Sound damping isit really needed?? or do some use too much

Postby SR » October 31st, 2007, 10:54 am

leh me raise a hornets nest here

is it really needed or is there too much marketing hype into it

we talking daily drivers not all out competition vehicles

do you really need to dampen your entire door or can jsut the basics do the trick

ah know ah goin an step on a few toes here even mines but lets see how this discussion goes

jeff

Postby jeff » October 31st, 2007, 11:01 am

yep as with everything that involves money marketing is a big part of it

if it is a daily driver and you dont need it well its not necessary..but if you have a daily driver and you cant hear anything but your door rattling then nothing wrong with using JUST enough to fix that and not putting 100sqft in your door

but i think the entire car is overkill ie roof etc
and i think because of so much advertising and hype the price is pretty steep

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 31st, 2007, 11:04 am

i think it helps alot. if you do the entire car, it will reduce road noise. you will need less power to get louder. makes the cabin much quieter imo. everyone should do at least a roll of deadening.

roger

Postby roger » October 31st, 2007, 11:06 am

fuh a daily driver i would dampen behind the woofer at least and seal the openings, though.

and take care of areas where vibrations occurs like jeff said...

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 31st, 2007, 11:17 am

Daily driver...just doors and wherever rattles

I did trunk, doors, cabin floor, wheel wells, dynaxorb, dynaliner, blah blah.

It helps alot with road noise. If that doesn't bother you, then don;t bother with it. :roll:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 31st, 2007, 11:17 am

I dunno bout you daily drivers but the new car NEEDS a few rolls of mat. These new japanese cars have little or no sound damping, and road noise is terrible.

I've gotten so used to having my roof damped, I forgot how rain sounded, hitting on the roof of the van and similarly when I had the corolla. I didnt need ANY sort of damping when I had the peugeot. Gotta love those french cars. Quiet as a library!!!

I would always recommend it, I cant stand road/outside noise when I taking eeen meh lil 80's musicks. heh heh

jeff

Postby jeff » October 31st, 2007, 11:23 am

but what ive noticed about deadening is that if something rattles 1 layer is not goin to be enough especially if that rattle was loud enough to be annoying you.
that is where the marketing people does ketch you and say yes the damping works but how much of it you have to put on!! 1 roll could EAsily finish on 1 door

with GREAT power comes GREAT rattles :mrgreen:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 31st, 2007, 11:26 am

yep. my front doors has like 3 layers on the inner layer and 2 layers on the outer layer and like 5 coats of liquid deadning on the upholstery.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 31st, 2007, 11:30 am

daz rel patience nigel..to dat amount but then again the edead easy to work with

Kash

Postby Kash » October 31st, 2007, 11:34 am

nigel1977 wrote:yep. my front doors has like 3 layers on the inner layer and 2 layers on the outer layer and like 5 coats of liquid deadning on the upholstery.

give him ah chance he might add more :twisted:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 31st, 2007, 11:35 am

I only use 1 layer on inside door, 1 layer outside door and 1 layer liquid deadening on door upholstery and no rattles yet, and i have 8's in doors.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 31st, 2007, 11:38 am

^^^cross them at 28hz with 600wrms and tell me how it rattles.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 31st, 2007, 11:39 am

careful when yuh going to demo Nigels van- if yuh have keys in yuh pocket he does Sound deaden yuh juzzey!

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 31st, 2007, 11:42 am

evo-STI-k wrote:careful when yuh going to demo Nigels van- if yuh have keys in yuh pocket he does Sound deaden yuh juzzey!

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 31st, 2007, 11:45 am

nigel1977 wrote:^^^cross them at 28hz with 600wrms and tell me how it rattles.

150Hz straight down to 0Hz with 110 Zappy watts on each :D

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » October 31st, 2007, 11:53 am

Forget for a second that I sell various brands of Sound deadening, I myself had to try it out first before I began selling. To me sound deadening is a MUST. I have seen the various advantages first hand and in all my personal vehicles and I dampen the entire vehicle as much as I can. I maybe dont go so much as to add second and third layers but with the products I use, there is really no need.

For daily driving users, it depends on the application really and the level of install. You can get away from using it to some extent in smaller install applications but for more extreme installs I would consider it important.

Regarding how much to apply, I personally dampen entire areas and get the most in coverage but you can get away with using little bits on your desired areas. It really is up to the person and their preference and again level of install.

If you look at installs in the states, most people sound dampen their entire vehicle and not just parts. It also seems that they go all out. It has do something right, since if we did not need it then i am sure dealers and companies would have the knowledge and technology to make it redundant.
Last edited by DE AUDIO on October 31st, 2007, 11:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 31st, 2007, 11:54 am

when it comes to d newer cars as said above - at least 1 layer on d trunk lid is a must since dem tings these days thin like paper ....u also need something behind d rear numberplate since 1\2 of d rattles comes from there ........

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 31st, 2007, 11:54 am

nigel1977 wrote:^^^cross them at 28hz with 600wrms and tell me how it rattles.

madness. id like to hear that

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 31st, 2007, 12:49 pm

aye silent, 110wrms is alright. that might compare to the 150wrms from the dls a3. it eh reddddy for the 4.150. im serious. :mrgreen:

TK!

Re: Sound damping isit really needed?? or do some use too mu

Postby TK! » October 31st, 2007, 1:54 pm

SR wrote:is it really needed or is there too much marketing hype into it

ah know ah goin an step on a few toes here even mines but lets see how this discussion goes

grr... i shoulda nvr tell yuh wah i was doing saturday :-P

honestly... for a quiet ride.. i say do the whole damn car. but it takes TIME... real time and real effort and real cleaning and prep. is a month now i doing my car.

for SQ... well, i think u need a bit for this as well. a properly damped car should be easier to tune. less resonance, reflections etc. i must admit... for most ppl... this wont be necessary cause they cyah hear the difference anyway. so, it's prob not worth their time nor money to do it.

for SPL... yes yes yes... use concrete if u can... stop flexing at all cost. add mass.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 31st, 2007, 2:02 pm

nah man- them people who like to make noise does also like tuh hear their trunk, number plate, roof and dashboard rattling!

Sheit - sorry or is that gallery men i mean?
:? :lol:

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » October 31st, 2007, 2:58 pm

Ah now this minute see this thread...........like the SQS fellas forget what SCOTT said about over Damping/deadening. :|

My opinion: doors and trunk period.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 31st, 2007, 3:03 pm

do the floor too

Postby SmokeyGTi » October 31st, 2007, 4:33 pm

nigel1977, wasn't it you that had the blue corolla before?

that thing had like a few square miles of mat in it!
plus other materials!

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 31st, 2007, 5:09 pm

that car was DEAD

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 31st, 2007, 7:05 pm

Actually, the car IS DEAD. It was written off a few weeks ago. Sad to say.

ravestarfx

Postby ravestarfx » October 31st, 2007, 7:53 pm

in my focus i used

3 layers of mat in the outer panel of the door

3 layers of mat in the inner panel

1 can of undercoat spray in the outer panel

and 3 layers of mat on the skin (1 layer of v1, 2 layers of v3)

and covered it up with 2 or 3 layers liquid dampening

and i also added close cell padding on the inner door panel

and that was done to each door

i added 2layers on the floor of mat and then covered it with close cell front to back

same as the roof with one layer and 1/8 close cell

and the trunk lid had 1 layer in outer panel

and 2 layers in the inner panel

and 1 layer on the panel skin

i may have went overboard

but when u cross them legatias low with the power

i guarantee u the need for dampening

my car was solid !

NOTE: all this was done before the SQS eh richie !!!!

but after the SQS

i have learnt quite alot

and too much dampening isnt a good thing

also its gonna waste your money if u go wild wild as a daily driver

just damp the KEY AREAS

and for the daily driver u cool

i will leave the deeper info for SQS Pt.#2 !!!!!

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » November 1st, 2007, 10:03 am

where do u guys get the time to do all of this :shock:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » November 1st, 2007, 10:11 am

rave how long it took you to deaden that car? a month

TK!

Postby TK! » November 1st, 2007, 10:22 am

ravestarfx wrote:in my focus i used

3 layers of mat in the outer panel of the door

3 layers of mat in the inner panel

1 can of undercoat spray in the outer panel

and 3 layers of mat on the skin (1 layer of v1, 2 layers of v3)

and covered it up with 2 or 3 layers liquid dampening

and i also added close cell padding on the inner door panel

and that was done to each door

i added 2layers on the floor of mat and then covered it with close cell front to back

same as the roof with one layer and 1/8 close cell

and the trunk lid had 1 layer in outer panel

and 2 layers in the inner panel

and 1 layer on the panel skin

i may have went overboard

but when u cross them legatias low with the power

i guarantee u the need for dampening

my car was solid !

NOTE: all this was done before the SQS eh richie !!!!

but after the SQS

i have learnt quite alot

and too much dampening isnt a good thing

also its gonna waste your money if u go wild wild as a daily driver

just damp the KEY AREAS

and for the daily driver u cool

i will leave the deeper info for SQS Pt.#2 !!!!!

waaaayyyss... wdmc... and here i was thinking i wasting too much time on my dampening!!!

that is real work apllie. hats off!!!

after layer1... i doh plan on any more!
(except closed cell.)