dropped car v.s. normal height car?

Postby nervewrecker » March 24th, 2008, 2:57 pm

I hav gotten lil rides in some dropped cars from around the area (none of them professionally dropped).

imo all of dem (with the exception of one, a primera wagon) ride horrible. the primera is the smoothest ride I get in a car so far (even wen compared to the cars of stock height) & he ridin on 18" lexanies, stock springs etc.

does a car with drop springs etc ride anything like a car that hasnt been dropped, if there is a difference, is it a big differnece in the ride you get?

& wah kinda ride yuh does get with coil overs? I talking bout properly installed with the necessary springs, shocks etc? how does it compare to the ride you get with a car that hasnt been dropped?

Postby bushwakka » March 24th, 2008, 5:43 pm

once yuh drop....yuh forck up

Postby cinco » March 24th, 2008, 5:53 pm

coil overs are hard always dont let anyone tie yuh up
in fact anything other than stock is usually rougher
if you ever noticed the dropped cars in trini are usually slammed further than is necessary for optimum handling
if you get a proper drop spring they dont usually have more than 1.25 inches of drop
see tein/eibach
the car does make a difference i remember ridin in dropshop gold accord that was on the floor on 18s and it was riding smooooooooooth
IMHO it just seems the luxury cars ride much better when dropped and it could be because of they were designed stock

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 24th, 2008, 7:27 pm

Point is, anything different from stock and not professionally manufactured by an aftermarket company is shoddy. Ask anyone who has cut/heat springs to redo the same job for another car and the results are never exactly the same, I must admit a few locals have the lowering methods down properly but the cost and benefit derived instead of purchasing proper lowering springs and shock absorber is minimal or non existent.

Coilovers will always be more harder than your stock ride but anything different from stock that is worth spending your money on is going to be harder. Only purchase proper coilovers not the cheap crap people buy for to lower their cars that cost $1500 for a set new. Real/true coilovers can usually adjust the damper settings for a more "comfortable" albeit less sporty ride but they cost anywhere from $7K a set upwards for a new set and don't offer that "slammed" look most young adoloscents with parents' money want.

Cheers

http://www.trinituner.com/shop/coilover.php

Postby *KRONIK* » March 24th, 2008, 8:00 pm

that will depend

cut spring and heat spring duz ride rell F*&* up!

the car duz jerk at every small bump and the double bouce damages ur shock
also the now shorter spring can leave the spring saucer when u hit a bump. (this happened to a padna of mine who cut he srpings).

as stated by CONRAD above to do it "properly" cost some serious paper.

coilovers ride ok if the spring rate is fairly low, but those with low spring rates hard to come by.

lowering springs ride really good if combined with a good shock.

some brands like eibach can drop a lil under 2 inches but most lowering springs range form 1.2 - 1.8 inches.

but at the end of the day is all in the eyes of the driver

Postby nervewrecker » March 24th, 2008, 9:37 pm

well for 1, i kno i eh heating or cuttin my springs like some pple hav done, i hav heard of the efects after & i hav gotten rides in some of the cars with cut & heated springs.

but all i looking to do is get rid of some of dat space bewteen my fenders & wheels.

I hav a partner who hav dropped many rides (he from ackbar trace, avocat), i not too sure wat is the proceadure, i never took the time to ask as i was never into dropping my car.

he has had to do minor mods to many cars that hav been dropped by a certain person/company who is specialised in dropping & thier ride ride rough after.

I hav taken a ride in his mazda b2500 & it was really low (13" rims too), his b14 & bluebird were almost on the ground but i still cant understand how he goes over the humps by gulf city without touching (he is skinny & light weight like me too).

I kno he is man who like low rides, but his new galant - he say he eh dropping. so I am wondering if it worth it.

in the primera, wat they say is that they cut spme chassis rubber or something like dat so the car is lower a bit.

so I am asking is there any other option other than the drop springs & coil overs? the drop springs seem like the best option rite now though.

I will hav to consult the guy from ackbar trace to find out wat is his proceadure in dropping the cars. but i wouldnt be droppin anything within the nex few months.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 25th, 2008, 8:19 am

coil overs are hard always dont let anyone tie yuh up
in fact anything other than stock is usually rougher
if you ever noticed the dropped cars in trini are usually slammed further than is necessary for optimum handling

Yuh mean to say that the "coilovers" yuh talkin 'bout are the cheapo sleeved type ones........Arospeed and dat kinda ting. :lol:

I was lucky enough to experience two cars on Tein "real" coilover setups.....

1 car came RORO with a really aggressive package (Probably Tein Super Street or something) and it handled really well...but was stiff like *&^%

The other I experienced...well the local owner had a Tein basic damper, and the car felt really comfortable....so much so that you wouldn't think that it had coilovers (aside from the lowered look)>

Point is, anything different from stock and not professionally manufactured by an aftermarket company is shoddy

Ent.

coilovers ride ok if the spring rate is fairly low, but those with low spring rates hard to come by.

Exactly. You'd normally find these setups depending on the car you're buying them for, and if different lines of coilovers exist for that car. For the kinda cars that fellas down here want to "drop"......most aftermarket companies don't even consider those.

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » March 25th, 2008, 10:43 am

i think we forgetting that the reason people drop their cars or use coilovers is to get better handling on cornering. you have to sacrifice comfort for handling. the coilovers are more rigid to reduce any rebound when cornering or swerving in and out of traffic :D Most sport or hybrid cars come with stiffer shocks, sway bars, stabilizer bars etc for the same purpose.

conrad is right, the best way to go is aftermarket suppliers than cutting etc. H&R Springs is really good and carries a wide range of applications

Postby nervewrecker » March 25th, 2008, 11:11 am

i read somwhere on the forums bout sending the springs & shocks higher up into the car, is his possible?

& what side effects might this mod hav?

b18b_turbo

Postby b18b_turbo » March 25th, 2008, 11:30 am

dont drop....daz for bakaday men who jes want a lowrider look and duno what they really doin

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » March 25th, 2008, 11:37 am

:arrow:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 25th, 2008, 11:38 am

civic SIR wrote:i think we forgetting that the reason people drop their cars or use coilovers is to get better handling on cornering. you have to sacrifice comfort for handling. the coilovers are more rigid to reduce any rebound when cornering or swerving in and out of traffic :D Most sport or hybrid cars come with stiffer shocks, sway bars, stabilizer bars etc for the same purpose.

conrad is right, the best way to go is aftermarket suppliers than cutting etc. H&R Springs is really good and carries a wide range of applications

ur right Civic SiR about wanting better handling but you do not need to sacrifice comfort. The problem in Trinidad is that these drop places do half a$$ed work and also Trinis don't want to pay for a proper setup.

To perform a proper drop the person doing it has to understand the machanics of the particular suspension setup. You may need to change springs, dampers, bump stops, struts......use camber kits....selected bushings etc. A vehicle's suspension is a complex system with many components each individually tuned for a specific purpose.

Like conrad said you have to put up some serious money to get a good drop system.....not just a set of cut springs. I've driven in cars with complete Eibach and Tein systems and they ride even better than stock. Controlled and comfortable. These systems+installation are U$1200 and up.

To end....these local drop cars crack me up. Every bump they hit is like watching a set of bubble heads bouncing all over the place. They does only hold me up casue yuh kow they cant move fast on the highway.

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » March 25th, 2008, 1:40 pm

what about SUSPEX...........

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 25th, 2008, 2:03 pm

Hands ryansouthman anti-lil-bwoy-car-show-flame-suit.

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » March 25th, 2008, 4:39 pm

saw a couple almeras with the S. Tech's before

decent drop, you'll be pleased if u just looking to reduce the fender gap.

Postby nervewrecker » March 25th, 2008, 9:10 pm

ilovebeti, by chance you eh kno if they does ride rough :oops:

I eh kno eh, i jus asking.....

wen it come to suspex, i eh wah say nuttin to get my thread deleted.

Postby bushwakka » March 25th, 2008, 9:27 pm

dredd^^^...de end pt of dis discussion will be that u r gonna get a ruff ride in most places u go to get ur car drop.....what you need to ask yourself is:
1. Am i doing this just for looks?
2. Am i willing to sacrifice either: smoothness, rell $ for a good job or handling

at de end of de day i wouldn't say that it makes sense to drop ur car if is a car that u hav to drive day in day out on tnt wonderful roads.......if u plannin to go sportin wit it or sumn......well by all means

Conrad

Postby Conrad » March 25th, 2008, 9:38 pm

Tein S. Tech or H&R drop springs (not familiar with the H&R) for better "quality" coupled with some KYB struts (can't remember which one exactly as well but not the AGX). Make sure the struts won't be too long for the springs and cause them to bottom out thus drastically reducing not only the ride quality but longevity of your struts. Good luck and check other forums for drop spring and struts combos for your car/chassis...i.e. if you're just looking to reduce the space between rubber and fender.

Knight1 can share some advice on combos as well. :mrgreen:

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » March 26th, 2008, 12:13 am

slacker_jack wrote:^^^

ilovebeti, by chance you eh kno if they does ride rough :oops:

I eh kno eh, i jus asking.....

wen it come to suspex, i eh wah say nuttin to get my thread deleted.

pal honestly speakin I have some S.Tech's on the Yaris home and i can't tell the difference from stock wrt comfort :|

body roll has decreased a bit also

i also asked one almera owner with the springs and he said they ride great also :fadein:

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » March 27th, 2008, 11:32 am

Why nobody eh bigging up Eibach springs, them ting real bess :mrgreen:

Pirate

Postby Pirate » March 28th, 2008, 11:41 pm

D long and short about dropping ah car...
the lower the car, the more tears rolling from the driver's eyes when he reach ah SPEED BUMP!
:wink:

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 28th, 2008, 11:49 pm

ek4ever wrote:
civic SIR wrote:i think we forgetting that the reason people drop their cars or use coilovers is to get better handling on cornering. you have to sacrifice comfort for handling. the coilovers are more rigid to reduce any rebound when cornering or swerving in and out of traffic :D Most sport or hybrid cars come with stiffer shocks, sway bars, stabilizer bars etc for the same purpose.

ur right Civic SiR about wanting better handling but you do not need to sacrifice comfort. The problem in Trinidad is that these drop places do half a$$ed work and also Trinis don't want to pay for a proper setup.

To perform a proper drop the person doing it has to understand the machanics of the particular suspension setup. You may need to change springs, dampers, bump stops, struts......use camber kits....selected bushings etc. A vehicle's suspension is a complex system with many components each individually tuned for a specific purpose.

Like conrad said you have to put up some serious money to get a good drop system.....not just a set of cut springs. I've driven in cars with complete Eibach and Tein systems and they ride even better than stock. Controlled and comfortable. These systems+installation are U$1200 and up.

To end....these local drop cars crack me up. Every bump they hit is like watching a set of bubble heads bouncing all over the place. They does only hold me up casue yuh kow they cant move fast on the highway.

xxx3

slacker jack it seems that you are looking more for cosmetic effect, rather than function.

My advice would be to go with some Tien S tech which will give you a very close to stock ride with a decent drop between 1 to 2 inch and yet still will be compatible with your stock strutts.

Suspension tuning is actually a lit bit complex and there is alot more components that factors into a set up than springs.

Good luck with your drop....

ryansouthman

Postby ryansouthman » March 30th, 2008, 10:55 am

Conrad wrote:Hands ryansouthman anti-lil-bwoy-car-show-flame-suit.

:roll: :roll:

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » March 31st, 2008, 9:23 am

i saw a SUSPEX panel van with vinyl and stuff in sando, and it was looking rel rough..and that was just rolling along in traffic.
seems if u going to drop ur car in trinidad, be prepared to lose comfort and scream when u see we roads in a low car. lol

Postby *KRONIK* » March 31st, 2008, 10:11 am

KURMAman wrote:i saw a SUSPEX panel van with vinyl and stuff in sando, and it was looking rel rough..and that was just rolling along in traffic.
seems if u going to drop ur car in trinidad, be prepared to lose comfort and scream when u see we roads in a low car. lol

daz joke. i drove a L300 that suspex dropped.... my god....... the thing is the most bouncy, uncomfortable, unstable thing i ever drive.

(bear in mind me eh bad talking the ppl work eh, but this is just from personal experience, so suspex fans....... plz doh jump on my case)

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2008, 1:56 pm

well since allyuh wah call name, yes it is suspez who drop plenty car & pple complain they gettin a rough ride & had tuh go by meh boi in ackbar trace to get things smoothed out a bit & still remin low.

truth be told I not in the dropping thing fuh de looks only. If I wsa i woulda do a permant adjustment for the car to remain low, hence the reason why i choosing the coil overs.
with the coil overs I can drop wen i want (lik if I goin a lil car show, & i can drop it on the spot if i goin a car show) & keep my car normal height wen i want, or a lil 1 or 1 & a 1/2 inches lower than normal wen I home, if it riding too rough I will keep it stock height though.
My car does hardly be out of the area & we hav real smooth roads here. i wouldnt want to leav the area with the car dropped as parking, lil bumps, rough spots & pot holes can be an issue (if i putt a hole my bumper might come off & not to mention the other damages to the car).

buttttttttt........ if the car dropped real low (like a 1/2 inch off the ground) & riding around in the smooth roads will i get a rough ride as it hav no rough spots (& doh worry bout the car dragging, i real lightweight so my weight eh go make much difference in the car).
If the car raised to stock height will it ride rough wen i leave the smooth road with the coil overs installed.

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » March 31st, 2008, 2:08 pm

how can you say this:

slacker_jack wrote:truth be told I not in the dropping thing fuh de looks only.

and then say this?

If I was i woulda do a permant adjustment for the car to remain low, hence the reason why i choosing the coil overs.
with the coil overs I can drop wen i want (lik if I goin a lil car show, & i can drop it on the spot if i goin a car show) & keep my car normal height wen i want, or a lil 1 or 1 & a 1/2 inches lower than normal wen I home, if it riding too rough I will keep it stock height though.

buttttttttt........ if the car dropped real low (like a 1/2 inch off the ground) & riding around in the smooth roads will i get a rough ride as it hav no rough spots (& doh worry bout the car dragging, i real lightweight so my weight eh go make much difference in the car).
If the car raised to stock height will it ride rough wen i leave the smooth road with the coil overs installed.

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2008, 2:20 pm

ilovebeti, well i wah get a good ride with it too. an almera eh no high performance vehicle imo, is jus a car to take you from point a to point b, can i say i dropping it for better "performance".

ilovebeti

Postby ilovebeti » March 31st, 2008, 4:29 pm

man say 'imo' :lol:

well exactly, if yuh eh dropping it for better handling, less body roll etc. is only looks yuh goin for

what 'ride' you get depends on the brand/option chosen

anyways good luck in whatever yuh decide. :|

Postby nervewrecker » March 31st, 2008, 4:36 pm

well so far everything sensible option points in the dircetion of not dropping (& imo thats the best option too) but my mind is still not made up.