This looks like mega-awesome fun. Anyone wanna try???

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

lighthammer

This looks like mega-awesome fun. Anyone wanna try???

Postby lighthammer » March 6th, 2011, 11:13 pm

Any fabricators or welders here who could design such an obstacle?

Or anyone with a piece of land and a backhoe, to make a mini obstacle course for us to test our LSD's and A/T tyres on???

lighthammer

Re: This looks like mega-awesome fun. Anyone wanna try???

Postby lighthammer » March 6th, 2011, 11:16 pm

look more here

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 6th, 2011, 11:20 pm

And some nissans doing their thing too (first vid is a repost from another thread)

badart

Postby badart » March 6th, 2011, 11:39 pm

Postby 3stagevtec » March 8th, 2011, 3:19 am

You know how long I wanna try this same thing!!! Playing on such obstacle courses..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 8th, 2011, 5:37 am

aye lewee build one nah... all we need is a few logs and a few mounds of dirt... and someone empty lot or a big field :)....

Postby 3stagevtec » March 8th, 2011, 11:00 am

lighthammer wrote:aye lewee build one nah... all we need is a few logs and a few mounds of dirt... and someone empty lot or a big field :)....

Remember my navigational challenge thread.. Same thing, except I wanted to make it into a lil fun competition..

If you could find a forest or somewhere where the terrain has lots of undulations, it could easily be modified into a course.. rather than creating one from scratch..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 8th, 2011, 2:35 pm

^true dat

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 8th, 2011, 2:39 pm

The search is on.

Postby 3stagevtec » March 8th, 2011, 8:19 pm

lighthammer wrote:The search is on.

x2..

Postby sliderz1 » March 9th, 2011, 10:00 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

lighthammer...........daz d plan dere.....!!!!!!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 9th, 2011, 5:18 pm

oh nice!
Pickup-truck roller-coaster FTMFW!!

Postby Team Loco » March 9th, 2011, 9:18 pm

yeah. myself and kamikaze (TTRC rally competitor), set up something similar in 2005. was done at the back of his house in pt lisas. he had a bulldozer so he created a back yard offroad course. he also made something similar to the first vid. trust me, that was fun. i gonna call him now. this post just revived that fun

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 10th, 2011, 1:24 am

^^ nicee! james to the rescuee!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 10th, 2011, 10:06 am

Team Loco wrote:yeah. myself and kamikaze (TTRC rally competitor), set up something similar in 2005. was done at the back of his house in pt lisas. he had a bulldozer so he created a back yard offroad course. he also made something similar to the first vid. trust me, that was fun. i gonna call him now. this post just revived that fun

Now that's what we need!

venomz

Postby venomz » March 10th, 2011, 1:00 pm

lighthammer wrote:

Any fabricators or welders here who could design such an obstacle?

Or anyone with a piece of land and a backhoe, to make a mini obstacle course for us to test our LSD's and A/T tyres on???

i have a large parcel of land in the forest doing nothing...and i was thinking to develop it into a mini dirt course for atv and pick ups etc?

do u think it is a profitable investment or just a "play d arse" as u can say...with little or no return?

Postby Team Loco » March 10th, 2011, 1:52 pm

lawd, look another venum....z lol

if you looking at that investment it must be sustainable. is it everyday you would get clients? dont think so.

venomz

Postby venomz » March 10th, 2011, 3:06 pm

loco...land is over 15acres

forested/ flat land with a river running tru the first 2 acres in an "S" shape

so im thinkin sheds...for rent etc...like a small harry water park without the water sildes ...place to cook . ponds to fish in that u take home/ dirt track for atv that i will have to rent per hour..and a bigger course for the offroaders...

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » March 10th, 2011, 3:28 pm

That new Patrol looking borse

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » March 10th, 2011, 3:29 pm

Start small and see..
Take yuh weekends and put up a few sheds, get some running water (could be river water), organise some lights (cheap generator far away so its quiet)..

Maybe yuh might have something there.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 10th, 2011, 3:53 pm

^^ this..

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » March 10th, 2011, 4:48 pm

venomz wrote:loco...land is over 15acres

forested/ flat land with a river running tru the first 2 acres in an "S" shape

so im thinkin sheds...for rent etc...like a small harry water park without the water sildes ...place to cook . ponds to fish in that u take home/ dirt track for atv that i will have to rent per hour..and a bigger course for the offroaders...

If you build it - they will come.
I would be one of the first to come try out the track :D.

But it would definitrly benefit from more attractive pricing - say $150 per vehicle for half day, $200-$275 for whole day, but with unlimited access.

You don't even need to put running water - them men have trays - they could bring they own water. That's just unnecessary expense for you cuz now u have to pay for piping, supply, taxes, water meter, etc. Huts would be enough.

Best thing would be separate courses:
- motocross and all-terrain track for dirtbikes and possibly BMX
- 4x4 obstacle course for stock vehicles including small hills, suspension test, hill climb and power tests
- 4x4 obstacle course for advanced vehicles - muddy pits, large gorges to cross with crevases, log-obstacles to climb, maybe a rock-pit to climb over.

All you'd need is a few huts for a pit-area or for groups to rent, and maybe a small spectator area for events, and parking area, maybe a couple containers for head offices.

Oh yeah, don't forget a big, bright disclaimer board that says that everyone should practice safety, the park takes no responsibility or liability for any damage or injury to persons or vehicles, must have insurance and driver's permit, etc etc.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 10th, 2011, 7:47 pm

and toilets! :P

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 14th, 2011, 1:39 am

okay fellas how about this!??

Postby 3stagevtec » March 14th, 2011, 2:00 am

Look at the size of those tires! imagine the torque needed to turn those and the horsepower needed to keep them going through all that mud! V8 power in this case is a must!

and that is too much mud! will never finish clean vehicle after playing in that!

Postby 3stagevtec » March 14th, 2011, 2:02 am

Gotta like where they mount the brakes on those boggers...

4x4 sand drags.. now there's an idea!!! that might just level the playing field in here.. :mrgreen:

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 14th, 2011, 1:19 pm

yeaaaa! thats what i was lookin @ mostly not so much the mud part!!! dat jes ridics!!! i likin the drags thing...

altec

Postby altec » April 17th, 2011, 10:26 am

find an old sand pit that's not in use

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 17th, 2011, 9:08 pm

Morne Diablo trail was a lot like these videos - dry, and just like an obstacle course.

sureshot_james

Postby sureshot_james » June 28th, 2011, 9:14 pm

Hey guys it's Ironman here. I am back and will have the shop up next week in el Socorro boundry rd. That is the good news the better news is I have got the land and first set of approvals for a 4x4 off road park in central. I should have it running next year around march. If anyone want stuff I am taking preorders now.

James

Return to “Off Road Runs”