What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
MrCuddles

Re: What oil u using in ur diesel van?

Postby MrCuddles » November 14th, 2010, 6:54 pm

JD...... wrote:any comments on royal purple or Scheffers, personally im a die hard RP fan when it come to cars, and heard great reviews for scheffers for cars as well, but nothing about diesels so far.....

usin RP 15-40 in my Frontier at d moment, no ruff idle(evn wen d engine ded cold on a mornin, jus bounce starter an roll) minimal smoke frm d exhaust, no lack of power, runs relly quiet, cheaper dan most synthetics if u buy it in d 5gal buckets
no experience wit Scheffers doh :roll:

TrEnD$eTt@

Postby TrEnD$eTt@ » November 22nd, 2010, 4:16 pm

MrCuddles wrote:
JD...... wrote:any comments on royal purple or Scheffers, personally im a die hard RP fan when it come to cars, and heard great reviews for scheffers for cars as well, but nothing about diesels so far.....

usin RP 15-40 in my Frontier at d moment, no ruff idle(evn wen d engine ded cold on a mornin, jus bounce starter an roll) minimal smoke frm d exhaust, no lack of power, runs relly quiet, cheaper dan most synthetics if u buy it in d 5gal buckets
no experience wit Scheffers doh :roll:

i have the 2.5tdi frontier i have been using shell rimula x since i bought the van almost 5mths ago however on mornings or whenever the engine was cold it made an annoying knocking noise ....ive since switched back to Royal purple 15w40( used it in 2 previous rides Mitsu EVo 3 & Ga16de B13) and my van starts up on mornings NO noise at all engine idles quiet and rpm runs up quicker an smoother .SO i stickin with RP might cost more than the Shell but my van seems to like it !

rottedv

Postby rottedv » November 23rd, 2010, 9:34 pm

Anything recommended for the 2kd engine from toyota???

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 24th, 2010, 9:12 am

Toyotota Hilux 2008. I use Mobile Delvac. I found I used to get 300KM to Half tank. That changed to 380KM. Also the engine is much quieter and seems to able to drive at a slower speed in second and third gear

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » November 24th, 2010, 9:39 pm

i get 450km on half tank in a 2009 hilux
running castrol before and amsoil now n both is roughly d same

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 25th, 2010, 1:43 pm

topshotta20 wrote:i get 450km on half tank in a 2009 hilux

Truly excellent. My drive is to work in heavy traffic about an hour during peak time and 15 min non peak . So I spend a lot of time idling!

badart

Postby badart » November 25th, 2010, 9:55 pm

PariaMan wrote:
topshotta20 wrote:i get 450km on half tank in a 2009 hilux

Truly excellent. My drive is to work in heavy traffic about an hour during peak time and 15 min non peak . So I spend a lot of time idling!

i get 450km on half tank on my 09 lux but thaz only with highway running. normal driving with traffic is be more like 350 - 400. using amsoil also

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 4th, 2010, 8:34 am

Oil is oil eh, wheter mineral, blended or synthetic - most of the brands are pretty equal within their categories, just slightly different formulations.

Different ppl will have different brand-preferences and will recommend them as they see fit, but once you pick one of the top brands, make sure stick to the brand that youlike and don't mix them.

I like shell Rimula R6.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 7th, 2010, 11:17 am

I agree with you lighthammer. With Mineral oil just make sure you change on time.While synthetic you can have longer drain intervals though they usually advise that you keep the recommended change interval for the oil filter. I also read that with turbo engines the additional protection of the synthetic oil is a good thing

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 7th, 2010, 2:03 pm

Once i pass the 2nd service interval with the Nav, i gonna switch from the Castrol Hypuron that N&M using to Shell Rimula R6.

Postby 3stagevtec » December 7th, 2010, 2:56 pm

I using Amsoil 15W40.. and I don't even have a diesel.. lol

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 7th, 2010, 4:03 pm

This article talks specifically about SYnthetic oil and turbo diesel.

http://www.tdiclub.com/TDIFAQ/TDiFAQ-4.html

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 7th, 2010, 4:18 pm

^^ that was a nice read.
I think I remember reading that article a few months back myself.

I usually would bring my own oil when doing an oil-change. Neal & Massy uses Castrol Hypuron in the Navara, and I asked the mechanic there where they get it from - he said they have a large storage container and they just pump fresh oil back into the used Castrol container and re-use the container in the shop.

Next time I'll use the tried & trusted Shell.

madcoolieboy
Location: arkham asylum for the criminally insane..Under the alias: 'SYKO'

Postby madcoolieboy » December 7th, 2010, 5:37 pm

royal purple wokkin nice in the ranger 15w-40... i prefer it over the mobil 1 delvac that i was so accustomed using in the l200.. next oil change i buying a rp. filter too!

adamros10

Postby adamros10 » December 8th, 2010, 9:49 pm

mobil1 or amsoil..the end

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » December 9th, 2010, 1:57 pm

XXXXX2

Vd27

Postby Vd27 » December 10th, 2010, 8:07 am

Castrol Syntec Blend Truck & SUV, 15W-40

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 11th, 2010, 1:28 am

So, to bring up a question..
Probably going to do another Castrol Hypuron 15w-40 change in the pajero tomorrow.. Last change was ~6 months ago but it has only done about 4500km since then...
Im doing the change regardless but how I would possibly gauge the time vs mileage qestion using semi-syn oil on this 4D56T engine?
My father insists that he stretch the OCI longer, but I dont think its worth the risk... especially when you consider that the only oil filter I been able to get recently is sakura, which I dont really trust as much as I would a purolator etc..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 11th, 2010, 8:48 am

IMO oil change should be based on mileage, not so much time.
But the filter should definitely be changed regularly.

MrCuddles

Postby MrCuddles » December 11th, 2010, 8:55 am

^^^very tru
but u cood do wat i do, jus keep a log book of all work done on ur rig, date an mileage....later on u'll be glad u got precise digits of wat was done an when
wood be handy if u eva decide to sell as well ;)

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 11th, 2010, 9:29 am

yeah log book is a good idea,
I using the warranty card booklet that I got with the Navara to keep track of my servicings and what was done.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » December 11th, 2010, 8:21 pm

I already have log books for all cars and I giant stash of advance auto oil change windshield clings I use to remind me of the mileage done and due etc..
I well covered on that, i just wondering about time vs mileage..

I guess if its full syn (grp 3 or 4) i would be willing to take it up to a year with low milaeage (under 5000km) but with dino or semi-syn oil i'll keep it around 5500km and 6 months, no more..

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 12th, 2010, 1:15 am

lighthammer wrote:Oil is oil eh, wheter mineral, blended or synthetic - most of the brands are pretty equal within their categories, just slightly different formulations.

Different ppl will have different brand-preferences and will recommend them as they see fit, but once you pick one of the top brands, make sure stick to the brand that youlike and don't mix them.

I like shell Rimula R6.

Wait a minute guy... You say you like the shell, but you aren't using it yet? Are u using it in the old frontier?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 12th, 2010, 1:20 am

I have the shell in the hilux for about 2 months now... Oil seems to have the engine more noisy. Vehicle also seems a little more lethargic. Not that the big girl was fast to begin with, but at higher revs the engine is louder and acceleration is slower.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 12th, 2010, 8:04 pm

BF - yeah, using the Shell R4 in the Frontier, and for now I going with the Castrol Hypuron in the Navara.
Gonna change to shell soon though.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 12th, 2010, 9:59 pm

lighthammer wrote:BF - yeah, using the Shell R4 in the Frontier, and for now I going with the Castrol Hypuron in the Navara.
Gonna change to shell soon though.

Don't u mean r6?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 12th, 2010, 10:02 pm

CD4Accord wrote:So, to bring up a question..
Probably going to do another Castrol Hypuron 15w-40 change in the pajero tomorrow.. Last change was ~6 months ago but it has only done about 4500km since then...
Im doing the change regardless but how I would possibly gauge the time vs mileage qestion using semi-syn oil on this 4D56T engine?
My father insists that he stretch the OCI longer, but I dont think its worth the risk... especially when you consider that the only oil filter I been able to get recently is sakura, which I dont really trust as much as I would a purolator etc..

Go ahead and change the oil. 6 months is usually the recommended interval anyway

topshotta20

Postby topshotta20 » December 22nd, 2010, 3:39 pm

Looking to buy 2 15w-40 gallonsof amsoil from prolube
anyone looking for 2 gallons as well
as he only sells them by the case

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » December 22nd, 2010, 8:15 pm

topshotta20 wrote:Looking to buy 2 15w-40 gallonsof amsoil from prolube
anyone looking for 2 gallons as well
as he only sells them by the case

Changed oil recently but thinking bout switching to amsoil if I can't get any delvac. Not happy with the shell r6

sweeks

Postby sweeks » December 22nd, 2010, 9:53 pm

What's the price of the Amsoil?
What type of oil? Diesel specific?

Got a half gallon of Delvac if anyone is interested $100.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”