WTK:Quartermile time for 2007 Type-R civic

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Lord Sensi

WTK:Quartermile time for 2007 Type-R civic

Postby Lord Sensi » March 4th, 2007, 8:03 pm

anybody can give me a lil help? i checkin all over.........but i cant find it anywhere

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 4th, 2007, 9:26 pm

it have a 2007 type R????

TriniParts.com
Location: As of June 1st 2008, we NO LONGER RETAIL.We will strictly be involved in MARKETING & WHOLESALING

Postby TriniParts.com » March 4th, 2007, 11:58 pm

<iframe src ="http://www.honda.co.jp/CIVICTYPE-R/prototype/" height="450" width="100%"> </iframe>

Postby wagonrunner » March 5th, 2007, 12:01 am

Postby 3stagevtec » March 5th, 2007, 1:13 am

my guess would be around 14.5s... as the 06 Si does it in around 15.1s

Postby De Dragon » March 5th, 2007, 2:05 am

:shock: :shock: It sweet eh allyuh?

isgarali

Postby isgarali » March 5th, 2007, 6:40 am

i hoping it will be around 14s........because the turbocharged mazdaspeed3 does the quartermile in 14.1s......i cant live knowing the the mazdaspeed is faster than the civic type-R knowing that the type-R comes with a K20A2 engine.

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » March 5th, 2007, 1:36 pm

its still a prototype the production model still yet to come or has it?

isgarali

Postby isgarali » March 5th, 2007, 1:40 pm

it coming out this month

Postby 3stagevtec » March 5th, 2007, 3:05 pm

but the madza speed 3 has turbo charged, 260hp engine... the CTR is a NA 2.0 making 200hp...

isgarali

Postby isgarali » March 5th, 2007, 3:42 pm

but if the Si Civic can make a quartermile in 15.1 seconds, and the mazdaspeed3 makes it in 14.1...........why cant the type r be faster? after all, its a type r......which is supposed to bo considerably faster than the Si.i duno why honda made the Si and Type r with such close specs!!! :evil: :( :roll:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 5th, 2007, 4:12 pm

^^^have you add the spoon crank, rods and pistons and rev it tuh 10,000 itwill be... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 5th, 2007, 11:22 pm

It should be faster that the Mazdaspeed3 out of the box... honda has been building Rs for around 12 years now... they have always been the fastest in their bracket...

To give up that hallowed ground to Mazda who have made their first foray into this segment (unless you count the MP3) on thier first attemp doesn't look to good to honda... it makes it look like the Rs were only good because no other car company was making anything to compare to them... but now you don't need an R since there is Mazdaspeed, and SRTs.

I doubt the Type-R will be NA... it simply cannot compete if it is... sure it will have an excellent chassis and suspension... but it will just feel down on power... imagine brimming with honda-glee after buying your R only to be smoked at a trafic light by a 5 door people carrier - NOT COOL

Expect the next Type R to be pushing at least 240hp... or it may even be whipped by the next Ralliart lancer (suspected to come out just after the Evo, meant to compete with the WRX while the Evo X continues its epic battle with the STi)

I remember reading in SCC magazine a few months back that they were appealing to Honda to boost the new type R... though it may seem a travesty... its a necessary evil :twisted:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 6th, 2007, 12:26 am

doh be hating on mazda.. :lol: ..but i kno the type r is a really good car an cud out do the mazda3 tho easily with sum lil tweaking so respect to type r

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 6th, 2007, 1:47 am

No... I wasn't hatin on Mazda at all... the Mazdaspeed 3 is a GREAT car

The type R has its work cut out for it... it should not need "sum lil tweaking" to beat the speed3... it should do it out the door!

Why should I have to mess with a type R? You never had to in the past... they were as near to perfect as production cars could be... people who spend the money for the R don't want to then have to shell out another $5000us for a "spoon crank, rods and pistons" to beat a speed3 - plus void their warranty in the process.

I'm sorry... but saying it could beat a speed3 with a lil tuning demonstrates that we are willing to accept mediocrity form a Type-R simply because its a Type-R, something we never had cause to do in the past :roll:

isgarali

Postby isgarali » March 6th, 2007, 10:14 am

Mr. Ingalook.......you have spoken well ;) !!!!
i just cant wait to kno the quartermile time on the type-r!!!!!
this is one car i just cant wait for!

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 6th, 2007, 11:31 pm

There is also the possibility of a NA K24A pushing 260hp... what you guys think?

neilspeed___

Postby neilspeed___ » March 6th, 2007, 11:39 pm

isgarali wrote:i hoping it will be around 14s........because the turbocharged mazdaspeed3 does the quartermile in 14.1s......i cant live knowing the the mazdaspeed is faster than the civic type-R knowing that the type-R comes with a K20A2 engine.

the MAZDASPEED 3 is currently the fastest stock hatch on the planet..even faster than the VW golfGti :!:

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » March 7th, 2007, 12:25 am

civic is not a flickin drag car
its built for circuit/track

Postby 3stagevtec » March 7th, 2007, 12:41 am

^well said...

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 7th, 2007, 1:13 am

Are you saying the Mazdaspeed can't take a corner?

isgarali

Postby isgarali » March 7th, 2007, 1:17 am

ppl........it doh matter abt track or whatever the car made for.....d man jes wana kno if anybody has a quarter mile time for the thing. every car has a quartermile time!

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » March 7th, 2007, 1:25 am

bench racers

"Are you saying the Mazdaspeed can't take a corner?"

why are u insunating that ma boy

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » March 7th, 2007, 6:21 am

who cares about quarter mile times in a CTR??? it's not a drag car!!!

I doubt the Type-R will be NA

The whole type r philosophy is based on an n/a platform, if there was forced induction it would no longer be a type-r

civic is not a flickin drag car
its built for circuit/track

someone give this gentleman a cookie, in a world of skylines and Evo's there are better options to choose from when it comes to straight-line performance, but I'm willing to take a Spoon built CTR and give any Skyline and every version of the Evo ever made a good long whiff of my sweet C16 scented exhaust on the Nurburgring, even on a bad day............there's just this pesky thing called cash which I don't really have alot of......

So if you're thinking about getting a CTR for straight-line jollies you might as well buy a Goya painting to wipe your ass. It makes as much sense as kissing your sister, on the lips, with tongue. Save the money and buy something with more grunt than grip............

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » March 7th, 2007, 8:07 am

"It makes as much sense as kissing your sister, on the lips, with tongue"
:shock: ... that just wrong man .... :lol:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » March 7th, 2007, 8:22 am

1. type R is honda's best...
2. honda, mugen and spoon have play with boost
3. does honda have the R&D to make a Boost Type R? (note. point 1)
4. for honda the "goal" was never "the highest HP" but the best performance car. (eg nsx vs skyline with both car in stock form on a circuit)
5. if honda wanted more HP they will quicker add displacement/better production and more refine tuning.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » March 7th, 2007, 8:41 am

the gearing, suspensiuon, chassis, ect [not no lame ass brakine < nissan brakes]
is what makes up a honda, particuarly honda.

Spyrogyra i dont know if u had my back or not ? :)

but it looks so... thanks.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » March 7th, 2007, 8:42 am

anyways i running away from this thread, like when i post man doh like to see 'stephanweaver' they like is get intimitated.

Postby honda hoe » March 7th, 2007, 9:16 am

honda run tings.... sorry couldnt help it :oops:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » March 7th, 2007, 11:23 am

Well... the Mazdaspeed just put 3 seconds on the Civic Si on a 1:30 lap.... so I guess honda have a bit of work to do...

But it can be done :P

Return to “HONDA”