Dashboard Swap Help needed

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Devon.Lopez
Location: saving a bunch of money on my car insurance by green band maxi

Dashboard Swap Help needed

Postby Devon.Lopez » August 14th, 2009, 12:39 pm

Folks i just bought a dash for the EG8. It is the same thing as before
but i need to know who can install such a thing or does anyone have a
guide as to how to do this.

I see that it has a harness behind it so I kinda frighten to interfere and try to wire up that though. Maybe I could install it myself and let a electrician
do the harness part??

Any help is appreciated.

EG_vtec

Postby EG_vtec » August 14th, 2009, 1:23 pm

if its the original dash in then the only thing to do is screw out the bolts on the right side and left side where the dash faces the doos..under by the ac control there is another bolt attached to the aluminum bracket..clip out all the electrical parts..i think there are two more bolts but its better if u could take out your steering column ( from steering go straight to to the part with the ball joint..just have the right tools at hand and u on..

Hirotoshi

Postby Hirotoshi » August 14th, 2009, 3:52 pm

if you have ever taken anything apart & put it back together,it,s not difficult. all the harness,s plug into the various switches,it may seem intimediating ,keep all screws orgniased and try to work in a methodical manner.you don,t need to remove the steering collumn,just un-bolt it from under the dash and drop it down.things would be easier if you remove the front seats,to give yourself some room,get yourself a fan,because it can get a little warm,inside the car,take your time,you should be able to do it. good luck.

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » August 15th, 2009, 11:53 am

i doh want to f*ck eet up :shock:

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » August 20th, 2009, 9:52 am

the harness behind the gauges are cut and look like they have to be rewired....

Does anyone know where I can pay to get this done?

I want to install some bright led's too so i dont want it looking lame.

Postby crazybalhead » August 20th, 2009, 10:57 am

Devon, do a google search, there was a step by step with pics that I followed years ago when I did this myself.

All you have to do is unpug the harness from your original dash and plug them into your new one. REAL EASY. took me about 5 hours total.

Postby crazybalhead » August 20th, 2009, 11:00 am

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » August 20th, 2009, 1:08 pm

muchas gracias senor :)

Postby crazybalhead » August 20th, 2009, 1:58 pm

No probs. A stinki bandit destryed mine, and had to change it out. :evil: :evil: :evil:

Doh forget the bolt uner the vent on top. That one is easy to forget.

High_Speed_Imports

Postby High_Speed_Imports » August 21st, 2009, 1:20 pm

wah area u from for a electrician Central?

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » August 21st, 2009, 2:17 pm

I from chase village

I dont have any of these tools though from the link....

socket set
wire cutters
wire crimper
soldering iron
hand drill and drill set
torx set
1/4" wide brass strip (purchased at local hobby shop

High_Speed_Imports

Postby High_Speed_Imports » August 21st, 2009, 9:00 pm

Devon.Lopez,Kes should be able to give a pull through and right in area. Look for him on forum and get a contact. If that fails let me know will put you on to some1 else

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » August 24th, 2009, 12:46 pm

or they mumford that weird post......good :?

Postby crazybalhead » August 24th, 2009, 1:42 pm

You don't need any of those things except the socket set. The money and headache you will waste getting someone to do it for you, you can more than afford a lil socket set.

All yuh need is a ratchet, extension and a 10 and 12mm socket.

Pinky

Postby Pinky » September 3rd, 2009, 12:30 pm

Selling your old dash? just need some minor parts no matter if it in a not so good condition

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » September 4th, 2009, 6:05 pm

D old dash still in the car.

I still ent get nobody to change the dash for me, by the way the centre vents are broken
and the glove box missing so i dont know what else u might want.

When i find somebody to do it i will holla at you. 0X

Pinky

Postby Pinky » September 4th, 2009, 6:24 pm

cool send me a pm when you do

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » September 7th, 2009, 7:21 pm

hey i still under pressure..I still need help :(

Postby crazybalhead » September 8th, 2009, 10:35 am

DO IT YOURSELF.

Devon.Lopez

Postby Devon.Lopez » September 9th, 2009, 7:12 pm

wda :evil:

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » November 22nd, 2009, 10:50 am

hey,does anyone know if the old harness for the instrument panel would just plug and play in the new dash???

I would really like to know the answer to this ASAP 0X

gracefully chosen

Postby gracefully chosen » April 1st, 2010, 9:13 pm

Devon.Lopez,

where you got the dash and how much you paid?

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » April 1st, 2010, 9:26 pm

bought it in the foreign used place in St Augustine near UWI. Is not the one on the highway I talkin about but the one on the street near UWI by the corner after the hunps.

I paid $650.00 for it but that was after rell beat-down tactics.

The only other place I know of for sure that would have a Eg-9 is Pink Cadillac on the highway and that guy wanted around $1400 for it 0X

gracefully chosen

Postby gracefully chosen » April 7th, 2010, 9:06 pm

Crackpot wrote:bought it in the foreign used place in St Augustine near UWI. Is not the one on the highway I talkin about but the one on the street near UWI by the corner after the hunps.

I paid $650.00 for it but that was after rell beat-down tactics.

The only other place I know of for sure that would have a Eg-9 is Pink Cadillac on the highway and that guy wanted around $1400 for it 0X
$1400 he better give me ah front cut for that price!!

gracefully chosen

Postby gracefully chosen » April 7th, 2010, 9:13 pm

i might not get to dash for the price i want but i need to get the A/C controller for a EG8 and the glove compartment can anyone guide me ? :?:

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » April 8th, 2010, 8:13 am

Devon.Lopez, is the dash it self good like no cracks or rips? i don't care bout the ac vents and thing i will come an help you i will take the old dash as payment :lol:.....fellas an eg8 dash is the same as a eg hatch dash??

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » April 8th, 2010, 8:15 am

Crackpot wrote:hey,does anyone know if the old harness for the instrument panel would just plug and play in the new dash???

I would really like to know the answer to this ASAP 0X

i don't see why it shouldn't

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » April 8th, 2010, 8:42 am

mitsu4life wrote:Devon.Lopez, is the dash it self good like no cracks or rips? i don't care bout the ac vents and thing i will come an help you i will take the old dash as payment :lol:.....fellas an eg8 dash is the same as a eg hatch dash??

yep same..

mitsu4life

Postby mitsu4life » April 8th, 2010, 9:03 am

speedfreak44 wrote:
mitsu4life wrote:Devon.Lopez, is the dash it self good like no cracks or rips? i don't care bout the ac vents and thing i will come an help you i will take the old dash as payment :lol:.....fellas an eg8 dash is the same as a eg hatch dash??

yep same..

Devon.Lopez right when yuh ready???

Eems

Postby Eems » April 8th, 2010, 10:51 am

anyone knows where you can get the glove alone? mine broken but my dash still good.
also, how do you change the backlights on the dash? i want to put in some white leds.

Return to “HONDA”