TTASA 2019 Drag Racing Championship Round 4

TTASA 2019 Drag Racing Championship Round 4

The Trinidad and Tobago Automobile Sport Association (TTASA) held their fourth round of the 2019 Drag Racing Championship, this past Sunday at the Wallerfield International Raceway. Threatened by adverse weather, event officials held strain until the showers passed, at which point a thorough drying session occurred where event staff and competitors helped dry the track.

Competition then started in 13s with a full ladder of 8, where newcomer Ian Grant, took home first place in his Subaru WRX, followed by Otis Walker (BMW) and Celeste Gajadhar (Mitsubishi Evolution X) third.

Onto 12s another full ladder, left the biggest and loudest Udan Ramsahai to take the first place honours in his Chevy Caprice. Second and third saw Mark Babooram and Clayton Bowen respectively.

The 11s bracket saw Samuel Weekes in first place after an extended break, even with a broken axle earlier in the day- he returned to dominate, in his Mitsubishi Evo 3. Second place to Ainsley Medina and third to Alvin Harrylal.

A packed 10s bracket, made way for Aleem Ramatally to make it to the top in his Nissan S14, followed by Dale Dulalchan and Nick Permanand, both in Mitsubishi Evolutions. This bracket saw the first of records to be broke, Kervin Ribiero piloting the Evo 3 of Joshua Lewis managed a time of 9.019s making it the fastest AWD car locally.

The nine second bracket saw only four competitors this round, including the return of fan favourite- the Fish Van! Even after multiple runs that had fans at the edge of their seats, they only managed a 3rd place finish, with Satrohan Deocharan and Michael Toby in first and second respectively.

OPEN class, with only three qualifiers, saw the early departure of Dale Mayers after a broken component, leaving Sheldon Bissessar vs Randy Bissessar, where Randy took the first place trophy, as Sheldon also broke.

Ten seconds bikes saw Andy Fung King take first place on his Hayabusa followed by Barry Luces, and Ronnie Ramdeo. Ramdeo setting a record for a stock 2008 Yamaha R6 with a time of 10.610s @ 130.81mph!

The nine seconds bikes saw a full bracket with Joel Bruce taking the win, followed by Mark Ramoutar and Kyle Astor.

OPEN saw Robert Seepaul set the local fastest record for a bike with a time of 8.562s on his Hayabusa, as he took home first place, followed by Garvin Gomes and Ian Atherly in 2nd and 3rd respectively. Gadson, out of competition due to a blow engine on Saturday.

The Trinidad and Tobago Automobile Sport Association (TTASA) would like to thank all competitors, spectators, sponsors, event staff and coordinators, for making the second round of competition successful.

Special thanks to Motul, VP Racing Fuels, Meguiars,, Garage Fresh,  SafeTec Ltd., IRP Fire and Safety, Trinidad and Tobago Security Services, Ministry of Sport, Scales and Weighing Equipment Services Ltd and also Richard Plant Rentals.

Leave a Reply