TTASA National Race of Champions Round 2

TTASA National Race of Champions Round 2

Just over 40 competitors packed the Wallerfield International Raceway on Sunday 31st March, 2019 for the second round of the TTASA National Race of Champions event. Carrying forward the moment from round one, competitors contested multiple classes such as Bikes, Groups 1-4, Radicals and Time Attack- for an epic day of racing. An incident free event even allowed competition to end early enough to facilitate a thrilling handicap race!

The event started off with qualifying and then straight into the Time Attack sessions for the Street, Street Mod, Track Mod and Super Unlimited drivers, as they battled against the clock and themselves for the top spot! In Street it was Saed Rahimulla to take the first place trophy in a time of 49.917s- impressive for just his second outing at the Wallerfield International Raceway. Adrian Bynoe dominated the Street Mod class in his Subaru STi, with a time of 46.980s. Edmund Fernandes and Shiva Maharaj followed closely with their 47.471s and 48.654s runs respectively. Mayank Ramlakhan, with an impressive 45.872s in his Mazda RX7 to take home the first place in Track Mod. Christopher Kahadar, second with a time of 47.093s. Super Unlimited, saw the lone-wolf Kristian Boodoosingh debut his Mygale F4 with a blistering time of 40.683s.

Group 1 competition saw Saleem Deen with top points at the end of the day after dominating two of three races. Darrel Singh and Farouk Mohammed trailing closely behind with 43 and 42 points respectively. Neil Gopeesingh, managed two second places in two races as he continuously pushed the limits of his Suzuki Swift GTi- but a DNF in Race 2 cost him heavy points as he settled for a 4th overall at the end of the day.

In Group 2 it was yet another Deen to take home the first place trophy as Isa, swept up 75 points from three first place finishes. Bridget Singh, Keeva Seegobin and Arvin Singh traded places throughout the days’ battles, for a 2nd, 3rd and 4th overall in that order. It’s always nail-biting experience watching these youngsters battle it out in Group 2… yes Keeva, we mean you too!

Group 3 and 4 proved to be a challenge as not enough competitors subscribed to these classes, leaving competitors with just a fraction of the usual points as the classes were not constituted. In first place Ronald Wortman with 27 points, followed by Keeva Seegobin with 12 points. Jerome Gafoor, Gregory John and Cristian Bourne retiring the day early with mechanical failures.

Bike action saw six competitors through the day, with Kiel Abraham taking first place home with 68 points. Followed by Tobago’s Jamaul Thompson in second and Nicholas Gonzales in third. Gonzales making excellent recovery after small contact in race one with leader Kiel Abraham. Not enough to faze Gonzales as he secured the first place spot in Race 2.

Everyone’s favourite new attraction, the Suzuki powered Radical SR3’s, saw 4 competitors with familiar faces- Isa Deen, Zachary Boodram, Ravi Singh and Fyzool Madan. Isa Deen taking first place in Race One and Three, with a mechanical failure in Race Two, allowing Boodram to get by for the win. Ravi Singh third, and Madan driving conservatively in fourth as he acquaints himself. Boodram took him fastest time of the day with a time of 37.944s, a thousandth of a second faster than Deen’s 37.945s in the final race.

Ending the day off was an impromptu handicap race, as Ronald Wortman bested Farouk Mohammed after starting two laps later than Mohammed, and came around for an almost neck and neck win in the final lap. Thrilling!

The Trinidad and Tobago Automobile Sport Association thanks all drivers, riders, event staff, sponsors and spectators for making Round 2 a success. Thanks to all those involved in the recent promotion of the event Gulf City Mall and Xtra Plaza, as these paid dividends, as seen with the spectator turn out.

Special thanks to our sponsors Safetec Limited, IRP Fire and Safety,, Lubetech Sales and Services (Motul, VP Racing Fuels, Meguiars), Trinidad and Tobago Security Services and also the Ministry of Sport of Trinidad and Tobago.

Leave a Reply