Advice requested from Samsung tablet owners

Arrow

Advice requested from Samsung tablet owners

Postby Arrow » October 30th, 2015, 11:38 am

Tuners

I'm thinking about getting a mid range Samsung tab - probably a 4 or A or something similar.

The main issue I have is the built in RAM - either 16 or 32 GB - and installing apps. I know I can get a memory card and expand it up to 128GB and this would be fine for music, videos, documents, etc, but my concern and query is about apps.

I've done some homework on this. It is possible to move some apps to be installed on the memory card via android system tools or 3rd party apps, but not all apps can be moved. The larger ones (eg games like MKX, Injustice) which are also the ones I would be interested in, need to be installed on the tablet's RAM for them to work.

So as I understand it, plugging in a 128GB SD card does not mean you have 128GB space to install apps. It means you still only have 16 or 32GB RAM for apps and your SD for other stuff.

The tab can be rooted to allow apps to be installed on the SD card. I'm not too keen on this because apparently rooting voids the warranty and tbh I don't know much about it.

So I'm after some straight advice from people with Samsung tabs.
Are you limited by the device's RAM when it comes to installing apps?

I'm new to androids so forgive my ignorance.
(maybe my eye too long from having a 128GB iPad before!)
Thanks

Re: Advice requested from Samsung tablet owners

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2015, 12:59 pm

firstly RAM is not storage.
Storage memory and RAM are two different things

the Samsung Tab 4 has 1.5GB RAM, but 16 or 32GB of storage

RAM is random access memory. RAM is essentially short term memory where data is stored as the processor needs it. This isn't to be confused with long-term data that represents the storage on your hard drive, which stays there even when your device is turned off.

There are Android apps that let you install apps directly to the SD card storage instead of having to install to the internal storage and then move it. It would depend on the app.

Postby tr1ad » October 30th, 2015, 1:15 pm

Arrow

Postby Arrow » October 30th, 2015, 1:21 pm

Point taken, Duane. What I'm asking about is STORAGE, so there's no confusion.

The sales pitches usually say things like '16GB memory, can be upgraded to 128GB with SD card,' which implied to me that I stick a SD card in and viola - same storage space as the iPad. But clearly not the case.

Misleading, i think.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 30th, 2015, 1:40 pm

Arrow wrote:Point taken, Duane. What I'm asking about is STORAGE, so there's no confusion.

The sales pitches usually say things like '16GB memory, can be upgraded to 128GB with SD card,' which implied to me that I stick a SD card in and viola - same storage space as the iPad. But clearly not the case.

Misleading, i think.
yes and you can either install or move apps to the expanded storage on the SD Card, however it depends on the requirements of the app you install and not the device. you can also store photos and videos and movies on the SD Card, freeing up space for apps, so it's not misleading from the tablet manufacturer that you can add additional storage.

Postby pete » October 30th, 2015, 2:14 pm

The struggle..

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

Postby gastly369 » October 30th, 2015, 5:10 pm

Wah kinda pushunpeng phone is dah Baii

Postby Ted_v2 » October 30th, 2015, 5:51 pm

My phone is the same thing

Postby desifemlove » October 30th, 2015, 7:07 pm

android is android.

apps can be stored on internal memory, SD card or both. Sounds confusing but it not. samec process as per phones..

best option is to store on SD card, and jus go to settings in Android and change. same as yuh Android phone if you have..

internal memory is like a built in hard drive. RAM is just like an IBM clone or Mac RAM. SD card at best analogy is like external harddrive.

i have a Note 3, and I save on internal for the time being, but will save soon on SD card.

Postby desifemlove » October 30th, 2015, 7:09 pm

pete wrote:The struggle..

gig of pics? remove that GB of porn and yuh does have more room on yuh ting... :lol: :lol: 8-)

Postby pete » October 30th, 2015, 7:51 pm

I have a 32gig card in the phone as well. Really need to clear it out. Has backups from old phones and a bunch of tv series I've watched already. I just put the vids on the phone storage cause the card is full...

Arrow

Postby Arrow » October 31st, 2015, 4:30 am

My problem is internal storage fulling up with apps and SD card practically empty doing jack poop and apps not movable to it. Granted this is a cheap generic android tab for the chirren to (ab)use. Some googling found that ElCheapo Tabo does not support moving apps to SD.

I kinda liking the android experience. that's why i'm considering the Samsung. And from what I've read, there's more options to move apps to SD on a Sammy - but not all apps - and particularly not the big games.

So can I conclude then that if I want plenty music and vids and less apps, then go for the Sammy, otherwise if i want lots of big apps and the memory space to run them then go tail between legs back to Apple?

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » November 1st, 2015, 8:23 am

If you want to wait, get a mid range tab with android 6.0 on it. A new feature lets the OS use external memory as internal or emulate it as internal (i eh really read up on it yet but that's what it does basically)

http://www.techtimes.com/articles/98437 ... torage.htm

Postby pete » November 1st, 2015, 8:47 am

To be honest 16gb of on board storage is enough. Most games I believe will allow the data to be stored on the external card.

I'm not really into gaming on my phone or tablet and mostly use them for video but you should definitely have a better experience with a Samsung or other brand name Android tablet. I have an lg tablet and its amazing.

Arrow

Postby Arrow » November 2nd, 2015, 9:01 am

Good info there, amd.

It basically says you can have more internal storage at the expense of speed and, to some extent, sd card swapability.

Bottom line is chirren go have to learn to budget dey apps on the android. Good life lesson.