Al-Rawi: Law coming for citizens to have biodata number

Postby hydroep » December 6th, 2019, 12:28 pm

Big Brudda eye gettin' bigga...:|

Law coming for citizens to have biodata number
Julien Neaves

ATTORNEY General Faris Al-Rawi said legislation is coming where there will be a unique identification number for all citizens’ biodata (biographical data).

He was contributing to debate on The Miscellaneous Provisions (Law Enforcement Officers) (Amendment) Bill in the Senate on Wednesday.

He said the police under law are allowed to take fingerprints and photographs in respect of deportees and people at ports of entry. He reported there was an amendment in the bill to improve the law by adding that it is an offence to assault, obstruct or resist an officer in the exercise of his duties or a person assisting an officer.

“And we do that specifically because there are persons at ports of entry or persons who are assisting police officers in the course of their duty and we’ve sought to manage the proportionality in the use of force and in the compellability of these circumstances.”

He said TT is going to come to the point where, like the rest of the world, people must mandatorily give their fingerprints. “I can tell you now that I am working on a specific piece of law which is a unique identification number for every citizen of TT where your biodata would be captured specifically, so like the US where you have a social security services number, we can therefore eliminate fraud and other ills in society. And that legislation ought to come at you very shortly.”

Al-Rawi said Clause 7 of The Miscellaneous Provisions (Law Enforcement Officers) (Amendment) Bill seeks to have amendments to the Customs Act. He explained the act is a pre-1962 law and added that people may not be aware that customs officers have greater power than police in certain circumstances.

“In the power of forfeiture, the power of immediate and serious action–customs officers rank number one.”

He said it was no secret that the contribution from the customs authority is a large part of the country’s GDP.

“And we have to take our customs laws seriously.”

He explained the bill has an amplification for obstruction of customs officers offences from a fine of $1,500 to summary conviction and exposure to $250,000 fine, imprisonment for ten years and conviction on indictment to a fine of $500,000 and imprisonment for 15 years. He said this will feed into the TT Revenue Authority (TTRA) structure; the proposed TTRA seeks to replace the Board of Inland Revenue and the Customs and Excise Division.

“You can’t have inadequate offences and penalties if you’re gonna take your revenue seriously.” He added: “If everybody in this country pays their fair share on the lower limb, more people paying smaller amounts consistently and fairly, our country has the opportunity to be one of the most profitable, spectacular and decent countries in the world to live in. After all, I’m certain God is a Trini.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2019/12/06/law-coming-for-citizens-to-have-biodata-number/

Re: Al-Rawi: Law coming for citizens to have biodata number

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2019, 12:38 pm

Yeah its time we finger print all these small islanders

Postby Ben_spanna » December 6th, 2019, 12:47 pm

zoom rader wrote:Yeah its time we finger print all these small islanders

So in your case they have to go to your parents and start there?- Guyanese , Vincentian or St Lucian heritage???

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 6th, 2019, 12:57 pm

It's funny when criminals write laws.

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2019, 12:58 pm

Ben_spanna wrote:

So in your case they have to go to your parents and start there?- Guyanese , Vincentian or St Lucian heritage???
My folks was here before everyone else bro.

Postby Redman » December 6th, 2019, 1:12 pm

vaiostation wrote:It's funny when criminals write laws.

Experience counts

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2019, 1:15 pm

So no new laws to go after big ticket white collar crime??
Maybe campaign finance laws

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2019, 1:16 pm

Redman wrote:
vaiostation wrote:It's funny when criminals write laws.

Experience counts
Like you licking arse wiry butt too?

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2019, 1:17 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:So no new laws to go after big ticket white collar crime??
Maybe campaign finance laws
No , 99% of the ppl are criminals

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 6th, 2019, 1:21 pm

Nothing to do with national security and everything to do with selective enforcement.

This info will be given to the government's biggest financier, China, who is a glutton for biodata
https://www.nytimes.com/2019/12/03/busi ... jiang.html
https://www.latimes.com/business/techno ... it-alleges

Your social credit scores await, citizen.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2019, 1:26 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Nothing to do with national security and everything to do with selective enforcement.

This info will be given to the government's biggest financier, China, who is a glutton for biodata

I feel I need to stop tweeting anti China tweets and referring to Mao as Chairman Meow then

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2019, 1:52 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Nothing to do with national security and everything to do with selective enforcement.

PNM selling out our country slowly bro

Postby rspann » December 6th, 2019, 2:30 pm

[vimeo] in[/vimeo]

They making more laws than providing services.

Postby RedVEVO » December 6th, 2019, 2:34 pm

After local election results is new law, law, law ..

It use to be new tax, tax, tax ..

These are distractions - it will NEVER see day light ..

Tuners worry too much ..

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 6th, 2019, 2:37 pm

In chapter 13, verse 17 of the Bible say : " All, both small and great, rich and poor, free and slave, to receive a mark on their right hand or on their foreheads, and that no one may buy or sell except one who has the mark or the name of the beast, or the number of his name," reads the 13th chapter. "Let him who has understanding calculate the number of the beast, for it is the number of a man: His number is 666."

antswarri isnt the the great great grandson of d profit ? then the profit is the 666 man mentioned in the bible? the way his followers behave i now incline to believe it.

Postby 88sins » December 6th, 2019, 3:03 pm

just keep in mind you live on and are from a small island

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2019, 5:26 pm

just keep in mind you live on and are from a small island
Yeah but eh going on their islands to abuse their resources and commit crimes.

Postby 88sins » December 6th, 2019, 7:32 pm

yuh miss the hint clean and clear boi zr. But screwbash gets it
If initiated, it wouldn't be very difficult to try and force that as mandatory for citizens.

Postby rspann » December 6th, 2019, 10:43 pm

Al fairy is not the same man who talk about privacy and data mining a few weeks ago?

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 6th, 2019, 10:46 pm

Big picture. 8-) 8-) 8-)

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2019, 11:17 pm

88sins wrote:yuh miss the hint clean and clear boi zr. But screwbash gets it
If initiated, it wouldn't be very difficult to try and force that as mandatory for citizens.
Bro they all ready have my prints.

Postby 88sins » December 7th, 2019, 6:42 am

rspann wrote:Al fairy is not the same man who talk about privacy and data mining a few weeks ago?

He is the same kakahole that openly stated some years ago that no citizen of this country has any right to privacy, not even in their own home.
Last edited by 88sins on December 7th, 2019, 11:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » December 7th, 2019, 8:44 am

Arse-Wari need to put the biodata between he leg.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » December 7th, 2019, 9:00 am

Doh speak about de Prophet's ancestor like that.

Al-Rawi: Law coming for citizens to have biodata number

Postby MaxPower » December 7th, 2019, 9:36 am

Have some respect for allyuh minister please.

Just because he free to BOBOLIZE allyuh it dont mean allyuh have to call the man names.

“He mean well”

Postby rspann » December 7th, 2019, 10:39 am

De dragon disrespectful. Massa always has our bess interes at heart. Our info was always written down in de book he just going wif de times . Remember how he use to inspect we befoe buying? All we teeth etc? Is nuffin new. I go tell on dragon and Massa go give me one mo cuppa tea.

Postby RedVEVO » December 7th, 2019, 11:09 am

Every country in the World have bio data ..

It's only in TT that is lacking in bio data technology .

But why now ? They had 4 years plus .

9 months before a general election ?

PNM went into personal accounts to see people's balance ..

PNM try to see who own your house through T&TEC ..

PNM want a monopoly .

Postby zoom rader » December 7th, 2019, 11:27 am

MaxPower wrote:Have some respect for allyuh minister please.

Just because he free to BOBOLIZE allyuh it dont mean allyuh have to call the man names.

“He mean well”
Fvck he and fvck PNM MC

Postby rspann » December 7th, 2019, 11:28 am

....and the revenue authority would link everything together.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 7th, 2019, 9:26 pm

rspann wrote:....and the revenue authority would link everything together.

Yuh know how the IRS is the real god in the USofA?
Welllll........