VexXx Dogg wrote:maybe it's proof of due diligence that they checked the persons id with the CC transaction?
neocyst wrote:Had the same experience today in pricemart! Cashier wrote the dp # on d merchant copy of the reciept.
neocyst wrote:and the South jokes continue........
I've never had any merchant , anywhere in the world copy down my ID/PP/DP information for a CC purchase.Actually..I can rarely ever remember being asked to show my identification when making purchases.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I've had the cashier ask for ID and then write down the DP, PP or ID number alone on the merchant copy of the bill. Not only in T&T but other countries too. No worries there. Not like it's super difficult to get that info on me elsewhere and it won't help them with much.
If they ask to make a photocopy of your ID then that could be cause for real concern.
*$kїđž!™ wrote:neocyst wrote:Had the same experience today in pricemart! Cashier wrote the dp # on d merchant copy of the reciept.
thats a usual thing...
where allyuh living?....SOUTH?....
nyways i dont have a problem with it cause they are simply ensuring that the user of the cc is the owner of it...
its just a security procedure......
those slips are thrown away after a while as well.......
who cares about your DP # anyway......
equipped2ripp wrote:SuperPharm does it as well
crazychinee wrote:I've never had any merchant , anywhere in the world copy down my ID/PP/DP information for a CC purchase.Actually..I can rarely ever remember being asked to show my identification when making purchases.Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I've had the cashier ask for ID and then write down the DP, PP or ID number alone on the merchant copy of the bill. Not only in T&T but other countries too. No worries there. Not like it's super difficult to get that info on me elsewhere and it won't help them with much.
If they ask to make a photocopy of your ID then that could be cause for real concern.
What is of concern for me, is that if someone copies down your ID # they now have your date of birth.
that's name..ID #, DOB , and address if they remember well.
I had it done to me at a certain merchant that terminated 5 workers a week before for CC fraud on clients accounts. When I asked the manager how is copying down my ID information on the back of my receipt going to prevent their workers from stealing my information..he couldn't answer.
From what I understand, once the back of your CC is signed, and it matches the signature on the receipt there is no need for ID, far less to write it down.Mastercard/visa will honor any fraudulent claim by the bank...once the signatures match.
crazychinee wrote:Spoke to a colleague of mine who had it done at a price plaza restaurant today.
Can a business legitimately tell you after they swipe your card, and you sign the front that they are now copying your ID/DP info for 'security'/ on the bank of the merchant copy?
I had this happen to me at a Trincity Mall Supermarket a few months ago and made a huge stink about it. They suddenly 'changed their procedure' after this.
snatman wrote:like is only now you have credit card or what?
is decades now merchants writing down id#
toyolink wrote:If you think requests for ID infor. is bad,I remember in the early days merchants used to take an imprint of CC..