Filming police in T&T

whatever_

Filming police in T&T

Postby whatever_ » July 29th, 2012, 10:12 am

I'm curious to know the legality of filming/audio recording officers that are directly engaged with you, e.g. a traffic stop.

Do they have the authority to order you to stop recording?
What experiences do you have with recording police under such circumstances?

Yes some cops can grab your phone, delete the contents then proceed to lie about the incident but depending on the phone deleted data can often be recovered. You can even record live to the net using services such as http://qik.com

It seems like a great way to keep officers honest, and sort out any problems if an issue needed to be contested in court.

* This is really a question for a lawyer but I'm interested in hearing discussion that may come out of this.

Re: Filming police in T&T

Postby DFC » July 29th, 2012, 10:19 am

i dunno if its illegal but i wont try it.

But if u gotta do it, then its possible to use them spy pens and camera hats, or whatever.

Postby Bizzare » July 29th, 2012, 10:20 am

I think we've been through this here already. IBRollingstock

Postby pete » July 29th, 2012, 10:32 am

If you try to use your phone you'll probably get another ticket for that and piss the officer off more.

I've found that being polite usually makes any traffic stop go smoothly.

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 29th, 2012, 10:36 am

pete wrote:If you try to use your phone you'll probably get another ticket for that and piss the officer off more.

X2.

whatever_

Postby whatever_ » July 29th, 2012, 10:47 am

DFC wrote:i dunno if its illegal but i wont try it.

But if u gotta do it, then its possible to use them spy pens and camera hats, or whatever.

That's another option. I left that out thinking that there might be more legal complications to recording them secretly.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 29th, 2012, 11:27 am

I had a similar experience albeit not a traffic stop: Was hired by a friend to photograph an institution which involved his landlord and his business place; went and started taking images and one officer comes with shotgun in hand threatening to arrest me for taking pictures. When I asked what is the reason or clause for it, he preceeded to take out his handcuffs and make a move to grab my hand: as he did so I watched him and walked offf

He never ceme behind me/ told me to halt; never said I am actually under arrest, never confiscated the camera.

So in light of it, I don't believe it's wrong. What I want to start doing is getting some of those little mini cameras that can attatch to certain parts of the car and drive with em wherever I'm going:

Postby bluesteel29 » July 29th, 2012, 11:28 am

so it illegal to flim public servants orr?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 29th, 2012, 11:44 am

Postby Mark! » July 29th, 2012, 11:46 am

You can once u have the permission of the officer, unless its a public holiday in which you must talk to that officer's superior. Hope this clears it up for you.

whatever_

Postby whatever_ » July 29th, 2012, 11:54 am

Mark! wrote:You can once u have the permission of the officer, unless its a public holiday in which you must talk to that officer's superior. Hope this clears it up for you.

From where are you getting this info? You very well may be right but I'm having a hard time believing that I need a public servant's permission to film his/her interaction with me, especially in a public space.
Last edited by whatever_ on July 29th, 2012, 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2012, 12:03 pm

keychain camera

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 29th, 2012, 12:04 pm

^ The media films police, fire and ambulance as well as other public service personnel in action all the time, most times without getting their permission first.

Technically once you are in a public space, anyone can film or record you and you cannot do anything about it other than try to avoid being recorded by moving away - they are not obligated to stop recording at your request.

remember this video?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ssRRKFV4ymE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ohab9_4w ... re=related

or this
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2y0T_STK ... re=related

I'm not going to embed the videos because I'm only drawing reference and dont want to go off-topic on the video's content.

Postby tr1ad » July 29th, 2012, 12:17 pm

you will never flim here again!

Postby sMASH » July 29th, 2012, 2:14 pm

like allyuh never watch road hoggs owah. when the person were pulled over for their traffic offenses, they used to ask the police to stop inshan from recording them and the whole scene. the ocifer used to tell them that they can't stop inshan recording them because tnt has no privacy laws in place, and that interfering with inshan's camera is assault.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » July 29th, 2012, 3:52 pm

pete wrote:If you try to use your phone you'll probably get another ticket for that and piss the officer off more.

this is true...and i usually get out of tickets....
e.g...police asks ..do you have permission to use the pbr?..my reply.."ah not even wasting yuh time,i have no reason or excuse to be on the pbr"....9 out of 10 times it works.

Postby Chimera » July 29th, 2012, 4:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

Computerman

Postby Computerman » June 18th, 2013, 4:48 pm

Members of the public and the media do not need a permit to film or photograph in public places and police have no power to stop them filming or photographing incidents or police personnel. Just remember, do not get in the way of the police doing their job!

A Rough Guide to Filming the Police

Ichigo

Postby Ichigo » June 18th, 2013, 5:05 pm

You can film and record them but it is not admissible in court due to the fact that digital media can be altered after its been recorded or captured i.e photoshop and video editing

Postby hustla_ambition101 » June 18th, 2013, 5:07 pm

Allyuh e-piggies scratching today, is every thread that about the police allyuh go bump so

Postby nemisis » June 18th, 2013, 5:27 pm

After the epic beat up rs put down on a man a few police threads back we looking for a day before the holiday wild up

Computerman

Postby Computerman » June 18th, 2013, 6:02 pm

Ichigo wrote:You can film and record them but it is not admissible in court due to the fact that digital media can be altered after its been recorded or captured i.e photoshop and video editing
Incorrect! Audio and Video is admissible as evidence. However the procedure to get it admitted is quite tedious (speaking from personal experience).

flower95

Postby flower95 » June 18th, 2013, 7:04 pm

Ian alleyne records the police all the time .

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » June 18th, 2013, 10:22 pm

I was liming on Maraval Road one night when the police pull up and start to wreck cars. I took out my phone and start to film when one officer walk up to me and shouted, "who the f..k you feel you filming? I will take that phone from you."
I just looked at him and walked off without saying a word.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 19th, 2013, 12:04 am

Unless you are in a vehicle with the shifter anywhere but in a "park (p) position" I don't see why a ticket should be issued.

Postby wagonrunner » June 19th, 2013, 12:12 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Unless you are in a vehicle with the shifter anywhere but in a "park (p) position" I don't see why a ticket should be issued.

Dammit. my shifter has no "park (p) position". :cry:
damn you clutch. damn you.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 19th, 2013, 12:28 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:Unless you are in a vehicle with the shifter anywhere but in a "park (p) position" I don't see why a ticket should be issued.

Dammit. my shifter has no "park (p) position". :cry:
damn you clutch. damn you.

Fadda, meen too sure buh bring a pack of broadway and we goh handle that scene.

Postby javishm » June 19th, 2013, 1:34 am

flower95 wrote:Ian alleyne records the police all the time .

Cuz hes ian alleyne

RedTiger

Postby RedTiger » June 19th, 2013, 7:59 am

It is not illegal. You can do it. However TTPS have a phobia with the filming. The same reason why 99.9% of TNT do not trust the TTPS.

Postby nemisis » June 19th, 2013, 8:29 am

I have seen police grab men phone and try to delete videos while threatening them..... Film at own risk