PREMIUM OR SUPER UNLEADED

eitech

PREMIUM OR SUPER UNLEADED

Postby eitech » November 29th, 2006, 8:10 pm

OK..SO AH GETTIN ALL KINDA RESPONSES. ONE IDIOT HAD THE AUDACITY TO TELL ME DIESEL...LOL..ANYWAYS, WHICH IS BETTER, PREMIUM OR SUPER UNLEADED? OR DOES IT REALLY MATTER? I HAVE A B15..QG15DE ENGINE..NO MODS.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 29th, 2006, 8:31 pm

i puttin super in by qg16 since we bought if from the firm an never had ne problems

Marct

Postby Marct » November 29th, 2006, 8:38 pm

I use super, but if you're going to use it be aware of the effects that it will have on the cat coverter-I cut mine out, Cedia 4g15. Wifey's civic (VI) has been using it for about 3 yrs now and the converter pings a bit after some aggressive driving.

MIVEC95

Postby MIVEC95 » November 29th, 2006, 8:51 pm

basically super is a lower octane,which has it effects in d long run,d super takes longer to burn out, Premium is a high octane,which is a lil better seein dat most new cars are reccomended for this higher octane to perform better, for me ,i use d premium cuz d car works and pulls alot faster,but as Aaron 2nr said,u can try it n see,if its more traffic driving u can use d super seein dat it takes longer to finish

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » November 29th, 2006, 10:20 pm

super all the way

evokiller

Postby evokiller » November 29th, 2006, 10:26 pm

premium all the way...it is hell 4 gas but it asviperhoe, says..is higher octane..and if my car says premium...lolool u bet im putting dat in!!

Loprofile PC

Postby Loprofile PC » November 30th, 2006, 12:36 am

I using super in my b15 for over
3yrs now, jus waiting to hear someone give me a good reason y i shouldnt...

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » November 30th, 2006, 12:55 am

super all de way..2 poor to afford premium

videsht

Postby videsht » November 30th, 2006, 6:25 am

shaks wrote:I using super in my b15 for over

tryin putin de premium u will feel de difference i use to run super untill de gas shortage de other day i had to full de premium and as i pull out de gas station i felt de difference since then iz only premium

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 30th, 2006, 6:32 am

shaks wrote:I using super in my b15 for over

exactly..the "super" that we gettin now is wha was unleaded before so thats why i say sheit that....the qg engines dont ping under the super so im usin it....

loromo

Postby loromo » November 30th, 2006, 6:46 am

If you read the manuals for these vehicles they recommend Regular Unleaded. This translates into Super for us in T&T. The Premium is recommended for Turbo engines. The octane level forNP Super is approx 86, Premium is approx 97.
It must be unleaded, and ALL gas in T&T is now UNneaded.

Val

Postby Val » November 30th, 2006, 7:09 am

Uhh, Premium in this country is not 97 palos, it's closer to 91 RON, or 95 PON.

Use super in your B15, it should not ping even at WOT. Premium will just be wasting money IMO.

thegtiman

Postby thegtiman » November 30th, 2006, 7:45 am

Val wrote:Uhh, Premium in this country is not 97 palos, it's closer to 91 RON, or 95 PON.

Use super in your B15, it should not ping even at WOT. Premium will just be wasting money IMO.

Agreed. Trinidad's "Premium Unleaded" is advertised as 95 RON. Also if its in the forecourt storage for long enough it will lose some of the flash products so the rating will be even lower. So called Super is 91ish or less. I find they should change this to reflect the times. As Super Unleaded petrol should be 97RON or more.
The more expensive petrol is better in higher stressed/tuned motors as it increases the resistance to knock allowing more ignition advance and better torque/response.
IMO because most of the NEW cars bought in Trinidad are calibrated run on a minimum of 95RON lead free fuel, the goverment has not seen the demand to sell better fuel.

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » November 30th, 2006, 7:48 am

Tried super in my 4G15 DOHC for two weeks. The car ran without pinging, but it would hard start in the morning (after all the premium was consumed in the tank), so I went back to premium and never switched again.

eitech

Postby eitech » November 30th, 2006, 8:06 am

WELL, GUYS THANKS FOR DA OVERWHEMLIN INFORMATION. SO, I STILL HAVE TO MAKE A DECISION AS IT NOT AN OUTRIGHT YES OR NO. I AIN GETIN NO PROBLEMS SO I WILL STICK WITH D PREMIUM

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » November 30th, 2006, 8:11 am

Bleh for super. I'm using premium even tho the motor is 88ron rated. Great mileage...great performance. And no yucky die to clog up the injectors.

Postby MG Man » November 30th, 2006, 8:25 am

put super in the mini once and got IMMEDIATE detonation on hard acceleration :shock:
Premium all the way

Postby wagonrunner » November 30th, 2006, 9:19 am

same here. my ga15de will not rev smmothly, or as quickly on super. but thats with a slight ignition advance.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 30th, 2006, 9:19 am

i use premium, never used super. even when we had gas shortage, i eh put the super.

problem isnt really np, but its the gas stations. i put gas in stations which wee newly built or one where they service the tanks regularly.

Postby gt4tified » November 30th, 2006, 9:52 am

I use super ever since my knock sensor started playing de arse (engine runs pig rich) but once I get that sorted, I'll be back to Premium.

If you use super with an octane booster on a turbo engine I guess it would not make much difference.

Hear this theory a cousin of mine who's into rocket science(seriously) told me.....fill up with super and instead of the octane booster, just throw in a corkful of denatured alcohol! Who knows about this? :twisted:

sparkie

Postby sparkie » November 30th, 2006, 10:20 am

cork full? I doubt it, got to put at least 8 to 15%.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » November 30th, 2006, 10:22 am

SUPER in dey modassssss...........24/7

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 30th, 2006, 10:57 am

premum gives better performance but i dont race, so the SUPER all the way or which ever one is cheaper. and super gives more milage

Zeriam

Postby Zeriam » November 30th, 2006, 11:39 am

loromo wrote:If you read the manuals for these vehicles they recommend Regular Unleaded. This translates into Super for us in T&T.
This is not true. regular is sold but if u want to get it u need to go deep south like anywhere past chattam :lol:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 30th, 2006, 1:43 pm

they use it on fishing boats mostly.

about the alcohol, u need sumthing with a high octane level, to raise yur present octane level. keeping in mind that too high of an octane level would cause decreased performance, cuz the fuel would be harder to ignite.

Grind

Postby Grind » November 30th, 2006, 4:24 pm

I heard that people use methanol together with their gasoline. They say as well as increasing performance it also acts as a fuel system cleaner :roll: :?: :| :?

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » November 30th, 2006, 9:03 pm

Why waste money on premium fuel if it is not required ?
I don't believe anyone with a normal B13,14 or 15 needs premium fuel.
Turbo or supercharged & high compression, high performance vehicles...premium yes.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 2nd, 2006, 2:28 pm

viperhoe wrote:basically super is a lower octane,which has it effects in d long run,d super takes longer to burn out, Premium is a high octane,which is a lil better seein dat most new cars are reccomended for this higher octane to perform better, for me ,i use d premium cuz d car works and pulls alot faster,but as Aaron 2nr said,u can try it n see,if its more traffic driving u can use d super seein dat it takes longer to finish

if u can show me where your car pulls faster on premium compared to super i'll give you all my shares in NP.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » December 2nd, 2006, 2:51 pm

In short, If your car is stock, refer to the octane rating of fuel that should be used with that engine and use the suitable type available locally.

Less octane than recommended could actually damage your engine. More octane than recommended does not have any harmful effects up to a certain level. You would, however, be wasting money as the engine is tuned to a lower octane and will only be able to use that much, the rest will go to waste out the exhaust. There is no drop in performance, however, from higher octane.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 2nd, 2006, 4:23 pm

Uhh, Premium in this country is not 97 palos, it's closer to 91 RON, or 95 PON.

Uh "palos". Premium is 95 RON.

For a B15, why not savbe yourself some money and use Super? There is little benefit fropm using Premium, as the ECU in that car runs "happy" with anything above 89 RON octane.

premum gives better performance but i dont race, so the SUPER all the way or which ever one is cheaper. and super gives more milage

Now how exactly does Premium give better performance exactly?

Keep in mind that octane number refers to a gasolene's resistance to detonation. So in theory, Super combusts easier than premium. Turob engines need to use Premium because they want to avoid pre detonation. And sometimes, even Premium ain't good enough.