OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

Re: Crystal Skull Vodka

Postby eliteauto » November 1st, 2012, 3:23 pm

I get the impression based on taste that Chopin, Sobieski and Belvedere are the same khaki pants, but still decent and sippable, Absolut is absolute rubbish, I like Stoli Elit as a sipping vodka, for Yard fowl events I use Iceberg because it's totally mixable and a creeper so it mixes well with women, others I use regularly are Grey Goose and Tanqueray Sterling

Postby buzz » November 1st, 2012, 4:42 pm

eliteauto wrote: for Yard fowl events

Postby dougla_boy » November 2nd, 2012, 10:44 am

eliteauto wrote:I get the impression based on taste that Chopin, Sobieski and Belvedere are the same khaki pants, but still decent and sippable, Absolut is absolute rubbish, I like Stoli Elit as a sipping vodka, for Yard fowl events I use Iceberg because it's totally mixable and a creeper so it mixes well with women, others I use regularly are Grey Goose and Tanqueray Sterling

elite, please endow me with your wisdom and knowledge.....

Postby bushwakka » November 2nd, 2012, 11:01 am

i find sobieski does lash (shrug)

Postby mero » November 2nd, 2012, 12:11 pm

eliteauto wrote:I get the impression based on taste that Chopin, Sobieski and Belvedere are the same khaki pants, but still decent and sippable, Absolut is absolute rubbish, I like Stoli Elit as a sipping vodka, for Yard fowl events I use Iceberg because it's totally mixable and a creeper so it mixes well with women, others I use regularly are Grey Goose and Tanqueray Sterling

wow to each his own but i find quite the opposite with almost everything here :lol:

I love Chopin and Belvedere, Belvedere is my #1 choice for personal drinking vodka. Chopin is amazing but more costly. I find Absolut (the basic one) quite satisfying and the best for limes etc, and much better than commonly used wodkas; most of their flavoured vodka really suck though and I avoid it.

I however raise you Iceberg vodka to Blu Vodka :lol: That sheit is the most disgusting/headache inducing/ date rape vodka out there. I never got a feel for Stolichnaya though, need to get some more.

If Grey Goose is available I would drink but I would never ever buy a bottle of it. I personally find the taste very bitter and doesn't chase well. I thought something was wrong with me cuz after all, who doesn't like Goose....then I did some research and found out on a blind taste, Grey goose was first rated #1 by vodka drinkers, then after the test, it scored last most of the times. Therefore i came to the conclusion that it was all great marketing and overpricing and the fact was most ppl have no idea what they're drinking and wouldn't know good vodka if it slapped em in the face :| Not to mention I have a couple Polacks & Russian friends, so they cemented my opinion ( I can't bring GG near them), they call it an insult to vodka. But to each his own, I can't stomach Scotch, the smell of JW & DD make me wanna vomit, this automatically makes me socially unacceptable in Trinidad :lol:

Postby eliteauto » November 4th, 2012, 9:10 pm

I think ppl are misunderstanding when I said all three are the same khaki pants, I never said they were bad, I meant they taste like they were made in the same factory, I did add they were decent and sippable

rating Iceberg to Blu is something I'm in agreement with, I'd use both at Yard Fowl ah kick up events, GG is all about marketing again something I'd use in events for so-called premium ppl with taste

Personally I'm way past my vodka stage, there was a time I loved vodka as my drink of choice, I rather gin to vodka now, but my go to drink of choice now are aged rums

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » November 5th, 2012, 8:24 am

Stoli FTW

everything else i'd clean my toilet with ...

grey goose is disgusting .. :|

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » November 5th, 2012, 8:32 am

i kno someone who orders these, its 175$ for one, i bought one

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 5th, 2012, 8:50 am

eliteauto wrote:I think ppl are misunderstanding when I said all three are the same khaki pants, I never said they were bad, I meant they taste like they were made in the same factory, I did add they were decent and sippable

rating Iceberg to Blu is something I'm in agreement with, I'd use both at Yard Fowl ah kick up events, GG is all about marketing again something I'd use in events for so-called premium ppl with taste

Personally I'm way past my vodka stage, there was a time I loved vodka as my drink of choice, I rather gin to vodka now, but my go to drink of choice now are aged rums

Postby crazybalhead » November 5th, 2012, 9:23 am

Somebody say el do 15???? Appleton 12yr???

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 5th, 2012, 9:56 am

crazybalhead wrote:Somebody say el do 15???? Appleton 12yr???

taken a new shine to 21yr on ice..... sometimes with a little water

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 5th, 2012, 10:15 am

How allyuh rate white oak ?

Serious.

Postby tr1ad » November 5th, 2012, 10:21 am

WO taste is the same for years now, i prefer it as meh budget local rum when me affi be gyaffin

but i eh wan to say much, chopper hovering around the office a while now

Postby crazybalhead » November 5th, 2012, 10:23 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:How allyuh rate white oak ?

Serious.

White oak actually not bad at all with a chaser like coke or sprite to mask the taste.

Postby Mark! » November 5th, 2012, 10:27 am

i eased up on the WO wen it started tasting sweet to me :|

Postby cinco » November 5th, 2012, 10:30 am

crazybalhead wrote:Somebody say el do 15???? Appleton 12yr???

i partial to d eldo 12

Postby dougla_boy » November 5th, 2012, 10:35 am

WO does lash.....if i liming cheap, WO fills.....but then again, i dont really have a preference for drinks.... just weekend i havd some Chivas Regal, Dimple, Macallans green bottle.......not much of a fan of vodka....had a terrible experience with vodka in coco lounge once......

Postby crazybalhead » November 5th, 2012, 10:37 am

dougla_boy wrote:WO does lash.....if i liming cheap, WO fills.....but then again, i dont really have a preference for drinks.... just weekend i havd some Chivas Regal, Dimple, Macallans green bottle.......not much of a fan of vodka....had a terrible experience with vodka in coco lounge once......

We are all slowly building a picture here dougla. First is man battam, and now a bad experience after vodka???

Tell us more my friend. No one will judge you here. Did he touch you in the "no" place?

Postby dougla_boy » November 5th, 2012, 10:46 am

no eh CBH.......no............i drank too much .....10 drinks, 1 hour....mix yuh own ting nah....now i cant stomach the sight/smell of vodka......

Postby mero » November 5th, 2012, 10:54 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:How allyuh rate white oak ?

Serious.

i actually really like WO :lol: One of the better white rums I've had tbh.

and db, pretty much your experience with Vodka is mine with JW, if i smell it i'll wanna throw up.
One thing, vodka barely has any smell though. You sure is vodka yuh drink :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 5th, 2012, 11:03 am

Mark! wrote:i eased up on the WO wen it started tasting sweet to me :|

It doesn't? :|

Postby mero » November 5th, 2012, 11:11 am

oh yea got this, this weekend; another for the collection. Straight from Poland, no imported sheit 8-)

Re: OFFICIAL Alcohol discussion & review thread

Postby X_Factor » November 5th, 2012, 4:02 pm

recently tried the El do 12yr and
ohhh man that was nice...my brother in law and i cleared a bottle and imo it just left u with a nice mellow kinda high...woke up the next day with no problems as well

wrt to voda....the Belvedere intense, while it has a higher alco content...i was able to sip the first few drinks on the rocks...it was really smooth
then the rest was finished with some homeade sweet and sour mix...and it was amazing
however the head i got was so sudden you really hadda be careful when drinking it

neexis

Postby neexis » March 14th, 2013, 8:16 am

Anybody know if anywhere in trinidad sells Stoli Vanil (Stoli Vanilla flavoured vodka)?

I've only ever seen it sold in Ruby Tuesday..... none of the servers ever knew what it was till I pointed it out in the display case... but alas, we have finished that bottle.

Only other option is to buy some abroad and bring down.

So..... anywhere?

Postby joker » March 14th, 2013, 6:36 pm

WO tastes best with orange juice,coke , sprite in that order .... depending on the bottle served from the taste varies .. i could sit and drink 8 nips normal in any 4 hr period served from plastic 1.75 bottle
however 6 nips and i am sooped served from sealed 750ml bottle and well last night 1/2 WO empty stomach sooped... so wen drinking look at where it is being served from .

neocyst
Location: lookin' for love in all the wrong places....and lovin' it!

Postby neocyst » March 14th, 2013, 8:26 pm

WO an mauby....bess!

Postby eliteauto » March 20th, 2013, 6:33 pm

anyone had Ciroc? Reviews?

Postby Rooki3 » March 20th, 2013, 6:38 pm

i've had 3 flavor, i honestly cant review it in alcohol experts terms bcuz i dunno wha to look for, but if u hadda line it up against grey goose, u cud say it on d same level, dais for the original flavor, i also had d coconut & its great, still have some red berry flavor somewhere, nvr seen it locally tho, my mom bought it in some duty free

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 20th, 2013, 6:47 pm

WO and peardrax..........

Postby 1UZFE » March 20th, 2013, 6:53 pm

eliteauto wrote:anyone had Ciroc? Reviews?

Ciroc is one of the best Vodkas i've ever had. In d same catergory as Grey Goose might even be better. No chaser required.