TTASA x TTDA 2020 Drift Championship Round 1

TTASA x TTDA 2020 Drift Championship Round 1

The Trinidad and Tobago Automobile Sport Association (TTASA) in collaboration with the Trinidad and Tobago Drift Association (TTDA) held its first drift event for 2020 at the Frankie Boodram Wallerfield International Raceway, on Sunday 1st March, 2020. A lengthy off-season not only provided the drivers themselves with adequate prep time, but also the officials to plan a very different season.

This year, the Championship consists of two classes Pro 1 (Professionals) and Pro 2 (Beginners), who run the same course but for a different point structure. In addition to this, corporate commitments were received from Lange Trinidad Ltd. with their Armor All and Track Batteries brands.

Utilizing the “bottom-corner” of the FB Wallerfield International Raceway, Round 1 provided a breath of fresh air to drivers, as the officials moved to a new course set up for this season. Starting at around 11AM drivers began practicing the new course, anticipating their qualifying and competition runs later in the day.

The Pro 2 category started off the day’s official activities, where it was Shivam Maharaj to take both the Top Qualifier and 1st Place podium for the day. Trailing behind was Kevin Mungroo and Ricardo Singh in 2nd and 3rd respectively. Newcomer Feraz Khan in 4th– at his first official event.

Similarly in Pro 2, Devon Bartholomew swept up both the Top Qualifier and 1st Place podium. Shaun Sukdeo, very close in 2nd, with just a 4 point difference and Kerry Philip in 3rd.

The Trinidad and Tobago Sport Association and Trinidad and Tobago Drift Association, thanks all competitors, spectators and event staff for making this event possible. Special thanks to our sponsors Motul, VP Racing Fuels, Track Batteries, Armor All,  Mobil 1, Garage Fresh, TriniTuner, IRP Fire and Safety and Safetec.

Leave a Reply