Anatomy of a BAD box..

Postby 3stagevtec » October 9th, 2008, 7:11 pm

don't know if you all remember the box that was sold to my boss from some installers in Fyzabad..

that box was then modified by me and sold. i never got the chance to show any pics of it.. well big surprise today, another box that those same installers sold to my boss's son came to me today to be 'fixed'.. :lol:

here goes..

the specs!
net internal volume = 1.8cu.ft
winISD estimates tuning at 55.7Hz
port is 14" x 2.25" x 10.5"deep

(the sad part is i didn't factor in speaker displacement :shock: )

the carpet looks ok..

that's the baffle..

is that a staple sticking out the wood? they missed with the screw for the port as well..

more baffle shots..

now check this, the baffle & back of the box is 1/2"mdf...

and the rest of it is 3/4" mdf... now that's a poorly built / designed box..

when my boss's son was using it, the baffle actually detached from the box and he ended up damaging his pioneer sub.. the baffle was only held together by the carpet, until i noticed.. :shock:

i'll try and make a vid to show how the sub performs in this enclosure.. is real kicks to see...

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » October 9th, 2008, 8:02 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock:
who is the installer jed?
how much he pay for that box?

Postby 3stagevtec » October 9th, 2008, 8:08 pm

demboyzaudio wrote::shock: :shock: :shock:

i think forum rules say something about bashing companies here.. but i'll say they are from Fazabad near the composite school... think he payed around $400 for it..

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 9th, 2008, 8:11 pm

thats even mdf they use?

looks like long time ply

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » October 9th, 2008, 9:09 pm

55.7Hz tuning u say :shock:

wtf - not even my spl box is tuned that high ....that thing must be sound like it farting .... :lol:

riadb

Postby riadb » October 9th, 2008, 9:19 pm

lordieeee...

i came across those kinda boxes already..... It's really an installer from south somewhere..

my advice...doh even waste yuh time to fix dat nah, pelt dat away and build an enclosure for the fella that's deserving of a subwoofer....even if it's a pioneer :wink: :wink: :lol:

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » October 9th, 2008, 9:32 pm

riadb wrote:lordieeee...

i came across those kinda boxes already..... It's really an installer from south somewhere..

my advice...doh even waste yuh time to fix dat nah, pelt dat away and build an enclosure for the fella that's deserving of a subwoofer....even if it's a pioneer :wink: :wink: :lol:

i agree,
i never really saw a box built so badly,
an i build a box with 5/8 already for myself

xeon

Postby xeon » October 9th, 2008, 9:49 pm

wat d hell is dat :shock: .......looks like sumting ppl use to transport baby chickens/ducks.....

Death_ride

Postby Death_ride » October 9th, 2008, 9:53 pm

u mean the place across the road from Fyzo composite :P

I never know it had a place to install music in fyzo... thank god i never looked to check lol

But i know the place he speak off... and that is like the only place there lol

Thas a hard luck there hoss... a real waste a money there :(

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » October 9th, 2008, 10:22 pm

somebody open a place there and save the villagers!!

Postby nervewrecker » October 10th, 2008, 7:59 am

3stagevtec wrote:
demboyzaudio wrote::shock: :shock: :shock:

i think forum rules say something about bashing companies here.. but i'll say they are from Fazabad near the composite school... think he payed around $400 for it..

call no name, he hav a powerseller fren on the forum....

Postby nervewrecker » October 10th, 2008, 8:05 am

demboyzaudio wrote:somebody open a place there and save the villagers!!

allyuh wah meh take up de role oh wah :P

but seriously, kerry's auto sound does good work, I can vouch for him & he has many years of experience to bak that up.
outsider's are a next set of installers who has made a name for themselves as well.

whatever allyuh do don't send any1 by a certain other installer with a red b13, he does gain up amps rite up, turn everything up on the deck & preamp, builds boxes wrong & refuses to take advice from me & insists aundiocontrol makes sheit....

Pirate

Postby Pirate » October 10th, 2008, 9:42 am

its sad how these subs are treated these days!
made to work in unfit conditions....
:-S

Postby sMASH » October 10th, 2008, 3:11 pm

slacker jack, da man seriously like dat? :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
after the boss get rip off the son still gone back! fool me once , , , fool me twice,

weapon-X

Postby weapon-X » October 10th, 2008, 3:49 pm

^^^ you can't fool, a fool twice.

Postby 3stagevtec » October 10th, 2008, 4:23 pm

demboyzaudio wrote:somebody open a place there and save the villagers!!

3stage installers inc?!? nahh, would never work...

Lance

Postby Lance » October 10th, 2008, 10:51 pm

did u ask how much he paid for that box by chance?

Postby 3stagevtec » October 10th, 2008, 10:58 pm

Lance wrote:did u ask how much he paid for that box by chance?

was around $400...

TK!

Postby TK! » October 10th, 2008, 11:11 pm

lol... i thought bad meant good...

that box waiting to explode. las time i build box outta ply was in meh teens when ah didnt know better AND the only scrap around de house was ply!

was fuh 6x9 too eh! lol...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 11th, 2008, 5:47 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:55.7Hz tuning u say :shock:

wtf - not even my spl box is tuned that high ....that thing must be sound like it farting .... :lol:

my spl box was tuned to 58hz

beat mih na :x

but wrt that box...

:sick:

Postby nervewrecker » October 11th, 2008, 5:55 pm

oh gawd oye, ah now come from dey :evil:

I went for a pioneer remote batrey, mine dead awhile now, I finally get a few minutes to spare today, went by kerry, he had none.

$17.00 friggin dollars fuh a pios battrey :roll:

btw, de guy in de store, ***....e......(letter after "k") was tellin me the RE subs on the wall are the RE re model, I enquired if was not the se & he tell me no, its the re model, 500rms, $650.00 for 1, I was like eh :? I never hear bout dah one...I ask him how come allyuh hav no more pios sellin? he tell me pple study complaining that the pios dem burning down so they eh sellin it again :rofl:

riadb

Postby riadb » October 11th, 2008, 5:57 pm

my spl box was tuned to 58hz

beat mih na

daz ah challenge :?: :?: :?:

Postby 3stagevtec » October 11th, 2008, 9:19 pm

slacker_jack wrote:he tell me pple study complaining that the pios dem burning down so they eh sellin it again :rofl:

:lol: watch how they go start complaining about RE just now...

Q, you don't find 58Hz tuning a lil too high?? even for SPL in your vehicle...

Postby nervewrecker » October 11th, 2008, 11:16 pm

3stagevtec wrote: :lol: watch how they go start complaining about RE just now...

ent sombody already came on de forum & said dat? :lol:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » October 12th, 2008, 9:33 am

slacker_jack wrote:
btw, de guy in de store, ***....e......(letter after "k") was tellin me the RE subs on the wall are the RE re model, I enquired if was not the se & he tell me no, its the re model, 500rms, $650.00 for 1, I was like eh :? I never hear bout dah one...

again u misinformed but bumpin yuh gum

scroll down to the bottom an tell me what you see but u want to badtalk the ppl steups..
http://www.reaudio.com/woofers.html

riadb

Postby riadb » October 12th, 2008, 10:30 am

The RE Audio - RE Series Subwoofers are 175W Rms dude.....

Postby nervewrecker » October 12th, 2008, 11:13 am

pimptacular, de man tell me 500 rms, 1000 watts max, D2 & D4, jus like pios, its jus a lil more expensive cuz its a better sub....

I never hear bout no RE re taking 500 rms, 1000 watts max, I already checked the site las nite :roll: & as far as I kno (off the top of my head) the closest sub to that spec was the RE se. & the RE re turned out to be SVC

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 12th, 2008, 12:10 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
slacker_jack wrote:he tell me pple study complaining that the pios dem burning down so they eh sellin it again :rofl:

:lol: watch how they go start complaining about RE just now...

Q, you don't find 58Hz tuning a lil too high?? even for SPL in your vehicle...

my car's res freq is 59 hz

Pirate

Postby Pirate » October 12th, 2008, 12:27 pm

it would be interesting to know how the boxes of the installers actually are built! :idea:

markzz

Postby markzz » October 12th, 2008, 12:49 pm

ah boy that reminds me of my first box.. i think i was 12 years old.. used 3 different sizes of construction ply.. for a jbl 8" :D

slot port an ting inno.. one piece of board wasn't long enuff so a lil space remain.. :mrgreen:

and i didnt have a jig saw so i drilled a hundred holes in the shape of a circle to cut a baffle.. :oops:

that was prolly tuned real high.. hmmm but used to sound ok with my cassette deck power.. :lol: