New Trinidad & Tobago $ money polymer notes

vaiostation

New Trinidad & Tobago $ money polymer notes

Postby vaiostation » December 5th, 2019, 3:47 pm

Trinidad and Tobago’s new $100 bill has been unveiled.

Following an announcement made by the Minister of National Security, the Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago gave citizens a look at what the new bill is set to look like.

The bill, which will be printed on polymer paper, now features several new things.

Printed on a similar colour to the current one, the front of the bill now has an image of the national flag. It also features a much larger image of the coat of arms, with ‘100’ emblazoned on the top left and centre right of the bill.

The back of the bill now has shimmering gold ink on the top right corner, as well as an image of the Central Bank Twin Towers on the left side.

The Central Bank also explained the features of the bill that could help citizens properly identify the real ones from possible counterfeits.

The bill is set to come on stream once Senate passes an amendment to the Central Bank Act, which will allow for bills to be replaced in a minimum of 14 days instead of the current three-month stipulation.

ZrUpMT23Ty.jpg
pKedQPNzkv.jpg
wYPZEl4ev4.jpg

http://www.looptt.com/content/new-100-b ... oaFsKds8ZI

Re: New $100 bill revealed

Postby hydroep » December 5th, 2019, 3:53 pm

Looks good...:cool:

rebound

Postby rebound » December 5th, 2019, 3:56 pm

Nice..

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2019, 4:23 pm

Thought they woulda make it bilingual

Postby gastly369 » December 5th, 2019, 4:30 pm

Ahh the new $1 looks good

Postby Slartibartfast » December 5th, 2019, 4:55 pm

Very pretty. I wonder how much one of those bills cost to make.

Postby maj. tom » December 5th, 2019, 5:12 pm

About $0.25 CAD. And they last about 3 times longer than regular lint dollar bills. Much harder to counterfeit. So it's a huge win in the long run. But with inflation and the Forex situation and real market USD rates it's best they print a $500 TTD within the next 5 years.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » December 5th, 2019, 5:26 pm

I waiting for the $1,000 bill...

Postby Rovin » December 5th, 2019, 5:38 pm

it actually look good all fancy & modern looking , wonder if ppl will see a devil image on it like when d 50 came out

hope they print enough cause to replace how many million\billion blue notes it have out here for so many yrs

they shud do d $20 next & eventually d 1s & 5s too ....

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2019, 5:43 pm

they now realize that them fellas was bleaching the $1 and turning it into a $100

we need a $1 coin and $2, $200 bills

Postby hydroep » December 5th, 2019, 5:49 pm

Men was printing $ 100 on inkjet printer and thing. Went in a hardware a couple of years ago and an old timer tried to pay with one.

There was obvious banding on the note but poor fella was a market vendor and with his failing eyesight got duped by some unscrupulous customer...:|

Postby Rovin » December 5th, 2019, 6:20 pm

allyuh know it have merchants who doh like d $50 bill , they do like is too much trouble to get a cash drawer with 1 more slot for those notes & to make change for ppl , so they pay out their expenses , rent with it & send it to d banks , they doh like to keep it in hand at all .... i actually really like d 50

imo a note bigger than a 100 lewwe say a 500 or 1000 note will be nice to have so less paper in yuh pocket if u hadda do a cash transaction though nowadays alot of buyers use linx or cc BUT what about if u have a store & man coming to ask jes for change or buy a $5 item to get d bill changed , alot of business ppl does have that problem with a 100 note so imagine if it have a 500 or 1000 note , ppl gonna cuss u up for ur change ...

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 5th, 2019, 6:45 pm

New $100 bill to fight crime/corruption

https://www.opm.gov.tt/trinidad-and-tob ... -100-bill/

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 5th, 2019, 6:47 pm

Rovin wrote:it actually look good all fancy & modern looking , wonder if ppl will see a devil image on it like when d 50 came out

hope they print enough cause to replace how many million\billion blue notes it have out here for so many yrs

they shud do d $20 next & eventually d 1s & 5s too ....
https://newsday.co.tt/2019/12/05/jwala-new-100-bill-four-years-too-late/

Postby The_Honourable » December 5th, 2019, 6:57 pm

Looks good!

Postby K74T » December 5th, 2019, 6:59 pm

Nice design

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2019, 7:27 pm

Stuey issue a long speech saying it is to combat people storing the old bills and using to pay for illicit activists etc.
Dunno if the new bill have some kinda anti storage feature

Postby Rovin » December 5th, 2019, 7:33 pm

so if underworld figures have stacks of cash hidden how they gonna get d new notes , cause they obviously eh pushing a wheelbarrow full of undeclared $ into d bank ....

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2019, 7:41 pm

Look good will order 50 notes

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2019, 7:42 pm

Well the old bills are still legal tender and likely to be for a long time

Postby paid_influencer » December 5th, 2019, 7:44 pm

pugboy wrote:Well the old bills are still legal tender and likely to be for a long time

i hear we have 14 days to change them or else

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2019, 7:45 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:Well the old bills are still legal tender and likely to be for a long time

i hear we have 14 days to change them or else
That's good it's means the valvue of the old notes will go up

Postby paid_influencer » December 5th, 2019, 7:52 pm

plenty people doh like the $50. problem is it look too much like a $1 and once you make that mistake you doh like it again. also the maths tie up for people who accustomed to counting by 20s.

i welcome the new 100 note. i waste too much time of my life double checking the old easy-to-counterfeit 100 notes.

but the 14 days thing should go in a next thread. dais big news

Postby maj. tom » December 5th, 2019, 8:05 pm

The old bills will be changed when they recirculate in the banks through regular purchasing transactions and the new ones will be dispensed via the ATMs. Eventually most will be changed with few bills remaining uncirculated under people mattresses. This is what all countries do when they introduce new money. Central banks usually give the public 6 to 9 months to change any stashes they have of the old bills at the bank, and set a deadline date at that time for using it as trading currency. After that only banks would accept old bills for exchange only.

A new poly­mer $100 bill will be dis­played on the Cen­tral Bank web­site at 4 pm to­day. Min­is­ter of Na­tion­al Se­cu­ri­ty Stu­art Young an­nounced that Gov­ern­ment plans to roll out a new $100 bill to re­place the blue note at to­day's Post Cab­i­net press brief­ing.
Young said the re­place­ment $100 note will he hard­er to coun­ter­feit and will al­so un­der­mine the use of stored cash to fund crim­i­nal ac­tiv­i­ty.

Young al­so said that the new bill is ex­pect­ed to be in cir­cu­la­tion with­in 14 days and not the usu­al 30-day pe­ri­od for new bills.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/central ... fbbbb5646d

What 14 days bs you spreading here? Who tell you that? You spend the evening at the rumshop?

Is people like you eh... people like you... :fist:
Last edited by maj. tom on December 5th, 2019, 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » December 5th, 2019, 8:08 pm

maj. tom wrote:What 14 days bs you spreading here? Who tell you that? You spend the evening at the rumshop? Is people like you eh... people like you... :fist:

i apologize. i does like rum. :drinking:

i hear this on news "Minister Young also said Government will take legislation to the Parliament tomorrow (Friday 6 December ) to amend the Central Bank Act to allow the demonetization process to be reduced from 3 months to a minimum of 14 days. There will be a special sitting of the Senate on Saturday with the expectation to pass the amendment to the central bank act."
https://www.opm.gov.tt/trinidad-and-tob ... -100-bill/

that "demonetization" thing i interpret as removing the value of the old $100 bill.

:drinking:

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2019, 8:14 pm

I remember when PNM ppl complained about the award winning last $50 note.

Dem PNM ppl say it was a hindu devil note, let's see what they say about this new note

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2019, 8:16 pm

The $50 is a polymer bill
Very far from a $1

The euros are smart in being diff sizes

Postby rspann » December 5th, 2019, 8:17 pm

It's the stashed money they are most likely going after . It's going to be hard for someone with a lot of illegal money to get it changed.

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2019, 8:18 pm

pugboy wrote:The $50 is a polymer bill
Very far from a $1

The euros are smart in being diff sizes
Ppl in Europe seldom use cash anymore.

Postby paid_influencer » December 5th, 2019, 8:20 pm

rspann wrote:It's the stashed money they are most likely going after . It's going to be hard for someone with a lot of illegal money to get it changed.

my first thought was it was a PNM version of what India did in 2016
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016_Indi ... netisation

but i guess guardian / maj.tom might be right and i am overreaching