songs to tune bass and mids...

arnold_k69

songs to tune bass and mids...

Postby arnold_k69 » November 16th, 2004, 3:29 pm

what songs would you use when tuning bass and mids? i hope this will be useful to others as it will be useful to me.

singer : song

Postby SR » November 16th, 2004, 4:08 pm

madonna-----all albums
reason
recording process on all of madonna's albums are done very well good clean midrange response

as for the bassline
power of goodbye by madoona 3 distinctive bass notes it will tell how well your sub enclosures reproduce bass notes

roger

Postby roger » November 16th, 2004, 4:27 pm

justin time records ---> a celebration of quality jazz......for vocals/instruments

christafari ----> dub,sound and power ......for bass
Last edited by roger on November 16th, 2004, 7:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 16th, 2004, 4:36 pm

eagles----> hotel california (reunion extended version)

really nice mids, midbass, and a deep bass

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » November 16th, 2004, 4:44 pm

billy joel -> We didn't start the fire....(I am referring to the Intro here)

I find Michael Jackson's albums good also

Postby Hook » November 16th, 2004, 6:38 pm

I find pretty much anything from Sade Adu (Cherish The Day, Kiss Of Life, etc.) is gr8 for all around testing...she's got a pretty heavy voice for a woman so proper reproduction doesn't lend itself to that sort of shrill, annoying midrange setting ppl seem to be adopting

pretty much all Melissa Etheridge tracks have a clean, tight, low kick drum and heavy, poppy snare drum tones that I appreciate hearing properly reproduced

I also put on classical music (ones that I'm familiar with the musical score, dynamics and movements tho)...IMO the perfect test for any music system

Black Lancer

Postby Black Lancer » November 16th, 2004, 6:53 pm

sting - shape of my heart
I like that mids, heights and has a decent bassline - clear

Terabyte

Postby Terabyte » November 17th, 2004, 12:53 am

Toni Braxton-Unbreak My Heart
Jessica Simpson-I wanna Love You Forever
Celine Dion-Think Twice
U2-Love is Blindness
The Cranberries-No Need to Argue
Alanis Morrisette-Unsent
Sarah McLachlin-I Love You

......Guaranteed to give you a good basline, not to mention tabanca :)

goodear

Postby goodear » November 17th, 2004, 5:14 am

I have read the responses so far and they are good.
Firstly i think that hotel california is an excellnt choice,good depth,timber and quick transient response.The madonna idea is also good
For me,however ,these are what i would go with and why :

Give it up-The Goodmen. Like hotel california it uses real instruments and like madonna it is recorded in an excellent studio format

Scientist- Coldplay. If your sub can sound clean here you've got it made,sweet lows with quick picks of the guitar,hard to reproduce cleanly

lovers rock-Sade .The bass is supposed to blend in with the rest of the system and has a throbbing bass drop in the start of the song.Again if you can get this good,you 'on like sock

Woman in chains-tears for fears. The older guys would remember this track from autosport days.It was, and still is, perfect.great stereo reproduction,both male and female voices recorded over a large soundstage,you could aactually position each instrument in their prospective places,if your stereo is tuned to the max that is.

SanjayBasdeo

Postby SanjayBasdeo » November 17th, 2004, 9:31 am

Hey guys try playing some Indian music ..not chutney.. songs from them new Indian movies . You get high vocals and low vocals also it plays very clean.

arnold_k69

Postby arnold_k69 » November 17th, 2004, 10:27 am

true that Sanjay, ive heard people talk about playing indian film songs to tune, because of all the instruments they use, if your system is good, its suppose to reproduce those notes cleanly. is there any truth to this, that these film songs are quite good for tuning? songs like chalte chalte & Kal Ho Na Ho and ting?

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » November 17th, 2004, 11:26 am

roxette- listen to your heart

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » November 17th, 2004, 11:47 am

haddaway-what is love
celine dion-because u love me
Chumbawumba-Tubthumping
enrique-Hero
Garbage-#1 crush
John scatman-Scatman

......That should help u out a bit :mrgreen:

Postby Hook » November 17th, 2004, 1:56 pm

IMO the recording quality of most of the indian film songs I've heard aren't up to standard...the guy's voice is EQ'd too mid/bottom heavy, the chic's voice is EQ'd waaaay too shrill and the highs/cymbals and wind instruments are too blaringly above the mix

if the test is with indian music, my artistes of choice would be Ravi Shankar and Shakti...to get the depth and crack of the percussion while still retaining the feel of the sitar and violins is a bit difficult to achieve but there's not much u can test wrt to basslines with it

Polydor

Postby Polydor » November 17th, 2004, 3:00 pm

I agree with RaLLiArT

roxette- listen to your heart excellent for tuning all ranges in vocals not to mention 3 varying depths of bass for response tuning.

Postby SR » November 17th, 2004, 3:19 pm

including a sub bass that most sytems do not even reproduce

roger

Postby roger » November 17th, 2004, 3:40 pm

sr wrote:as for the bassline
power of goodbye by madoona 3 distinctive bass notes it will tell how well your sub enclosures reproduce bass notes

3 killa bass notes!!

Polydor

Postby Polydor » November 17th, 2004, 6:32 pm

D Image does play them though....realll low ask anyone in Valsayn :twisted:

Neighbours Complain 2 much :?
Polydor.

roger

Postby roger » November 17th, 2004, 6:36 pm

my image play dem too :twisted:

but seriously doh...the bassline on power of goodbye is awesome. i was supprised when i heard it in car for the first time..

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » November 17th, 2004, 8:23 pm

^^ they should cange your status from
"riding on 17's"

to

"-bass-whooore-"

C is for Cyc

Postby C is for Cyc » November 17th, 2004, 8:36 pm

Isreal Vibrations- Feeling Irie -

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » November 17th, 2004, 9:06 pm

burning flames-- nice time
bob marley----- natural mystic

roger

Postby roger » November 18th, 2004, 8:32 am

~snYper~ wrote:^^ they should cange your status from
"riding on 17's"

to

"-bass-whooore-"

TK!

Postby TK! » November 18th, 2004, 12:39 pm

chemical brothers - setting sun .. if it sound good, yuh sheit orn!
jazz and classical... piano pieces are excellent since a piano sound is very very difficult to reproduce.. but fort u need to know how a real piano sounds eh.
and yeah, sr said madonna and he's right. some1 also said tears for fears and they're right. woman in chains good. it have others.. cyah remember..

plex

Postby plex » November 20th, 2004, 11:12 pm

Ok, but is there not a specific CD used to test your bass and mids?

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » November 21st, 2004, 1:39 am

fellas this go sound rel dum but i'm sure many fellas out their dont know this...
how do you know exactly when u set up cant play certain ranges of frequencies?
wat you all do listen for distortions?
how do you all distinguish the distortion from the actual sound?
because some songs does sound like distortion to me :|
ok ok and lastly and the main question i wanted to ask
is how do you all tune your systems?
wat procedure do you all follow?
how do you know that you mids/bass is tuned properly :?:

Terabyte

Postby Terabyte » November 21st, 2004, 3:26 am

The car is a notorious acoustic environment, with lots of obstacles between the listener and the musical source. The ideal sounding stereo has to reproduce the same effect that the musicians / recording engineers wanted in the track. It is usually a good practice to get rid of any possible 'distortions' before you proceed to fine tune the system from an acoustic perspective. Distortion such as clipping can be avoided by proper level matching (gain setting).....at this stage, appropriate sine wave tracks can be used....a word of advice here.....if it's not sounding the same at volume 25 as it was sounding at volume 24, it IS distorting.
Once the levels and crossover points have been set, the system can be fine tuned by using some familiar tracks (lot's of good suggestions in this post, esp the Tears for Fears).
Usually, the tracks used should have a wide dynamic range, simply put.......a good mixture of all frequencies making up the audible range combined with variation of the levels of the freq over the range. A musical track with 20-20KHz is kinda hard to come by, but 30-16KHz should do the trick.
Most importantly, you should have a good idea of what the track SHOULD sound like from a reference perspective...that's the only way you will know if you're getting close in the harsh auto acoustic environment.
Lastly, it DOES NOT HAVE TO BE LOUD to sound good.....as a matter of fact, certain equipment may not sound good at all at high volume, but can still be somewhat pleasing if the volume is lowered......take note crowd pleaser enthusiasts.

Postby SR » November 21st, 2004, 11:38 am

access to and rta helps alot when tuning the car for the first time as it wil show all the peaks and dips in frequencies and you can actually see where the system falls short rather than relyin on hearing.............after tuning with the rta then fine tuning can be done with actual music tracks as everyone has different personal tastes but the best tool is the rta to make sure that there are no missing frequencies from the system

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » November 21st, 2004, 9:08 pm

.if it's not sounding the same at volume 25 as it was sounding at volume 24, it IS distorting.

terabyte are you refering to the sine waves being played?
and jus to clear it up, if the sound changes as the volume level is raised, the system is distorting right?

Terabyte

Postby Terabyte » November 22nd, 2004, 2:20 am

right.....it's kinda hard sometimes to distinguish between louder and different when playing sine waves, especially for the lower frequencies.