Do Trinidadians have an Alcohol problem?

AlphaMan

Do Trinidadians have an Alcohol problem?

Postby AlphaMan » February 4th, 2024, 6:45 pm

A UWI Professor thinks So.

UWI professor: Alcohol policy needed...linked to increased cancer risk.
TRINIDAD and Tobago must stop “hiding” from open dialogue and national policies about alcohol’s negative impacts on the population, especially as it continues to emerge as potentially carcinogenic.
The challenge was thrown out on Thursday by Prof Rohan Maharaj at his professorial inaugural lecture, “Curing Curiosity: 25 years of Family and Community Health Research”, where he looked at alcohol’s place in local society and its effects on individuals and homes.
Speaking from The University of the West Indies’ (The UWI) Teaching and Learning Complex at the St Augustine campus, Maharaj was critical of T&T’s management of the marketing of alcohol, and made calls for better to be done.

He even called out The UWI, noting the past presence of a bar on campus and promotions at the time which would target students, including young women.

Maharaj, who is set to retire this year, stated that he may take up activism and target alcohol.

Maharaj was passionate that the public be better educated about the health impacts of alcohol consumption, recalling that the World Health Organisation (WHO) stated in 2022 that “no amount was safe” and alcohol was being directly linked to increased cancer risks.

Maharaj said alcohol’s carcinogenic links were “in a straight line” and not “curved”, with supporting research going on 15 to 20 years old.

He said T&T may not want to have the conversation and he might be “stepping on some toes”, noting cultural attachment to alcohol and arguments that it contributes to the national economy.

However, the repercussions to health were also a financial cost, both to the person, their home, work and in healthcare, Maharaj said.

Based on data from several studies by himself and his peers and a pilot study of 1,800 homes, Maharaj advanced that some $650 million was being spent annually on added expenses related to alcohol use in homes and by individuals.

He said there were usually more costs in a home where alcohol was being consumed above a certain level, such as “binge drinking”, including greater levels of illness, family, work and relationship issues and even attracted costs, such as traffic tickets.

Maharaj, who cited a number of studies from The UWI, said of about 400,000 households, about 66% used alcohol.

Young people who were exposed early to alcohol had a greater tendency to become drinkers and women were being impacted by alcohol use as well.

Maharaj expressed alarm on several occasions at T&T’s attitude towards alcohol and said based on research, some 87.1% of homes had a bar within walking distance.

He said many people surveyed either had no problem with this or didn’t care, but 80% supported better labelling, increased breathalyser patrols, more public education, and were willing to pay more taxes on alcohol.

Ladies free

Maharaj recalled that The UWI’s bar at one time would advertise events at which a “ladies free” policy would apply to certain hours, during which women could drink for free.

He recalled his own emotions about his daughter at the time and that he was “incensed” and found it “inappropriate”, wondering where were the management policies on alcohol.

Maharaj said T&T had a 300-year history with alcohol and looked at its role in recreation, listing annual festivities such as Carnival and the Tobago Great Race, which were alcohol-heavy activities.

Referring to T&T’s party culture, he said: “Just as you think its getting better, it starts all over again.”

Maharaj also remembered that this country, decades ago, had in place a law that required all bars to be closed on Thursdays. He said this was tied to the habits of daily and weekly-paid workers, who would be prevented from going to the bars and would be able to take money home to their wives.

Today, “rum shops are any day, anytime”, Maharaj said, joking that the Thursday statute on bars should be brought back.

Maharaj expressed concern that he would overstep at The UWI in his comments, but also noted that “advocacy and social justice are campus tradition”.

Referring to a need for better policies on alcohol in the English-speaking Caribbean, Maharaj said there were “huge gaps” in the way T&T handled the marketing and labelling of alcohol.

Maharaj said other countries were taking steps to protect their populations, while he was “not getting a sense that our institutions are educating the population enough”.

He said from 2026, Ireland will implement a policy where every drink is sold with a warning that alcohol can cause cancer.

Maharaj said while these were issues only recently understood to be true about alcohol, “are we asking the population to ask itself why” about its alcohol consumption.

He said some people taking part in past surveys said they didn’t feel that advertising about alcohol affected them; however this was “because it is so subtle”.

But billions of dollars were being spent in advertising and there was an impact on the population, he said.

Maharaj complained of having presented on the impact of alcohol on the region and T&T, including before regional ministers of health in Washington in 2014.

He said Caricom had then vowed to address issues such as labelling and marketing of alcohol—but that since then, nothing had happened.

“My next step is becoming an activist, when I retire,” Maharaj said, adding that he has been unable to accomplish getting some policy on alcohol by “starting from the top”.

Maharaj later stated that “prohibition is not the answer”, instead calling for “adult dialogue” between stakeholders and public education to manage alcohol sale and consumption.

He stressed that the associated increased risks of cancer with alcohol consumption “a straight line and not a J curve” so that “as alcohol goes up, cancer risk goes up”.

Maharaj said when it come to alcohol’s carcinogenic link, “even the (Trinidad and Tobago) Cancer Society would say they leave it up to the individual”.

Maharaj asserted that any economic argument for alcohol “doesn’t stand to scrutiny” as the “harms and costs outweigh the tax and duties”.

When it comes to alcohol, Maharaj said “we need to have that discussion” and “there is no hiding from it”.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/uwi-professor-alcohol-policy-needed/article_50792156-c30b-11ee-b726-af4b4df2eb47.html#google_vignette
65bf0141e86fb.image.jpg

DMan7

Re: Do Trinidadians have an Alcohol problem?

Postby DMan7 » February 4th, 2024, 7:06 pm

Every country in the world has an alcohol problem...

Postby j.o.e » February 4th, 2024, 7:46 pm

Yes …… pours nightcap

wing

Postby wing » February 4th, 2024, 7:48 pm

UNC will implode ...

Postby MaxPower » February 4th, 2024, 8:28 pm

Do Trinidadians have a attitude problem?

Do Trinidadians have a productivity problem?

Do Trinidadians have a hygiene problem?

Do Trinidadians have a littering problem?

Do Trinidadians have a complaceny problem?

Postby alfa » February 4th, 2024, 10:15 pm

Does a bear crap in the woods?

Postby 88sins » February 5th, 2024, 3:48 am

exessive alcohol consumption is a global problem, not only a trini problem.

but it kinda sounding like he daughter went on a bender with free drinks and made some sketchy decisions so now he have a issue with alcohol.
In any regards, ppl over 18 can and will do as they please within the parameters of the law, and if all trinis stop drinking entirely politicians go hadda wuk a lot harder to bamboozle the people, and yuh kno dem eh come out for all dat wuk

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 5th, 2024, 6:31 am

That's worldwide tbh! Locally is more of a show-off thing and some form of "pips". Shrugs shoulders .....couldnt be bothered cuz I doh drink

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 5th, 2024, 6:43 am

Screenshot_20240205_104237_Chrome.jpg

Trinis are amateur drinkers compared to most Europeans.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 5th, 2024, 6:48 am

Humanity has an alcohol problem.

Postby MaxPower » February 5th, 2024, 7:30 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
Screenshot_20240205_104237_Chrome.jpg

Trinis are amateur drinkers compared to most Europeans.

Yep, totally.

All they know about is local rum and beers and constantly boast about how much they can drink.

Postby mero » February 5th, 2024, 8:39 am

I'd take the good doctor/ respected professor Maharaj's take on this over you alcoholics in denial

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 5th, 2024, 9:49 am

This is just a rhetorical question... it's "Our culture" Ent next week carnival? Compare us to Russians or Native American's... Leh me hush yes.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 5th, 2024, 10:02 am

mero wrote:I'd take the good doctor/ respected professor Maharaj's take on this over you alcoholics in denial

Alcohol ain't good, I rarely drink anymore.

But our diets and lack of exercise is probably a bigger problem

Postby Les Bain » February 5th, 2024, 10:39 am

Tobacco and Alcohol are used then abused as coping mechanisms cause people ass unhappy by varying degrees. First question that should be asked is why are people unhappy, instead of jacking up prices. That course of action is a waste cause people will fork out money to continue coping themselves into a stupor instead of cutting back.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » February 5th, 2024, 10:54 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
mero wrote:I'd take the good doctor/ respected professor Maharaj's take on this over you alcoholics in denial

This. How much times you hear someone get sick and the first thing thats comes out their mouth is "i donno how this happen, i doh drink and smoke". Some people feel because they dont drink or smoke thats enough they need to do for health. Diet and exercise is the bigger picture.

death365

Postby death365 » February 5th, 2024, 11:10 am

fire (WaTeR) BUN HE YES !!!!

wha he tink T&T is a communist or islamic state ... stuepsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

Postby MaxPower » February 5th, 2024, 11:21 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

Yeh DPDz me too…

Can’t handle the rum again, when i drink the night before, the following day is considered dead and wasted.

I take a lil drink now and then, vodka and soda or water and i smoke free for 15 years now.

Right now i focusing on natural nutrition, exercise and investing in full medicals to address things from the early.

The bad habits is going to kill you.

Postby zoom rader » February 5th, 2024, 2:49 pm

wing wrote:UNC will implode ...
Yup too many drunk non injuns in UNC

Postby zoom rader » February 5th, 2024, 2:49 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Yeh DPDz me too…

Can’t handle the rum again, when i drink the night before, the following day is considered dead and wasted.

I take a lil drink now and then, vodka and soda or water and i smoke free for 15 years now.

Right now i focusing on natural nutrition, exercise and investing in full medicals to address things from the early.

The bad habits is going to kill you.
Puzzzy

Postby adnj » February 5th, 2024, 2:51 pm

The cage door must have been left open again.

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2024, 7:16 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

This. How much times you hear someone get sick and the first thing thats comes out their mouth is "i donno how this happen, i doh drink and smoke". Some people feel because they dont drink or smoke thats enough they need to do for health. Diet and exercise is the bigger picture.
I have an aunt that used to take a shot of Puncheon daily when cooking and smoke very regular. Woman refused to die. Never got sick, passed peacefully of old age in her hammock.

Quite a few people I know drink very regular, Puncheon especially, and live very long healthy lives. I does always say, Puncheon is a medicine, not a drink. Lil shot every now and then good. Which reminds me.....I due for a shot.

Postby MaxPower » February 5th, 2024, 7:55 pm

^

Nerve,

It all boil down to tolerance and genetics bro.

Puncheon/alco on the whole is known to lick up some men fast.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » February 5th, 2024, 8:13 pm

Plenty people have it in them to live long despite what they do to their bodies, not because of it.

Many centenarians will attribute their long lives to god, wine, chocolate, cigarettes etc. Those people just built better thanks to the genetic lottery. They are statistical noise.

Alcohol is a poison, to be enjoyed very sparingly.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » February 5th, 2024, 8:37 pm

Everything is Good in moderation but it have some people does live in the bars an every Party they in. Clearly they addicted.

Postby redmanjp » February 5th, 2024, 8:43 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Plenty people have it in them to live long despite what they do to their bodies, not because of it.

Many centenarians will attribute their long lives to god, wine, chocolate, cigarettes etc. Those people just built better thanks to the genetic lottery. They are statistical noise.

Alcohol is a poison, to be enjoyed very sparingly.

some wine is good for you- not so much beer. and definitely not cigarettes - doh know where they get that from. :roll:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 5th, 2024, 9:08 pm

I heard plenty red mixed people does live long. Congrats in advance @redman

Postby alfa » February 5th, 2024, 9:27 pm

Every centenarian will give you a different reason for longevity which proves that it's none of those. It boils down to plain old genetics but noboby wants to admit that because it is the one area you cannot change and it proves just how unfair life is. Just like covid some of us built differently than others and we're still here despite what they said.

This song seems pretty apt

santiagogsx

Postby santiagogsx » April 2nd, 2025, 6:51 am

I grew up seeing alcohol as part of almost every social event, especially during Christmas and Carnival. It’s such a normalised thing here that you don’t even question how much is too much until it starts affecting someone close to you. I had a cousin who ended up in hospital twice and still didn’t think he had a problem. Until he finally hit rock bottom and accepted that he needed help, none of us could say anything that got through.

He ended up in a rehab abroad, but looking back now, I wish we knew about places offering personalised support like www.abbeycarefoundation.com. Could’ve been a better approach instead of waiting for things to get that bad.
Last edited by santiagogsx on April 7th, 2025, 6:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » April 2nd, 2025, 9:21 am

Everywhere in the world seems to think they have a problem.

Here is something to consider, in recent studies, the youngest legal age drinking population are drinking significantly less