Is this the end of mininova

desert punk

Is this the end of mininova

Postby desert punk » November 26th, 2009, 10:47 am

Mininova limits its activities to Content Distribution service
Published on November 26, 2009 in Mininova-related news.

Today is an important day in the history of Mininova. From now on, we are limiting Mininova.org to our Content Distribution service. By doing so, we comply with the ruling of the Court of Utrecht of last August.

Unfortunately the court ruling leaves us no other option than to take our platform offline, except for the Content Distribution service. According to the verdict (Dutch link) we have to prevent uploads of torrents to Mininova that refer to certain titles or to similar-looking titles. We’ve been testing some filtering systems the last couple of months, but we found that it’s neither technically nor operationally possible to implement a 100% working filter system. Therefore, we decided that the only option is to limit Mininova to Content Distribution torrents from now on. We are still considering an appeal at this moment.

We launched our Content Distribution service in 2007. This service allows producers and artists to easily publish and distribute their content for free through Mininova. The launch of Content Distribution has proven to be a success. Countless content owners have used Content Distribution to distribute their content (e.g. albums and documentaries) for free to millions of users. For example, the Dutch band Silence is Sexy released their complete album on Mininova and received the Interactive Award 2009 for doing so. The Dutch television broadcaster VPRO decided to start using Content Distribution in 2009 in order to distribute documentaries.

We would like to thank you for your support. Especially everyone that contributed to Mininova receives a big “thank you!â€

Postby Monk BANzai » November 26th, 2009, 12:00 pm

yeah...hard luck....Mininove has been one of the better Torrent sites...pity they got bad luck like that.

Brein is some jackasses though..and it will come back to bite them in the ass later on...same thing happened with ICQ and Microsoft eons ago....you cannot just play "badjohn" and hope a lesson will be learnt....sites like ISOHUNT and PIRATE BAY will continue to do thier thing....

was good while it lasted. Smooches!!!

Postby wagon r » November 26th, 2009, 12:05 pm

.... :o :arrow: :(

Postby buzz » November 26th, 2009, 12:11 pm

wagon r wrote:.... :o :arrow: :(

:(

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » November 26th, 2009, 12:13 pm

fack...

TPB still fighting though

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » November 26th, 2009, 12:18 pm

no loss...there are much better torrent sites out there anyways... :turn-l:

Postby buzz » November 26th, 2009, 12:18 pm

^ do tell please?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » November 26th, 2009, 12:28 pm

mini was my first :( r.i.p

Hexagon FTW!

Postby Monk BANzai » November 26th, 2009, 12:31 pm

LikaStick wrote:no loss...there are much better torrent sites out there anyways... :turn-l:

desert punk

Postby desert punk » November 26th, 2009, 12:32 pm

bigga514 wrote:mini was my first :( r.i.p

Postby wagonrunner » November 26th, 2009, 12:39 pm

and so they have joined the ranks of demonoid. even PB's future is shaky.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 26th, 2009, 12:39 pm

bigga514 wrote:mini was my first :( r.i.p

Hexagon FTW!

me too - i love d simple layout & up to last night i DL married with children Se 4

never hear bout hexagon so i gonna try dat now !

to me Demonoid is d best but its like nearly 2mths now they off & u only getting a stupid "maintenance" message ...

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » November 26th, 2009, 12:51 pm

btjunkie ftw

Postby SmokeyGTi » November 26th, 2009, 12:55 pm

sgh...this reminds me of demonoid... :(

desert punk

Postby desert punk » November 26th, 2009, 1:03 pm

just now all torrents sites you would have to register an they would monitor your uploads an downloads of torrent an give stats to prevent leechers just like demonoid.

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » November 26th, 2009, 1:10 pm

try googling torrentreactor or isohunt

1)Pirate bay
2)demonoid ...defunct!
3)Mininova the best right now
4) isohunt

Postby buzz » November 26th, 2009, 1:13 pm

thou shall not steal :|

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » November 26th, 2009, 1:39 pm

I differ, it is not stealing,

It is called shearing and God instituted that.

Postby wagonrunner » November 26th, 2009, 1:40 pm

buzz wrote:thou shall not steal :|

is thou allowed to download though?

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » November 26th, 2009, 1:42 pm

y'all forgot torrentspy

desert punk

Postby desert punk » November 26th, 2009, 1:50 pm

yea it have other sites but mininova site layout was the best.an had some torrents which other sites didnt have :( :( :( :( .

salvation4U

Postby salvation4U » November 26th, 2009, 4:47 pm

I say I go download a lil movie 2day to watch and when i imputed fxg I get this!!!!!!!! the world is truly coming to an end!!!!!

Anyways good thing doh last