Strugglerzinc wrote:Biggest ratch? Use 2NR on this.
shogun wrote:'d hell! are those plastic nail anchors?...the green thingies?
iM@st@1 wrote:Fashion
De phoq is dat
Strugglerzinc wrote:shogun wrote:'d hell! are those plastic nail anchors?...the green thingies?
Nope. Plastic Screw anchors. Long story.
toyota2nr wrote:For the IT fellas:
On a voice / data installation for a customer who shall remain nameless for now. On their opening day all the voice connections failed. I had to pull a pair out of all the data cables and use that for their voice systems. All this while their CEO was cutting ribbon to open to the public.
Last I heard they wanted to run IP phones off of that. Good luck lol.
qwerty wrote:i remember the good old days when i was a teenager and there was a sunday when me and my elder brother and cousin went to maracas with my elder brother's friend in a datsun 120y. boy, wen ah went in the vehicle, i saw a big 4gallon keg in the front passenger foot compartment half filled with gas...lol...somehow the gas tank was condemed by the watless driver..
anyway while driving along the hills and negotiating those bends, the car kept bucking and cutting off cause the gas in the keg was swaying wit the curbs and the suction hose in the keg was unable to reach the gas...talk about kix and shame along dem hills..
anyway it gets better..i rember somewhere along the hills we shut down, and when we popped the bonnet, gas was leaking considerably ample by somewhere near the carburator and the driver (brothers pathner) exclaimed: "we hah tuh save dah gas yes"
so meh cousin replied: "how d fcuk uh goin and ketch dah gas boy?"
driver replied: "doh wory we go work out something!"
next thing uh kno i see d driver cutting a cokes bottle in half and somehow he manage to bore two holes. lmao
he and all of us surround the engine and we rel laffing and feeling shame...d man watch us and exclaimed: "doh wory.,we does do dis!!"
he then said: "allyuh geh two string."
my brother replied: "it in hah no fcukin string here boy"
NEXT THING I KNO IS D MAN TWANGING TWO LONG STRINGS FROM THE CARPET MAT AND HE COME BACK BY THE BONNET WIT IT TO SUSPEND THE COKES BOTTLE UNDER THE GAS LEAK...AH DEAD WIT LAFF AND SHAME YES..
HE MANAGED TO SUSPEND IT UNDER THE LEAK and i guess it swayed like a pendulum through them bends...i say no more
talk about ratch.....![]()
DFC wrote:well my zip strip in my favorite jeans so i staple it up..n bend paper clips to hold it together.
d spike wrote:When loggers destroyed the road home, I had to get a way to get home. I also needed to transport materials through one and a half miles of axle-deep mud and clay.
I got a Datsun 720 pick-up, stripped it down to chassis, drivetrain and suspension. The tray (for want of a more accurate word which might border on the obscene - but then, so did the tray) was lightened, and a frame was mounted forward (glibly referred to as a roll-cage). This frame provided a work platform on which were mounted a seat, toolbox, a tiny instrument panel, and protected the engine from 'bush-lash'.
I abandoned the steering column shifter and instead ran two gear levers through the floor attached directly to the two shift-arms on the gearbox. An open-minded person, aware of how a 720 gearbox works, would understand how easy this system could operate. One stick was low/high gear and the other was low/high range. 1st and 2nd were in the low range, 3rd and 4th were in the high range. However, most people who saw this vehicle, were either not acquainted with 720 gearboxes, or not open-minded, and viewed the contraption with alarm. The "forest-used" was the most favourable name - I won't print the others.
Apart from windshield wipers (duh) everything else worked : lights, front and rear (front lights were fogs, rear lights mounted on the 'roll bar'), horn. She had a seatbelt and a fire extinguisher (mounted forward), radio and a CB set.
The additional power gained from no longer having to drag around excess weight, and the 720's fantastic low 1st gear enabled me to use her like a tractor, dragging logs (and Betsy, my 120y, who got stuck or slid off the road with alarming frequency). The stripped 720 shared a battery and alternator with Betsy, so rescuing Betsy involved walking home, battery in one hand, alternator in the next, tools in a pocket; bring the 720 to Betsy, drag her out; take the 720 home; walk back to Betsy with battery and alternator; install and go home - more carefully this time.
Even though the frame had some flaws due to how it was welded (if you let "professionals" tell you that your ideas are inferior to theirs, but they can't explain why, then you look for whatever they give you), I loved this machine. Then one dry season, I converted a storeroom at the base of a hill below the house into a garage. This worked well until the rains came. The hill turned to slush before I could get her out. Unable to climb the hill, she stayed in that garage until people wanted the parts more than I wanted her.
Getting a flat tyre was the worst...
When a road is built on clay, using beach stones carried by mules from over 6 miles away (more than 80 years ago), and loggers come with their trucks, skidders and peg-wheeled tractors and proceed to tear up the road - punching the remaining stones deep into the clay-bed below - you end up with a morass of mud with no bottom. (I once sank so deep, my boot remained behind when I finally got my foot out. I had to lie face down, put my hand down the hole to retrieve my boot before the hole closed in.)
To change a tyre required a plank under the 720 on which to place the jack in the axle-deep mud (I will not describe that procedure - it involved too much obscenity). Then jack the wheel high enough to get it off, AND CONTINUE JACKING as the wheel is swapped, for the jack is sinking all the time. There is no need to drop the jack, for by the time the spare is back on, the van is on the/in the road again. Besides, most times we couldn't reach the jack by then. You drive forward, then dig out the jack. Those were my tire-changing tools: wheel-nut spanner, jack, LONG jack handle, plank and shovel.
I got fed up of all the little bits of nonsense floating about in the mud that punched tyres, so I started driving around with self-thread screws, a screw-gun and a tyre pump. Instead of attempting to change tyres, I would inflate the bugger, locate the puncture, and screw in a screw. It reached a point where I would be changing worn screws and putting in bigger ones. Never took any tyres to the tyre shop after that.