HAIRSTYLE ROW: Mom threatens legal action against school

Postby hydroep » September 26th, 2019, 7:41 am

Personally I don't see any problem with the two styles shown in the article...

HAIRSTYLE ROW
Mom threatens legal action against school
Stacy Moore

THE hairstyle of a 15-year-old schoolgirl may become the subject of court action as a mother of two is now contemplating a discrimination lawsuit against the principal and the school her daughter attends in Princes Town.

The woman, Leiselle Morton-Taylor, is claiming that for almost two years her daughter has been picked on because of certain natural hairstyles. However, school officials are claiming that the form five student has breached the school’s code of conduct by wearing particular hairstyles.

Morton-Taylor is saying that her daughter’s hair is always combed neatly. However, no matter how her daughter’s hair is styled, she is still being targeted and told, "Why can’t she comb her hair?"

The mother said such hairstyles include Bantu knots, twists and sleek puffs. “These are the hairstyles I send my daughter to school with. They are always neat and appropriate for a school child.”

The frustrated mother said she has visited the school on numerous occasions after her daughter complains about what she is being told about her hair by school staff. The upset mother said last week Thursday was the final straw when the principal placed her hand in her daughter’s hair and said, “So your mother couldn't comb your hair better than that?”

One of the hairtsyles worn by the student to school.

She took to social media to air her frustrations in a post along with photographs of her daughter’s hairstyles.

“They are saying my daughter did not abide by the dress code restrictions, but that is not true. There is nothing in the code that speaks about a child wearing Bantu knots, twists, cornrows or sleek puffs. There is nothing; so I need answers about why my child is being and continues to be treated this way because of her hairstyle.”

Morton-Taylor said after the principal placed her hands in her daughter’s hair last week, her daughter came home crying. “She told me, ‘Mummy I think I should press my hair up until I write exams and that way my hair would not be a problem.’ I could see the frustration in her eyes, it has been almost two years. She has grown weary. She is fed up.”

The woman said she told her daughter that she should always stand up for what is right and stay true to her identity. “Why should she make her hair straight to fit in and give in to social pressure? No, I will continue to fight for my daughter and probably all the little girls who feel they must wear their hair a certain way to fit in.”

Morton-Taylor said her daughter is an exemplary student. “She performs well academically, she represents the school in sport. She has even been described as a role model by one of her teachers. But apparently her problem is her hair. The hair she was born with.

“In 2019 children are being discriminated because of their hair. My daughter is not the only girl in the school being targeted, there are other students.”

She said when she posted the situation on Facebook, she realised there is also another school where young children are being targeted because of how they style their hair.

Morton-Taylor said last month she was also shocked to hear a dean at the school tell students during assembly that certain hairstyles they wear will only attract "badman."

“These hairstyles she was referring to were the same hairstyles I comb my daughter's hair.”

The dress code restrictions state that students “do not have the right” to wear gel hairstyles or elevated hairstyles, dyed or sculpted hair, and long or dangling hairpieces or extensions. The code also states that hair accessories in colours other than the green colour approved by the school, are forbidden.

An official of the education ministry told Newsday that the ministry was aware of the matter which is now being investigated by the education district.

The official said the ministry had guidelines in the school code of conduct that relates to the dress code of students.

The code, which is found on the ministry’s website, advises that “students should wear school uniforms and their grooming should be modest, clean and consistent with healthy, sanitary and safety practices.”

It also says, “Students presenting a bodily appearance or wearing clothing which is disruptive, provocative, revealing, profane, vulgar, offensive, obscene or which endangers the health or safety of the students or others is prohibited. Failure to wear the prescribed school uniform and to be appropriately groomed as set out by the individual school rules is a violation of the National School Code of Conduct and will warrant the appropriate consequence.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/09/26/hairstyle-row/

Re: HAIRSTYLE ROW: Mom threatens legal action against school

Postby maj. tom » September 26th, 2019, 8:29 am

Ah yes the legacy of the old British colonial system of proper school dress. After they stripped away African culture during slavery (so females lost their cultural knowledge of dress and hairstyles) they forced people to dress like their "superior" white civilization in schools and government offices. And brutally suppressed any other expression of culture at the young school ages by "discipline."

And this is part of their legacy, passed on to ignorant people who now have authority over children, but have never read a history book. I don't see anything wrong with the child's hair. I calling it a power trip based on ignorance and some sort of inferiority complex going on with the principal.

Postby ismithx » September 26th, 2019, 9:35 am

maj. tom wrote:Ah yes the legacy of the old British colonial system of proper school dress. After they stripped away African culture during slavery (so females lost their cultural knowledge of dress and hairstyles) they forced people to dress like their "superior" white civilization in schools and government offices. And brutally suppressed any other expression of culture at the young school ages by "discipline."

And this is part of their legacy, passed on to ignorant people who now have authority over children, but have never read a history book. I don't see anything wrong with the child's hair. I calling it a power trip based on ignorance and some sort of inferiority complex going on with the principal.

damn straight

Postby MG Man » September 26th, 2019, 9:40 am

poor kids gonna have a chip on their shoulder for the rest of their lives
:(

justheretoreadthecomments

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » September 26th, 2019, 9:54 am

She can probably refer the matter to the Equal Opportunity Commission. The Equal Opportunity Act speaks about discrimination in categories of employment, education, the provision of goods and services and the provision of accommodation, based on one's status (race, ethnicity, religion, sex, origin, marital status and disability). It could take the narrative of discrimination in education based on her race.

Postby 88sins » September 26th, 2019, 10:14 am

This isn't new. Problem is that some of the ppl charged with being the educators of our youth in this place are mindless idiots.

abducted

Postby abducted » September 26th, 2019, 10:29 am

Supposing it is not a race issue at all in the school, but the mother is making it out to be about race? The hairstyle is neat, but some teachers or principals are stricter than others and become even more unreasonable when opposed.

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » September 26th, 2019, 10:48 am

abducted wrote:Supposing it is not a race issue at all in the school, but the mother is making it out to be about race? The hairstyle is neat, but some teachers or principals are stricter than others and become even more unreasonable when opposed.

Yep, there are lots of instances where persons claim to be discriminated against. Don't know the full details of this story as we are hearing one side.

If the aggrieved thinks that it is such a case, she can lodge same with the EOC. All complaints that meets the criteria as set by the Act (discrimination based on a category and status ground) are investigated. If there is nothing linking it to race, or any other status ground, the matter would take no further action. However, the EOC will facilitate conciliation if there is a possibility of discrimination.

Postby sMASH » September 26th, 2019, 10:54 am

once she grades good, and she eh terrorizing other chirren, me eh business.
but if she is underperforming, then at least learn to work with the rules and the people, to get along.

Postby Rovin » September 26th, 2019, 11:02 am

regardless of race or religion didnt all of us went thru this in our school time & we didnt beat up , put our parents in a bind , call d papers , d media , well no social media back then .... ur parent made u fix ur hair according to d school rules & that was it , end of discussion

yes from those 2 pics it doesnt look rel outta timing but u rather kick up a big scene for a hairstyle while u at school rather than just comb it down neat & d minute u come out of school u can fix it anyway u want [dise what i used to do in my time] , same as anybody working in a business place that has rules too

let her go ahead & go court , by d time time d case call & sort out , her child will be in another school or finish school ....

rebound

Postby rebound » September 26th, 2019, 11:23 am

The Race and Discrimination Card in style these days man....everybody would get tru....however, the girls hairstyle does not look extreme at all..

Postby maj. tom » September 26th, 2019, 11:44 am

yes, rather a big kick up and be free than remain a stupid little mouse that gets pushed around for all life. Every generation is paving the way for something better. Just like how religion is disappearing in the young ones as they get smarter than us and our ancestors. Just like how they want to stand up and live in a better world for people of all races and sexual identity, unlike how we remain silent about that one aunt in all our families who never got married but always hanging around and going on vacations with her best friend with the short haircut, getting older with no children.

If we don't question the rules we would never realize what is wrong by today's standards and always live like mindless drones who can't question if authority is doing the right thing. Same way how we didn't question massa on how King George saw it fit to run our country. Same way we didn't question how only whites could be Officers in our colonial armies but the black man had to die in Europe for them. Same way how segregation in USA was normal and well laid out and accepted in the South but MLK stood up against it. They could have remained meek and do their own thing outside the establishments. But where that would have put us today?

See my above post about ignoring/erasing one's culture to fit someone else's agenda. How the ass could anyone believe that negroid races could have the same hair-styling patterns and grooming as Caucasian races? But ent that is the lie that they fighting up here for centuries? Why stop at the hair then? Why school authorities don't tell little girls that their skin too black and make them use skin-bleaching creams to be like our past colonial white massa women? They even erased traditional clothes from our ancestors and make us wear uniforms to reflect their standards. Girls in India still wear white cotton sarees as school uniforms and in hospitals as standard nurse uniforms. I want to ask how someone's hairstyle interfering is with their learning abilities or interfering with a teacher's teaching abilities. Please explain how this "in style" thing getting in the way of the schooling process.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » September 26th, 2019, 12:00 pm

This right here is the epitome of exactly what is keeping this whole group of people back not just here but in the world.
If they paid half as much attention to what was in their heads rather than what was on their head, on their feet and around their necks they would get a lot further.
Absolutely nothing is wrong with the hairstyles btw but the child just not at a level where the school willing to bend the 'rules' for her as is done in so many other schools,think Intercol, and by extension the world.
This mother and others like her need to grow the fcuk up and realize the world isn't fair. You have to earn, buy, beat or be born into fairness.

Postby Rovin » September 26th, 2019, 12:05 pm

^i like that

sometimes we dont get presented with all d details , express have another pic of 1 of d hairstyle https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... ium=social

like i said fix it to conform in school\work & when u outside fix it back anyhow u want , what stopping u from doing what u want on ur own time ....

Postby maj. tom » September 26th, 2019, 12:16 pm

Hair discrimination is intertwined with racism. Let's follow California, and ban it.

Braiding up your child’s hair and dotting the ends with beads might be an “extreme” style in the eyes of some schools, but we can’t ignore the fact that society’s idea of what is “extreme” is rooted in a white norm. Black hairstyles have extensive cultural histories: canerows, for example, aren’t a new “trend” – black women have been rocking them from as early as 3000 BC.
Of course, hair discrimination is not always as obvious as being sent home from school or being told you’re not allowed to work. Some racist hair discrimination is subtle, manifesting in the form of microaggressions, or pressure to conform to ideas of what is “neat” and “professional” (read: European). We know that systemic discrimination can fly under the radar – racism in hiring processes is technically illegal in the UK, and yet research consistently demonstrates that white applicants have a better shot at a callback. As many black people know, the law does not offer blanket protection from racism. What it does offer, however, is something to point towards – a crutch that would have been useful for my mum in the quarrels with teachers.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfr ... fornia-ban

New research confirms what I’ve seen as a teacher – many children with afro-textured hair face prejudice in UK schools.

Having recently taught in a school with a large African-Caribbean student population, this research confirms what I witnessed there. I saw boys with cornrows and afros being told by senior school leaders that they won’t be taken seriously if they didn’t adopt a more “professional” hairstyle. I consoled young black girls placed in internal exclusion rooms for wearing a black protective cloth over their recently styled braids. Black students being sent home for adding blond or red streaks to their hair, while white students who did the same went unreprimanded, shows how racialised school uniform policies can be.

Yet the policing of black students’ appearance is just one symptom of the devastating injustices that black students experience in our school system today. Black pupils are more than two times as likely to be placed in a lower maths set as a result of unconscious bias against their perceived abilities. An African-Caribbean male student with special needs who receives free school meals is 168 times more likely to be permanently excluded than a white female counterpart. And despite research showing that having just one black teacher in school means a black student is 13% more likely to go to university, black teachers are still massively under-represented at all levels of our school system.
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfr ... uk-schools

I realllllll trying to get some of allyuh to think outside the mind-conditioning box you've been placed in but it's just not working. These are the same people who always here talking about how "it was better in my day when they used to beat chirren in school" or "i wish the British were still ruling Trinidad," and could never, NEVER attempt to observe the true root causes of the problems we face in society.

Postby Rovin » September 26th, 2019, 12:26 pm

wow u gone off on d deep end dey

good ting i never hot up my head & wondered if my great grands injuns fore fathers in trinidad in their time ever got buff up for going to school with coconut oil in their side\middle part heads , speaking hindi , roti with talkery in a brown paper bag & whatever else d colonial masters at time did to them ....

Postby 88sins » September 26th, 2019, 12:50 pm

So, I have several serious questions about this, can someone plz enlighten me

What serious negative impact can a childs hair on their own head have on their or their peers academic or physical performance at school?
Is this or is it not solely about the appearances of the child and how it reflects on the school when the child is seen in the school uniform in public?
What set standards are there to define, and who implements the actual definition of, "neatness" wrt hair?
If it's an solely or primarily an image issue, isn't it a more serious image problem that some of those children with "acceptable" hairstyles may very well be walking throughout the school and walk the streets in uniforms while displaying language and behavior that makes them look and sound like hooligans at best, thus bringing the school into greater disrepute? If it is, why not leave the child hair alone and deal with the more serious problem?

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » September 26th, 2019, 1:30 pm

I think image has to deal with how appropriate it is for the environment. Straying a bit from this case with the mother and daughter, of course there are going to be rules governing certain things including your physical appearance, and I support that. The question is, are were infringing on the rights of others? Now I'm not speaking to the instance where everyday there is a new social group being formed and is seeking to be recognized etc (such as LGBTQQIA... how many more letters are we gonna add here again??). No. I speaking about BASIC rights of one's ASCRIBED status- you are born into a particular race, you have particular features etc. Workplaces, schools etc CAN and SHOULD have a definition of acceptable attire but it should be done in such a way that a person should not have to chemically alter the hair that grows from their head to conform to a standard set by races who do not have the same hair texture. Cornrows and these twisted styles are considered to be protective hairstyles from what I understand, because this texture is more prone to breakage than the straight haired folks like myself. My point- yes, promote a positive image for your institution but balance it out in fairness.

Postby nemisis » September 26th, 2019, 2:02 pm

Their rules so follow it and move on. I worked at a place where the young buck of the office " east indian" had his hair in cornrows and rubber bands to keep it in place i assume it was to keep it in place.. I was also there when they turned down a guy from an position because he had a ras. Not a bobo ras eh a pretty boi bank worker ras. The owner said behind closed door that although the guy on paper looked good no one will want to do business with anyone with a ras. Different strokes for different folks.

Secretly envy the buck though won't lie, I wasn't allowed any of those fancy hair styles growing up becausr my parents said when people see it they only see gangsta and criminals a nd by the time I was out of my parents house and supporting self I was already starting to suffer Male pattern baldness. A case of where something good for everyone else but you...

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » September 26th, 2019, 2:55 pm

yes, rather a big kick up and be free than remain a stupid little mouse that gets pushed around for all life.
maj. tom wrote:Why school authorities don't tell little girls that their skin too black and make them use skin-bleaching creams to be like our past colonial white massa women?

They don't need to; Kartel already tells them that.
"Cool like me wash me face wit di cake soap"
"She say me skin pretty like a coloring book"

maj.tom wrote:yes, rather a big kick up and be free than remain a stupid little mouse that gets pushed around for all life

I agree with the rovin fella, just follow their rules from 8am-2.30pm and you have from 2:31pm - 7:59am to wear whatever however you want.
Is not about being a mouse.
When you move on to get a job and the workplace have a certain dress code, will you beat up over it there too if your style is not on the list? When the hair-net hiding and pressing down everything, will you beat up because you just spent $500 on the latest style??

Indeed I don't see what is the problem with this child hairstyle and how it can interfere with her education.
I would see a problem if a straight-hair come to school with something like Wayne Static and sitting at the front of the class.

Express said the girl was being targeted which is why the mother stepped in, but now this will place extra strain on the child.
Everybody will watch how she performs in school and if she doesn't do well, they will be quick to say how "before she study she book, she studying hairstyle"
In a case like that, if it was me/my child I woulda just say move along, follow their rules.
Is not like they raising up their skirts to see who wearing 'inappropriate' clothing.

Postby De Dragon » September 26th, 2019, 3:58 pm

I have worked places where I was explicitly told that long hair/earrings/tattoos = no upward movement. Thankfully where I am presently is not so narrow minded and discriminatory.

Postby sMASH » September 26th, 2019, 4:18 pm

maj. tom wrote:
Hair discrimination is intertwined with racism. Let's follow California, and ban it.

Braiding up your child’s hair and dotting the ends with beads might be an “extreme” style in the eyes of some schools, but we can’t ignore the fact that society’s idea of what is “extreme” is rooted in a white norm. Black hairstyles have extensive cultural histories: canerows, for example, aren’t a new “trend” – black women have been rocking them from as early as 3000 BC.
Of course, hair discrimination is not always as obvious as being sent home from school or being told you’re not allowed to work. Some racist hair discrimination is subtle, manifesting in the form of microaggressions, or pressure to conform to ideas of what is “neat” and “professional” (read: European). We know that systemic discrimination can fly under the radar – racism in hiring processes is technically illegal in the UK, and yet research consistently demonstrates that white applicants have a better shot at a callback. As many black people know, the law does not offer blanket protection from racism. What it does offer, however, is something to point towards – a crutch that would have been useful for my mum in the quarrels with teachers.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfr ... fornia-ban

New research confirms what I’ve seen as a teacher – many children with afro-textured hair face prejudice in UK schools.

Having recently taught in a school with a large African-Caribbean student population, this research confirms what I witnessed there. I saw boys with cornrows and afros being told by senior school leaders that they won’t be taken seriously if they didn’t adopt a more “professional” hairstyle. I consoled young black girls placed in internal exclusion rooms for wearing a black protective cloth over their recently styled braids. Black students being sent home for adding blond or red streaks to their hair, while white students who did the same went unreprimanded, shows how racialised school uniform policies can be.

Yet the policing of black students’ appearance is just one symptom of the devastating injustices that black students experience in our school system today. Black pupils are more than two times as likely to be placed in a lower maths set as a result of unconscious bias against their perceived abilities. An African-Caribbean male student with special needs who receives free school meals is 168 times more likely to be permanently excluded than a white female counterpart. And despite research showing that having just one black teacher in school means a black student is 13% more likely to go to university, black teachers are still massively under-represented at all levels of our school system.
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfr ... uk-schools

I realllllll trying to get some of allyuh to think outside the mind-conditioning box you've been placed in but it's just not working. These are the same people who always here talking about how "it was better in my day when they used to beat chirren in school" or "i wish the British were still ruling Trinidad," and could never, NEVER attempt to observe the true root causes of the problems we face in society.
As long as her grades are acceptable she could do watever she want, could look like ah immortelle tree, should have that right.

Postby sMASH » September 26th, 2019, 4:20 pm

De Dragon wrote:I have worked places where I was explicitly told that long hair/earrings/tattoos = no upward movement. Thankfully where I am presently is not so narrow minded and discriminatory.
That did change by force, cause it hardly had anyone remaining. But I feel it rever back, massa time now.

Postby De Dragon » September 26th, 2019, 4:24 pm

sMASH wrote:
De Dragon wrote:I have worked places where I was explicitly told that long hair/earrings/tattoos = no upward movement. Thankfully where I am presently is not so narrow minded and discriminatory.
That did change by force, cause it hardly had anyone remaining. But I feel it rever back, massa time now.

Where I am now, people measure your output rather than your appearance.

Postby MaxPower » September 26th, 2019, 4:28 pm

Steups,

Its obvious that this blooming pest is leaving home with her hair neat and then altering it to inappropriate styles before or during school with her peers.

Little criminal.

Postby 88sins » September 26th, 2019, 5:38 pm

MaxiPad,
it is obviously that you are a blasted idiot that never left mammy home, and are intent on waking up every day to show everyone your brand of stupidity.

little cunnyhole

Postby MaxPower » September 26th, 2019, 6:30 pm

^ for heavens sake, calm down Reek.

Could just imagine your panty man behavior in public rolling up those eyes and pouting about.

(Pouting - pushing one's lips or one's bottom lip forward as an expression of annoyance.)

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 26th, 2019, 7:11 pm

Nothing wrong with that child's hairstyle.

And once again we rush to blame colonialism for the actions of single individuals that target people from their own personal preferences. "I doh like that child head, so i go send she home."

Postby rspann » September 26th, 2019, 7:18 pm

Exactly. We will criticize everybody for taking away our ancestral heritage, but wear all the trappings of the white man. Afro and Indo centric people only use their heritage when it's time to have their own way. Other than that ,they wear the Nike, bulls, Adidas, Aeropostale , Bulova, Rolex, and all the others.

Postby rspann » September 26th, 2019, 7:22 pm

Exactly. We will criticize everybody for taking away our ancestral heritage, but wear all the trappings of the white man. Afro and Indo centric people only use their heritage when it's time to have their own way. Other than that ,they wear the Nike, bulls, Adidas, Aeropostale , Bulova, Rolex, and all the others. I see this as a style issue , not really having anything to do with ancestral culture. Playing this card gets support. Although I never understand why the need for that rule by the ministry because it not looking outrageous or unkempt.