8" SUBWOOFER for SQ?

jeff

8" SUBWOOFER for SQ?

Postby jeff » January 6th, 2010, 3:47 pm

has anyone done something like this before?
either ported or sealed and i mean SUBwoofer not woofer especially Low q ones

ive very interested in the output of these things if anyone has to demo let me know

roger

Postby roger » January 6th, 2010, 4:13 pm

i have in the past with a pair of coustic design reference 8's.

i do not think i had done the speakers justice, since i did not do enuff research into the box sizing. so while the output was decent enuff the woofers struggled with accuracy. the low end (<25) was not too hot.

sealed enclosure was used. it was originally designed for a 12 and i just edited the mounting face to accomadate.

but i am planning to do it again for this 2010 season...

jeff

Postby jeff » January 6th, 2010, 6:15 pm

great i somehow thought u would have done this

ok since you are doing this again, means that there are pros to this...such as..

im sure someone is going to mention the "quickness" of the sub but who can tell the diff in "quickness" between a good 10 and a 8

Postby X_Factor » January 6th, 2010, 8:16 pm

would a single 8" be good enough to produce good subsonics and maintain accuracy cause most sq 8" arnt that powerful to work on its own?

but i think location of the sub has alot to play as well, ie
trunk location vs more up front

aviboy

Postby aviboy » January 6th, 2010, 10:22 pm

JL audio.... check valpark. Recently bought 1 for a hilux n it worked sweet. cant remember the model... went very low for 1 8"... I'm very very impressed

roger

Postby roger » January 7th, 2010, 7:56 am

jeff wrote:great i somehow thought u would have done this

ok since you are doing this again, means that there are pros to this...such as..

im sure someone is going to mention the "quickness" of the sub but who can tell the diff in "quickness" between a good 10 and a 8

well this time around i have a slightly different approach. i am goin with the 8's for a few reasons:

1. i have not seen it done in sq comps locally
2. space factor. i can fit two 8's where i had the one 10 and have a lil more cone surface area whilst not haveing to increase box volume.
3. its gonna be used for more of a subsonic fill. its gonna be playing just about a 10 freqency bandwidth if i can get my front stage correct.

it really has nothing to do with quickness. its just physics. i have already naroowed it down to two units..just have to do the bass output calculations and box modelling.

Anton

Postby Anton » January 7th, 2010, 8:06 am

You can audition the sundown audio E8. It looked excellent in both ported and sealed when i plotted it on WinIsd.

Postby SR » January 7th, 2010, 8:13 am

Jl audio 8W3V3

:mrgreen:

one of the more accurate responding 8" subs that i have heard within recent times

most of the others just play loud

Postby X_Factor » January 7th, 2010, 8:39 am

whats allyuh thoughts on the RE-RE8"
really low FS
about 200wrms power
small enclosure needed
and its about 300 for 1

aviboy

Postby aviboy » January 7th, 2010, 10:26 am

Da sub self SR talking abt.... Real real real gud

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 7th, 2010, 11:37 am

Price on the 8w3v3?

Aimar

Postby Aimar » January 7th, 2010, 1:02 pm

Price on the 8w3v3?

$1150 :arrow:

jeff

Postby jeff » January 7th, 2010, 1:59 pm

i would like to get a demo of this sub

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » January 7th, 2010, 2:34 pm

You could also consider An Audiopulse/Tc sounds 1000/Epic 8"..

Doubt any other 8" could sound as good as this.

jeff

Postby jeff » January 7th, 2010, 2:46 pm

fuzz_174 wrote:You could also consider An Audiopulse/Tc sounds 1000/Epic 8"..

of course i am open to anything right now
demos???

id8 also crossed my mind

Brian Steele

Re: 8" SUBWOOFER for SQ?

Postby Brian Steele » January 7th, 2010, 2:47 pm

jeff wrote:has anyone done something like this before?
either ported or sealed and i mean SUBwoofer not woofer especially Low q ones

ive very interested in the output of these things if anyone has to demo let me know

How much space do you have to work with?

An 8" tapped-horn might be an interesting project to try out, if you want to do something really different. You'll probably need about 2.5 cu.ft. of space (depends on the parameters of the horn, of course), but there's a bit of freedom in how that volume can be accomodated. Choose a driver with medium Qt and Fs about 1.4 times the cutoff frequency you're aiming for, then use HornResp to come up with a good TH alignment for the driver.

jeff

Postby jeff » January 7th, 2010, 2:56 pm

actually space is the most important factor to me
using a dayton ho just for the low q has also crossed my mind

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » January 7th, 2010, 3:29 pm

jeff wrote:

demos???

id8 also crossed my mind

I have the 10" to that model if u want a demo...

A new 8" goes for about $200-225 Us or so if you could get them...
They not cheap.

jeff

Postby jeff » January 7th, 2010, 4:01 pm

fuzz_174 wrote:
jeff wrote:

demos???

id8 also crossed my mind

I have the 10" to that model if u want a demo...

A new 8" goes for about $200-225 Us or so if you could get them...
They not cheap.

i ponderin a 1508 also 8-)

wait na thats the 10 i heard by u :shock:

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » January 7th, 2010, 4:09 pm

You should hear it now in a new enclosure, tuned to 27hz :D

Btw, for Strict SQ purposes,i wont go with the 1508 DD, They real forking loud, but not smooth enuff, and doesnt have good low end response.

For whats available locally, the JL W3 8" might be the best option. Or if you have enough $$, go for the W7 8".

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 7th, 2010, 8:24 pm

Crystal Comp8 if you can find one.
TC 8 then probably JLw3 and IDv3 imo.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » January 7th, 2010, 9:20 pm

If you want to try something completely different - http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=264-833. For car use, vented would work, though I'd be tempted to go EBS or even 6th order BP.
Last edited by Brian Steele on January 7th, 2010, 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » January 7th, 2010, 9:52 pm

^ link eh working

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » January 7th, 2010, 9:57 pm

X_Factor wrote:^ link eh working

...fixed, thanks :)

headshok

Postby headshok » January 11th, 2010, 7:21 am

heyaa.

maybe u can do an 8" in a Tranmission line box!

that will be a killer man!

What we are playing with down here is an Ultimo 8" woofer in the dash board ( ported enclosure)

i'll be postin that build log up soon.

Cheers!

Hydrographic Dezigns

Postby Hydrographic Dezigns » January 11th, 2010, 12:46 pm

Best 8" i heard so far is the CRYSTAL COMP 8

very low, smooth and has real clarity.........

gd luck in finding them.......

if ever i hook up back mine I will give u a demo :wink: :wink:

jeff

Postby jeff » January 11th, 2010, 1:25 pm

soundconcept wrote:Best 8" i heard so far is the CRYSTAL COMP 8

very low, smooth and has real clarity.........

gd luck in finding them.......

if ever i hook up back mine I will give u a demo :wink: :wink:

price ???? 8-)