Help Battery Light on Instrument Panel

Black_Primera

Help Battery Light on Instrument Panel

Postby Black_Primera » November 23rd, 2013, 11:02 am

The battery light comes on dimly, very sporadically for about 30 secs max. Happens like once a day. Serviced alternator, changed battery poles but still happens. Any advice as to the cause and solution will be appreciated.

Re: Help Battery Light on Instrument Panel

Postby BrotherHood » November 24th, 2013, 12:32 am

Your battery on the way out I presume. Does the car tumble a little longer now for the car to start, especially on mornings? Test the battery itself with a voltmeter to see the battery's resting voltage. If it reads around 12.8-12.6, the battery is not the problem. However, if it reads way below that, i.e 12.0 and under, your battery is on the way out.

zaria

Postby zaria » November 24th, 2013, 11:23 pm

What vehicle?
Bat light indicates an issue with the charging system(alt) not sure if a dead bat will cause it to turn on.
If Alt is good then check for loose wiring,even a loose fan belt ,ay cause it.

Postby BrotherHood » November 25th, 2013, 12:11 am

zaria wrote:What vehicle?
Bat light indicates an issue with the charging system(alt) not sure if a dead bat will cause it to turn on.
If Alt is good then check for loose wiring,even a loose fan belt ,ay cause it.

You are quite right. Battery light would come on because the alternator isn't responding/available to charge the battery. For example a busted alternator belt would cause the light to come on.

evolution91

Postby evolution91 » November 25th, 2013, 6:26 pm

check ur fuses

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 26th, 2013, 4:50 pm

Could be any of a number of things with the alternator, brushes, rectifier, regulator etc.

If you still want to check the battery, check voltage on starting. If it drops below around 10.5 volts then you have a problem there.

Black_Primera

Postby Black_Primera » November 27th, 2013, 3:44 pm

Thanks fellas....serviced alternator. When electrician checked voltage after when started, it was overcharging. He ran an additional wire on alternator (doh know what it is). Voltage was checked again, was fine. However light came on a couple times since. Will check belt.