whats up with my basS?

Abraham2nd

whats up with my basS?

Postby Abraham2nd » October 13th, 2014, 6:16 pm

I got a wicked system.. 2 450w mids with clarion equalizer and a 1400w poweracostic amp and a pioneer champion series 10"...if im in car bass shakes it up..noise all over door/trunk beats up...the mirror jiggles and if i put bottle on trunk it shakes off...but when i go outside i hear no bass very little LOL!!! but i hear the trunk making ole noise...help lol

Re: whats up with my basS?

Postby meccalli » October 13th, 2014, 7:28 pm

Why you want bass outside? To disturb people like me? lol All those rattles absorb sound energy as well.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » October 13th, 2014, 8:00 pm

SPL bro....ur system probably not designed to produce high spl and just making ah set ah Ole noise with the high end of the bass spectrum.

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » October 13th, 2014, 8:38 pm

Change your enclosure type . tell me what type of port speaker and box dimensions . I can help sort you out .

BushmanStarz

Postby BushmanStarz » October 13th, 2014, 8:39 pm

build over de whole system

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » October 13th, 2014, 9:11 pm

I've got a lightning audio LA_1000md mono to sell . calling $1000 Bess price . amp does 1200 watts at peak power . amp is 10\10 in cosmetic and 10\10 in performance comes with gain control .check it out if you interested .have it about 7months now its driving a jbl p1222 rated for 1600 watts .have another amp on the way .so msg me 7860144

Master of Disaster

Postby Master of Disaster » October 13th, 2014, 9:15 pm

I've had that same problem your having before in my first install .speaker and box tunning was totally off using round port and I burnt the speaker after jamming too hard over a period of 1 month Lol suggestion is get a box built to the recommended specs that the instructions says to .

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 13th, 2014, 11:06 pm

just play up with the placement of the box in the car and see if that work BEFORE you decide to waste a whole sheet of MDF

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » October 14th, 2014, 9:52 am

sounds like your bass got treble

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » October 15th, 2014, 12:24 pm

Im gonna attempt to build a t-line transmission box for it...lol ...i got a plan for a 12" sub but im gonna readjust for the 10" i got..btw..my bass plays loud just now outside..and its a normal ported box..

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » October 15th, 2014, 12:40 pm

^ bro you cant just scale transmission lines like that. Do some research first on the design, consider your subwoofer parameters and then model it.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » October 15th, 2014, 12:54 pm

why not ;(

Postby meccalli » October 15th, 2014, 3:45 pm

I hope you know a sealed box might be louder than a t-line , just fyi.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » October 15th, 2014, 3:54 pm

u sure??? i hear ported it the way to goo :O

Postby meccalli » October 15th, 2014, 4:07 pm

T line isn't ported(a proper one at least). Ported refers to a bass reflex enclosure like what you currently have now. If you're happy with it in the car, that's all that really matters.

Maybe one of those gallery guys can chime in to help you if you insist. They run alot more than you have however, you may not realise it but further away from the car, because of the wave nature of sound, it may be louder than when you're closer to it.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 15th, 2014, 6:25 pm

What's the specs of the box tho?

and the model # of the sub

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » October 15th, 2014, 6:36 pm

Place audio on car hood.

vishnu2112

Postby vishnu2112 » October 15th, 2014, 7:31 pm

Try sum sound damping on ur trunk. Also repositioning ur sub wud help wit d bass exiting d vehicle. If space is an issue try inverting.

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » October 16th, 2014, 9:08 am

meccalli wrote:T line isn't ported(a proper one at least). Ported refers to a bass reflex enclosure like what you currently have now. If you're happy with it in the car, that's all that really matters.

Maybe one of those gallery guys can chime in to help you if you insist. They run alot more than you have however, you may not realise it but further away from the car, because of the wave nature of sound, it may be louder than when you're closer to it.

doh talk sheit boi! lol. check this out nah
btw that one is for a 8".. thats just an example
This one is my design to work with

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » October 16th, 2014, 9:24 am

he aint talking sheit

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » October 16th, 2014, 9:31 am

kavaninho wrote:he aint talking sheit

t-lines are sposed to be ported... >.<

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 16th, 2014, 9:39 am

first thing ... your car is an enclosure so no sense having great sound system and everywhere vibrating. First thing is to identify all these rattle points and fix them.....a rattle free car is a must for good overall sound quality. Next it's not all about power but the selection and matching of components. My system consists of 1x600W RE amp, RE Components, RE 6x9s and a 10" Image Dynamics IDQ10 sub in properly specd ported box. The sound is clean and powerful ... tight bass, crisp mids and highs and that's cause it was properly tuned. From outside the vehicle the sound is rich, bass is tight and you can feel it ... not that that was what I was looking for .... I'm more sq than gallery....but it was a side benefit from a system installed by a professional. If I had to do it on my own I would have never thought this configuration would work .... no substitution for professional knowledge.

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 16th, 2014, 2:58 pm

Abraham2nd wrote:

T-lines totally different from ported boxes, although they can look the same

Ported boxes rely on the volume of the cavity and the cross sectional area + length of the port to determine the resonant frequency.

T-line just relies on the length of the pipe to determine the tuning frequency.
It has no cavity, the sub just in a long pipe, when folded it tends to look like a ported box with a big arse port.

If you unfold it, it go just be a long arse pipe

THe formula for this simpler too, just make the pipe a quarter of the wavelength of the tuning frequency

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » October 16th, 2014, 3:31 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Abraham2nd wrote:

T-lines totally different from ported boxes, although they can look the same

Ported boxes rely on the volume of the cavity and the cross sectional area + length of the port to determine the resonant frequency.

T-line just relies on the length of the pipe to determine the tuning frequency.
It has no cavity, the sub just in a long pipe, when folded it tends to look like a ported box with a big arse port.

If you unfold it, it go just be a long arse pipe

THe formula for this simpler too, just make the pipe a quarter of the wavelength of the tuning frequency

wtf is that first picture? lol it dont even look like a box :O

Postby ruffneck_12 » October 16th, 2014, 6:00 pm

I er goin an bother no more :lol:

hold this

http://www.bcae1.com/
http://www.diysubwoofers.org/

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » October 16th, 2014, 7:21 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I er goin an bother no more :lol:

hold this

http://www.bcae1.com/
http://www.diysubwoofers.org/

o goh man ;(

Postby 3stagevtec » October 17th, 2014, 9:52 am

Abraham2nd wrote:I got a wicked system.. 2 450w mids with clarion equalizer and a 1400w poweracostic amp and a pioneer champion series 10"...if im in car bass shakes it up..noise all over door/trunk beats up...the mirror jiggles and if i put bottle on trunk it shakes off...but when i go outside i hear no bass very little LOL!!! but i hear the trunk making ole noise...help lol

This thread is kicks yes.. :lol:

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » October 17th, 2014, 12:04 pm

when yuh mirror jiggling yuh loud..

Abraham2nd

Postby Abraham2nd » October 17th, 2014, 4:37 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
Abraham2nd wrote:I got a wicked system.. 2 450w mids with clarion equalizer and a 1400w poweracostic amp and a pioneer champion series 10"...if im in car bass shakes it up..noise all over door/trunk beats up...the mirror jiggles and if i put bottle on trunk it shakes off...but when i go outside i hear no bass very little LOL!!! but i hear the trunk making ole noise...help lol

This thread is kicks yes.. :lol:

buh aye aye... lol

oh and yes its loud. but not outside..only mids loud outside :(