The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Re: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2011, 2:58 pm

TRAE wrote:ok so its like rel pages in this ched so i asking here:

I have a iPhone 4 from AT&T with 4.0.1 firmware and wanna upgrade to 4.2.1 or so, what tool is best to jailbreak this?

also i'm having an issue even running the restore---- Itunes keeps giving me an error and stops the restore even from DFU mode....

thank GOD you didnt do it... you woulda update your baseband. stock firmware right?

use this custom firmware:
http://www.filesonic.com/file/842491154/iPhone4_iOS4.3.2_Custom_ACTIVATED_Pwangetool.zip
and press shift + restore and load it. k?

good luck :)

remember use ultrasn0w after to unlock. Again... never ever update using stock firmware. There is an alternative method but... use this one, its easier.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 30th, 2011, 7:59 pm

Don't know if I did something wrong or just missed it altogether, but I having a little issue regarding the contacts.

I have the numbers stored with the +1 (868) prefixes and yet still when a saved contact calls, the name does not show up, just the number alone. However, if the same contact sends a text message, the name is shown in the message thread.

The above also happens in the reverse order for some.

Any ideas?

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2011, 8:01 pm

lol go into cydia and search callerid and format fix :)

install it

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 30th, 2011, 8:22 pm

Heading there now :)

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2011, 8:23 pm

i must say on a clean device (Just did 4.3.2) Cydia 1.1 is VERY fast.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 30th, 2011, 8:27 pm

Installed it ..... is that all?

Didn't see any icon or anything

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2011, 8:29 pm

yea and respring.

Thanks to ASLR... AppBackup doesnt work because it relies on python and well the package for that isnt updated to support it yet... (thank you apple)..

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 30th, 2011, 9:39 pm

is there anyway to fix that format problem without jailbreaking? I went ahead and saved my contacts t as +1868 for bmobile and 868 for digicel and landline phones and it works for the most part but still there are some numbers that dont show up with the name because of the area code. I haven't used my iphone 4 in a while so I don't know if this has been fixed since then in 4.3.2...

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2011, 9:50 pm

nope.

Just jailbreak and install it.

It modifies a file that is not accessible without jailbreaking.

Tip: DO NOT que a lot of stuff in cydia. IF per chance one tweak 403's or 404's ALL others will not install... I just made a cue list of 10+ apps to install in cydia... two while installing 403'd... guess what... NONE installed... >_>

casper

Postby casper » April 30th, 2011, 10:02 pm

anyone know if it have any untethered jailbreak for 4.3.2 as yet???

i didnt know if i missed any info in here bout it but it has wayyy too much posts in here to read through them all :(

Postby M_2NR » April 30th, 2011, 10:05 pm

long time... link for iphone 4 on this page. You do realize it will be the same page or within 2or3 pages ;)

GAWD DAYUM 4.3.2 is a headache. I had to refix my forwardmsgfix deb as the folder moved... and also AppBackup is broken so im trying this

casper

Postby casper » May 1st, 2011, 12:32 am

hey after i jailbroke it on snowbreeze with the 4.3.2 untethered it get stuck on the apple logo...what to do?

Postby M_2NR » May 1st, 2011, 1:25 am

snowbreeze?
i NEVER said snowbreeze in my post sir did you scroll up and read the post after TRAE's?

In case u missed it...
Subject: The | Apple Inc. | Thread

M_2NR wrote:
TRAE wrote:ok so its like rel pages in this ched so i asking here:

I have a iPhone 4 from AT&T with 4.0.1 firmware and wanna upgrade to 4.2.1 or so, what tool is best to jailbreak this?

also i'm having an issue even running the restore---- Itunes keeps giving me an error and stops the restore even from DFU mode....

thank GOD you didnt do it... you woulda update your baseband. stock firmware right?

use this custom firmware:
http://www.filesonic.com/file/842491154/iPhone4_iOS4.3.2_Custom_ACTIVATED_Pwangetool.zip
and press shift + restore and load it. k?

good luck :)

remember use ultrasn0w after to unlock. Again... never ever update using stock firmware. There is an alternative method but... use this one, its easier.

Now lets pray you are not software unlocked and didnt update using a stock firmware because u know what that means...

casper

Postby casper » May 1st, 2011, 2:29 am

where i gettin ultrasnow?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 1st, 2011, 10:23 am

you sure you still have that 01.59.00 baseband padna? I'm not sure what you use on windows (think its iReb) because I use tinyumbrella to kick mines out of recovery on mac but I hoping not but the way it sound I think you do a clean restore... you get ultrasn0w in cydia which should be on there if you did it correctly. remember 4.3.2 can be jailbroken but the stock baseband firmware that it has cannot, the only unlockable baseband for iphone 4's is 01.59.00, other than that the only 'legal' method you can currently unlock your phone by (I'm assuming it's an AT&T iphone) is through a Rebel sim and that's relatively expensive after you get the sim and programmer, http://rebelsimcard.com/rebel-micro-sim-card.html

if it's not locked to AT&T check out this website there's a chance the carrier it is locked to is on there and they can do a remote factory unlock on the phone..but AT&T is not supported at this time anymore.
http://cutyoursim.com/?page_id=70#ecwid:category=0&mode=product&product=3878416

good luck

casper

Postby casper » May 1st, 2011, 10:31 am

still getting problems ppl...its an itouch 4g i have btw...it keeps stickin on d apple logo...gettin frustrated...M_2NR...i downloaded the IOS pack that ur link has and tried restroing d itouch to it and it gettin an error

when i first plugged in the itouch to d pc when i now got it it told me 4.3.2 is out and if to update and i clicked yesss...iz this the problem??? if it is can i revert to an earlier version somehow?>?? like 4.3.1 or 4.2.1 or somn??

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 1st, 2011, 10:53 am

......the instructions were the steps for iphone 4 all the time, next time specify .

all you you need to do is follow the instructions posted at this link
you'll be fine, and for future reference, ultrasn0w will not work on an ipod touch because ipod touches have no baseband/phone capability without additional hardware.
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=14564

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 1st, 2011, 10:54 am

it's obvious you were getting problems because you were trying to put iphone 4 firmware on an ipod touch.

casper

Postby casper » May 1st, 2011, 11:00 am

can i use the redsnow version 0.9.6rc14 as i already have that one??? the redsnow that link u gave me gives is not working when u click it to download i have to use that specific one the link gave or i can use the version i told u i have?

Postby M_2NR » May 1st, 2011, 11:14 am

dan you gave us the impression you had an i4 in another thread... (RE:Facetime one)

yuh coulda say what iDevice it was padna.

If you are an ipod touch, just update to the latest firmware and use the latest redsn0w to jailbreak.

casper

Postby casper » May 1st, 2011, 11:19 am

^^i doing that and it still only gettin stuck on the apple logo :(

HELP!!!!!!

Postby M_2NR » May 1st, 2011, 11:34 am

:? weird.

Slip it back into DFU mode and restore it to the 4.3.2 firmware.

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 1st, 2011, 12:03 pm

i know what he's doing wrong, he's pointing it a custom ispw.. you have to download the factory 4.3.2 and point the latest redsn0w https://sites.google.com/a/iphone-dev.com/files/home/redsn0w_win_0.9.6rc14.zip?attredirects=0&d=1 < that's the link just click download and delete the one you have now.

Point redsnow to this ipsw http://appldnld.apple.com/iPhone4/041-0666.20110414.3QvM1/iPod4,1_4.3.2_8H7_Restore.ipsw <direct download link it will start immediately.

make sure you follow the directions in redsn0w to the point and it will work for sure now.

casper

Postby casper » May 1st, 2011, 12:29 pm

^^^those are the exact same ones i using cuz when i just clicked to download those it wayin (2) for the both...which means i have it already not so?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 1st, 2011, 1:14 pm

it actually would have said (1) unless you downloaded it more than once already, just make sure it doesn't have custom anywhere in the title.

i know how frustrating this is so try this:

1. do like M_2NR said and do a fresh install using itunes (connect and click restore and set up as a new ipod) don't waste your time and resyncing all your stuff just yet.

2. open redsn0w, follow directions in redsn0w exactly and point it to the official 4.3.2 for IPOD 4G (must not have custom anywhere in the title), make sure you have that one and not the iphone version again.

3. Redsn0w would ask you too put it into DFU and just follow the on screen instructions.

I really don't see why it shouldn't work after that.

casper

Postby casper » May 1st, 2011, 2:03 pm

^^^yea i did that like 6 million times....stick only stickin on the white apple logo..

anyone in here ever jailbroke an itouch 4g on 4.3.2 IOS???

cuz i doin everything u guys tellin me to do and its not working :?

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » May 1st, 2011, 2:39 pm

that's the thing tho That IS the process... there isn't any other,

last thing I could tell you to do is http://www.filesonic.com/file/788328874/iPod4thgen_iOS4.3.2_Custom_mahmood1.zip

download that its the ipsw already customized source- http://www.limera1n.cc/2011/04/download ... -ipsw.html

and then use iReb to kick out of recovery loop.

If you had a mac I could have easily done it for you via screen share :/

SRASC

Postby SRASC » May 1st, 2011, 3:00 pm

Over the past few weeks we’ve been getting multiple tips from developers saying that their apps are being tested with iOS 5. The new OS is being tested on all manner of iOS devices including iPods, iPads and iPhones. Unfortunately, we haven’t seen any unreleased devices likely because Apple is aware that usage logs go out to developers and wants to keep those devices under wraps.

This is interesting because widespread testing of apps usually precedes the developer release of a major iOS release by a few months.

In the past, Apple has seeded new major iOS releases to developers in April, but obviously this year that’s not the case. We’re hearing that iOS 5 will be released in beta form to developers at WWDC in June, perhaps alongside a finished version of Mac OS 10.7, Lion.

(Interestingly, the iPhone 3GS isn't listed. Hmmm...)

casper

Postby casper » May 1st, 2011, 3:19 pm

http://modmyi.com/forums/ipod-touch-jai ... -logo.html

^^^read this thread....this guy seems to be experiencing the same problem as me.....

Postby M_2NR » May 1st, 2011, 4:02 pm

SRASC wrote:Image

(Interestingly, the iPhone 3GS isn't listed. Hmmm...)

quite ae the iPad 1 isnt there either... and the ipt3g is there but not the 3GS... how odd.

casper, send it back into dfu and do a CLEAN restore with a VIRGIN ipsw. I suggested this in my prev post. Did u do that?