playbook or ipad2?

Re: playbook or ipad2?

Postby bushwakka » September 7th, 2011, 12:20 pm

tablets in their current form are a novelty that will soon go away, what everyone wants is a fully functional computer in that form but without the nuances of operating like a computer (keyboard, mouse etc)....

Postby Stephon. » September 7th, 2011, 12:28 pm

bushwakka wrote:tablets in their current form are a novelty that will soon go away, what everyone wants is a fully functional computer in that form but without the nuances of operating like a computer (keyboard, mouse etc)....

Tablets will never go away, people know how to use tablets and tablets has multiple uses. The size is perfect and convenient, it's small yet the screen sizes are just big enough to work your way around anything. Tablets will keep getting more and more powerful and better, soon there will be more tablets per classroom than laptops. Last semester when we had to read assignments in class majority pulled out their laptops, a couple of students and I pulled out iPads and opened iBooks and started reading; yesterday in class I only saw 2 laptops. ;)

It's easy to see why people would under rate tablets, I can easily see my son having more fun with the iPad 5 than I would use it in the coming years. :lol:

Postby tr1ad » September 7th, 2011, 12:31 pm

bushwakka wrote:tablets in their current form are a novelty that will soon go away, what everyone wants is a fully functional computer in that form but without the nuances of operating like a computer (keyboard, mouse etc)....

really?
it's the way of the future... do something other than guess

More High Schools Implement iPad Programs

By Jason Koebler
September 7, 2011 RSS Feed Print

With most schools back in session, students in about 600 districts nationwide will return with a new piece of tech: their own personal Apple iPad.

Since the iPad launched last year, some schools have replaced textbooks with E-books. Programs in two thirds of the 600 districts are new for this year; others started these "one-to-one" programs, in which schools provide one iPad for each student, soon after Apple released the tablet in April, 2010.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 7th, 2011, 12:36 pm

cinco wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:
searchingone wrote:I've seen an HP touch screen laptop in use for taking class notes (handwritten) with the stylus....it was pretty smooth and I was impressed by it.

is there a tablet that you can take CLEAN handwritten notes on? i.e. with a stylus? most tablets i've seen dont have a stylus..

lenovo X series is pretty awesome
tbh Win7 handwriting recognition is great on most platforms

thanks
but I don't want recognition, i just want it to record exactly as i write....just like a using a book na....but just i want to eliminate the use of say 5 different books and just have everything in one tablet....i want it to record cleanly without any "lag" if that's the right term...

Postby tr1ad » September 7th, 2011, 12:38 pm

no problems with handwriting on the ipad for me

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 7th, 2011, 12:42 pm

tr1ad wrote:no problems with handwriting on the ipad for me

wait so there's a stylus available? what you writing with? yuh finga?

Postby Stephon. » September 7th, 2011, 12:44 pm

Well look at that, I didn't even know you could handwrite on the iPad. What app?

Postby tr1ad » September 7th, 2011, 12:44 pm

finger or stylus works well

paid like 1.99 us for a stylus

Postby tr1ad » September 7th, 2011, 12:45 pm

penultimate is the app

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 7th, 2011, 12:57 pm

doh make joke! thanks man i'll look into that

Postby tr1ad » September 7th, 2011, 12:58 pm

i have to get another stylus tho

don't know where i put mines, if you ordering one let me know

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 7th, 2011, 1:02 pm

no problem

casper

Postby casper » September 7th, 2011, 2:31 pm

gosh now alyuh changing my mind from d playbook to the ipad2 :(

make up alyuh mind nah....if for school....ipad2 is better???

Postby tr1ad » September 7th, 2011, 2:37 pm

no one can decide for you

it's your money to spend

don't see what the fuss is about when you can get a notebook around the same size for less money

Postby cinco » September 7th, 2011, 2:39 pm

ipad will get u more "stoosh" poo-c
playbook will attract the "bbm" crowd think about it

Postby tr1ad » September 7th, 2011, 2:42 pm

dais wha i feel this is about yunno

which one ha more bling factor

Postby cinco » September 7th, 2011, 2:46 pm

honestly that is the only appeal of a tablet
want an ebook reader get a kindle its second to none
other than that buy a netbook/14inch laptop

Postby Stephon. » September 7th, 2011, 2:51 pm

To answer the question. For a school student you would have more fun with the iPad and you would probably find more uses out of it over the playbook. I use my playbook mainly for business purposes anyway. Lol the playbook is an ironic name now that I think of it :lol:

casper

Postby casper » September 7th, 2011, 2:54 pm

nah d bling dont matter triad....dont really care bout that....just have some extra $$$ ryte now and i just wanna get somn good...thaz alll

Postby tr1ad » September 7th, 2011, 2:56 pm

well if is extra $$ in your pocket
i'd put it away for a rainy day

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » September 7th, 2011, 3:24 pm

tr1ad wrote:well if is extra $$ in your pocket

endorsed...

Postby Trini Hookah » September 7th, 2011, 3:39 pm

If I had to decide how to spend that money I'd personally buy an Acer TimelineX 13.3" screen, can't go wrong. But at the end of the day, that's just my choice.

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 7th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Soundwave wrote:

endorsed...

true that, if you dont need it why have it?

but if the $$ rly hurting you, I need a new BB

Postby SUPAstarr » September 7th, 2011, 3:52 pm

yuh should save yuh dollahz cuz yuh kno yuh have to buy shereza copy of Modern Warfare 3..........

Postby tr1ad » September 7th, 2011, 5:08 pm

my oh my

iDynamic

Postby iDynamic » September 7th, 2011, 5:25 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:yuh should save yuh dollahz cuz yuh kno yuh have to buy shereza copy of Modern Warfare 3..........

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Soundwave wrote:

endorsed...

true that, if you dont need it why have it?

but if the $$ rly hurting you, I need a new BB

tr1ad wrote:dais wha i feel this is about yunno

which one ha more bling factor

Allyuh is rel jones yes :lol:

Postby M_2NR » September 7th, 2011, 5:57 pm

best advice in this thread

casper

Postby casper » September 7th, 2011, 8:15 pm

i end up buying ah phone in b-mobile with the my hot spot thing....thnx guys..the info was useful but i dont think i ready for a tablet cuz my mind only second guessing if i wud rest it down after a 2 weeks or not...cuz thaz exactly what i did with my itouch when i had it...i'd jes use a damn hard cover notebook and some blue ink pens for d while yes

Postby tr1ad » September 8th, 2011, 7:27 am

$40 vs $3500

seems like a no brainer

Postby cinco » September 8th, 2011, 8:05 am

personally
writing notes on paper helps me understand what is going on more