Trinidad and Tobago Karting Association 2019 Prize Giving

Trinidad and Tobago Karting Association 2019 Prize Giving

The members of the Trinidad and Tobago Karting Association traded in their race suit for some more formal wear and took to the Trinidad and Tobago Yacht Club for their 2019 Championship Awards Ceremony.

The event awarded the drivers on their accomplishments throughout the season and was kicked off under the guidance of past racer and president Rae Smith. With all the pleasantries completed, it was time to hand out the silverware.

In the Sportsman category young Macarius Rossi Lochan was the first on the podium securing the 3rd place position showing major growth from his previous years. Next on the podium stood Scott Wortman, securing the 2nd place position after a see-sawing year, which saw him switch places on top the leader board quite a few times with Shane Sheppard. If this is a glimpse of what’s to come this battle is far from over. At the end of the season though Shane Sheppard was able to stand on the top step of the podium and coped the 2019 Sportsman Champion Driver Award. But his accolades didn’t stop there Shane also was named the TTKA’s Overal Champion, this award is given to the driver that secures the highest number of points at the end of the race season. This is Shane’s second year achieving this award, which is an accolade to not take likely.

The Sportsman Masters was up next and this new class did not fail to entertain. The class aimed to introduce new drivers to the sport with an affordable package. As the year progressed this class boasted the biggest gird on the track and continues to grow as the 2020 season approaches. In 3rd position, Anthony Shaw consistently finished on the podium throughout the season and the consistency paid off in the end. 2nd position was awarded to the TTKA’s 2019 Future Champion Nicholas Gomes. Nicholas took the fight to the more experienced drivers in the field and took the championship battle to the last race which is the mark of a champion to come. The Sportsman Masters Champion though was Ronald Wortman. Ronald Dominated the class for the entire year and showed his amazing racecraft and experience which proved vital at the end of it all.

Next on the program was the Rotax International Class, this class is one of the longest standing classes in the TTKA and happens to be their fastest championship running class. In 3rd place, Justyn Kanta Persad showed that consistent finishes pays off in the end and stood on the podium at the end of a gruelling season. In 2nd position stood a name synonymous with kart racing in Trinidad and Tobago, Matthew Singh out of the Racetech race team. Matthew fought diligently all year trying to defend his title but a spell of bad luck resulted in a commendable 2nd place finish. On the top step of the podium stood Christopher Ramnuath. Christopher decided to dedicate himself to a full championship in 2019 and his determination to win showed as the year progressed and he is now able to say he is a Rotax International Champion and the TTKA’s Leading Edge Champion Driver.

The awards didn’t end there though, young Rylie Ramroop was awarded as the John Powell Rookie Of The Year. Rylie impressed all in his first season and looks like a championship contender in the years to come. Also, the TTKA’s Most Improved Driver Award went to Brent Russell, as the season Brent progressed from a mid-pack finisher to one of the drivers fighting for race wins. Last but not least Johnathan Aqui was awarded the Spirit of Competition Award, regardless of the situation, young Aqui made it out to races and gave his all once the lights were out and for this, he was awarded.

The TTKA would like to thank the following people for making the season of racing possible: Island Roofing, Presidential Insurance, Caribel, DS Movers, Forensys, TTASA, Bluesky Shipping, Bartlet Haulage, TriniTuner and Capital Signal. Now on to 2020 for another amazing year of racing.

Words by Dillon Ali.

Leave a Reply