4D56T engine experiences

venum

4D56T engine experiences

Postby venum » August 18th, 2006, 11:52 pm

Been having some thoughts about this engine and I am interested in learning bout these diesels

anyone with experience with these please share

2.5L turbo diesel came in the K34 and K74 L200\Strada

what is the stock boost?

what is the engine maintenance like?

what are the special points to note about these?

what kinda fuel mileage you getting

what kinda acceleration and speeds does it put out in the K34's

what are their weak points?

plenty questions

gizmo

Postby gizmo » August 19th, 2006, 2:36 am

i've been driving meh pops own for some time. i could safely say that they are all round reliable pickups. i've heard that the stock boost setting is 9 psi or something along those lines. One key point that should be noted is that the fuel filter should be regularly inspected and drained to remeove water. this water can rust and damage the filter. the top speed is about 140km/hr with the a/c off. these vans are basically built to carry/ haul load for long distances thus they have great low end torque but lacks power after 3000rpm. redline is at 4500.

venum

Postby venum » August 21st, 2006, 9:14 pm

anyone else?

blazing

Postby blazing » August 22nd, 2006, 12:48 am

i find that they are generally weak engines, but i guess with any diesel engine, maintainance is the key.

the internals could do with a bit more beef.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » August 22nd, 2006, 9:46 am

^ agreed. It's not the strongest engine out there but it works pretty good. The turbo ones more than the N/A do have some reliability issues, but as all have said, maintenance is the key. This engine doesn't like some oils like shell. Oil gets sludgey too quick and even disappears. Cleaning / maintenance of the injectors / diesel pump should be done often as well.

venum

Postby venum » August 28th, 2006, 10:37 pm

anyone else?

MIVEC95

Postby MIVEC95 » September 5th, 2006, 6:13 pm

d one i have works well,tops out d full 180km,gas consumption-never checked it,but i use half tank of diesel every 2 weeks and that is with a/c rite thru.as they said once u maintain it proper u wont get any problems,the last l200 i had i got 550,000km from d engine before it started to giv problems,and my foot heavy eh,d stock boost is about 4 lbs,i raised my own to 6lbs hence helpin d van to pull to 180km easy without takin long and waiting for it to reach,the current van ,everything is stock for now so.. dats all i can tell u bout it

venum

Postby venum » September 5th, 2006, 7:59 pm

^^^ Thanx

MIVEC95

Postby MIVEC95 » September 5th, 2006, 8:38 pm

no scene :wink:

web_phantom

Postby web_phantom » September 7th, 2006, 11:23 am

These engine have a tendency to overheat.... thus cracking the cylinder heads....