2nr Photographers...which is the better camera

GorgonZuki

2nr Photographers...which is the better camera

Postby GorgonZuki » June 10th, 2009, 11:33 am

I need help to choose a camera please. I'm not a professional but I hate to miss a great shot!! Forget looks, forget size. Which is the better camera to get clean, crisp, detailed pictures in all conditions!

First one is the Sony DSC-H3
link to specs
http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/H3/H3A.HTM

Second one is the Sony DSC-T300
link to specs
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonyt300/

Thanks for any assistance.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 10th, 2009, 11:44 am

look a comparison of both
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/compare ... 3&show=all

id go with the Sony Cyber-shot DSC-T300
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on June 10th, 2009, 11:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 10th, 2009, 11:46 am

This could have been posted in the photography thread.

:? :?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » June 10th, 2009, 11:53 am

ray786 wrote:This could have been posted in the photography thread.

:? :?

Nope that's for Pictures.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 10th, 2009, 11:56 am

^^ ok my bad!

Carry on... :)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 10th, 2009, 11:57 am

T300

dredman1

Re: 2nr Photographers...which is the better camera

Postby dredman1 » June 10th, 2009, 12:36 pm

GorgonZuki wrote:I hate to miss a great shot!!

From the link you posted for the DSC-H3, the Test Summary shows a power-on time of 2.3 secs and shutter lag (the time it takes between pressing the shutter button and when the camera actually snaps the shot) of up to 1.36 secs. Believe me, this will be VERY frustrating for you, given what you've said above.

The power on time for the DSC-T300 isn't any better at 2.7 secs, but the maximum shutter lag of 0.476 secs is much better than the H3.

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/T300/T300A.HTM

Also, the T300 has a higher megapixel count than the H3, so it should give you "cleaner, crisper, more detailed pictures".

If these are your only options, I'd say the T300 is your better choice.

Postby RBphoto » June 10th, 2009, 12:50 pm

Fyah bun dat DSC-H3 for 450USD. You can get better point and shoot for less if you go canon. For that price, you can get a Nikon D40 with 18-55mm lens and get to know the wonderful world of DSLR photography. dredman1, Higher megapixel sometimes means greater noise even though you get better resolution.

DSC-T300 better bang for buck than the rediculously overpriced H3 though, but it is outdated. I think the 500 is the current model you should go for if you insist on sony.

Remember, the camera is only as good as the photographer, and if you can't compose a shot or know the basics of photography, then more megapixels or photoshop will not help you make better pictures.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » June 10th, 2009, 2:52 pm

crossdrilled wrote:dredman1, Higher megapixel sometimes means greater noise even though you get better resolution.

Very true, though in this case the sensor size in the T300 is also bigger than the H3.
The pixel density (check the link with the comparison of the 2) is only slightly higher, so the increase in noise should not be very noticeable as compared to the increased resolution due to the higher megapixels.

Postby RBphoto » June 10th, 2009, 3:15 pm

^^^True that.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 10th, 2009, 3:19 pm

Never used the DSC-H3 but i own the T300 and i have no complaints what so ever.

Works great.

Just my 2cents

Postby RBphoto » June 10th, 2009, 3:24 pm

The H3 selling in pricesmart I think.

GorgonZuki

Postby GorgonZuki » June 10th, 2009, 3:30 pm

Thanks all...the T300 it is! Anybody want a H3 to buy? cheeeeep!

Postby RBphoto » June 10th, 2009, 4:15 pm

How cheap?

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » June 10th, 2009, 4:17 pm

crossdrilled wrote:How cheap?

GorgonZuki

Postby GorgonZuki » June 10th, 2009, 4:58 pm

Like $1500...pm meh

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 10th, 2009, 6:17 pm

Sony DSC-T900

12.1 megapixel 4x optical zoom lens, 3.5" touch screen LCD, Intelligent Auto, Smile Shutterâ„¢, Face Detection, Optical SteadyShotâ„¢ image stabilization, 720p HD video.

$2800.00

by order

Postby cinco » June 10th, 2009, 7:11 pm

go with this
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/panasonictz5/
a little bulkier but AMAZING lens with 10x optical zoom

Postby RBphoto » June 11th, 2009, 3:43 am

cinco wrote:go with this
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/panasonictz5/
a little bulkier but AMAZING lens with 10x optical zoom

I use that in work sometimes. Quite nice, and rugged. Some jack get paint on the lens though.