best antivirus

mazda trix

best antivirus

Postby mazda trix » September 27th, 2010, 4:47 pm

looking for a lil advice on antivirus protection, which is de best free one to use
Last edited by mazda trix on September 27th, 2010, 4:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

*Nebula*

Re: best antivirus

Postby *Nebula* » September 27th, 2010, 4:52 pm

norton...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » September 27th, 2010, 4:57 pm

devrat

Postby devrat » September 27th, 2010, 5:19 pm

mazda trix wrote:looking for a lil advice on antivirus protection, which is de best free one to use

all depends on what virus yuh have :|

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » September 27th, 2010, 8:23 pm

Postby bushwakka » September 27th, 2010, 9:34 pm

windows essentials......fack norton and all symantec products.....try to uninstall them na....see if they ever actually uninstall fully.....they hog resources, get in ur way, refuse to be shut down.....hell they just as bad as the viruses

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » September 27th, 2010, 9:57 pm

there isnt a such ting as best antivirus
my favorites are:
comodo
avast
malwarebytes
avira

Other useful tools
Sandboxie
hijackthis

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2010, 9:59 pm

been using AVAST for years now with good results

Postby wagonrunner » September 27th, 2010, 10:01 pm

M$ cant even handle browser security, catch dey ass to finally release a semi secure OS, but you gonna trust them to fight viruses & malware? uh.......... ok.

Postby foss » September 27th, 2010, 10:03 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:been using AVAST for years now with good results

knock on wood. not in that sense eh :|

Postby bushwakka » September 27th, 2010, 11:11 pm

was using avast.....then found it was unable to clean the USB viruses so i switched

dreadman

Postby dreadman » September 27th, 2010, 11:17 pm

bushwakka wrote:windows essentials......fack norton and all symantec products.....try to uninstall them na....see if they ever actually uninstall fully.....they hog resources, get in ur way, refuse to be shut down.....hell they just as bad as the viruses

i totally agree about norton...waste ah f***in time yes......been using avast since las yr when i installed win 7 and it works great...also have ad aware(spyware software) and my laptop runnin good for more dan a yr wit no viruses

Postby bushwakka » September 27th, 2010, 11:35 pm

^yea, win 7 helps as well cuz it more secure (for the moment) and these days, u will find that u need a combination of different programs to combat the slew of sheit that is out there

Postby sharkman121 » September 27th, 2010, 11:35 pm

The highest rated anti-virus is Bit Defender.

olewhip

Postby olewhip » September 28th, 2010, 7:52 am

try kaspersky 2011 for the trial period (30 days), trust me you will buy it after.

Postby noshownogo » September 28th, 2010, 8:01 am

AVG antivirus, then Avast. These two are some of the lowest resource hogs and rival paid subscription Antivirus applications. If you want them gone from your system, they uninstall cleanly.

Postby stev » September 28th, 2010, 9:39 am

used Kaspersky for 2 years, was good until i tried ESET Nod32. this is the lightest antivirus you could find that works. really good. never got a virus since using eset. it has antivirus and antispyware in one. BUT....its not free, if you know about torrents you should be able to find one.

...piracy is not a crime...just a way for the poor man to have nice things too...lol

dreadman

Postby dreadman » September 28th, 2010, 9:54 am

stev wrote:used Kaspersky for 2 years, was good until i tried ESET Nod32. this is the lightest antivirus you could find that works. really good. never got a virus since using eset. it has antivirus and antispyware in one. BUT....its not free, if you know about torrents you should be able to find one.

...piracy is not a crime...just a way for the poor man to have nice things too...lol

i am presently using windows 8(yes it's windows 8) which is a modded version of windows 7 and it works great...its a cracked version i downloaded off a site on the internet...d only ting is dat its 32 bit and i not seeing any 64 bit windows 8
most of my software i using is cracked software

Postby sharkman121 » September 28th, 2010, 12:27 pm

stev wrote:used Kaspersky for 2 years, was good until i tried ESET Nod32. this is the lightest antivirus you could find that works. really good. never got a virus since using eset. it has antivirus and antispyware in one. BUT....its not free, if you know about torrents you should be able to find one.

love it... sig material.

eel7

Postby eel7 » September 28th, 2010, 12:43 pm

eset nod 32!that is d best!!!

allblacks

Postby allblacks » September 28th, 2010, 12:57 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:been using AVAST for years now with good results

X2 Excellent free software.Even Better if you take the upgraded package

honda_soldier

Postby honda_soldier » September 28th, 2010, 4:40 pm

The best defense against computer viruses might not even be antivirus software, but a crafty combination of education and common sense.....

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 28th, 2010, 6:26 pm

dreadman wrote:

i am presently using windows 8(yes it's windows 8) which is a modded version of windows 7 and it works great...its a cracked version i downloaded off a site on the internet...d only ting is dat its 32 bit and i not seeing any 64 bit windows 8
most of my software i using is cracked software

And you actually convinced yourself that it's Windows 8? :roll:

dreadman

Postby dreadman » September 28th, 2010, 6:41 pm

Last edited by dreadman on September 28th, 2010, 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bushwakka » September 28th, 2010, 7:44 pm

noshownogo wrote:AVG antivirus, then Avast. These two are some of the lowest resource hogs and rival paid subscription Antivirus applications. If you want them gone from your system, they uninstall cleanly.

they suck on heuristics though

mazda trix

Postby mazda trix » September 28th, 2010, 8:32 pm

between avira and avast which one warns when you are about to enter a harmful site

Postby noshownogo » September 29th, 2010, 8:05 am

bushwakka wrote:
noshownogo wrote:AVG antivirus, then Avast. These two are some of the lowest resource hogs and rival paid subscription Antivirus applications. If you want them gone from your system, they uninstall cleanly.

they suck on heuristics though

which free Antivirus application you know good at heuristics? serous question btw...