76%
It was a piece of rubbish that needed to be thrown away
24%

Total votes: 29

FriendlyFire

'D Red Bridge' - Historically - Relevant Relic or Rubbish

Postby FriendlyFire » March 4th, 2010, 9:39 am

The Ministry of Works has indicated that the Railway Bridge ('D Red Bridge') near Flower Pot in the Plaisance Village, Pointe-a-Pierre area will be removed from March 6, 2010 between 8:00pm Saturday and 6:00am on Sunday.

Traffic heading south will need to go unto the highway via the Claxton Bay Flyover and Traffic heading north would need to go onto the Highway via the Gasparillo Flyover.

This means that you would have to use either the Cedar Hill road or the St. Margaret's old road to get from the Southern Main Road to the Highway if heading south and Union Road or the Tarouba Link Road to get to the Highway if heading north.

Tuners in south be warned - that is a very long detour!

(Public Notice published in the Express Newspapers on Sunday 28, February)
Last edited by FriendlyFire on March 9th, 2010, 8:15 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby UML » March 4th, 2010, 9:42 am

Flower Pot railway bridge to fall

By LAUREL V WILLIAMS Tuesday, March 2 2010

http://www.newsday.co.tt/business/0,116602.html

AN old railway bridge in Pointe-a-Pierre is to be demolished because of severe corrosion to its structural integrity.

The old railway bridge at Flower Pot, Pointe-a-Pierre, will be demolished on the coming weekend, to allow for its removal, the Ministry of Works said in a statement yesterday.

Traffic will be disrupted along the Southern Main Road, from the Claxton Bay Junction to the roundabout at Pointe-a-Pierre. No traffic will be allowed to pass under the bridge during its removal on the weekend. In a statement yesterday, the ministry’s project engineer Darryl Ramlakhan said the bridge showed signs of severe corrosion and as a result the structural integrity was not in satisfactory condition.

Special arrangements will be made for residents entering and leaving the area and police officers will direct traffic to alternative routes.

Ramlakhan could not say how old was the bridge.

“The bridge was used long ago for trains in the 1800’s.

I do not know if it was used by oil companies or as a commuter train, â€

Postby UML » March 4th, 2010, 9:44 am

will be removed from March 6, 2010

Public Notice published in the Express Newspapers on Sunday 28, March

:?

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » March 4th, 2010, 9:46 am

UML wrote:
will be removed from March 6, 2010

Public Notice published in the Express Newspapers on Sunday 28, March

:?

Thanks for noting the error.

Postby wagonrunner » March 4th, 2010, 9:53 am

hmm, piece of history going there.

Postby UML » March 4th, 2010, 9:55 am

wagonrunner wrote:hmm, piece of history going there.

i wonder which scrap yard getting it...das good weight/money dey

Postby Damien » March 4th, 2010, 9:56 am

Long detour dred

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » March 4th, 2010, 9:59 am

Yep, that's what I was thinking, I hope our 2nr photo tek outers get some pics before it goes......... :(
Last edited by 2 d Max Auto on March 4th, 2010, 10:01 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby UML » March 4th, 2010, 9:59 am

2 d Max Auto wrote:

Yep, that's what I was thinking, I hope our photo tek outers get some pics before it goes......... :(

ah black and white wud be besss :wink:

FriendlyFire

Postby FriendlyFire » March 4th, 2010, 10:04 am

Yeah boy.

Dat is as bad as if they move the lighthouse in Town because it going to fall down.

Plenty people could get lost because of the missing landmark. LOL

Postby cinco » March 4th, 2010, 11:15 am

FriendlyFire wrote:

Yeah boy.

Dat is as bad as if they move the lighthouse in Town because it going to fall down.

Plenty people could get lost because of the missing landmark. LOL

yuh mean plenty ppl from the west might end up in sahhh waahhh and not realise

Postby MG Man » March 4th, 2010, 11:21 am

2 d Max Auto wrote:

Yep, that's what I was thinking, I hope our 2nr photo tek outers get some pics before it goes......... :(

procrastination sucks.....every time I pass I always think 'hmm............ah should take a pic' :? :? :?

Postby SR » March 4th, 2010, 12:58 pm

i agree with the above sentiments

major history being removed when it could have been maintained as a historical land mark

2020 vision

Postby r3iXmann » March 4th, 2010, 1:30 pm

SR wrote:2020 vision

or lack thereof

Postby SR » March 4th, 2010, 1:31 pm

remove the zeroes

and you get 2 2 vision

Postby equipped2ripp » March 4th, 2010, 2:56 pm

gonna take some pics tomorrow....

gunsmoke

Postby gunsmoke » March 4th, 2010, 2:57 pm

i hope they dont go up on top the bridge and start dismantling it, as they did with the old caroni bridge.

hope it is incident free.

shortman might supervise this one

Postby tr1ad » March 4th, 2010, 2:59 pm

now why d fack they couldn't upkeep this..........

Postby MG Man » March 4th, 2010, 3:24 pm

don't blame the guvment
blame gravity

biggreen

Postby biggreen » March 4th, 2010, 4:01 pm

bridge was built in 1881 by Westwood engineers, Bailey Bridge Contractors

rjaggs

Postby rjaggs » March 4th, 2010, 4:08 pm

when ah givin directions ah go cyah say 'after yuh pass d red bridge...' again.

toyota2nr

bridge ?

Postby toyota2nr » March 4th, 2010, 4:19 pm

So wait nah...........
At that time I would be able to go Reflections?

I might to go earlier and pay for longer.

:twisted:

NLVA200

Re: bridge ?

Postby NLVA200 » March 4th, 2010, 5:51 pm

toyota2nr wrote:So wait nah...........
At that time I would be able to go Reflections?

I might to go earlier and pay for longer.

:twisted:

toyoman

Postby toyoman » March 5th, 2010, 8:52 am

they could have refurbished the bridge and keep it........

junior sammy getting $2,000,000 just for removing this....one days work....
i am sure other companies could remove this safely for $100,000 and still make a profit.....

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » March 5th, 2010, 9:42 am

toyoman wrote:they could have refurbished the bridge and keep it........

i am sure other companies could remove this safely for $100,000 and still make a profit.....

true but how the politrickians go get paid?

2 d Max Auto

Postby 2 d Max Auto » March 5th, 2010, 9:44 am

equipped2ripp, yuh take the pics yet???, put them up here when you do please.

biggreen, do you have any more info/history on the bridge?

Postby tr1ad » March 5th, 2010, 10:03 am

toyoman wrote:they could have refurbished the bridge and keep it........

total cost of job is 473k

biggreen

Postby biggreen » March 5th, 2010, 1:27 pm

2 d Max Auto, sorry bro no more info..

Postby equipped2ripp » March 6th, 2010, 4:19 am

there we go...

embellishfrost

Postby embellishfrost » March 6th, 2010, 4:26 am

So why they moving the bridge in the first place?
I find it looks nice right there.