JUS4SHO

anybody does use blackle

Postby JUS4SHO » August 27th, 2008, 12:38 pm

http://www.blackle.com/

How is Blackle saving energy?
Blackle was created by Heap Media to remind us all of the need to take small steps in our everyday lives to save energy. Blackle searches are powered by Google Custom Search.
Blackle saves energy because the screen is predominantly black. "Image displayed is primarily a function of the user's color settings and desktop graphics, as well as the color and size of open application windows; a given monitor requires more power to display a white (or light) screen than a black (or dark) screen." Roberson et al, 2002
In January 2007 a blog post titled Black Google Would Save 750 Megawatt-hours a Year proposed the theory that a black version of the Google search engine would save a fair bit of energy due to the popularity of the search engine. Since then there has been skepticism about the significance of the energy savings that can be achieved and the cost in terms of readability of black web pages.
We believe that there is value in the concept because even if the energy savings are small, they all add up. Secondly we feel that seeing Blackle every time we load our web browser reminds us that we need to keep taking small steps to save energy.
How can you help?
We encourage you to set Blackle as your home page. This way every time you load your Internet browser you will save a little bit of energy. Remember every bit counts! You will also be reminded about the need to save energy each time you see the Blackle page load.
Help us spread the word about Blackle by telling your friends and family to set it as their home page. If you have a blog then give us a mention. Or put the following text in your email signature: "Blackle.com - Saving energy one search at a time".
Have a look at our energy saving tips page for ideas on steps you can take to save energy.
There are a lot of great web sites about saving energy and being more environmentally friendly. They are full of great tips covering the little things that we can all do to make a difference today. Try Blackling "energy saving tips" or visit one of the many great blogs dedicated to environmental awareness

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » August 27th, 2008, 12:39 pm

according to alltrac... the name in itself have racial undertones or some bs.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » August 27th, 2008, 12:41 pm

phoqing black infiltrating EVERYTHING :x

haterforever

Postby haterforever » August 27th, 2008, 12:45 pm

JUS4SHO, do you use it?

i jus made it my homepage to replace google

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 27th, 2008, 12:47 pm

tried to, then stopped because i did not like the search results, went back to google

Postby bushwakka » August 27th, 2008, 12:50 pm

lol...i saw a girl of african descent using blackle at work, and it was like a double pun...it was hilarious...also, she's one of those die hard africanites

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 27th, 2008, 12:50 pm

only CRT monitors consume less power when displaying black.
LCD monitors actually consume more power when displaying black.

using a LCD flat panel and regular white page google will consume the least amount of power.

blackle is misleading
Last edited by Duane 3NE 2NR on August 27th, 2008, 12:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 27th, 2008, 12:52 pm

^^^^ well said , yuh jump d gun on meh dey

Postby Hook » August 27th, 2008, 12:54 pm

bushwakka wrote:lol...i saw a girl of african descent using blackle at work, and it was like a double pun...it was hilarious...also, she's one of those die hard africanites

indeed...that's akin to obese ppl wearing "Phat Farm" tshirts :|

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 27th, 2008, 12:57 pm

Blackle is absolute BS - I say so

Postby Team Loco » August 27th, 2008, 2:01 pm

using it already....'

and yuh know, once you go blACK, YOU CANT GO BACK

Postby AllTrac » August 27th, 2008, 2:12 pm

Rallyfignis wrote:phoqing black infiltrating EVERYTHING :x

rofl :lol: :lol: thats cause u teach em to read :lol:

Postby gt4tified » August 27th, 2008, 11:17 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:only CRT monitors consume less power when displaying black.
LCD monitors actually consume more power when displaying black.

using a LCD flat panel and regular white page google will consume the least amount of power.

blackle is misleading

In other words, they could kiss Duane's blackle a$$!

Postby Maserati » August 27th, 2008, 11:24 pm

W2J

Re: anybody does use blackle

Postby W2J » August 27th, 2008, 11:33 pm

buy a Evo nah in other words....... " you slow"

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=183370&highlight=blackle

JUS4SHO wrote:http://www.blackle.com/

How is Blackle saving energy?
Blackle was created by Heap Media to remind us all of the need to take small steps in our everyday lives to save energy. Blackle searches are powered by Google Custom Search.
Blackle saves energy because the screen is predominantly black. "Image displayed is primarily a function of the user's color settings and desktop graphics, as well as the color and size of open application windows; a given monitor requires more power to display a white (or light) screen than a black (or dark) screen." Roberson et al, 2002
In January 2007 a blog post titled Black Google Would Save 750 Megawatt-hours a Year proposed the theory that a black version of the Google search engine would save a fair bit of energy due to the popularity of the search engine. Since then there has been skepticism about the significance of the energy savings that can be achieved and the cost in terms of readability of black web pages.
We believe that there is value in the concept because even if the energy savings are small, they all add up. Secondly we feel that seeing Blackle every time we load our web browser reminds us that we need to keep taking small steps to save energy.
How can you help?
We encourage you to set Blackle as your home page. This way every time you load your Internet browser you will save a little bit of energy. Remember every bit counts! You will also be reminded about the need to save energy each time you see the Blackle page load.
Help us spread the word about Blackle by telling your friends and family to set it as their home page. If you have a blog then give us a mention. Or put the following text in your email signature: "Blackle.com - Saving energy one search at a time".
Have a look at our energy saving tips page for ideas on steps you can take to save energy.
There are a lot of great web sites about saving energy and being more environmentally friendly. They are full of great tips covering the little things that we can all do to make a difference today. Try Blackling "energy saving tips" or visit one of the many great blogs dedicated to environmental awareness

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » August 28th, 2008, 3:26 am

AllTrac wrote:

I knew that would come back to bite us in the A$$ :x :x :x

Postby wagonrunner » August 28th, 2008, 6:02 am

Rallyfignis wrote:
AllTrac wrote:

BWDMC??!!
alltrac, did really get promoted out of the kitchen then. :evil:

Raziel

Postby Raziel » August 28th, 2008, 7:27 am

Any different from

http://www.ninja.com (much cooler name)

or

http://www.cuil.com/ (new way of returning results)

Postby RBphoto » August 28th, 2008, 9:46 am

White on black is beetter on the eyes. Orange on black give the best contrast

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » August 28th, 2008, 10:44 am

Rallyfignis wrote:
AllTrac wrote:

BWDMC??!!
alltrac, did really get promoted out of the kitchen then. :evil:

No no no no no, by "us" I meant white people.

No kulie playing he coming upstairs in MY great house!!!

Kitchen and dining room ONLY!!!