Need Info on SR18,

Boneyard

Need Info on SR18,

Postby Boneyard » August 18th, 2005, 1:26 pm

Wat are the performance advantages and disadvantages of the SR 18 engine and wat are its limits in terms of HP, :?: any input would be appriciated

Postby Rainman » August 21st, 2005, 11:54 am

well i dont know about its limits .
Type: 1838cc EFI DOHC 16 valve 4cyl
Power: 140hp @ 6400rpm
Torque: 123ft-lbs @ 4800rpm
basically it all depends on what you plan on doing with it. start with the basics
high performance filter/intake system

headers
yuh choice for headers may be a little more complicated than you might think. de objective to maximize torque is to improve the volumetric efficiency and minimize or eliminate the BGF (burnt gas fraction) remaining in the cylinder. Your camshaft has a major roll in these objectives, but so does the intake and the exhaust systems. Depending on what is down stream from the headers (i.e. cat, muffler, length of piping) the "back pressure" will impact the BGF. An exhaust system that is "Tuned" will have a low pressure reflective wave cross the cylinder boundary at just the right time to help eliminate the BGF. However, depending on the overlap produced by the cam, and the number of times the wave has run to the end of the pipe and back, your exhaust system may have more or less of an effect.

then yuh might think about the more hign end mods like turbo/super charging

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » August 22nd, 2005, 11:08 am

thanks :) but r there any other mods that i can do before turboing to have the engine ripping :twisted:

Postby Rainman » August 22nd, 2005, 12:26 pm

these are a list of upgrades that you can do.

start with the basic cold air intake with an expensive filter lika a k&n go for performance not looks .you can have one fabricated at any reputable mufffler shop. imraj bros are a good choice.

then headers. they can be fabricated as welll if you cant find a oem set. usually for a non turbo car you might want to try using a 4-2-1 header with a 2.25" diameter downpipe (on small engines 1800cc's or smaller, an oversized diameter downpipe may cause you to lose compression).

catalytic converter. the stock ones are usually restrictive, see if you can locate a performance cat and be sure the catalytic converter you buy is made for your engine size or you can have negative impact on exhaust flow.

the simple and most popular method to gain some power is to install a cat-back exhaust system, which replaces the stock exhaust from the catalytic converter to the tailpipe, these systems incorporate a high-flow muffler and often use larger-than-stock diameter tubing which is mandrel-bent to eliminate crimping when the tubes are bent.

ecu upgrade. this is kinda tricky considering there are very few places in trinidad which can sucessfully remap your ecu PROPERLY. if there is a chip upgrade or a piggy back ecu available for the sr18 this may be the better way to go.

Ingition systems are also another source of added power a performance iginition control can increase spark output over the whole power range a complete ignition system upgrade should include new wires, and the spark plug gap may need to be increased to take advantage of performance ignition system

leh meh see ummmmm oh yeah pullies. underdrive pullies usually consist of crankshaft and alternator pullies these pullies increase horsepower by reducing accessory drag. Pullies can benefit almost any engine, large or small, but there are a few disadvantages to underdrive pullies. Because the alternator is turning slower, it won't be able to produce the current needed to keep the battery charged when running at idle. If you leave your car on idle for extended periods of time, you may want to only install the crankshaft pulley.

(fingers starting to hurt)

most new model engines with electronic fuel injection use a TBI (throttle body fuel injection) system, TBI engines can benefit from the addition of a high flow intake manifold, blue-printed throttle bodies, or TBI spacers.

one last thing, people just bolt on upgrades and go on the highway and crash and kill they selves because they too chupid to realize that fast cars need more stopping power than usual so you might want to upgrade your braking and suspension system as well. larger diameter rotors, adjustable shocks, strut bars rear disc setup.

happy tuning.
rainman

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » August 23rd, 2005, 2:03 pm

now thats wat iam talking about thanks for the advice any thing else. the guy in the other froum said it was usless to try to get that engine to run 12 and 13s do u share the same opinion

Boneyard

Postby Boneyard » August 23rd, 2005, 2:32 pm

well my Sr engine is in a sunny b13 i already have allround disc would they need to up grade still and how do i know wat is compatible. and wat dose OEM mean,

Postby Rainman » August 23rd, 2005, 4:10 pm

useless??impossible?? listen dude nothing is impossible look at some of the amazing things trinis have done to cars, the only limit is your wallet. if you plan on running 12s and 13s;the 4 disc setup is great but you may need to upgrade the size of the rotors and upgrade calipers, luckily a lot of nissan parts are interchangable so maybe if you can find a nissan car with big rotors and they can line up go for it, you may want to try a 240sx or a s13 silvia i not sure if it will work you may need to carry your rotors and line them up.

oem basically stands for original equipment manufacturer(mostly stock parts)
as opposed to jdm japanese domestic market parts or aftermarket parts/performance parts.