Swisha

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby Swisha » June 22nd, 2010, 3:30 pm

Pwnage tool 4.0 released!

http://bit.ly/9WT2EB
Last edited by Swisha on June 22nd, 2010, 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 22nd, 2010, 3:31 pm

With factory unlocked versions available in the UK where they'll never be a fear of it ever being locked in future upgrades, someone would have to be mad to buy one from the US.

@streetlifestyle hold off for now. Once you upgrade you'll lose the ability to run the software needed to unlock. Ultrasn0w is only available via Cydia.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 22nd, 2010, 4:09 pm

Just pwned, about to unlock.

B20VTEK

Postby B20VTEK » June 22nd, 2010, 4:17 pm

Bezman wrote:i dunno why ppl ordering iphones out of the US if they dont know if it can be unlocked, i think we are in for some surprises with the new hardware.

same question with 2G

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 22nd, 2010, 4:22 pm

Pwned and unlocked.

Point to note: Ultrasn0w did not like 3G on with bmobile on OS4.0.

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » June 22nd, 2010, 4:25 pm

Wolfie wrote:Pwned and unlocked.

Point to note: Ultrasn0w did not like 3G on with bmobile on OS4.0.

Why'd you say that ?

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 22nd, 2010, 4:26 pm

It didn't pick up a signal until i turned 3G off.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 22nd, 2010, 4:31 pm

DTAC wrote:With factory unlocked versions available in the UK where they'll never be a fear of it ever being locked in future upgrades, someone would have to be mad to buy one from the US.

try explaining that to the powersellers nah!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2010, 4:35 pm

B20VTEK wrote:
Bezman wrote:i dunno why ppl ordering iphones out of the US if they dont know if it can be unlocked, i think we are in for some surprises with the new hardware.

same question with 2G

B20VTEK how is that the same for 2G :?

Postby M_2NR » June 22nd, 2010, 4:35 pm

YES!!! pwnage tool!!! 1we
My 3GS going though. but the 3G will be updated tmrw.
Wolfie wrote:It didn't pick up a signal until i turned 3G off.

that was always the case bro 8)

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 22nd, 2010, 4:36 pm

meh my 3G used to work before(if i forgot to turn it off) idk

My phone feels naked now.

But zippier!

wtb winterboard and sbsettings

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2010, 4:40 pm

^ we dont have GSM 3G in T&T anyways

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 22nd, 2010, 4:41 pm

Yeah i know but it still would connect to the carrier.

No biggie, i forgot that it would actually come back up with 3G on after the restore.
It's been a while since i've done this :/

Postby M_2NR » June 22nd, 2010, 4:44 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ we dont have GSM 3G in T&T anyways

i tell yuh to talk to TSTT and mek them use 3G for voice as well, but nooo. u forget who you are? chupes you go ahead watch and se....*netz cutz*

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » June 22nd, 2010, 4:46 pm

Having the 3g setting turned off saves your battery anyway in the long run

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 22nd, 2010, 4:47 pm

Going to try to cert hack for push.

Will probably fail.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2010, 4:49 pm

^ post if you get through!!!

LOL @M_2NR

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 22nd, 2010, 4:52 pm

The latest version of the iPhone operating system, now known as iOS 4, is finally available for public download.

As with the earlier versions of iOS, the latest version too has incorporated some major new features like multitasking, folders and a lot of subtle changes that may not be apparent immediately.

Here is a list changes that have been noticed in iOS 4 so far.

1. On-Call Screen

The "End Call" button on the iPhone's call screen has now been replaced with a text that reads "End". The End button is now in a sober shade of red. You may also notice that the contact's photo now extends till the bottom of the screen and is visible beneath the End button.

2. Mail Draft

In earlier versions of iOS, if you tapped on the cancel button while composing an email, you got three options that read "Save", "Don't Save" and "Cancel". These options have been replaced with "Delete Draft", "Save Draft" and "Cancel" in iOS 4, which seems more appropriate.

3. Shorter Address Bar on Safari

The address bar and search field on the Safari app are now shorter. That means it takes up less screen space as you can see from the image below.

4. iPod Album Listing

Browsing albums have traditionally displayed the tracks and the shuffle option. In iOS 4, the iPod app now provides more details of the album such as the album thumbnail, track count, length of tracks and album release date.

5. Alerts and Notifications

There are a lot of minor tweaks in the error messages and other system notifications. For instance, notifications regarding an app's age rating now explicitly mentions the iPhone application name in the warning dialog though 'Tap' rather than 'Click' would have been even more accurate.

The error messages are slightly more informative in iOS 4. For example: the "no Internet connection" notification in iOS3 has now been replaced with a message that reads “The Internet connection appears to be offline”

6. Maps app

iOS 4 introduces minor changes to the iPhone maps application. iPad users may have already noticed several of these changes with iOS 3.2. Firstly, changing map tiles on iOS 4 displays the familiar iPad 'fade-in'. The GPS icon has now been changed to an arrow and is displayed on the status bar. Also, users may now hold their finger on a location to place a new pin. Additionally, 'Dropped Pins' may now be accessed from the Bookmarks.

7. Homescreen Changes

The homescreen animations are similar to what users may have observed on the iPad. The application dock slides down when an app is launched and slides up when the user closes the app and returns to the homescreen. Also, when you delete an app, the (X) button against the particular wiggling app icon is displayed in a pressed state - as you can see for the Twitter icon in the image below.

8. Birthday Calendar

The Calendar app gets a Birthday calendar in iOS 4 that consolidates the birthdays of all contacts from the address book.

9. Photo app

Though you could see photos in landscape and portrait mode in iPhone's Photo app, you could check the photo album listing and thumbnails only in portrait mode. The Photo application in iOS 4 now completely works in landscape mode. iOS 4 also uses a new auto-sizing feature that will fit the photo to the screen by default.

Kudos to Nik Fletcher and Ryan Poole for identifying these subtle changes in iOS 4. It's one of those things we really look forward to, after a major iPhone software update.

------

At least one person has received their iPhone 4 early, but San Diego-based lawyer Gil Cabrera says he can’t activate his new phone yet.

“Xmas has come early because my #iPhone4 just arrived,” Cabrera tweeted earlier. But he later said, “Oh cruelty! Apparently, the #iphone4 arrived in error early and I cannot activate it until tomorrow! That’s just wrong!”

Here’s a few pictures of the phone that Cabrera uploaded to TwitPic.

------

You might as well throw your sleeping bag and Coleman stove back into the attic, as AT&T as just announced that due to incredibly strong demand, it will not have any iPhone 4 units for sale in stores until June 29th. Anyone who pre-ordered for in-store pick up or home delivery will get their device on launch date provided they ordered before that infamous cut-off.

Here’s AT&T’s statement:

Preordered for home or business delivery: iPhone 4 will begin arriving this week for customers who preordered. We’ll send an email when each order has shipped.
Preordered for store delivery: AT&T retail representatives will begin calling customers this week to let them know their iPhone 4 is available for pick up in store.
Retail purchase (no preorder): AT&T plans to have iPhone 4 inventory – available on a first-come, first-served basis while supplies last – on June 29 in its retail locations, at www.att.com and in business sales channels. As inventory sells out, AT&T will offer the convenient option of purchasing iPhone 4 and having it delivered to a home or business or an AT&T store. As always, customers will receive an email once their order is placed, and again when it ships.
Anyone sharpening their pitchforks?

Postby M_2NR » June 22nd, 2010, 4:59 pm

Wolfie wrote:Going to try to cert hack for push.

Will probably fail.

according to his site...
http://www.cmdshft.ipwn.me/blog/
all gone now bro :(
you shoulda used nimble to back up your old push certs man. I did that. Used inject last time to reinsert my old ones when i restored and it worked well!
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ post if you get through!!!

LOL @M_2NR

thanks eh.. i just had to "ipconfig /release" :?

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 22nd, 2010, 5:02 pm

Yar i have them.

M_2nr wrote:
Wolfie wrote:Going to try to cert hack for push.

Will probably fail.

according to his site...
http://www.cmdshft.ipwn.me/blog/
all gone now bro :(
you shoulda used nimble to back up your old push certs man. I did that. Used inject last time to reinsert my old ones when i restored and it worked well!
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ post if you get through!!!

LOL @M_2NR

thanks eh.. i just had to "ipconfig /release" :?

Postby M_2NR » June 22nd, 2010, 5:06 pm

besssss!
yuh know what to do. 8)

----
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=10216

iPhone 3G Performs Much Slower on iOS 4.0 [Video]

:(

--
BTW guys
http://modmyi.com/forums/iphone-news/71 ... -list.html

Help Contribute to the iOS 4 Compatibility List!

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 22nd, 2010, 5:32 pm

Well push seems to be working as i'm getting the packets.

The apps are being flaky though, Windows Live is disconnecting when closed...

I'll try to get a 4.0 push compatible app to test soon.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2010, 5:34 pm

did you add windows live messenger to the multitasking bar?

iOS4 runs fast on 3GS

Postby M_2NR » June 22nd, 2010, 5:45 pm

Wolfie wrote:Well push seems to be working as i'm getting the packets.

use iPusher to test it and make sure you see
for WLM, make sure you "save password" that's the only way you'd get push noti's.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 22nd, 2010, 6:03 pm

Ahhh ok yep it works, confirms what i was seeing in console.

IMG_0003.PNG
IMG_0003.PNG (116.17 KiB) Viewed 3656 times

WLM still flaking out though

M_2nr wrote:
Wolfie wrote:Well push seems to be working as i'm getting the packets.

use iPusher to test it and make sure you see
for WLM, make sure you "save password" that's the only way you'd get push noti's.

Postby M_2NR » June 22nd, 2010, 6:11 pm

woiii. i finish prep'n my 3GS. I'll miss her. Now to finalize all the apps LOL

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 22nd, 2010, 6:40 pm

We can’t say for sure that it’s an indication that Walmart will be stocking the white iPhone 4 come Thursday, but we find it pretty interesting that all of a sudden the white 16GB model shows up on its retail store as “available in store.” Could this possibily mean that the white iPhone will be available for purchase — at least at Walmart — on D-Day?

------

The new iPhone 3GS box

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 22nd, 2010, 9:10 pm

@MuscleNerd

Looks like baseband FW in iPhone4 uses signing windows (like SHSH blobs) so Apple can disallow flashing specific versions

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 22nd, 2010, 9:11 pm

btw, iPhone gurus should find this thread interesting... :lol: :lol: :lol:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=319525
Last edited by Swisha on June 22nd, 2010, 9:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » June 22nd, 2010, 9:23 pm

Update: Facebook push working, so i assume WLM is teh failsauce.