Products to minimize scaring...

Bacon

Postby Bacon » April 6th, 2012, 3:04 pm

I got a deep cut on my face that has been stiched up..... A scar is guaranteed....

But what is the best product that I can place on the wound as it heals to minimize that scar....

As always thanks for your comments....

Re: Products to minimize scaring...

Postby Bizzare » April 6th, 2012, 3:17 pm

According to where the scar is, I'd leave it

Postby pioneer » April 6th, 2012, 3:21 pm

There's something called bio-oil

Expensive but very effective.

Check pennywise or superpharm.

Postby sharkman121 » April 6th, 2012, 3:25 pm

Bizzare wrote:According to where the scar is, I'd leave it

Postby rfari » April 6th, 2012, 3:29 pm

OP, chicks 'dig' scars. Reconsider.

Postby ismithx » April 6th, 2012, 3:54 pm

^^ what he said

c@ri$$@

Postby c@ri$$@ » April 6th, 2012, 7:33 pm

You could try cocoa butter which is supposed to be good for preventing and reducing the appearance of marks on the skin. It should be safe enough to use on the wound but you might want to double check that.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » April 6th, 2012, 7:41 pm

cake soap

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » April 6th, 2012, 7:55 pm

vitamin e oil

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 6th, 2012, 8:46 pm

will try the vitamin E oil as soon as stitches come out

Bacon

Postby Bacon » April 6th, 2012, 9:17 pm

^^^ Impressive....You making mine look like a scratch... A DEEP scratch though...

Oooooo I forgot about Bio Oil...

Based on some the feedback here and by pm as well as some other research I did....I think I am going to try the Bio Oil and Mederma alternating them in an attempt to get the benefits of both....I was just checking out the Bio Oil and i have to wait until it heals to start using it (same with the mederma i am sure)....This is still pretty fresh, stitches only went in this morn... It does not seem that Mederma is sold here so i will probably use this as an excuse to drive down to the US on Sunday and test out my new radar detector one time... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

As I was there I picked up some polysporin to use while it heals and i could start using the other stuff...But based on mixed reviews with regard to that and wounds that require stiches (esp on the face) I would probably call the hospital folk and ask before I use...

As for the scarface look....I will still have one no matter what....Mixed reviews from the some Asian chicks so far....One was all smiles and chatty (maybe cause she was trying to chain me up and such).....the other could not watch me in my face....Needs to do more research on that front :D ....Just trying to avoid the Harry Potter look...

BTW it seems as if one of the pm's was blocked for some reason....So if you sent one and I did not respond I was not being rude and thanks...

btw...

Bacon

Postby Bacon » April 6th, 2012, 9:22 pm

As for Vitamin E always a good product to use...Just pop a capsule and apply...Lasts a lot longer than you would expect... just use a pin to puncture and use over a couple days...

As for the cocoa butter.....I use the Vaseline with cocoa butter after my showers....keeps the skin nice and healthy and also helps with scars... Great for those folks that work out as it reduces the risk of getting stretch marks....

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 6th, 2012, 9:27 pm

^damn,let me know how the products work for you.Mine is pretty deep as well,to the top where there are alot of stitches,you could see the muscle tissue through kinda hole thingy.Funny enough,the only pain i experienced is the injections before it got stitched up,nothing before or after.

Postby pioneer » April 6th, 2012, 9:30 pm

Dude jus get the bio-oil.

Bacon

Postby Bacon » April 6th, 2012, 9:56 pm

I gettin it.....Just the other one (mederma) has some great reviews as well...

Nurse Liz does not seem to think I need the polysporin.....just monitor for irritation and infection... so I will hold off on that...

ru$$ell if yours gets irritated you might wanna try wrapping it up with a slice of aloe and it will draw out all the impurities from the wound.... Although it may stick to the stiches.... It worked great for me in my foot in the past but I did not have stitches...

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » April 6th, 2012, 10:05 pm

^got the advice on the aloes already,thanks,but i got it wrapped up in Opsite Post-op.So nothings getting in :)

Bacon

Postby Bacon » April 6th, 2012, 10:15 pm

Good...Well the you safe then....

sensiman

Postby sensiman » April 7th, 2012, 12:27 am

Bacon wrote:Good...Well the you safe then....

For the type of scarring you will get, get a a tube of CONTRACTUBEX and start using on the scar ASAP.

Postby Rooki3 » April 7th, 2012, 6:54 am

JoKeR1980 wrote:vitamin e oil

yup jameson has a good one, could also try cocoa buttr or shea butter

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » April 7th, 2012, 9:36 am

That ice pick went deep bro.........but make sure and use those recommended only after its properly healed....and not raw.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » April 7th, 2012, 10:19 am

pioneer wrote:Dude jus get the bio-oil.

this.

walgreens has it..

i believe its exclusive to them

turbohead

Postby turbohead » April 7th, 2012, 1:32 pm

man jus slash it the other direction and call yourself kenshin....

Bacon

Postby Bacon » April 8th, 2012, 5:53 pm

sensiman wrote:For the type of scarring you will get, get a a tube of CONTRACTUBEX and start using on the scar ASAP.

That actually looks like a very good product....Mmmmmmmm

Rooki3... Dem ting good... but I hadda use something more high tech in the earlies... I strongly believe in Vit E and cocoa butter though...

Mudboy wrote:but make sure and use those recommended only after its properly healed....and not raw.

Yip

Nah shot you gettin that just about everywhere now...

Unfortunately wrong location turbohead :(.... I would have to start again on the cheek to be legit....

c@ri$$@

Postby c@ri$$@ » April 8th, 2012, 5:58 pm

Bacon wrote:Image

You have a very nice iris :oops:

Postby sMASH » April 8th, 2012, 6:08 pm

bacon bits

Bacon

Postby Bacon » April 8th, 2012, 7:23 pm

c@ri$$@ wrote:You have a very nice iris :oops:

Thanks c@ri$$@ :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Postby foss » April 8th, 2012, 9:02 pm

who buss yuh head boi Bacon?

Postby Trini Hookah » April 8th, 2012, 9:43 pm

Bacon yuh have a chick face dan? :lol: :lol: :lol:

The Mederma seems to be good as well, would like to try it for a descent sized scar, about 1.5" x .5" on my hip.

But from reviews they said you'll need about 4-5 tubes worth to see an improvement over time.

sensiman

Postby sensiman » April 9th, 2012, 10:00 am

So seeing what the wound is, your best bet would definitely be contractubex. But don't start using it till the scar if formed.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » April 9th, 2012, 10:02 am

See a dermatologist, or a plastic surgeon if you're that concerned.

You dont wanna be taking advice from men on 2nr...ever see half of dem facE:o