. What does this mean about the democratic process if you show that through application for human behavioural science you can get any democratic result you want? Should this be illegal or at least regulated somehow? If yes, what exactly do you make illegal and/or how exactly do you regulate this?

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2019, 3:33 pm

maj. tom wrote:If it were the other way around, would you have said the same thing?
I don't think so. And the statements made in that clip are accurate and are pretty much how the outside wider world view third world politics.

This is pretty much how the last US election went down as well. They hire companies to illegally mine personal data and then spread a message mostly through social media platforms to influence voters. He mentioned several other countries where they used the data to influence voting, including the Brexit mess! Be sure that the 2015 election was won by the PNM the same way, influencing and convincing voters of how bad Kamla was from the false emailgate to the endless hysteria of how the treasury empty through corruption. By September 2015 everyone was so convinced of how evil the UNC was for the country. And the next election will be the same thing. This is how the world works now. There are no laws against this sort of thing yet.

The Cambridge Analytica scandal should push all countries of the world to protect their citizens data, and by extension privacy and rights further to adapt to the future world of the internet. And apply a UN resolution regarding global rules on how data is accessed. You have to understand that the internet is a very new technology and the first time in history that humanity is accessing information on this level and speed. Our generation is now starting to open up the can of worms on the ways it will be abused. Just like how in the 1950s that generation faced a new world of nuclear testing and a secure energy future dream that had to be checked by a UN resolution when they realized how it was really damaging the planet.

I kinda sorta disagree.....Trump won because the reality is nobody wanted Hilary so the dems didn't vote....had it been Berine, russia or no russia, dems woulda came out en masse and voted
Same wid 'do so'....Percy Villafana bracing Manning was a turning point and basically cemented public dissent against Patos....Kamliar and Gang were smart to capitalize on it

Postby pete » July 30th, 2019, 3:40 pm

MG Man wrote:I kinda sorta disagree.....Trump won because the reality is nobody wanted Hilary so the dems didn't vote....had it been Berine, russia or no russia, dems woulda came out en masse and voted
Same wid 'do so'....Percy Villafana bracing Manning was a turning point and basically cemented public dissent against Patos....Kamliar and Gang were smart to capitalize on it

Yeah, they were. However, a few years later, the current ruling party laid fabricated emails in Parliament to steal the 2015 elections. Which is infinitely more sinister.

Postby SMc » July 30th, 2019, 3:43 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
CA gathered individual citizen data without their consent

Disagree there- once you sign up for any social media platform you agree to share your information with them-check the T&C's-

Postby Redman » July 30th, 2019, 3:46 pm

CA stated that they created the DoSo campaign....in a sales pitch.

The Nix guy lied and embellished their role as part of his general sales pitch.
Inadvertently confirming his nefarious activity elsewhere.

CA had nothing to do with Do So.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 30th, 2019, 3:57 pm

SMc wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:
CA gathered individual citizen data without their consent

Disagree there- once you sign up for any social media platform you agree to share your information with them-check the T&C's-

You should do some reading on this. What information do you think they used exactly? They claimed to have over 5000 data points on individuals. We not just talking profile information and status updates here you know. They track users across platforms and through acquaintances.

death365

Postby death365 » July 30th, 2019, 4:13 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:if this smoke screen deters you from the reality of whats going on right here in your own Trinidad then youre too fvking stupid to even think or contribute to our society.

Thank you very much. 100% sense

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » July 30th, 2019, 5:17 pm

Yes Cambridge Analytica forced Manning and Calder hart into a "sugar-daddy type relationship" that had the Trini people angry.

Yes Cambridge Analytica sent people to Villafana house where they sat by the lasko fan and sampled trini cusine while trying out different signs, until they agreed on the "Do So" one.

assassin

Postby assassin » July 30th, 2019, 7:13 pm

Internationally the CA scandal was that they used people's FB data without explicit consent. If I clicked "ok" and participated in a FB quiz from CA, they accessed my friends' prelim data without the consent of my friends

The firm was deemed unethical in its data gathering.

Did CA's clients know of the firm's unethical practices and were complicit?

Did clients hire CA based on the firm's ability to gather data and conduct research based on such data?

This manipulation of the masses is an established science and has been going on for over a century. It started with Freud and was commercialized by Bernays. It was the genesis of "public relations "

Postby MG Man » July 31st, 2019, 8:37 am

pete wrote:
MG Man wrote:I kinda sorta disagree.....Trump won because the reality is nobody wanted Hilary so the dems didn't vote....had it been Berine, russia or no russia, dems woulda came out en masse and voted

Yeah, they were. However, a few years later, the current ruling party laid fabricated emails in Parliament to steal the 2015 elections. Which is infinitely more sinister.

and sadly Kams & Co. have no clue how to milk that conspiracy

Re: Cambridge Analytica funded the

Postby Slartibartfast » July 31st, 2019, 9:25 am

assassin wrote:Internationally the CA scandal was that they used people's FB data without explicit consent. If I clicked "ok" and participated in a FB quiz from CA, they accessed my friends' prelim data without the consent of my friends

The firm was deemed unethical in its data gathering.

Did CA's clients know of the firm's unethical practices and were complicit?

Did clients hire CA based on the firm's ability to gather data and conduct research based on such data?

This manipulation of the masses is an established science and has been going on for over a century. It started with Freud and was commercialized by Bernays. It was the genesis of "public relations "

Pretty much. So the question now is what can the ordinary person do to protect themselves from having their opinions easily swayed by PR specialists? I always suggest fact checking but who really has the time when you are constantly being bombarded by information?

Postby hydroep » July 31st, 2019, 9:30 am

So...CA force Patos to call early elections too? Everything starting to make 'cents' now...:|

Postby maj. tom » July 31st, 2019, 9:50 am

like most people that jump in this thread missing the whole point of the CA issue and focusing on the politics. Typical Trini-3rd world view.

the Cambridge Analytica campaign that was devised and successfully deployed in Trinidad and Tobago to alter the youth vote and ultimately influence an election result. Towards the end, we hear about other countries where campaigns are active, as well as a suggestion of involvement in Brexit.

The issue is that CA invaded internet privacy and illegally used the data to influence votes through media on various platforms. Not that an election was called, or that the results would have been the same. It's that this is the new method of influencing people to make decisions. They cited Brexit also, how they were able to convince UK general population how to vote through media campaigns using their data to target the psychological direction of people's mind. Also known as subliminal advertising. Also known as subtle brainwashing.

If you do some blasted research you would see that this theory of directing people's thoughts and actions came about just after WWII when the US government hired one Edward Bernays to influence the direction for modern society so we could never fall into such a brutal and primal conflict again. His method has been used in advertising ever since, a notable success was the Tobacco and Sugar industries.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edward_Be ... c_approach
The CA issue is the modern approach where they are mining ALL of your data on the internet, all your habits, all your clicks, and then custom tailoring products and ideas just for you to make a decision that will be biased toward the topic they are advertising, i.e., hired by political parties to influence your thinking. This is how the PNM also worked in 2015 to create the hysteria of mistrust and corruption against the UNC to get the people to vote them out. Ads stimulating your brain, newspaper articles you are reading online, even items you purchased, you were bombarded and reminded of how the UNC was bad. Trinidad and Tobago 2010 election was just a case study cited in that clip in the documentary.

WTF it's like some of allyuh can't read and understand the issue.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 31st, 2019, 10:02 am

Ground control to Major Tom.
The people don't realize that they are the product, not the customer.
Over.

Postby Rovin » July 31st, 2019, 11:16 am

so we really think foreigners cud devise methods to chain up we head here on who to vote - be real

maybe they cud have given some advice & pointers on how to effectively campaign but it was really up to d citizens

PP was a union of parties that d ppl gave a chance because of how manning was making a mess , how u think they won 29\12

70% voter turn out ... d ppl decided that , not because of foreign influence , them CA ppl biggin up themselves as publicity for their business

Postby De Dragon » July 31st, 2019, 3:01 pm

maj. tom wrote:like most people that jump in this thread missing the whole point of the CA issue and focusing on the politics. Typical Trini-3rd world view.

the Cambridge Analytica campaign that was devised and successfully deployed in Trinidad and Tobago to alter the youth vote and ultimately influence an election result. Towards the end, we hear about other countries where campaigns are active, as well as a suggestion of involvement in Brexit.

The issue is that CA invaded internet privacy and illegally used the data to influence votes through media on various platforms. Not that an election was called, or that the results would have been the same. It's that this is the new method of influencing people to make decisions. They cited Brexit also, how they were able to convince UK general population how to vote through media campaigns using their data to target the psychological direction of people's mind. Also known as subliminal advertising. Also known as subtle brainwashing.

If you do some blasted research you would see that this theory of directing people's thoughts and actions came about just after WWII when the US government hired one Edward Bernays to influence the direction for modern society so we could never fall into such a brutal and primal conflict again. His method has been used in advertising ever since, a notable success was the Tobacco and Sugar industries.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edward_Be ... c_approach
The CA issue is the modern approach where they are mining ALL of your data on the internet, all your habits, all your clicks, and then custom tailoring products and ideas just for you to make a decision that will be biased toward the topic they are advertising, i.e., hired by political parties to influence your thinking. This is how the PNM also worked in 2015 to create the hysteria of mistrust and corruption against the UNC to get the people to vote them out. Ads stimulating your brain, newspaper articles you are reading online, even items you purchased, you were bombarded and reminded of how the UNC was bad. Trinidad and Tobago 2010 election was just a case study cited in that clip in the documentary.

WTF it's like some of allyuh can't read and understand the issue.

Again genuinely asking, but is data mining and selling illegal here in T&T? Does non-fraudulent gullibility constitute a crime? I haven't heard 7 year law school AG Arse-Wari term it as such, and this makes me suspect that it may not be.
This is clearly targeted at the educated fence sitter voters, because the average PNM/UNC supporter probably has not even heard of CA