The Andrews Sisters - Rum & Coca Cola (MAFIA 2) Trinidad

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 17th, 2010, 1:20 am

LOL came across this song playing Mafia 2 today on PC.

A guy even commented on it on youtube

surgeogranalda
3 weeks ago 50

Thumbs up if your here because of mafia 2

LOL

Its always playing on the radio station when you driving. This means this song was made around 1943 or something so. Its a song about Trinidad never knew it existed.

Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on September 17th, 2010, 1:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: The Andrews Sisters - Rum & Coca Cola (MAFIA 2)

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 17th, 2010, 1:23 am

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rum_and_Coca-Cola

Although the song was published in the United States with Amsterdam listed as the lyricist and Jeri Sullavan and Paul Baron as musical composers, the melody had been previously published as the work of Trinidadian calypso composer Lionel Belasco on a song titled “L'Année Passée,” which was in turn based on a folksong from Martinique.[2] The original lyrics to “Rum and Coca-Cola” were written by Rupert Grant, another calypso musician from Trinidad who went by the stage name of Lord Invader.[3] (The true credits for music and lyrics were restored in a plagiarism lawsuit won by famous attorney Louis Nizer, the account of which can be read in his book, My Life in Court.)

According to Lord Invader, “Calypso is the folklore of Trinidad, a style of poetry, telling about current events in song. Back home in the West Indies, Trinidad, where I'm from, it's a small island, I'm proud of it. I was traveling on a bus, someplace they call Point Cumana, a bathing resort, and I happened to see the G.I.s in the American social invasion in the West Indies, Trinidad. You know the girls used to get the candies and stuff like that, and they go to the canteens with the boys and so on, have fun. So I noticed since the G.I.s came over there, they really generally chase with soda, ordinary soda, but their chaser was Rum and Coke. They drink rum, and they like Coca-Cola as a chaser, so I studied that as an idea of a song, and Morey Amsterdam had the nerve to say that he composed that song back here.”[4]

Re: The Andrews Sisters - Rum & Coca Cola (MAFIA 2) Trinida

Postby Cjruckus » September 17th, 2010, 1:31 am

After all these years it's good to see nothing has changed with Trini women.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 17th, 2010, 1:36 am

^ LOL ent :lol:

gosh boy even back then we so famous for drinking rum eh :lol:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 17th, 2010, 3:04 am

The first calypso songs to make it internationally... Imagine that!! 1 ploi white girls!!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 17th, 2010, 2:44 pm

Yeah ow Awesome Game BTW.

Anyone wan to play MAfia 2 I suggest you play the Original Mafia first. Easily badder than GTA 4

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » September 17th, 2010, 7:13 pm

THE ORIGINAL THEY RIPPED OFF

calleocho

Postby calleocho » September 17th, 2010, 7:24 pm

firkin b itches

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 17th, 2010, 10:48 pm

Yeah it has it on the Wikipedia link about that issue.

But nonetheless a great song indeed.

we soca and chutney artists does ripp off most songs from foreign anyways.